Citroen C4 Aircross – the French Mitsubishi ASX

Here’s a Citroen for C-segment hatchback buyers that want some SUV looks and a taller ride height. The Citroen C4 Aircross will hit the market in the first half of next year as a rival to the Ford Kuga, Volkswagen Tiguan and Nissan Qashqai. Like the Mitsubishi Outlander based Citroen C-Crosser, this C4 Aircross is a French take on a Mitsubishi, in this case the ASX compact crossover.

Although the ASX’s compact proportions and that signature profile line remain, there’s no mistaking the C4 Aircross for anything but a Citroen. The Aircross’ light signature, visible by day and at night, is formed by the LEDs at the front, which are vertically aligned in the aerodynamic vents. The shape of the 18-inch wheels and the rear lights, directly inspired by the Hypnos concept car, has been reworked for optimal air flow.

Measuring 4,340 mm long, 1,800 mm wide and 1,630 mm high, the five seater Aircross has a 442 litre boot. A good portion of the roof is made up of a large panoramic glass. At night, the roof is lit up by the LED light guides built into it.

The C4 Aircross will come with PSA’s HDi 110 engine, mated to a 6-speed manual gearbox. Citroen says that this model will be one of the front-runners in its segment in terms of CO2 emissions. More performance comes in the form of the HDi 150 engine. Both are available in 2WD or 4WD form. It won’t be popular, but a 115 hp 1.6L petrol engine with 2WD and a 5-speed manual is also available.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Nice design from Peugeot and citroen, look elegance of this Citroen C4, also same as Peugeot 4008, both from Mitsubishi ASX, Proton should learn this.

• The Enthusiast on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:37 pm

I always see Citroen as better looking than Peugeot, but the new generation of Peugeots are looking more elegant and refined.

Anyway, an awesome looking car. I doubt we’ll ever see this car on Malaysian shores.

• prolever on Oct 01, 2011 at 9:26 am

@ryan.
      What should proton learn?
      Did u know what agreement proton have to deal 4 rebadge the lancer and what PSA have 2 deal to rebadge the ASX. Every company have their term and condtion/agreement to do so. Did u know? So tell me why P1 have to do minor Reskin to lancer while PSA got a full reskin for their ASX.

• Inspira is rebadge, while this C4 air cross is platform sharing. Different!

• prolever on Oct 01, 2011 at 10:25 pm

actually, THIS IS REBADGE u know. Not platform sharing. If platform sharing, the 3 car will look diff from all angle.
          Did u know what agreement proton have to do to get a LANCER..
          U SHOULD read the agreement first before commenting. SB..

• gravatar on Oct 05, 2011 at 8:38 pm

so what is the agreement can u plz tell us?

• Do you ever know what is platform sharing and rebadge?? or u just talk kok

• prolever-this Citroen is not a rebadge-you may notice if you look carefully the different designs between all three both external and internal. Unlike proton Inspira is a rebadged mitsubushi

• MoFaz on Sep 30, 2011 at 5:50 pm

see… even Pug/ Citreon which already more than 100yrs old also rebadge to save development cost. bashers, what are you waiting for? bash to your heart content now!

• I didn’t see anything mentioned that pugs has rebadged mitsubishi in this article.

• Fridz on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Go google Peugeot 4008.

• MoFaz on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:48 pm

u must be new here. welcome!

• Mofaz, mind to share, i thought they just share the platform, not rebadge. Even they use different engine.
          http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/news/autoexpressnews/273427/citroen_c4_aircross.html
          http://www.themotorreport.com.au/50622/2010-mitsubishi-asx-2wd-petrol-and-4wd-diesel-first-drive-review

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:25 am

dude, do you think this is the ONLY car Peugeot and Citreon rebadged from Mitsu? they took Outlander, ASX, and iMiev from Mitsu. for outlander and asx, yes they changed almost everything (just use the platform) because they have their own engine to replace Mitsu’s.
            now try look at Mitsu iMiev, then Peugeot Ion and Citreon C-Zero, you can see almost no different. only change badge and bumpers, maybe bits of interior also like Perodua here! … Because it will cost millions to build their own EV system to replace the Mitsu’s

• inspirasi on Oct 01, 2011 at 4:13 pm

mofaz= funny, alright?

more fats

• suk proton on Sep 30, 2011 at 7:33 pm

yup proton should learn this….not like current just change badge !!!suck! for those who say collaboration is good see this people totally come out another design but what proton do!!!

people re-badge but another new design!!! mofaz stupid!

• sokong Mofaz~ hey MXT, you didnt know meyh? Pug/citroen already make deal to rebadge the Mitsu’s cars..
      well, as usual, this some “very smart’ automotive ‘professor’ wont dare to bash~! its citroen maa~! they can do what they want.. rebadge also can, no problem.. when proton wants to do it, then its a big sin~~ typical malaysian mind.. or we can say, “kolot”.. they wont support any malaysian effort.. cannot rebadge.. but if european car maker did it, its OK..

• bericks on Oct 01, 2011 at 10:03 am

May you explain that Malaysian love rebadged Daihatsu Boon that become a Perodua Myvi?

• Dookie on Sep 30, 2011 at 9:25 pm

Proton lazy until didn’t even change the lamp design from the original Lancer, or they don’t want waste their Inspira owner spend more buck when they going to convert back to Lancer?

• Is it rebadge or platform sharing?

• Haha, dont mind if i do..where all the french car sensationalist, supremacists?? If i remember not too long ago, they all like to comment how french car got superior handling, reliability and safety etc, jap car all tin can rubbish, but in the end based on jap car anyway….

• mofaz- are u having a laugh? are you learned enough to know the difference between rebadge and platform sharing? if you dont go back to sleep

• much better execution that the donor car.

• zanggief on Sep 30, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Citreon design is always sexy and this model is very attractive…compared the sister peugeot 308 cross…

• slick shifts on Oct 01, 2011 at 12:28 am

peugeot’s version of this car is the 4008. google it please.

• Vincent on Sep 30, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Emm… what is the price look like when it come to Malaysia? RM120K… can ah?

• taufik on Sep 30, 2011 at 6:50 pm

nice wheels

• Black Dog on Sep 30, 2011 at 7:05 pm

P1 will maybe rebadge ASX next and those current buyers will cry…

• Serious Dog on Sep 30, 2011 at 9:40 pm

how come? i tot inspira is dead?

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:51 am

Insprira sales is almost the same as Honda City. i believe it will overtake City sales by year end.

• zomba on Sep 30, 2011 at 7:28 pm

lg lawa dri asx… berkenan aku tgk…

• suk proton on Sep 30, 2011 at 7:35 pm

totally not same as asx good job !!!!proton thumb down!!!!

• zaff1984 on Sep 30, 2011 at 8:12 pm

wow.. it dont remind me of Mit ASX at all… its look better and more luxury looks… very nice.

• Masked Ryder on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:16 pm

Never though the day when french need to rebadge japanese will come, did i see New US Camry look alike real lamp ? :-)
    Korean ciplak japanese engine, French even better they ciplak the whole car.
    :-) :-D ;-)

• carpathia on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:21 pm

MOFAZ – the article didnt state that this is a ASX rebadge.

can citroen please already find a new distributor already for malaysia ? the new citroen models ds 3/4 and now this is really awesome but NO ONE is buying citroen due to the price and after sales service support!!

• rebadging on Oct 01, 2011 at 12:27 am

not just bumper swapping rebadge….this is how rebadging should be done….
    lazy work will not gain ppl’s respect….

• it depends on the market meet. proton just need a car to slot in the market which they couldn’t miss out .
      PSA and citreon group is full with funding and few times bigger than proton .

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:34 am

depend on how many unit they can sell in europe la bro. if more than 100,000 units, then it’s justified to do major makeover, like platform sharing between Mitsu Charisma / Proton Waja / Volvo S40.
      now, check Mitsu i-Miev, Peugeot Ion and Citreon C-Zero. Peugeot and Citreon only do minor changes and still look very similar to Mitsu i-Miev!

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 01, 2011 at 12:54 am

yes i want this.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 01, 2011 at 10:01 am

Why the 115 bhp petrol 1.6? Not the 1.6 thp 156bhp? Such a large vehicle, even Mitsubishi was reluctant to put anything below 1.8 in it.

• MoFaz on Oct 01, 2011 at 10:51 am

depend on agreement btwn mitsu-proton and mitsu-citreon. proton can’t even do anything to the the engine of inspira due to term & cond set by mitsu…

• Budak Kecil on Oct 01, 2011 at 3:25 pm

I don’t think Proton is capable to do anything to the engine of inspira even if the Mitsu allow Proton to coz for company who only able to create such an lousy campro iafm/cps engines,the Mitsu Mivec engine is another level higher than them.i bet P1 engineers can’t even screw back the Mivec’s engine cover after they opened it. The nut’s and screws inside the Mivec’s Engine bay will make P1 engineer going crazy!Hahaha!

• budak kecik..lu mmg budak mentah laa… u hate proton so much…that is your problem…if u have no money to buy a proper foreign car.. go and China’s…its still consider foreign made…

• Sambal Belacan on Oct 03, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Ish!Budak kecil.U dah salah ni.Who say P1 engineer can even screw back the engine cover of inspira? Of course P1 enginner can tanggalkan engine cover Mivec dan tukar kpd engine cover Proton ma.They even managed to change the steering’s logo to Proton o.This have to be done buy skillful P1 engineer o, the amount of gam, the correct position, so that the new logo don’t look senget sebelah.
        P1 enginner even change the front bumper to new one o.Even the accesories shop’s pomen who failed him upsr need to learn about 3 minutes b4 he knows how to change the bumper.
        Maka, Kesimpulanya, P1 engineer and pomen are a bunch of skillful workers.

• prolever on Oct 01, 2011 at 10:35 pm

sudah la Mofaz. Buat penat terang kat mereka nh.
      Deorg bukan tahu yg agreement P1 and MMC. Mereka tahu menunding jari kepada satu pihak tanpa melihat perkara lain. Kite tunggu je la bile MMC rebadge Exora jadi Mitsu, aper mereka nak kata.

• french design with jap mechanicals…its gonna be reliable..

• inspiring on Oct 01, 2011 at 3:41 pm

so proton..

nothing 2 be shamed la..

even better renault oso rebadging what..

the diff only renault change more than just platform, but nevermind lancer was good enuff.. so no need fix whats not broken..

• RedBeanBun on Oct 02, 2011 at 8:08 am

this car will be banned in bolehland…C4! :P

• I say not Proton should learn this. Those Mitsubishi designer should learn this..

• agree… shame on them..coz Citroen can come out with better design..but the same platform…

• Unforgiven on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:31 am

It’s a lot of hard work for Proton to come out with the Proton Inspira.

It’s 17 months (partly lepak kaki) to come out with a completely different design than Mitsubishi Lancer.

A new car required 24 months if develop internally, that’s another 7 months of afford.
    Funny but it’s true.

It’s not possible for Proton engineer to be as good as this C4 engineer. Right?

• AhBeng on Feb 29, 2012 at 2:45 pm

damn! why so beautiful?!