Skoda Citigo – urban dweller enters market in 2012

Click to enlarge.

Skoda has announced details of its Citigo city car, which will make its debut in its home market, the Czech Republic, late this year before entering the rest of Europe from next summer.

The company’s sixth production model is a four-seater that will be available in three-door and five-door versions, and is essentially the Skoda version of the Volkswagen Up! It’s pretty much a dead ringer for its Veedub cousin in terms of numbers – the Citigo measures in at 3.56 metres long, 1.65 metres wide and 1.48 metres high, and will wear the same 1.0 litre three-cylinder MPI mill, offered in two output versions, 60 PS and 75 PS, both mated to a five-speed manual transmission.

Performance figures for the 929 kg vehicle are a 159 kph top speed and a 13.9 seconds 0-100 kph time for the 60 PS variant and a 170 kph top speed and 0-100 kph time of 12.7 seconds for the 75 PS version. Both models wear 14-inch wheels wrapped with 165/70 profile rubbers.

Despite its small size, the company says the car offers ample interior space – to wit, a long-ish 2.42 metre wheelbase offers enough comfort for four even on long trips, and there’s a 251 litre boot that can be extended to 951 litres with the rear seats folded down. In the three-door version, an ‘Easy Entry’ system allows easy access to the rear seats; the front passenger’s seat can be folded forward to ensure easy ingress to the rear.

Click to enlarge.

Elsewhere, this one has front headrests integrated into the seats, as well as a number of other smart solutions; the interior design includes numerous storage compartments, cup holders and multimedia systems, as well as storage pockets on the sides of the front seats. In addition, a special bag hook integrated in to the glovebox handle, and a photograph holder on the central console, are two of the more novel interior elements.

Like in the VW Up!, the Citigo will also feature a portable navigation system that’s fitted to the dashboard and easily removable to be used on the go. The system is equipped with a 5-inch touchscreen that provides not just navigation, but also hands-free calling with built-in Bluetooth and onboard infotainment.

Safety systems include a Head-Thorax side airbag to protect the heads of both the driver and the front seat passenger, which debuts on a Skoda. There’s also ‘City Safe Drive’, a new brake assistance system based on a laser sensor that is activated automatically at speeds below 30 km/h when there is danger of a collision.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• MazlanHB on Sep 28, 2011 at 3:09 pm

One UP for Skoda, for being under VW…which Proton almost partnered with…

• VW wants Proton just for Tanjung Malim plant and for LOTUS… after the own PROTON…in few years time they will take the plant and LOTUS and DUMP Proton…and the G like ususal will buy back Proton…and waste our Tax money…hmmmm

• what a creative storyline u have.. haha..

• I guess you based on VW-Suzuki partnership, rather than VW-Skoda/SEAT/Lamborghini/NSU AUdi/Porsche/Bentley/EB Bugatti, Rolls-Royce (before change hand to Bimmer’s).

What a myopic and bias analysis! VW so far more sincere than the Japanese. They not even give equivalent technology even to their own subsidiary in other countries. Look at greatest Toyota from ASEAN, Avanza, Kijang, Hilux, Fortuner etc.

IF VW takeover Proton at least we can abandon protectionism in auto industry. Now, me missed the chance already.

• Unforgiven on Sep 29, 2011 at 9:10 am

Abandon protectionism? I don’t think so. We’ll continue to protect Proton/VW.

IF VW takeover Proton, I think the whole M’sia will be driving VW Polo GTi, Golf GTi, Scirocco TSi, Passat CC, etc.

Those currently driving a Neo will be upgraded to Golf GTi/TSi.
        Those currently driving a Saga will be driving a Polo Sedan (Cheapest car in M’sia).
        Those Savvy will get rebate to buy a Polo Tsi (RM5k discount).
        Those on Persona will be driving Jetta.
        Those on Perdana will be upgraded to Passat automatically (G department).

• Unforgiven on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:48 am

The VW Polo or Proton Polo will fight with P2 Myvi that time… both still under protection…

The Naza Forte will drop their price more to compete with Proton Golf GTi/Proton Jetta TSi…

The Audi may also drop their price, to compete with BMW/Benz…
          Audi may get a special protection from VW/Proton…
          A4 will be everywhere on the road as compare to E90…

• Karl von Jitry on Sep 28, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Thia ia our Proton’s Viva contender if VW owns Proton.

• Skoda version of the Volkswagen Up!
    WHAT THE F**K…………
    WHEN THEY COME OUT WITH VW UP! WHY NEVER SAY……
    IT’S VW VERSION OF PROTON EMAS……

• Um, I dunno, with a name like ‘Citigo’ i sort of assume the car is intended for city driving. It’s small, compact, size makes it relatively easy to park. So why-O-why do u waste the readers’ time telling us that is takes 13 interminable seconds to get from 0-60!

A) NO ONE, but NO ONE, buying this type of car cares how long it takes to reach 60mph.
    The 1L, 3 cyl engine tells us all we need to know about the cars power, or the lack thereof.

AA) No one should be driving 60mph anywhere in any city, except the occasional highway.

AAA) The person who will buy this car is undoubtedly interested in fuel efficiency. your article fails to answer this most fundamental question. I had to go read a Motor Trend article to get the answer. And what an answer it is – a whopping 55mpg!!! That is ‘the news’ for this car.

Come-on – learn how to report what is important (it is NOT the same for every car!)!

• dirtyoldmen on Sep 29, 2011 at 6:40 am

the content of the story was meant for a wide range of readers.
      NOT JUST YOU ALONE!

BTW, are you customer/subscriber to paultan.org? What right have you to make demands?

• samad on Sep 28, 2011 at 10:17 pm

the price is surely not right for this compact level in our country. hmmmm

• riderxdesign on Sep 29, 2011 at 1:25 am

mane geng2 emo bila proton buat inspira? very mitsu eh? very vw eh?… bisnes is bisnes..nak untung jer tapi janji kita ni sebagai pembeli dapat apa yg berbaloi dgn investment kita (ceh..bile masa beli keta biasa2 ni kira pelaburan? baik beli keta rare2 teruk..ops…lupa..ramai yg suka sembang mcm pakai ferrari tp pakai kancil je.. :P )

*bukan bermaksud nak kutuk sape2 pakai kancil or mampu pakai keta biasa2 je.. huahuahua…..

• Dookie on Sep 29, 2011 at 7:39 am

hahaha lots of jealous Proton fanboy here…

just blame it on Proton why dont let VW take over

• Unforgiven on Sep 29, 2011 at 11:01 am

Why wanna let VW take over?

If VW take over, the protectionism will still in M’sia.

Can you imagine all the Satria GTi/Neo get special discount to upgrade to Proton Golf GTI/Polo GTi?

The whole road will be full of 180PS/200PS/240Nm/300Nm type of cars… do you like that to happen?

• This is just a Mat Rempit effect.

• Dookie on Sep 29, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Think positive bro, I rather saw a real sport car like Golf GTi rather than crappy Saga WRX STi or Myvi TRD or whatever!