Team Lotus brands Spa showing as one of its best ever

Team Lotus finished 14th and 15th at Spa yesterday, a performance that the team is very happy with. Not only that, but driver Jarno Truli, who only recently had low morale and confidence, was given a boost and is looking forward to the next race in Italy.

“That is a very good result for the whole team today and goes down as one of our strongest performances since we came into the sport. We had a poor start where both cars were last after making contact in the first corner but we recovered very well, and to have finished in 14th and 15th after that is very pleasing,” said technical chief Mike Gascoyne.

“Both drivers were excellent today, but the pit crew deserve special praise for having taken a massive step forward in their performance. All our stops were exactly what we needed so congratulations to them for a job very well done today,” he added.

Spotted on the T128 at Spa. Football fans should get it, if not there’s always Google!

Trulli is finding his joy back. “I had a great start, passing a few other cars away from the line but then the accident in T1 meant both Heikki and I suffered damage – him to his nosecone, me to the floor and I had to run the whole race with that damage, so to finish 14th after that is just fantastic.

“Apart from the start I enjoyed the whole race – I passed a number of cars and when the safety car came out I was able to close the gap to the cars ahead. That gave me the chance to fight with the Renault (Bruno Senna) and I passed him and was then able to keep pace with the other guys ahead.

“Racing like this, with no problems and with a car I can fight with all afternoon is very satisfying, so now I can’t wait to get back in when we get to Italy and keep up the momentum we’ve built up here,” he said, with a smile we presume.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• DavidB on Aug 29, 2011 at 12:18 pm

Haha Loftus, smart play of words there Tony! :P

• Alan Wong on Aug 29, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Team LOFTUS?? is that a spelling error?

• U should ask this question to ur grandma. If she says no, then she should be smarter than you

• Aming on Aug 29, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Team Loftus Road – QPR, next team Kuih Lopeh aih?

• loftus = laugh at us

• drMpower on Aug 29, 2011 at 4:33 pm

Let’s face it
    They aren’t progressing, are they?
    I term progress as something better than the last years
    If last years no point, then a team in progress should start rake in points
    Be it one or half point, I don’t care

Some bloody big mouth said this team has more Malaysian blood
    That’s cheap jibe on the other lotus; it shows how low a man can stoop for his own benefit
    But as far as points, excitingness is concern, they are by far the best of Malaysian teams
    The other moron targeted 40-50 points this season
    Certainly he’s not in touch with reality, does he

Unless they beg some points, most people will continue this

• jay8393 on Aug 30, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Dude, you must understand that it is no easy feat to build a team from ground up. Red Bull Racing is last year’s world champion, but does anyone remember how long it took them to get to where they are today? 6 years! They spent six years to become a world champion. Their first 2 years were spent right at the end of the grid. Now remember this.

• Ronaldo on Sep 02, 2011 at 9:17 am

LOL what is so great abt finishing at 14th & 15 ???? i heard its only about 15 or 16 car finished the race……..

So they are BEST at BOTTOM !!………

• ronald-0 on Sep 07, 2011 at 7:59 pm

Lol…thats what U heard.. actually 19 cars finish at that race…tq…

so you are “BEST” know nothing bout F1

• niceone on Aug 29, 2011 at 4:51 pm

funny to see tony fernandes puts stickers of all his businesses on the Team Lotus car. catherham, air asia, and now loftus (derived from QPR’s ground name, Loftus Road). making the F1 car like his personal car, lol

• nabill on Aug 29, 2011 at 5:56 pm

like no ambition at all….that sort of ranking should not give u a lift…it should make u push harder….im getting tired of team lotus lip service…….

• Simon Sez on Aug 29, 2011 at 9:03 pm

No improvements. Lotus’ are always faster than HRT & Virgins. With 5 other cars that retired on race day, their positions were pretty much inherited. Still 0 championship points. $$$$ wasted.

• Vvipkho on Aug 29, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Next year we got KERS system and mark smith helping. Now focus in 2012 year car and final update for singapore GP.

• Loftus –> Laugh At Us… They are not making any achievement at all.. So sad.. What happend actually…? Hilang mood to support them really.. What a shame..

• chris on Aug 30, 2011 at 2:16 am

paul, can you stop reporting on team lotus and report on renault lotus intead???

this is getting boring keep on hearing them b-sh*tting….

• Come on la Malaysian , dun just bash for the sake of it….pos 14 and 15 is very good for a car without KERS. Even Ruben of williams at our back. Dun always look down on ourself/our nation/our ppl…dun say cos they are lucky la this la that la…that is not a way to be humble…i work in our neighbour country and u know why they are successful ? cos the ppl support their ppl and proud , they believe in themself and not sit at kopitiam talk bullxxxt and condemn their own country…They always try to improve and believe in the future….I believe team lotus will improve if we keep trying too…

Selamat Hari Raya to all and Happy Merdeka Day !! cheers

• SeriousSam on Aug 30, 2011 at 7:40 pm

drMpower will bash you soon after he digest all his ketupat and lemang and rendang

LOL

hahahaha

• Bob Vettel on Aug 30, 2011 at 8:07 pm

Improving is one thing, but if Tony Fernandes had kept his mouth shut rather than boast about how they’re going to aim for 50-60 points this season, I’m sure many would have been more forgiving.

It’s a question of all style & no substance.

• ronald-0 on Sep 07, 2011 at 8:03 pm

“50-60 points”…nothing to do with TF…(or even, Mike G)… you should read it carefully…who actually said that…

• Dak Ajan on Aug 31, 2011 at 12:00 am

Team loftus…!! Haha…
    Wait until monza..
    Wait for next year..
    Team Lotus will rename to Caterham Team Airasia..
    It just their games..!!

• Simon Sez on Aug 31, 2011 at 1:56 am

Team Lotus best results to date were 12th & 13th at last years Japanese gp. I just don’t see why is a need to say about ‘showing as it’s best ever’