Caterham launches a Team Lotus Special Edition Seven

Oh my, it looks like there’s an absolute flurry of activity today with Caterham Cars, which isn’t surprising, of course. This one centres around a product – to celebrate its new ownership, having being acquired by Team Lotus Enterprise, the Brit sportscar marque has announced that it will build a limited run of Team Lotus Special Edition Sevens.

Twenty five units with Team Lotus upgrade packages – which can be applied to any variant up to the range-topping 263 hp Superlight R500 – will be built for the UK, with the same number allocated to export markets.

For an additional £3,000 over the price of a chosen model, the SE Seven will be specially-liveried in the famous green and yellow colours of Lotus and will come with a raft of bespoke Team Lotus additions; included in the package is an invitation to a customised tour of the Team Lotus F1 factory in Hingham, Norfolk.

In the cockpit, each SE will bear a plaque carrying the signatures of Team Lotus F1 drivers, Jarno Trulli and Heikki Kovalainen, and owners will also receive a Seven history book, signed by chief designer Mike Gascoyne. And so, the marketing begins!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• shawal on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:55 pm

it probably took them 3 and half hour to come up with this special edition…

• squawk on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:14 pm

Wow… talk about blatant exploitation.

• ibex7 on Apr 28, 2011 at 4:49 am

TF is a manwhore with a huge dick. all corporation should stay away from him.

• ignoramus on Apr 28, 2011 at 11:04 am

Best you not fly Air Asia or use Tune Hotel, Tune Talk, Tune Money etc unless you like being a manwhore client.

• other people in the world like and exited what he do only malaysian dont like what he do..why does malaysian have grudge on him?

• tokmoh on Apr 28, 2011 at 11:44 am

What goes around comes around. Including being provocative.

He’s done that with MAS and MAHB, his blog still has that survey asking people if there’s conflict of interest. What a funny way to continue enjoying his benefits, but since consumers continue enjoying low fares, well… I can only say it could be better…

In some ways, he also insulted Petronas when he declares his team is most Malaysian. Berlagak nak mampus, cocking up about building his own team rather than putting stickers on cars. Now who’s putting stickers on a car? Any Malaysian engineer build that Caterham? Is it using Petronas E01 engine? yuck.

And of course brushing on the wrong side with Proton-Group Lotus. Danny Bahar’s fear became true now that Team Lotus brand is getting more and more out of their control. A perversion at its worst, all because this one man’s rebellious spirit and greed. Such a double-edged sword… good when consumers enjoy cheap flights. Bad when… well… this.

• ignoramus on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:37 pm

Team Lotus was never Bahar’s to control to begin with! The much, much bigger fear is the billions of dollars borrowed to finance Bahar’s ‘spectacular’ turn around which no analyst or media personnel I’ve spoken to can understand!

• tokmoh on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Damn straight it’s scary, if this man is going to be the cause of the failure, that is.

History remembers Team Lotus to be closely associated with Group Lotus. Is it not rational to expect TL to be part of GL today? GL hv tried to get TL for years, dunno wtf was up with the old management n David Hunt.

Danny Bahar, from Ferrari n Red Bull Racing, tell me if those are shabby companies. Come on, quit it with the Lotus not being Lotus anymore just bcuz new planned Bahar’s models are nt lightweight anymore. We know the old lightweight biz model is only gonna bleed proton aka taxpayer’s money to death. You’d rather “biar mati anak, jangan mati adat”? Or they should be realistic and start selling cars people can buy?

• ignoramus on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:22 pm

GL have tried to get TL for years??? LOL. They had over 16 years to do it but did NOTHING. They NEVER ‘tried to “get” TL’. What they tried to do was in fact discredit and ignore TL all this years.. Sweep it under the rug so to speak because Proton didn’t due enough due diligence to notice that their purchase of GL did not include TL.

Proton is being bled significantly more now with the 270m pound loan to start with and its just the beginning. tell me you don’t seriously believe a Lotus car can compete against Porsche and Ferrari in less than 5 years can you? Put it simply if you have the money to buy a Porsche or Ferrari, why on earth would you want to spend it on a Lotus instead..?.Why do people buy a Porsche or a Ferrari in the first place. Think about. Brand building takes time and 5 years is ridiculously short. Has any brand ever done such a thing before? and why?

Yes Ferrari and RedBull are so good that both organisations are pursuing legal action against him, after asking him to leave.. Do you even know that Bahar is not welcome in the F1 paddock thus has not attended even one F1 race to date as CEO of GL..

Of course.. you weren’t aware of any of this do you. Hope you get to go to an F1 paddock one day and find out for yourself.

• VoidDance on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Yes, Proton Insider, we get it already.

Bahar, Proton, Group Lotus = Good Guy.
            Tony Fernandes, AirAsia, Team Lotus (that they really want so badly) = Bad Guy.

Anymore interesting thing to share with us here, like say new Proton Exora R (yeah, I read the other blog), Y Engine and such? That is the good stuff we want to hear, bro. Come on, share with us. Heh.

• Eyesore on Apr 29, 2011 at 12:18 am

Ignoramus,

I believe what they were saying, Lotus will start to challenge Ferrari and Porsche in 5 years…. they never said Lotus would beat them…

you, in life if you want to be the best, you gotta challenge the best… to challenge the best, you have to start somewhere. Your starting point would be when you start a change in your which would allow you to challenge the best…. this is how you progress in life or in Lotus case, a business…. if you just continue as you are currently, where you are not even close to the best, you’ll never be the best. you’ll stall your progress hence your came to a stagnant point which i call lazy and no ambition..

to start challenge the ferrari and porsche, Lotus gotta change, gotta improve the offerings, hence the 5 new models… of coz it’s a big risk, but then to progress you have to face it… if you ask around, the risk takers in this world are likely to be the one gain success… the cowards stays where they are and fail…..

• racefan on Apr 29, 2011 at 12:51 pm

And I say, anyone who thinks Lotus can ‘challenge’ Porsche and Ferrari in 5 years need to get their heads checked and stop smoking weed.

Yes, ANY brand can be built to challenge established brands like Porsche and Ferrari…. given enough time.. but 5 years?? LOL.

There is nothing wrong to ‘reach for the sky’. I admire such endeavours but to reach for the sky one’s feet must first be grounded on solid ground first. See, accept, understand reality as it is. With a full grasp of reality you have the foundation to lunge toward the moon if you want to. Thats how great success happen. Otherwise its somebody’s self delusion leading towards another story for failure. By that time Bahar would be long gone elsewhere, GL probably sold for peanuts and so would Proton. While Malaysians are left with egg on their faces for quite some time. Good luck!

• seriusSAM on Apr 27, 2011 at 10:07 pm

LoL

there’s 3 articles about Team lotus and I’m sure those emo bashers don’t have a hard time to choose which article to pour their emo after long hard day at work

:D

• clutch basah on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:58 am

Poor late Colin Chapman, he’s sure a panic soul now now since both of his brainchild are in Malaysian hands… kakakaka

• Alpha on Apr 27, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Anthony,is Caterham road legal in Malaysia.It seems nice to actually import one here~

• kelvin on Apr 28, 2011 at 11:50 am

It is legal with a headlight and break light? Don’t worry Naza will bring in the car. Have you ready the money?

• HirumaKecil on Apr 28, 2011 at 1:43 pm

Actually they already assemble this car in Malaysia moths ago…

• Lotus Restaurant on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:05 pm

For some reasons this seems so wrong on so many levels, as if firefly suddenly change their color to red/white and calling themselves airaseans. But i know tony personally, this IS part of his tactics.. but it felt so wrong on so many levels.

• way to go tony! i know you admire caterhem since you were kid.

• ezracopters on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:04 pm

yup, maybe he had been dreaming to drive one since 1970s.. been loyal fan & fond supporter to the brand hehehehe

• Nik Amirul on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:11 pm

syabas buat Tony dan rakan-rakan! Forza Team Lotus!!

• Muddy on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:19 pm

Cant agree more with SeriusSAM, IMHO, most of the negative comments came from those who dont even have own business. Just simply jealous of our own citizen’s achievements or what they are trying to go further in their own right!
    Its business deals man!

Keep up conquering the world, Malaysian!

Good work!

• pakka on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:10 am

no we don’t dude. we simply says what we feel that’s all. :)

• Dicker on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:42 pm

This is what so called spirit of 1 malaysia….it’s too hard to believe that some is getting annoyed when a malaysian is championing over in international arena….despite of giving more moral support…some of these useless morons are bashing up this brave guyz…well, atleast he took the guts to revive the business, i wonder if these were given an opprtunitities…maybe they’ll end up selling it for 1 euro

• pakka on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:04 am

haha. since when internet have a purpose. Face it all this while we’re just trolling each other, feeding on each other egos.

• Looks like Lotus 7 design has come full circle of sorts. Designed by Chapman and sold to one of its top dealers, Caterham and continue as a Caterham Seven. Now back with a Team Lotus badge.

• monggo on Apr 28, 2011 at 9:17 am

Looks like TF is obsessed about anything with a Lotus name or history. What will he be thinking of taking over next? Lotus Restaurant?

• kelvin on Apr 28, 2011 at 11:52 am

TF: “Why not? It wil be a very easy take over.”

• Dicker on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:47 pm

yea…atleast he has got a wisdom and growing further……
      dont u ever read news…m’sian are tied up by paying thier liabilities more than what they earn….u should start learning from this guy, instead of bashing..!

• is caterham a replica of a lotus 7 ?

what happens if group lotus wheels out a lotus 7 re-edition?

not sure if this ‘team lotus’ special edition 7 can be called such…

lawyers get rich la…

• squawk on Apr 28, 2011 at 11:05 am

In this regard, TF/TL will win over GL cuz Caterham has owns the intellectual property to Lotus 7. If GL wants to introduce a 7, they will have to get permission from TL. :-)

Unless GL designs a ‘7-inspired’ car. :-P

• VoidDance on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Well, Lotus kinda did come up with ‘successor’ of Lotus 7. The Lotus 2-Eleven.

• bloodsucker on Apr 28, 2011 at 10:09 am

TF will fight Proton until death…’by hook or by crook’ .. he will make sure he will win in this battle…hahahaha look like ‘Star Wars’ film in the making…

• Just wonder how much this toy car cost here?

• If they manage to get National Car status, probably RM100k to RM250k. Unlike KTM X-Bow which should fetch RM400k.. just a ballpark guess.. they’ll have to design coupe models, though, of something with a roof..

• Caterher on Apr 28, 2011 at 4:16 pm

with SM Nasaruddin on board, I’d say getting national car status isn’t entirely impossible…

• punch buggy on Apr 28, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Bring it to Malaysia with soft top. Or rebadge it as Proton if possible to replace Proton Putra.

• Titan on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:56 pm

Also wonder…where is the headlamp for this car?

• ilovetony on Apr 28, 2011 at 9:49 pm

never offence rich men…. you know.. they can buy any big toys they like.

• Ooo ya…. the head lights r missing too… may be later can install at Brothers’ shop? HID .. keke….

If just buy the whole thing w/o the engine? pirce?