July 9: Puduraya bus services moved to Hentian Duta and Bdr Tasik Selatan, stage buses not allowed into city

As we all know, this Saturday (July 9) is the day that Bersih has chosen to make its stand, and the authorities are doing all they can to disrupt the gathering, which is, for now, planned for Stadium Merdeka at 2pm.

Among the measures will be preventing people from entering the city centre, and the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has announced that the city’s main Puduraya bus terminal will be shut down, with northbound services directed to Hentian Duta. Bus services at Hentian Putra will be moved to the Terminal Bersepadu at Bandar Tasik Selatan. This is effective from tomorrow midnight till Saturday 10pm.

In addition, stage buses (such as those by RapidKL, Metrobus, Cityliner etc) will be barred from entering the city centre. For buses coming from Jalan Semarak, Jalan Setapak/Genting Kelang, Jalan Ipoh, Jalan Kuching and Jalan Duta, services will terminate at the Titiwangsa LRT/Monorail station. Buses from Jalan Ampang will stop at the Dato Keramat station.

As for routes from Jalan Kg Pandan and Jalan Cheras, buses will stop at the Maluri LRT station. For those coming from Federal Highhway via Jalan Bangsar, Jalan Travers and Jalan Tun Sambanthan, your coach will stop at KL Sentral. The same goes for buses from Jalan Damansara.

It’s going to be chaos on the roads, so be prepared or stay at home!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ibnu harun on Jul 07, 2011 at 5:23 pm

Use LRT then…

• exJAVANESE on Jul 08, 2011 at 12:18 am

basikal fixie ade, MTB ade…kasi guna loo..bru badan sihat, minda bersih…hahahha

• My2bollocks on Jul 07, 2011 at 5:25 pm

Cowards ALL the King's men, the message has been delivered to the World.!
    Wait for the next elections ! Just you wait Higgins just you wait Higgins ,just you wait.

• @_hafiz on Jul 07, 2011 at 5:30 pm

see u there guys!! #bersih

• Encik W on Jul 07, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Oh, susahnya nak ke mana-mana pada Hari Sabtu ini.

• mid-income earner on Jul 07, 2011 at 5:35 pm

To this extent?!!.. hmm..

• Perry Kow on Jul 07, 2011 at 5:36 pm

obvious childish and vain effort…..

• LatukBandar on Jul 07, 2011 at 5:38 pm

From police state to mafia state… amazing. Be ready, I bet the internet will be down this friday and saturday. Not to mention the LRT will break down, and some unforseen car accident at federal highway.

They might as well lock down KLIA.

Sunday papers will say business people around KL lost RM6billion in profit…

• loveit on Jul 08, 2011 at 7:23 am

In malaysia ? nah that not gonna happen here..This country’s malas type people won’t go that far..

• autobot on Jul 07, 2011 at 5:39 pm

yeah..Good to be home..

• mejoh on Jul 07, 2011 at 6:03 pm

all d passenger will b d victim..

• support on Jul 07, 2011 at 6:11 pm

support at home…

• adrian87 on Jul 07, 2011 at 6:23 pm

stupid government

• azmie on Jul 07, 2011 at 6:34 pm

that's even better! we can marched into the heart of kl

• adrian87 on Jul 07, 2011 at 6:52 pm

stupid government ..maiking people's life miserable

• Beemer on Jul 07, 2011 at 6:53 pm

sometime, i dont understand y police/authorities take such extreme measure..i dont think malaysian are that aggresive eventhough i admit it is diffcult to control such a big crowd..but, when u do such extreme measures, as if the G is afraid with its shadows! since the King has given his consent, the police should provide the protection by patrolling the march into the stadium..not preventing people from going there!

i’m not in favour of any party..but getting annoyed with action taken by our elected reps..own politic survival comes 1st, national interest 2nd..

• mystvearn on Jul 07, 2011 at 6:59 pm

The goverment cr

• mystvearn on Jul 07, 2011 at 7:01 pm

The government's clamp down now seem to be getting more ridiculous. There are other people who have no interest in bersih needing to use town transit points for other modes of transportation

• azihas on Jul 07, 2011 at 7:05 pm

the government try to make Bersih as the devil. making live miserable and people will blame Bersih. Bersih only demand EC to be reformed. Is that so hard to accept?

• they already have selangor,penang,kedah n kelantan.. apa yang x bersih lg.
    your bastard do it in your own place laaaa.. maiking people's life miserable.

• if it was really 'bersih' we got new gvt oredi…

• Angry on Jul 07, 2011 at 7:28 pm

Stop being a selfish brat. People like you = problem to the country. Only caring about yourself & not the country as a whole.

• LatukBandar on Jul 07, 2011 at 7:35 pm

if the EC is bersih. they will have the entire Malaysia. If wanna play, play fair lah. BN don need to use all those tricks. GOD told us to be fair… unless u don have any religion.

• tiadaid on Jul 07, 2011 at 9:39 pm

And PR don't use tricks? I know for a fact that PR also practices "Undi Hantu" because my friend's parents, who are ardent PAS supporter and is registered to vote in Pahang actually went to Kedah for a by-election there to VOTE. I know for a fact that PR uses money politics because my friend got money from both PAS & UMNO to vote for them (in the end he didn't even vote).

The fact that Bersih is aligned with PR and the fact that they are organizing a rally in the heat of the Anwar "alleged" sex tape scandal makes me doubt the true intentions of Ambiga and her cohorts. If Bersih had been non-aligned with either side, I'd be much more sympathetic.

So come on, thumb this down. Just prove that the typical Malaysian operates on a herd mentality. If you're smart enough, you wont support either side whether the government or the opposition! Having experienced governance from both side, I can say that both are equally useless!

• BERSIHISGOOD on Jul 07, 2011 at 11:24 pm

What a dumb fcuk…BERSIH is a civil society effort to get clean and fair elections exactly to get rid of the above mentioned practices.

Once and awhile, use your head, dont think with your ass all the time.

• exJAVANESE on Jul 08, 2011 at 12:27 am

how do you know dude?? are really sure about it yaa?

is it.. BERSIH is a civil society effort or BERSIH is somebody trick to change subject attention by use society? ;-)

BTW, im not BN or PR..hate it both…
            Think wise..peace..

• droll on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:48 am

i can argue the same thing about what you said. how do you know BERSIH is aligned to PR???

politics is all about perception. they can fight all they want but the ones who suffer are the rakyat.

• tiadaid on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:37 am

As I said before, if BERSIH is sincere in wanting clean & fair elections they wouldn't have aligned themselves with the opposition parties who practices dirty tricks as well. If even such a glaring thing you can't see, then I'm sorry, I'm not the one thinking with my ass.

It is you!

• nabill on Jul 07, 2011 at 11:27 pm

but it doesnt mean we all jus sit n watch and do nothing…no matter how crap the oposition is…the way the G and its NGO's are behaving is jus shamless…and we as rakyat have the right to voice our disgust and anger at how the whole thing is being handled

• Kington on Jul 07, 2011 at 11:59 pm

I somewhat agree with you, but then are we to just fold our hands and do nothing? YEs, opposition parties will also use tricks, every such party does.

But let us focus on why such impractical inconveniences need to be brought up just to frustate the general public?

Let the people decide, whether the opposition is genuine or just another one trick pony. But what's being done here is absolute rubbish. You can;t just simply clamp down on some anti govt rally by hurting the general public.

• tiadaid on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:16 am

There are many ways to express your feelings other than street demos. History has shown that demos by opposition supporters have a way of going nasty. Most of the demo-goers somehow lost all sense of rationality and just went for chaos & destruction.

The typical Malaysian isn't mature enough to hold street demos!

• azhar on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:37 pm

FYI…most KL area is under PR MP…the demo is in KL..now which place u talking bout???

• Mask Ryder on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Azhar, Jawapan hang tersangat Baik & Tepat.

• kenapa over react??? if they just allow, it would be done and over with in just a few hours and our pm will get some political mileage..now the voters wont be so happy..this what i call 'shooting self in the foot'..siapa yang atur strategy ni..? kasi fired sama dia..no matter what i still won't vote BN

• Philip on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:18 pm

agree with you 100%, idiot Najib and all stupid BN people.

• tiadaid on Jul 07, 2011 at 7:13 pm

Bunch of morons all. Both the govt. and Bersih are to be blamed for this bullshit!

I just want to spend my weekend in peace and calm & what do I get?

• Home Sweet Home on Jul 07, 2011 at 7:59 pm

stay at home lee, why would anyone want to spend their time in a jam the whole the weekends?

• BERSIH@LIAR on Jul 07, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Stupid…BERSIH….UR MADE HAVOC U BLAME OTHERS…..STUPID…
    better invites people to library learn and read more books than doing stupid thing …
    haiya …old reasaon….no democracy here no human right Ec bias ….etc…Piraahhhhhhhh….haiya no democracy paultan org also should shut down….maaaa..Malaysian after this summonse BERSIH $1trillion….My life disturbed by BERSIH…..

• Obama on Jul 07, 2011 at 7:32 pm

u want to live like a slave kah? or even worst you want your future generations to live like slave with no right for every thing?

• abnag on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:11 pm

U ar not BERSIH thats y been dirty…where phimpunan haram…? Gomen ler make all this things be more trouble before BERSIH…mangkuk hayun ler lu……

• Kington on Jul 07, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Another delusional Malaysian. Get some education, please.

When govt sponsor you, you don't want to pay attention in class.

• Kahkahkah…..government is so scared for BERSIH. Anything they will do to ban this rally. His Majesty already give permision but govnment BN still scared. Why? Another funniest moment from our government.

• Ambigaria on Jul 07, 2011 at 7:22 pm

Why blame gomen, blame the Stupid Bersih dogs laa…

• Kington on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:28 pm

You seemed very delusional. Quite obvious, these are tactics employed by govt to induce "delusional" people like your goodself to blame BERSIH for the havoc.

If you still can't comprehend this by now, then i bid you farewell.

• 1Malaysia on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:16 pm

see the window beside u….walk near there, stand there, and wait for ppl to push u down…..especially MACC buildings…

• ddboy on Jul 07, 2011 at 11:53 pm

yeah that's wht bijan and bn wants people to do but too bad people end up hating the government more. the city is in a lockdown not because of bersih but because of polis raja di malaysia. open your eyes you idiot.

• asraf on Jul 07, 2011 at 7:36 pm

Mengarut…agong dh bagi lampu hijau buat kt stadium pn masih kne ganggu gak..ade phimpunan jlnan or xde phimpunan jalanan still rkyt tak bly gerak bebas,apa kes…dgr2 sistem komunikasi sperti internet n telco pun akan terganggu pada hjung mnggu ni utk mengelakkan org dari mendapat mklumat pasal bersih ni…weii ak tak pernah miss bayar bill la!!

• PRESTIGIOUS25 on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:11 pm

GOVERMENT SHOULD THINK A WAY IN WIN WIN SITUATION TO SOLVE SOLUTION OR DIALOGUE NOT ONLY TO BERSIH BUT PEOPLE'S IN MALAYSIA. IF NOT, SUCH PROBLEM WILL HAPPEN AGAIN AND AGAIN IN NEAR FUTURE BY THOSE PEOPLE'S ARE NOT HAPPY WITH GOVERMENT! RAKYAT WILL SUFFER ESPECIALLY IN KL/SELANGOR LIKE TRAFFIC JAM…YOU KNOW..ALL PEOPLE'S ARE EARNING MONEY FOR THEIR RICE BOWL..AND FOR BELOVED FAMILY..RIGHT?

• freeze on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:11 pm

Damn B-End causing havoc. Bersih wants to have a peaceful gathering but B-End morons causing jams, and chaos. Makes me wanna kick that bald head and score a goal

• Simon Ng on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:30 pm

Sad day. I pity those who rely on public transport to work..

• azhar on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:34 pm

stupid move which will cause problems to people..and all that for a farkin demo!!!…another thing is all those police roadblocks…last time i heard BERSIH is bout clean & fair election not bout topple the government..they dont want clean election arrrr???..WTH!!

• BERSIH@LIAR on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:09 am

EC not clean to PR supporters only but BN Supporters says Clean ma……

PR so Clean ???? more dirt than our wastages….

• kelson on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:35 pm

stupid government…make things inconvenient to all people. They are the one really affecting the whole travel industry. Fxxk off.

• clement lee on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:40 pm

both wanna create havoc. bersih kecoh + gov exaggerated = problems and inconveniences..

• BERSIH KAN NEGARA DARI PEROMPAK YG MEROMPAK KEKAYAAN NEGARA…LET SUPPORT BERSIH 2.0

• shiau on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:48 pm

Hahahaha…what a fucking cheapshot from the government! Its like he's allowing you to eat the cake, but he just won't fucking give it to you. <3

• Bob Vettel on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:45 am

Ever hear the saying “Can’t have one’s cake and eat it too”?

• Black Dog on Jul 07, 2011 at 9:01 pm

That’s why I don’t understand why there are people still want to spend millions to buy an apartment and live in the city! Smog, haze, traffic jams & occasionally this!

• rags1968 on Jul 07, 2011 at 9:02 pm

I luv this, defintely count me in , add to the yellow colour, nothing going to stop me now! the more they try, the morew the rakyat is determined, I love challenges

• The most stupid decision taken by the goverment!!! Well its so ovious that the goverment is so scared of Bersih.. Even The Agung has given a Green light for the Bersih to hold theier gathering peacefully in The stadium.. So Y da hack the goverment wanna create Havoc. now.. Let them do the gathering la.. Y need to stop all bus services… Is this what we call as Rakyat Di Dahulukan.. Where is da Kebebasan Bersuara.. Bn is a nice party, but its runned by some bunch of Uneducated People!!!!!

• Hope for the best, plan for the worst…

• Jacky on Jul 07, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Stupid Bersih. Go have rally at Shah Alam Stadium laaaaa moron.

• We shall walk/march there in one straight line….treat it like the marathon @ fun run …..

Haha ….better stay home and watch astro under air-con and have cuppa coffee ….

• claribuzz on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:00 pm

i prefer the rants about car than this

• Najib Razak on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:03 pm

Hei Semua rakyat, apa ni? biar la Saya nk buat roadblock. sebb kamu orang semua degil. kamu org semua ingat kuat ke? saya stop bus and buat roadblock kamu semua dah menjerit macam budak kecil. kalau kamu terror.. cuba la buat riot BERSIH Ke.. CUCI ke.. BERKILAT ke… nanti saye sumbat kamu semua dalam ISA. Kamu semua tak tau ke Isteri saya lebih berkuasa dari saya? Bodoh punya rakyat. mau best BALIK CHINA and INDIA and PAKISTAN and INDON and Bangla. JGN duduk DI malaysia! Saya Najib Razak. Saya PM Yang paling pandai. Lu org semua apa tau?!

• KUTTY on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:21 pm

IF NO BERSIH, NOTHING HAPPEN… DID U KNOW 500 PEOPLE FIGHTING LAST WEEK BECAUSE OF THIS. 12 PEOPLE DIED ON LAST SATURDAY. THATS Y AGONG MAKE ANNOUNCEMENT ON SUNDAY. NO NEWS BOUT THIS. BUT IT HAPPEN.
    THIS IS PREVENTION MATTER. PEOPLE DIE…

• Want_to_be_Clean on Jul 07, 2011 at 11:42 pm

yeah right. Go troll somewhere else.

• better stay at home and watch F1 or other stuff, this gathering is merely like any other political party comvention

• BABIUTANbn on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Hidup bersih. Mampus BN.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 08, 2011 at 1:25 am

Looks like the general erection… oops, I mean, election… is around the corner…

• wahid on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:44 pm

hal dunia jangan difikirkan lebih-lebih, kalau muslim kalau ada hajat boleh buat solat hajat

• KeAMANan on Jul 07, 2011 at 11:12 pm

Rally bring more trouble than good of the so call ‘BERSIH’. Disrupt traffic,business badly affected,all just for some politically self gain… What if any in need emergency case,but ambulance cant reach? Bersih create disaster than any goods..

We are educated and civilized generation,not mental retarded…wonder y so many retarded will supoort this rally…

ONLY THOSE IDIOT WILL SUPPORT THE IDOTIC RALLY !!!

• nabill on Jul 07, 2011 at 11:25 pm

jus let them protest in a confined space of the stadium…no harm…bt someone is affraid the oposition wil get the msg across…

i wish the foriegn media report on the stupidity of everyone involved…

btw this is EXACTLY what china/russia/iraq did when thy wer ruled bt tyrants/dicatators and so on…bloody rediculous this whole saga…

• niceone on Jul 07, 2011 at 11:28 pm

what a load of b0ll0cks. i recall a line of lyric from linkin park, "when the rich wage war, it's the poor who dies". ambiga and cronies, najib and cronies won't lose any sleep over this. it's the people who suffers from this bullsh!t, causing worries, business suffers, malaysia image suffers. i don't believe any side of the political parties, both are just utter useless. they are the ones who ruin racial harmony and peace in this country. i may end up not showing up for voting if scenario like this continues until election.

• neutralvoter on Jul 07, 2011 at 11:43 pm

macam tu x yah buat kt stadium kalau tau mcm ni. saja je diorang ni…a very ridiculous action by da govt trying to stop the freedom of speech at all cost..

• clean on Jul 07, 2011 at 11:51 pm

previously govrmnt mntioned 'yellow label' will caused chaos in kl and will discourage tourist from entering kl..now they prevent everyone including rakyat to enter kl..waddafak???..everyone have d rights to go anywhere dey want der..

• Mengq Yek on Jul 07, 2011 at 11:53 pm

I will walk to BERSIH from my house at Salak South Garden then… Will take me about 2 hours I guess. Who is with me?

• transformer on Jul 08, 2011 at 12:05 am

this Gov will do anything to stop Bersih rally street….. all media(especially newspapers, TV & radio) are being manipulated and controlled until we cant hear any goods from Bersih…..

* Wasting petrol by creating a lot of roadblocks nationwide….. Thousands Litre of petrol wasted while idling at roadblocks yet they want to remove subsidies….

Njb, just be a man, just let Bersih rally street, open all media sanction and prepared for next election….

• bnmyass on Jul 08, 2011 at 12:07 am

Hey, Paul, wat about a new yellow background on 709?

• Expatriate VN on Jul 08, 2011 at 12:58 am

I for once support for free and fair elections, Najib should honour his word of allowing Bersih to conduct their rally in stadium.

• finerounddclock on Jul 08, 2011 at 12:59 am

i've always thought this blog is all about automotive news, debates, views, etc. but when i read this post, the first impression i got is our danny boy here is also a politician. this post to me, is politically driven & aimed at garnering political responds. the comments posted are too! my advise to you danny boy, don't write anything got to do with political sentiments. just stick to what you do best & meant for this blog ie write only, things related with automotive…

• Paul Tan on Jul 08, 2011 at 1:46 am

i believe the intention is to warn of the upcoming road situation. it is related to MOTORING after all.

• Yoyoma on Jul 08, 2011 at 2:21 am

Yes, the article is well balanced. The fact of the matter is that they are really " doing all they can to disrupt the gathering"…and they are taking " measures will be preventing people from entering the city centre" ……and you can "be prepared or stay at home."

• Say i on Jul 08, 2011 at 7:51 am

aiyya danny is just telling us the news about the the ban for public transport entering KL maa..not everyone very lucky like u have to ride on a bus..

• squall_shinoda on Jul 08, 2011 at 1:12 am

The chaotic situation that may be resulted from this Saturday's rally is not because of Bersih. The Bersih's intention is already good, to clean out our electoral practices and processes from ghost voters. Malaysia has too many ghost voters already. Even my father's colleagues from Umno strongly admit the fact… but can some mere anchovies like them challenge a huge shark? They can't do anything at all. Challenge the so-called "godfather" and they'll end up being suspended (or the worst, being expelled) from the party for opposing their President's decisions.

The real culprit of the upcoming chaos are KL and his rempit gangsters, as well as their Perkasa arse-lickers, for planning counter-rallies. They're supposed to be held responsible for turning KL as the second Bangkok, with the red shirts battle with yellow shirts.

• Cheku77 on Jul 08, 2011 at 1:55 am

Yang jadi government tetap akan. Corrupt ! pembangkang tu yang paling bersih… Cuba tukar pi mai pi mai tang tu jugak!

Yang paling langtang menabur keburukan org … Biasanya terbalik! Contoh nyer PAS, lepas banyak haram banyak pulak die sibuk nak bersih kan!

• BERSIH@LIAR on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:13 am

1 suggest to moron BERSIH organiser gathering at our Laut China Selatan or ATlantic Sea …bettter and more spacious than grater KL or Stadium Merdeka…………

BETTER THAN KL ….NO AFFECTED PEOPLEin mainland…..

• campromania on Jul 08, 2011 at 4:28 am

ni semua salah bersih !!!

• azrai on Jul 08, 2011 at 7:47 am

Good for our people safety this week because police are everywhere, and criminal doesn't even dare to do their action. :-)

• MrBMW on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:10 am

I don't like this post. Of course its about motoring, but it bring us to political issues. I hope a motoring post and its comments also about motoring, not the political issues. Politic is never ending.

• Hadi75 on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:11 am

Different scenario…
    Bersih is allowed…dataran merdeka to istana negara route is block for the rally by the police so that it can proceed peacefully…..thousands of people come to city center in show of support….rally finish in couple of hours…thousands of hungry people looking for food…
    Hura hara happens because we ask for it….everyday…look at our media…our leaders n their pencacai..always doa for it…