Youngman SUV spied in China – based on the Lotus APX?

Over in China, a report says that a Proton SUV – supposedly based on the Lotus APX concept – will see the light of day in that market possibly sometime next year, through the Youngman brand. The APX made its debut in Geneva five years ago, but never went into production form.

The China Car Times – which has spyshots of the said vehicle – speculates that the Youngman SUV is not expected to sport a 3.0 litre V6 like that seen on the APX, but rather wear a more sensible four-pot 2.0 to 2.4 litre mill for economical reasons.

The report also says that the Chinese motoring press is predicting that the vehicle will enter the market anywhere between 90,000 RMB to 140,000 RMB when it arrives, and further speculates that the vehicle might possibly appear in concept form at the Guangzhou Auto Show in December, ahead of a Beijing Auto Show launch in April next year.

Earlier in the year, a Youngman Europestar SUV – being developed together with Lotus Engineering – was spied in China, though that one is said to be based on a GEN2 platform. Wonder exactly how different both are.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nebula87 on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:49 pm

plz dont mess with our clean APX…
    china ppl sure will get it dirty..with their lousy design…=.=

• pardon my skepticism
      but i dont believe that this is the Lotus APX in Youngman guise
      Lotus Cars will never work with Youngman, let alone give them their APX SUV platform, as Lotus Cars were forced to enter China as Lotus NYO due to Youngman’s registering their “fake” Lotus mark earlier than Lotus Cars.. might sound petty to you but remember a little F1 team which went to courts numerous times for using “Lotus” name without their consent?
      my logic would go with the idea that this is Proton Exora SUV (Proton Lekiu concept) or Gen-2 based SUV, since Youngman is licensed with Gen-2 platform

• “plz dont mess with our clean APX…”

did not realise that you own the design

• Could be.. Now China is good potential market for higher end level car.. Due to China is rich country now.. All very very rich..

• Who cares China is getting rich but their products is the most lousy and dirty in the world !

• iseeyou on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:13 am

i agree that china made things are loudsy…but if u are rich enuf,u wont buy from them rite?so,better shut ur mouth and continue to use their product,u have no choice(most of the electronic YOU used are china made)…..

• bodoh on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:28 pm

where the product is made from is totally different case. iphone and whatever phones may be made in China, but it was not designed in china by chinese ppl. They are better off as product assembler.

• Yes the branded products all make in Chin a too but the products is still save to use, try to use the China electronic products and see what happen ?! explosions ! they r rich but cold blood and see what they did to that little girl in Foshan at least my car ‘ Mazda 3 CPU ‘ is not make in China but it make in Japan :) thx god~ anyway M’sia products is better !

• ricky on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:38 am

lousy? if no made in china product around , how you survive? poor guy

• ricky on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:42 am

have you been china before ? Shanghai/beijing . I think Malaysia still far away comparing strongest country in this world. stupid

• yellowfever on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:48 am

ya the green-eyed monster, no?

• Watmir on Nov 10, 2011 at 2:23 am

Without China, the price you paid for the computer you use to comment here wouldnt be the same. Give the budget and the can do better.

• don^don on Nov 10, 2011 at 8:43 am

all your MacBooks and iPhones are made in china, so well…

• amirzaheen on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:51 pm

wanna read people comment…wheres the commenter??

• haih Proton..why exora and not this? well..Exora looks ok, but this is way much better..damn selalu macam tu..untuk market luar mesti nak lebih2..untuk malaysia cincai2 je.. =(

• MrDDR on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:59 pm

Now Already Middle of November 2011. Where is Exora turbo??

• market in malaysia preferred mpv..
      kalau proton buat suv kang investment banyak tapi tak ramai orang nak pakai..
      faham2 lah proton syarikat korporat..nak untung la…

• gomok on Nov 10, 2011 at 7:23 am

Ello kawan , lu sudah duduk Msia brp lama? Mau komplen pun tarak guna maaa

• http://www.lixdo.net/blog/proton-msx-preview/

Proton MSX.. haha..

I suddenly got this idea.. May be the disguised Lowered Proton Exora is the cuming SUV. it has bigger wheel compare to normal Exora.

http://paultan.org/2010/11/29/spyshot-mysterious-proton-prototype-disguised-as-exora-continues-to-make-its-way-around-town/

• mnazri.tan on Nov 10, 2011 at 9:01 am

make a lot of sense…yes, maybe….and i wish they sell it here first

• oligopoli on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:10 pm

its not only lowered exora. the body pillars is are very much different altogether. must be another model. the MSX looks good though.

• reason why there is disguised Lowered Exora being tested at SNOWy area… only 4wd got the traction to run on it… Very good reason that Proton is coming up a SUV!

• BadBET on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:04 pm

just wonder what engine this suv will have?

• Vincent on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:06 pm

This look good!! If China can get in 140K, why can’t we got it at RM70K….

• logic fail

• the youngman SUV selling at 90,000 RMB to 140,000 RMB.
      his logic did not fail. 140 000 RMB = 68 816.51 Malaysian ringgits…

If China can sell the premium SUV at max RM69k. Why not Proton?

• gomok on Nov 10, 2011 at 7:18 am

Typical anwser.. china big market maaaa, Msia small market maaa

• VoidDance on Nov 10, 2011 at 8:44 am

1.3 bilion vs 28 millions. You get the gist.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:05 am

1.3 billion (China) vs 200,000 (Langkawi), price similar ……. you get the geese, only Semenanjung get the shits hit on the face ………

• Our local brand car had 35% tax impose by Government, else we can buy our Proton car as cheap as Saudi.

• suresh-kumaran on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:10 pm

i guess this is base on satria neo

• BeemerFreak on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:50 am

this needs the Campro CFE turbo…… about 160bhp and 260nm torque should do it nicely.

• nabill on Nov 10, 2011 at 1:13 am

now it makes sence those low roof exora was driving around heavily disguised does actually look like the APx

• GTR 2.0 on Nov 10, 2011 at 1:57 am

Earlier in the year, a Youngman Europestar SUV – being developed together with Lotus Engineering – was spied in China, though that one is said to be based on a GEN2 platform. Wonder exactly how different both are.

Wow!! SUV based on a Gen2 platform…. Wonder if it will look like BMW X6?

• Bestman on Nov 10, 2011 at 9:01 am

It really does look like SAVVY!!!!

• Bestman on Nov 10, 2011 at 9:02 am

It really does look like SAVVY!!!!!!!!

• when will this suv come to our country? if quality ok, i’ll buy one no matter it come under which brand, be it proton, youngman, oldman or anything. To the hell with the brand. Made in china sure cheap one.

• cupin on Nov 10, 2011 at 10:29 am

wonder if they produce savvy as per pic above with myvi size… sure they can compete with myvi… are you agree guys?

• Johnny on Nov 10, 2011 at 10:37 am

the apx is a good base. but the design n tech is so last decade. Since the apx is from lotus, why not ask mr donato coco to refresh the apx a bit. come on proton!

• Jimmy on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:19 pm

Hurry up Proton, you can do this.

• ah lee bin ah tan on Nov 12, 2011 at 7:04 am

then should change to AHPEK car…