Lotus Cars enters China – Lotus China Symphony appointed as official distributor

Lotus Cars enters China – Lotus China Symphony appointed as official distributorLotus Cars has begun its move into the Chinese market – the company has appointed Lotus China Symphony as the official Lotus Cars distributor for the country.

Beijing-based Lotus China Symphony – or known as Lotus China, if you will – will carry the full range of Lotus models for the Chinese market, these being the Evora, the Elise and the Exige. It has put in an initial order for 100 cars, with the Evora accounting for the majority of these first customer cars, with the remainder being Elise and Exige units.

Lotus China will open its first dealership in the capital in October, followed by dealerships in Shanghai, Chongqing and Guangzhou later in the year. Eight further dealerships are planned for 2012, and plans are underway to prepare for the arrival of the new Lotus models, starting with the Esprit in 2013.

The Lotus badge for cars sold in China includes the addition “NYO” lettering – pronounced like the word “new” – to symbolise the importance of the British company’s official entry into China.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• rapidshifter on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:45 am

they should enter earlier to capture the market… maybe 2 years too late…

• better late than never

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jun 21, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Is it enter or re-enter???

Lotus had been selling cars in China before, thru a different approach…..i guess???

A bit off track:

What happens to all this bollocks????

http://paultan.org/2008/06/10/iranian-proton-distributor-targets-100000-cars-a-year/

Dreammmmm on P1 !!!!

• Eyesore on Jun 21, 2011 at 6:21 pm

previously you said you are one of the guys that invovled with proton’s stakeholder meeting… so you should know what is going on with proton in iran market….

since you do not know anything about it….so apparently you are just one big fat dumbass liar…. LOL

• i wonder what is the pricing there …

• bboyahman on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:12 am

a smart move by Lotus …JV with China company , will help them gain more customer in china………Dump up..!!!

• kuncisudu on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:44 am

tak lama lagi adala lotus imitation tu.

• tokmoh on Jun 21, 2011 at 12:10 pm

So umm… long wheelbase version coming out soon? lol jk :P

• ismazri on Jun 21, 2011 at 12:15 pm

China special edition Lotus same like Bentley, Ferrari, Lambo, Porsche

• Paul Tan on Jun 21, 2011 at 12:14 pm

Is the NYO to differentiate it from the Young man Lotus?

• profiler on Jun 21, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Paul, r u saying Lotus already available in China prior to lotus symphony?

• putra_rider on Jun 21, 2011 at 12:16 pm

Lotus PuNYO..

• – to symbolise the importance of the British company’s official entry into China.
    British? or should be Malaysian

• VoidDance on Jun 21, 2011 at 1:23 pm

Lotus Symphony?

IBM want it back!

Oh wait, this is China we’re talking about. Okay then. They’re immune to trademarks.

• T4VR-Ralph on Jun 21, 2011 at 3:40 pm

jadi Youngman apa macam?

• VoidDance on Jun 21, 2011 at 4:41 pm

Tunggu nanti Bahar kata Youngman tak boleh dah guna nama Lotus.

Pastu gaduh macam dengan Team Lotus.

Oh, tak boleh. Sama Company. Tengok Proton ikut cakap Bahar… Hehehe.

• Eyesore on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:12 pm

as far as i know… youngman wasn’t selling cars under lotus name… they only put the ‘Engineered by Lotus’ badge on the car…. so there should be no confusion over the name issue… same in malaysia where Naza put the ‘licensed by peugot’ badge on their cars… and peugot still selling their own car in Malaysia…

• T4VR-Ralph on Jun 22, 2011 at 11:45 am

r u sure?
          they call themselves youngman lotus
          the chinese word “Lian Hua Qi Che” = Lotus Cars
          the 2 models, L3 and L5 in chinese care called “Lian Hua L3” and “Lian Hua L5”, which literary means Lotus L3 and Lotus L5

and you can see Lian Hua (Lotus) everywhere
          see to believe:
          http://www.youngmanlotus.com/

• kingjoke on Jun 21, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Best of luck p1 and lotus! Work hard and make us proud…