Jazeman Jaafar off to Paul Ricard for Speed EuroSeries

The adventure continues for Jazeman Jaafar as he heads off to France to contest the first round of the 2011 Speed EuroSeries at the Paul Ricard circuit this weekend. It promises to provide valuable experience of the track for the 18-year-old, who is competing in the International British F3 Series this season, ahead of the Series’ visit in July.

He will partner his regular driver coach, Bruce Jouanny, in the Lanan Racing Ligier JS51 Speed EuroSeries car, the first time that the pairing have driven together in a race event. The Ligier JS51 is powered by a 2.0 litre Honda engine offering 246 hp mated to a SADEV six-speed sequential gearbox, and the 570 kg vehicle features an extruded aluminium chassis and carbon-fibre crashbox.

“The chance to race in the Speed EuroSeries at Paul Ricard was a last-minute opportunity which I jumped at, as I haven’t been to Paul Ricard and track knowledge is so valuable in British F3. Racing with Bruce is a real bonus; not only will we be very competitive with each other, we’ll also be able to discuss the car from a shared experience and I’ll be able to gain Bruce’s perspective on all the elements which he usually can only advise on from my feedback alone,” Jazeman said.

The Speed EuroSeries is a sports prototype racing series featuring a mix of sprint and endurance two-driver races and a total of five and a quarter hours running, which will be shared between Jazeman and Jouanny. A one-hour free practice session on the first morning precedes a 45 minute qualifying session on Friday (April 1), two 90 minute races on Saturday then follow, with a 30 minute sprint race rounding off the weekend on Sunday morning.

“It’s going to be a great opportunity for me to learn the track with so much running. The primary reason for us to be doing this event is to know the track as well as I can and I hope that by the end of the weekend I’ll have a good grasp of it.”

“We have very limited track time during an F3 weekend, so you want to be using it all for car development, rather than learning the configuration, which eats into the time you have available to work on car set up. It’s fortunate that Lanan Racing had a car available to us and we’re grateful to them for this opportunity,” he said.

The car driven by the pair will have a special livery for their one-off Speed EuroSeries outing, with the two drivers deciding that it was an opportunity to mark their respects for the casualties of the recent earthquake disaster in Japan. The car will sport the logo of SAVE JAPAN, a motorsport linked charity founded by Japanese racing driver, Juichi Wakisaka.

Both drivers have close ties with the country, with Jazeman driving alongside many Japanese racers during his career and Jouanny having raced in the country in the Japanese F3 championship.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• coolcar on Mar 29, 2011 at 1:39 pm

hi paul, how come there is no review of Audi A8L launch in malaysia?

• slum in bolehland on Mar 29, 2011 at 3:56 pm

hope jazemen can break into F1 either by 3 malaysia team or sauber.
    paul can u also cover the indycar news it seems that lotus team got good driver tony kanaan and takuma sato.

• racefan on Mar 29, 2011 at 10:57 pm

Jazeman’s our next genuine hope for a Malaysian in F1. He is young and on the right path in the correct progressive ladder leading into F1.

The goal for him is to get into F1 based on merit regardless of team. His ‘attractiveness’ to the F1 paddock should be equal across all teams, not just to Malaysian linked teams. He should be attractive to the likes of RBR, MacLaren, Ferrari, Mercedes etc. That would be an achievement all Malaysians can be proud of.

All the best to Jazeman!

• F1 fan on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:54 am

anyway,

Jazeman Jaafar Tops The Time Sheets In F3 Testing
      http://paddocktalk.com/news/html/story-155091.html

• arzorro on Mar 30, 2011 at 12:10 pm

vroom vroomm..
    go jazeman go!!