Ecoboost turbo powered Ford S-Max MPV and facelifted Mondeo Titanium launching in Malaysia very soon!

Ford has announced that the Ecoboost engine will make its debut in Malaysia by mid year 2011. Since we’ve just entered into June, the launch should be just around the corner! The two vehicles that will be powered by this new generation turbo engine are the S-Max MPV and the facelifted Mondeo sedan, which will come in top Titanium spec.

Like the modern petrol engines found in other Continental makes such as Volkswagen and Peugeot, Ford’s Ecoboost engines combine a (single) turbocharger with direct fuel injection for better power, torque and fuel economy. It also features Ti-VCT (Twin Independent Variable Camshaft Timing). Compared to non Ecoboost engines, fuel efficiency is improved by up to 20%, while emissions are down by 15%.

The version that will debut in the Mondeo and S-Max is a 2.0-litre four-cylinder unit. It’s likely to have 203 PS and 300 Nm of torque, if we get what Singapore gets. Partnering it will be Ford’s wet clutch 6-speed Powershift transmission, which is a dual-clutch gearbox also found in the Focus TDCI.

Launched here in late 2009, the Mondeo is a D-segment sedan (hatchback not available here) that’s an alternative to Japanese favourites such as the Camry, Accord and Teana. The refreshed car features a new front end and a much longer equipment list.

Meanwhile, platform-mate S-Max is a sporty looking MPV with three rows of seats (second and third rows fold flat into the floor) that’s about the size of a Mitsubishi Grandis. Launched in 2006 as the first Ford to feature Kinetic Design, it was facelifted last year.

We’ve driven both the current 2.3L Duratec powered Mondeo AND the facelifted Mondeo Titanium with Ecoboost. Click here for the review of the current car and here for a preview of the upcoming car. You can also check out Ford’s new microsite for Ecoboost at www.ecoboost.com.my.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• SoMeOnE on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:18 am

for some reason the upper grill on the facelifted mondeo looks like its from the 90’s…..im glad its getting the engine that it should have had from the start..i reckon prices will go up by 5 grand or so….

• so both the mondeo and S max will have a turbocharged 2 liter engine with 203 horse power? sounds good to me!

• Gavin on Jun 01, 2011 at 2:31 am

6 speed dual clutch and fantastic engine

Big downer is spare part price and also doesn’t hold as much prestige for the price.

• freddie on Jun 01, 2011 at 6:46 am

Ford, one of the earliest car manufacturer is not prestige enough? You must be a teenager.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:02 am

Agreed. Ford really is an excellent car, and has been highly viewed by many. However why can’t better established companies that deals with after service take over the dealership. Since Sime Darby has no passion, why not let comapnies like UMW or NAZA take over.

• squawk on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:19 am

If it’s UMW, you might get a new model with old engine, 4-speed gb and bare specs. :-)

• Gavin on Jun 01, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Hello prestigious means for businessmen who their image plays a role as their daily bread, saying i drive a Ford Mondeo will only get responses ‘hah what is that?’

• Rulered on Jun 01, 2011 at 6:52 am

Nice spec. Whether it is an alternative to Grandis or not, depends on the pricing.

• ol’ skool style……engine sounds interesting..but the exterior and interior styling is just not up to date and Ford badging does not help either

• Out of Luck on Jun 01, 2011 at 7:36 am

This is not quite the news I was waiting for. Was hoping for the announcement of the new 2011 Ford Focus. I guess with the Mondeo and S-Max announced, new Focus should be just around the corner :-)

• got an email about me enquiring the new ford focus in malaysia
      due to be launched by the end of next year….end 2012

• Out of Luck on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:55 pm

End of 2012? Why such a long wait? I’ll wait till mid 2012 max, if still not out then, will get 320d instead. Current Ford Focus design looked outdated although it doesn’t affect the handling. Fiesta, Mondeo and S-Max already gotten the new look. US and UK market gotten the new Focus 2011. Don’t understand why Malaysian market had to wait till end of 2012. Sigh!

• Louis on Jun 01, 2011 at 7:59 am

Current model discount RM18888, worth to buy?

• Lim Kopi on Jun 01, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Louis …

U may buy the car, but bare in mind all FORDs will screw u up when u resale cos the damn thing will cos no more than 25 cents !! :)

I know cos my Focus mk2 I sold off for the price of a low spec Myvi :)

• Out of Luck on Jun 02, 2011 at 11:16 am

Thanks for your feedback. Do you mind sharing your experience with Mk2 Ford Focus; like how long have you been using it, what was the problem commonly associated with Ford Focus and why did you sell it? I’ve been considering Ford Focus for a while now because of the comfort and handling. I do know that the SDAC has poor after sales service and Ford typically has low resale value. I would appreciate if there’s any other negative sides towards Ford cars besides the things highlighted above?

• beatnik on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:06 am

Those who bought the old mondeo must be banging their head.. coz now it comes with a more suitable engine for its size.

The s-max however, is probably going to stir up the upper end mpv segment..

• patrick on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:59 am

beatnik, so r u saying everbody who buys a car will bang their head whenever a new model comes out ? go bang yr own head before u say or before u buy a car. bang bang

• beatnik on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Did I wrote ‘everybody’? or probably you didn’t know the existing mondeo being sold here is underpowered.. so sensitive.. oh, probably you bought one? haha

• pls bring in more like C-Max, Kuga, Ka and etc.. then increasing the service centre..
    more choice always bring advantage to customers.. =)

• nazgul on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:28 am

launch the fiesta ecoboost also…

• lonelyobserve on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:51 am

Ford Fiesta doesn’t have EcoBoost engine. EcoBoost engine is available on larger car than Fiesta, Focus.

• Ford Focus Owner on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:47 am

No point in launching new cars when existing Ford owners, AutoConnexion finds it hard to service them fast and promptly. Though the Ford Focus is an excellent car and in my opinion, drives as well as a BMW 323i, I would never buy Ford, specifically from Malaysia. I drive a 2010 Ford Focus and Ford took 3 months to replace my damaged side mirror. 3 months I could not use the car.

Owners of Porsche and Ferrari, cars that are rare in Malaysia can actually get their parts faster than Ford. Infact, they can get any part in less than 2 weeks, but most of the time, no need to wait as Naza stocks virtually every part.

• squawk on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:20 am

There are many good car brands out there. But the reputation is spoiled by those who bring it in.

• rapidshifter on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:35 am

yeah.. pricey spare part one issue.. but more important how fast parts can be replace… 3 months was too long for side mirror…

• patrick on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:03 pm

might as well u change to porsche or ferrari

• beatnik on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:16 pm

u cannot accept the fact that autoconnexion has poor after sales? kekekekeke

• harry on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:26 am

side mirror damage..how come cannot use car??

• Guess Ford have managed to made in road to Msian heart now, saw a lot of Fiesta driven by young ppl on the road nowadays……this Mondeo or S Max will defiantely sells in the future once those current Fiesta owner trade up & starts to have family. Thanks to afford ability of the Fiesta, ford will do well in the future just as those days or the “Cortina” , “TX3” & “Laser”.

GUess, I am old …. he3x

• SoMeOnE on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:14 pm

3 months…?..its either they were fooling around with you or they really hate u mate…….. u can use the central mirror as a vantage point and having a broken side mirror does not keep one grounded….its not that hard to drive without one right?..i was driving a replacement junk from a workshop that didnt have any for a month…..

• Carl Wong on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Ford is really constantly getting better. They’re giving some good challenge to European and Japanese cars.

• both S Max & Mondeo are THE market leader in UK for their segment.

• Handling and good drive train are really not enough. Ford needs to look seriously good and not half pass 6 face lift. Am a ford fan….but cant help being really disssapointed. The one launched here looks outdated, the rims (Mondeo) looks awfully terrible. Bcos of dis shit, i rather put up with a Passat…..cc…………..i damn ford for being so lacklusture here

• Y.W. Phang on Dec 19, 2011 at 9:53 pm

please be fair and do more research to a car before you are commenting something so personal? I don’t really want to defend against your opinion just because I’m owning the Ford S-Max, but it is because of so many reasons and I’ve decided over the Ford. The Ford Mondeo prototype was used for casting as James Bond car, and it is beautiful in many ways. No doubt, Passat CC is beautiful, it is not fair to compare it over Mondeo. Also, the latest VW Passat does not drive nor look as good as Mondeo at all. This is how I look at it personally.

Not sure what Ford made you feel so offended by using the word “shit” to describe it. I’ve been having so much driving experience with many cars, from continental to Japanese over these 10-20 plus years of drives. The Ford S-Max chasis, engine, gearbox are so sophisticated, so shockingly nimble, so shockingly communicative, just the Ford S-Max the 7 Seater MPV itself, is simply putting a lot of high end and much more expensive so called sport sedan to huge shame. I don’t think there are many cars can achieve this kinda state of the art driving machine to any date. I’m confident to say this because the Ford S-Max is so shockingly nimble yet comfortable, I’ve ever find a car with the 4 wheels from a car which is capable of giving such feedback to the driver, the steering information and the 4 wheels information are so attached with the driver, not to mention that the Ford Mondeo should be even a tack better than the S-Max due to its size and the setup.

I really find that the new Passat is falling behind the getting old Mondeo! And Mondeo looks very Italian touched in my eyes inside out, what is wrong with it actually??? really?