MediaCorp Subaru Impreza WRX Challenge 2011: Only six still standing, last Malaysian dropped out this morning

The MediaCorp Subaru Impreza WRX Challenge 2011 is well into its fourth day now, and after last night’s “critical period” only six contestants remain – all locals. The last of the regional contestants was Neblasca Alex Jr, who just dropped out. The Filipino is therefore the “Asian Winner”, awarded to the longest lasting non Singaporean. The last Malaysian standing dropped out this morning.

Battling the cold of the night and extreme exhaustion, contestants pushed themselves beyond their physical limitations, but a big chunk of them eventually had to throw in the towel. In the last six is last year’s runner-up Abdul Hamid bin Jonid.

I paid the Ngee Ann City event area a visit yesterday night, to watch their 7pm break time and it was interesting. Five minutes were all they had to eat, go to the toilet, get a massage and wash themselves before the next 5-minute break at 1am. Not everyone managed to do all, some electing to run for the food (chicken rice or vegetarian + energy drink) first while others rushed to the toilets.

The 7pm daily breaks are special, because a family member can come in to lend support. That hug and kiss can be invaluable considering the states of mind of the contestants – some were hallucinating and many looked like zombies!

Here are the pics from yesterday. Stay tuned for the results later today!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:20 am

Insane.

• Johnny on Nov 01, 2011 at 12:20 pm

Only six contestants remain – all Singaporeans. It shows that Singaporeans are the most materialistic people in the region. :p

• Black Dog on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:20 pm

It also shows they’re the most toughest! That’s why they always have the winning attitude, you can say they’re kiasu but they preservered. Losers have a lot of complains and excuses

• True.. It’s definitely a good work culture, but not a good life culture.. I.E, free samples at market, you imagine the rest.

• clutch basah on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:39 pm

Some Malaysians are no less

• Think about it.

This event is happening at Singapore and the ratios between Singaporean contestants and all other countries’ contestants are significantly higher? Naturally, the percentage of a Singaporean to be in the finals is much higher too.

• A foreigner won $80,000 from Mcdonald’s Monopoly in SIngapore recently. How do u explain this?

• not suitable for muslim because not enough time to do prayers

• Maserati on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:07 pm

It shows that sg are the most kiasu in the region. Nvm, let them stand there for this stupid car…

• and it the final six were malaysians, can we conclude the same?

• Come on at least Singapore is a first country and still in the top 10 world list high economy and tech country! kiasu that’s mean always want to be winners and hardworking ! i’m a M’sian and i think i’m so lazy and stupid!

• clutch basah on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Yeah.. enjoy your deep vein thrombosis afterwards which could stop your heart from pumping.. silly people

• thebosssedangbercakap on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:26 pm

In singapore, car is worth more than your life.

• guys, don’t be sore losers ok. singaporeans are very kiasu but you have to admit that they are more determined people. that is why they are more successful than the average malaysian that gives up easily.

having said that, i really pity the 2nd place guy.

• mirror mirror on Nov 01, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Yeah, as much as I hate to admit, Malaysian generally lack the killer instinct and self confidence. They often buckle at the most critical moment, just look at our sportsman and woman. We are a bit like a teenager with unresolved internal/emotional conflict, we are in dire need to resolve this baggage if we want to forge ahead like true winners.

• cuKang on Nov 01, 2011 at 5:23 pm

don’t play play arr……… :-D

• Jolly_idiot on Nov 01, 2011 at 7:46 pm

Where r those pointy boobs chick?

• Supreme on Nov 02, 2011 at 5:32 pm

We know that all the while. Thanks for confirming it !!!