Airbags a must in new vehicles by Jan 1, 2012

Airbags a must in new vehicles by Jan 1, 2012All new cars sold from next year will need to have a minimum of two frontal airbags – vehicle manufacturers must comply with this requirement, which takes effect on Jan 1, 2012, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha said.

According to reports, he said the Government is prepared to offer a grace period for vehicle manufacturers and assemblers in the country who are not able to comply with the new ruling. “For those (manufacturers and assemblers) who are not able to comply with the ruling, they can talk to us and we are prepared to give them leniency of time. Maybe six months for them to comply,” he told reporters yesterday.

Kong said that all vehicles, except four-wheel drives, will be required to be fitted with airbags from next year, stating that a study by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) showed that airbags and seat belts helped to save lives in road accidents.

“I think it will go a long way towards reducing the number of people who are injured in road accidents. It will also reduce the number of deaths,” he said. The reports add that Kong said both Proton and Perodua had assured they could comply with the new ruling.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• What happen to older cars? who recently purchased them?if gov going to make it compulsory for all cars after this. it will be too much. gov enforcement on safety is too slow.

• LatukBandar on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:17 am

It says ‘All cars SOLD next year…’ Read the article carefully lah, not ‘All cars must be fitted with airbag next year…’

• Airbags a must in NEW vehicles by Jan 1, 2012..

new vehicle only…

• looking-good on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:16 pm

and pls make sure the those air-bags are good and functional , bcos lame airbag could kill too !

• BeemerFreak on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:19 am

Gov should ban the sales of 2nd hand cars without airbags effective 2012. Those that bought before should be fitted for free.

• alldisc on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:35 am

hell yeah!! my MPV is basic spec only. i want free airbags!! ha ha haa

• teelim on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:59 pm

It may not be possible to retrofit an airbag into an old car if there was no airbag designed for it in the first place. Even if it could be done, it may not function/deploy correctly.

• rapidshifter on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:32 pm

in Malaysia, airbag should be function even though not wearing seatbelt as too many people didn’t care if they fastened the seatbelt even the seatbelt warning keep blinking all the way!!! but then simple bump to a parking car will activate the airbag…hmmm

• biggie on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:50 pm

then u need different kind of airbag. as current airbag work most effectively if occupant wer seatbelt

• driver on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:08 pm

If you look at the airbags inside your car, or the car manual, you’ll noticed that it says “SRS Airbags”..notice the word before Airbags. SRS stands for Suplementary Restrain System, which mean that it’s not the primary restrain system as compared to seatbelt. Seatbelt is compulsory to prevent the driver from being thrown outside the vehicle during collision. Whereas, the airbags is to further reduce the injury (mostly on the chest and head) during the collision, by assuming that the driver is using the seatbelt. Airbags has been designed to supplement seatbelt. In fact, having an aibags without using seatbelt is more dangerous!

That’s why some manufacturers are working on a smarter system for airbags deployment. It detects the passenger physiological properties, such as height, weight,etc. to determine the deployment properties of the airbags. You may also see that some car has the option to turn off the passenger airbag. It should be turned off when a child is sitting in the front, or having the baby cradle set-up in front seat.

Chill~

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:50 pm

you have no idea kiddo?
        if airbags deployed while driver is not wearing seatbelt, serious injury or death might occur as it might be too close to the driver’s face. seatbelt is the most important.
        airbags will not deploy if accident happen below certain speed. it also will not deploy if you’re hit from side (unless for curtain aibags).

• claxxion on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:10 pm

Do you know that airbag that deploys when you’re not wearing seatbelts can KILL you?

• squall_shinoda on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:52 pm

You don’t really understand the mechanics of an airbag. An airbag inflates within a fraction of a second, which translate into a greate force being exerted to the driver or passenger. Therefore, if a driver or passenger doesn’t wear the seat belt, then the impact from the airbag will be doubled, because there’s no seatbelt to restrain them from being thrown forward.

• Comment on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Quote:

“A study by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) showed that airbags and seat belts helped to save lives in road accidents.”

Miros actually needs to do a Study on that? my Gosh!! how ironic…

• Haha……they shud study which one to enforced first…passive safety (airbag) of active safety (ABS, EBD, ESP, chassis & suspension fine tune), I prefer to avoid accident first which goes to active safety.

• hahaha….we have the same thought! finally a GENIUOS landed in MIROS! ……AIRBAG are long existed in the other part of the world! If not wrong when Proton started (WOW! Malaysia 1st manufacturing car plant) selling a Saga (PLAIN 4 WHEELS WITH MITS ENGINE) for 28K where in Germany at that time a 318 at RM18K already has airbag! WAH LAU EH! IF NOT MISTAKEN LAH COZ PRETTY LONG AGO BUT 1 THING FOR SURE IS THE PRICE TAG!

• Please no more price increment for cover up the airbag installation.

• god's slave on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:59 pm

you mean price increase for proton meh? cause all imported car hav airbags what…

• No la, the price will go down… of course they will be some increase. You think the workers that pasang the airbag is free aah, the assembly time for 1 car is longer so longer man hour, more power, more resources and so on… giz quality thing doesn’t come cheap la. If proton maintain the same price then you can bet there are trade-offs somewhere.

• Airbob on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:54 pm

too bad bro… there will be…..
      next time u go puspakom ::

Corrupted Mech : ooo this car got no airbag.. its going to take 2 months to inspect.. but if ure willing to pay, today can finish..

Corrupted Customer : HO YEAH!

• BeemerFreak on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:17 am

Why should there be an exception to 4 wheel drives? Safety is the responsibility of all, there should not be any exemptions.

• Chuck Jordan on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:18 am

“Kong said that all vehicles, except four-wheel drives, will be required to be fitted with airbags from next year” – How about vans, motorcycles? Those are vehicles too.

• alldisc on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:33 am

motorcycles? airbagss?? u got to be kidding… the only way an airbag will work for a motorcyclist is when it is fitted at the rider’s body itself.

• god's slave on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:00 pm

so far only honda goldwing hav airbag

• bobmacdoodle on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:10 pm

i think its called a helmet?

• prolever on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:13 pm

wait2..
        Honda Goldwing have a front airbag what..

• squall_shinoda on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:53 pm

There is a motorcycle with an airbag – Honda Gold Wing.

• dont u all see how huge that goldwing n airbag not standard just an option bet 4 option comfort, gps, abs or airbag…in what area can airbag put in kapcai? let say yamaha 125z

• Don’t worry, starts next year all the kapcais will be fitted with airbag and ABS as standard.

• bongek on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:35 pm

you go design ur own airbag on motocycle aaa…. u verrryy smart aa,,,please become my PM…

• Chuck Jordan on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:19 am

I used motorcycles as an example because the statement was “… ALL vehicles except four-wheel drives”!

• What?? Only after local MIROS study that they believe airbags and seatbelts can help save lives?? What the crap man…

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:53 pm

because all this while, the crash test are done with dummies.
      but MIROS is using real human as their subject. They can only get the results after so many death on Malaysian roads.

• keith duckworth on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:21 am

there will be cars manufactured in 2011 or earlier but only sold in 2012. will they be exempted?

• dondon on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:24 am

all this while they’re actually mentioned about p1 and p2…

• Mozilla Chrome on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:24 am

Better late than never..

• Chris on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:30 am

wow…still need research from Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) to approve airbags to be compulsory???
    i thought this is known for decades that airbags save life???

Malaysia are such a joke in transportation safety

• littlefire on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Yup.. Maybe they tot those orang putih safety standard is nothing compare to Malaysian passive handling safety standard…

Please, besides Air-bags, ABS + ESC ( Electrionic Stability Control ) is also important!!! Already proven by the NHTSA in United States concluded that ESC reduces crashes by 35%, the likelihood of all fatal crashes by 43%, fatal single-vehicle crashes by 56%, and fatal single-vehicle rollovers by 77-80%!!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_stability_control

By the way, if u wanna say we dont have snow?!? Do you know that during raining time also dangerous?

If talk about cost, ABS in 2005 cost an estimated US$368; ESC cost a further US$111. So how much only?!? With just around RM1500 (USD1*3.0) u can reduce accident rate and may also save ur life!!!

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:59 pm

but when proton increase the price by RM1000 to include 2 airbags in Saga, so many people bising..
        but you’re right. Proton has no choice but to include ESP into Saga 1.6 if they want to continue selling the car in Australia. and the new meter cluster have ESP on it, this suggest that ESP will be coming to Saga, hopefully soon!

• jalan54 on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:04 pm

This is our government… Always do things late. People have been implemented for decades, now only they follow… Diesel in other countries already EURO 5 EURO 6, what we have only EURO 2M (not even close to EURO 2)…

When they announce this, is like a very big issue, big title in newspaper, they should feel shameful for implementing it so late!!!

• as long the driver is not fall asleep…those active safety will not do anything..since the one controlling the car sleep..only passive safety help them to survive

• Out of Luck on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:14 pm

Agreed! People always complaint when the price of car increased by RM1000 for extra airbags which help to save life or prevent severe injuries but then happily spend RM1500 for aftermarket ICE, RM500 for spoiler/bumper and another RM1500 for sports rims.

• yes, can do local research but implement esc and abs as standard based on overseas research first! then can compare pre and post installation of these devices and its effect on local acident rates in further research.

• Proton Driver on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:30 am

what stupid law is this? four-wheel drives no need airbags? don’t they know four-wheel drives have the worst safety rate? and he should state clearly what he means by four-wheel drives. if he meant those big tall cars he should say SUV as cars like the Nissan X-trail is only 2wd. if he didnt meant that, then cars like the subaru impreza and audi a4 quattro is 4-wheel drive..so they no need airbag ah? niamah!

• alldisc on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:37 am

this idea is good. when all cars are having twin airbags as standard, more companies will start to offer additional airbags for the higher spec models like side airbags or curtain airbags.

i loikeee..

• Good effort from Gov, enhance vehicle safety..hope no extra mark up for car price and maintanance.

• LatukBandar on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:42 am

By erecting more laws, this will further increase the cost of a product, not to mention corruption. I say let the free market decides, demand and supply will take care of everything, before that, the gov must open up the market and allow everyone to choose the car that meets their budget or safety needs.

Installing airbags on cars with no proper cabin frame that absorb the impact upon an accident doesn’t make any sense. The person inside the car is more likely to die because he or she is crushed to pieces, or his or her leg got stuck under the accelerator pad.

• teelim on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Are you aware that your comment is self contradictory?

On one hand, you mention that Extra safety = Extra cost,

On the other hand, you mentioned that Extra safety is useless without EVEN more safety.

Btw, you do not need to tell us what we already know.

• alpha999 on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:44 am

finally additional safety item BUT at no price increase which worsens the already burdened rakyat

another thing, real AIRBAG, ‘not crappy plastic bags’ just to comply new JPJ requirements

• kawan on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:46 am

basic spec cars getting more expensive after this..

• torque on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:49 am

“…stating that a study by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) showed that airbags and seat belts helped to save lives in road accidents.”

Well…duh…this thing should be implemented long ago. The ministry/gov should concentrate more on bringing more diesel base vehicle and upgrading its diesel quality so the citizen could save more on expenses. Car price already up n with this new rule…lagi ler naik harga…suppose to be standard feature on the airbags.

• Quote from Transport Minister “a study by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) showed that airbags and seat belts helped to save lives in road accidents.”

This has been proven for years and applied in many countries and now only does Malaysian Government recognize it…Way to to go… Malaysia Boleh it seems…

• many malaysian do not know or bother about seat belt function….all they know when nmpk polis trafik n jpj automatic seatbelt is on after that off

• TallPan on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:54 am

Another hair-brained idea by the ppl in charge. You wanna reduce deaths? get Malaysians to drive in a more civil manner…

Do Malaysians (with typical short-term memory) ever wonder what happened to the rear-seat seat belt law? Another ‘well-thought out’ scheme… How many rural folks with 7-8 kids can afford a bloody Estima/Alphard/Vellfire? Where’s the enforcement now biyatch?
    oh that’s right, that law was passed quite near to the launch of the Alza :-) hmmmm

• sudha on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Airbag technology is not new and it’s been around for a long time. It started appearing in luxury makes in the early 90’s before Proton introduced them in limited edition models in the late 90’s.

Largely proven to be effective in reducing fatalities in vehicle crashes, I wonder why it has taken the government so long to take this action “to make airbags mandatory” from 2012.

It’s funny, airbags were mandatory in some of the export models made by Proton especially the Wira, I wonder why the RTD did not see it fit to be made mandatory back then.

I dont know why teh government, especially the RTD sees things too late. If you ask me, Safety features such as Airbags, ABS and etc should be mandatory in all passenger cars especially the locally made ones.

For long, we have had to graple with the manufacturers objective to save cost with view to maximise profits – with us consumers getting the short end of the stick when essential safety features are skimmed to keep cost low.

It’s a move in the right direction, nevertheless. But one wonders, if other essential safety features will be made mandatory as well.

Watching with great interest, over a cup of tea and hwa tai biscuits.

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:06 pm

the way i see it, the airbags, abs, and esp are wayyy too expensive back then. even luxury cars put only 2 airbags. for proton and perodua which produce car for low price, such additinal features will increase the price of their products.
      now, everything is cheaper due to matured technology and economy of scale (more and more cars produced every year).
      how many people could afford handphone back then? how many now? even budak tadika know how to play games on iphone.

• teelim on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Just goes to show that the Government it more interested in the QUANTITY that Proton could sell. Not QUALITY.

• kamaji on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Huraaaaaaay..another great idea with the expense of the consumer & another price increase.

• niceone on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:57 pm

ok, we can do with no price increase then, but with the expense of your life.

• freeze on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:13 pm

“a study by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) showed that airbags and seat belts helped to save lives in road accidents”

Hahaha More than 20 years ago people have studied it. Bodoh MIROS crash test Alza at 15kph and say pass.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:32 pm

Because MIROS still want to use to car mah, let bumper kemek only, not engine bay.

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:09 pm

you’re the bodoh one…
      what Miros test wasn’t Alza, but the lorry undercarriage bar, to prevent the car went further underneath the lorry and causing more serious damage / injury to car driver. get it?

• Cheng on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:18 pm

can they ban recycle tires too? i think it cause more accidents in the highway.

• nabill on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:18 pm

who wanna bet that the’ leniency period’ will xtend beyond 2012 ???

• Unforgiven on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:28 pm

2 are nothing when 6 are almost standard now a days…

• ichi24 on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:04 pm

then you complaint the car is expensive

haiya, complaint this complaint that go make your own car

• Yes,
      Our Vios and City got 6 airbag as almost standard now a days

• i_swear on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Did i read correctly? 6 airbags for vios and city? Try look at vios J type. It got 1 airbag only or you see the driver airbags in 6 different angle then you got 6 airbags

• TurboMan on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:26 pm

Im going to get lots of thumbs down here for sure.

But nowadays, the affordable jap cars don seem to have lots of safety functions compared to the koreans. Im not talking abt the 150k japs. But the below 100k japs.

The new KIAs come with many airbags, and even stability control. Never has anyone seen stability control in a sub 100k car.

Food for thought.

• Unforgiven on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:37 am

Above 100k got plenty, one of it is the Polo…

Below 100k can’t think of much, another is the Ford Fiesta…

Both also Euro NCAP 5 stars…

• Evoque on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Did u get ur facts correct?? Vios & City with 6 airbags?? Where got??

2 airbags: Vios S & G spec, City E spec
        1 airbag: Vios J, City S spec

• flipflop on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:26 am

im pretty sure he is being sarcastic.. haha.. or rather got conned by those Toyota salesman.. :P

• refer to Unforgiven,
            he state that 6 airbag is almost a standard now a days

• anand on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:30 pm

good move, next one should be ESP

• droll on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:47 pm

correct me if i’m wrong but don’t the car manufacturers need to conduct many months of extensive testing just to confirm fitting the airbag works? 6 months cukup ke? they have many models to test. unless……they stop selling the non-airbag models and only the ones with air bags??

• biggie on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:52 pm

when no airbag law .. ppl complain. with the law also complain.. what do you want?

• bongek on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:33 pm

aiyaa,,we wan to complaint only… we don’t want anything,,even if u give free money to malaysian,,we complaint too….. uhh i like ….

• Always Bersih on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:04 pm

How about express bus ? A lot of people can die without airbag.

• NoAir on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:05 pm

I dont know why the govt. can allow all these basic safety features to be omitted for so long ! Lives are at stake here and they only think of how much $$$ can be made ! I wouldnt be surprise if they increase the price for the extra air-bag !

• Expatriate VN on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:34 pm

Nothing new, it is long overdue!

• vincent on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:38 pm

Nowadays people are talking about ESP, Traction Control. Dual airbags should be pushed since ten years ago!

• Just me on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:54 pm

I’m fully agree that air bag is important in saving life during collision. But without a way to verify whether the air bag is still functional after long period of time is almost close to useless. Beside air bag, I think ABS is also impotant. In fact I feel that it is more impotant that air bag as we are using it everyday. For me I feel that making ABS compulsary more important than making air bag compulsary. Or making both complsary is also welcome.

• redwings on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Good move but our Government should absorb the cost of the airbags.
    If not, they will have excuse to increase the car price..

Government, can you?

• god's slave on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:05 pm

…I think he meant all new p1 n p2 should hav airbag…

• better late than never. I expect more safety regulation soon. ABS etc.
    to all PaulTan reader, jangan tamak nak semua dalam satu masa. nanti myvi 1.3 tiba2 jadi 70k ko kecoh. step by step la brader.
    Malaysia memang jauh ketinggalan dlm automotif.

• Victor Lee on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:16 pm

proton and perodua and toyota vios j spec kena dah, haha

• Victor Lee on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:17 pm

proton and perodua and toyota vios j spec kena dah, haha, only cheap and the manufacturer wanted to make money sell a car without or with just one air bag

• hamtaro on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:21 pm

yes. Totally Agree with the move by government. Safety first. Next will be ABS, EBD. Then ESP. Step by step :)

• langut on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Yes..
      Airbag, ABS EDB ESP..for safety
      EPS..VVT For fuel consumption…

Tidak mengejutkan apabila Proton dilaporkan sedang mencari dana berjumlah RM2.35 billion untuk membantu Lotus melaksanakan rancangan mengeluarkan lima model terbaru, dengan model pertama Lotus Esprit dijangka dilancarkan pada tahun 2012. Lima model terbaru Lotus selain daripada Esprit ialah Elan, Elise, Elite dan Eterne, kesemua model itu dipamerkan kepada umum di Paris Motor Show 2011.
      http://www.arenakereta.com/langkah-merealisasikan-pengeluaran-5-model-terbaru-lotus-proton-mencari-dana-rm2-35-billion/

Tambah la 0.5 Billion untuk tingkat kan keselamatan pengguna utk model yg sedia ada dimalaysia ni..

• Make it compulsory for ISOFIX for rear passengers seats too.

• u mean isofix for kid safety since isofix for kid…adult rear passenger need to wear seat belt yoo

• Jimmy on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:51 pm

If I were the Proton’s vendor, I will use the lousiet airbags in the market to install in their cars; afterall, no audit and I surely can get the contract through my tali.
    No competition; salivating you?

• kenot on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:56 pm

It is good for all passenger cars to equip at least twin airbags. And i dont see any problem for proton or perodua to fulfill this requirement by 2012. I think the gov should not give more time for our local car company to include this safety features.Because this equipment need to assemble from production line.

If P1 and P2 already know this regulation,they must stop to offer Base Line with zero airbag at least on jan 2012 They must be ready from this year.

• Airbags may save lives but it is painful when one or two broke down or failed to deploy. I have 4 airbags in my smart. Cost over RM 5k to replace each faulty airbag module. Even more expensive if u replace the Airbag ECU. For the time being, I opt to disable them for now. Not very important as they only serve side impact.

• teelim on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Its cheaper to fix and airbag than say, a broken nose/face.

True story

• TurboMan on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:17 pm

If you can, try to get it fixed. Overall the cute Smarts are actually very safe cars.

I used to drive a roadie, and crashed at nearly 140kmh, hitting cars and dividers.

The ABS and Stability control managed to slow me down, and steer me to the safe direction ( not going into the storm ditch just metres away ) and crashed into a poor proton wira.

All 4 airbags deployed and me and my passanger walked out without a scratch.

If that happens in a car without ABS, or stability control, i might be dead if i fall into that ditch at 100++ kmh. And the airbags too.

Guess what, i actually bought another roadie after. They are not easy to find in Msia.

• 1malaysia2020 on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Sometimes I wonder what kind of people is running the government, I mean no offence but please don’t treat us 1Malaysian as a bunch of isolated citizens like North Korean. Vehicle safety mechanism or as correctly termed as supplementary restraint system like airbag has been around even before Proton existed. To recap, the technology was introduced in 1970s.

Although is commendable for the government to make it mandatory for manufacturers(specifically Malaysian manufacturers) to install at least two frontal airbags, it is a bit outdated in terms of passenger safety approach. I certainly have no doubt that our policy makers should have considerable knowledge about foreign cars sold in Malaysia equipped with various safety devices not limited to frontal airbags only. If it took 26 years for the airbag to be mandatory, then it will be another generation to come before we can see the rest of safety devices to follow suit.

I find the following statement “a study by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) showed that airbags and seat belts helped to save lives in road accidents” quite hilarious. MIROS was only established in 2007 (and envisioned to emerge as a world leader in road safety research) and studies about road safety already being done by various institutes as early as 1970s. It is already a general knowledge for consumers to buy vehicles equipped with various safety standards (except Malaysian made cars). We 1Malaysians already knows about airbag!.

What amazed me even more until today the fact that we have one of the highest accident rate in the world (now with Accident Raya is coming up), our government still reluctant to fully enforce complete regulatory in terms of vehicle and passenger safety. The only things we have seen so far is third brake light, rear passager seat belt and the soon mandatory dual frontal airbags. We have rains all year round and this requires all vehicles to have ABS and EBD.

Vision 2020 is just a few years away but our government is moving like a tortoise.

• biggie on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:29 pm

so what is your contribution?

• keith duckworth on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:44 pm

can anyone tell us whether ABS and/or EBD is mandatory for cars sold in other advanced countries? I understand that Australia might be making ABS compulsory from this year.

There is also a question of cost. When these “gadgets” fail it might cost a “bomb” to repair. If it cost RM5000 to repair a BMW that’s fine. But would you spend RM5000 to repair a 6 year old Myvi? Any if you don’t repair it, you won’t be able to sell it because it won’t pass the Puspakom inspection for name change.

Food for thought

• 1malaysia2020 on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:05 pm

A very good question. They do have but what they have is far comprehensive system of evaluating overall vehicle safety standard compliance. In US the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (or NHTSA) issues Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) which establish minimum performance requirements for the safety systems and components on motor vehicles and for certain items of motor vehicle equipment. The agency regulates the manufacture and importation of motor vehicles to assure compliance with these standards. Here it means, Proton no matter how good the car handling is, you can not export it to US without having all those safety gadgets (not to mention their emission standard) . NTHSA won’t issue the required certificate.

That is the reason why we pay our yearly insurance premium my good friend…

• BOYRACER on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:41 pm

Finally those safety features are made compulsory.To compensate the increased price,
    make safety features standard and accessories optional.Not all accessories are necessary.e.g door visor,interior blinds and maybe some of those CD player.I mean not everybody needs those fancy CD player.maybe just basic unit will be sufficient.Wanna upgrade, just tick on the order form or to those accessories shop.
    I think safety features like airbags,ESP,ASC,ABD & so on are more important in a car nowadays considering the numbers of vehicles on the road.

• ford_ton on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Boyracer..I second you.

Just get rid of those useless alloy rims. I prefer to upgrade those rims myself. It makes me wonder why people bought cars with alloy rims on a 9 year loan only to change it after a few weeks later. I had seen on numerous occasions a barely month old cars trading in the rims to a different design . “Hello bang! Rim ada hutang 9 tahun lagi ooo!!!”

2 airbags is sufficient by industry standard. Any additional airbags are considered as an increased safety feature. I’m sure the minimal airbag requirement is only 2 be it in Japan, Europe or US. So, Proton and Perodua are heading into the right direction.After all, airbags are only considered as a supplementary restraint system. The primary task is still being held by seat belts for as long as I can remember and will remain that way forever.

Just remember to buckle up and drive safely.

• teelim on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:18 pm

With two from airbags, the Government should also make it compulsory for manufacturers to include front passenger airbag deactivation switch (like what Peugeot and VW have done) as I find that there are quite a number of people (myself included) who require to place baby car seats in the front passenger seat (a necessity when traveling alone with a baby)

• stephen on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Yes…even Pug 207 have it. Gov should consider this

but I also wonder…how will Proton going to work on their FL variant since I remember Paultan previous report that some of the version like manual Standard come with only one airbag.

Proton engineer will need to do some work now….also for the marketing team since price on those series might need to adjust… or maybe they can keep the same price….to be competitive.

• teelim on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:22 pm

I am sure that it would not be a problem to install a 2nd airbag since Sagas sold in other markets (e.g. Australia) have 2 airbags.

Its not something new actually, even Wiras had 2 airbags, but not in our market.

It is not that we are getting more. Its just that we were short changed previously.

• i think it wrong to put children or babies in front…either with or without airbag baby will surely dies if put in front when accident …either crush by dashboard or front seat as compare if baby at rear passenger

• teelim on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:59 am

IMO, if the baby in the front seat can get crushed by the dashboard during an accident, the impact from such accident will definitely kill if not severely injury EVERYONE in the car, be it a baby in a car seat placed at the back. Just saying…

BTW, I hope you understand why people choose to place baby seats in the front passenger seat. Imagine, if you are driving and your baby is crying (or worse, chocking) in the back, do you think you can drive properly. You are bound to end up in an accident because you will be constantly turning around to check on your baby. Also, it is very unlikely that a baby can lie down quietly by himself if he feels that he is alone (cannot see anyone around), which also means that you cannot concentrate on your driving.

So, placing a baby car seat in th efront does not necessary mean it is more dangerous. Yes, it is preferable to place it at the back but it does not apply when the baby is still very young.

If you still think you know better and that its is so dangerous to place a baby car seat in the front passenger seat, you might want to let VW and Peugeot know about it as it seems to me that they are unaware of such “problem”.

• bongek on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:31 pm

oo,another good proposal,,,so what is the update on kedai barang potong? is it effectively done?

• The Unicons on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:06 pm

Proton Persona R, the global car. should put how many? 8 airbags? please… hahaha

• teelim on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Global car = Design car with the maximum of the minimum airbags that are required in all the markets it will be sold in.

But when the car is sold, the minimum airbag you will get depends on which market it is selling in. Meaning that if the G did not impose this ruling, we could be getting one without ANY airbag.

That is life my fren.

• seancorr on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:19 pm

WTF do they really need to do their own research on how airbags will save lives? Isn’t it proven a decade ago that it works?

• Malcolm Lim on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:57 pm

This would mean even low end cars like viva 660 have to be sold with airbags or perodua can choose not to sell it and instead sell the 1000 cc one with airbags instead.

i still prefer if they go with active safety rather than passive one but i think its best to enforce both passive and active safety. costs will be higher but hey, isn’t your life worth more? Trouble with Malaysians is that people keep buying small sized low end cars like viva and drive really fast…totally not scared…the car is already small, if langgar lori or other bigger sized cars..habis…even airbag also cannot help you.

• CHONG KAT on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:32 pm

at last, malaysian life have some worthiness at some part.

• transformer on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:56 pm

I think Airbag are not that important compared to ABS+ESC which helps driver in controlling and avoiding contact(accident) happens…. If no contact, then why still need airbags…?
    Even if there contact, Retractable Seatbelt is already sufficient….. Most have this “retractable” feature….

Paul,
    Pls make a poll for forumner to polls…. either ABS+SRS Airbags or ABS+ESC… Thks.

* AFAIK, Seatbelt and Airbag are mfg by Hirotako which has plant in Selangor. ABS+ESC usually from Bosch, need to imports right ?

• vw_fan on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:16 pm

This is really long long overdue. Even Passo in Japan has like 6 airbags if not mistaken.

We are still being shortchanged.

They probably make this a rule now since P1 is only now ready to give 2 airbags. P2 is no better.

We need current safety standards, not safety standards from 20 years ago.

• rexxx on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:47 pm

YEAY ! THE VIOS J will finally have 2 airbags :D *sarcasm.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:25 pm

have to hands up, thumbs up, toe up to agree on this!

• I ‘like’ the reasoning from the extensive by ministry and MIROS.

“I think it will go a long way towards reducing the number of people who are injured in road accidents. It will also reduce the number of deaths,”

Took 20 years behind other countries to realise airbags save life?

Everyone just play ignorant in this issue, it takes bigger brain to come out excuses for such long overdue enforcement. Keep appeal Proton, Perodua, Toyota. No worry, another 10 years granted for you there. “sarcasm as well.

• Carl Wong on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:26 am

Good and what about ABS? What does human life mean to our national automakers?

• RedBeanBun on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:20 am

reminds me of once upon a time…the car comes with NO SEAT BELT….then the rules of SEAT BELT come..now, the rules of Airbags come. Hope it wont “extend” the time to implement, since how about those car currently in the market DO NOT HAVE 2airbags? I am going to wait till next year to get my 2 airbags car man!!

• Seat Belts and Airbags save life. Better road condition also saves life. So, please improve our road condition as well…

• sadly for msian, after 26 years they could get the air bag in their Protong cars… previously when accident, the victims (Proton drivers n passengers) usually they get other bag….bags mayat….

• I think it would be more appropriate to say “Airbags a must in new PROTON vehicles by Jan 1, 2012, because most of the manufacturers have moved on with atleast two airbags in their cars. Unless, we are talking about lorries here ;)

• seperlinky on Jul 29, 2011 at 4:01 pm

Why not improve on the NCAP rating as well for local cars? Government should have put up a policy that all car makers should display the NCAP rating

• Jeffrey Ng on Jul 31, 2011 at 4:01 am

They’ve got their priorities wrong! Instead of preventing accidents (via ABS, EBD, ESC/VSA), they are trying to mitigate the damages caused by the accidents (via airbags). It would not surprise you if you know who is linked to the only airbag maker in Malaysia. If I’m not mistaken, they’re just about the only group whom were granted the manufacturing license for their specific products in Malaysia.

• Anti turbo on Aug 02, 2011 at 8:00 am

totally agree dude… my Proton saga with no ABS.. very hard to brake ‘suddenly’, will skid here and there…. now i drive slowly in my old tech proton.

• Ken Wei on Feb 19, 2013 at 1:59 pm

how come Nissan Almera which is suppose to be a new car does not comply to this?