2012 Kia cee’d – first image of next generation European market C-segment hatchback

Kia has released the first photo of its next generation Kia cee’d, which will make its world debut at the 2012 Geneva Motor Show on the 6th of March 2012, after of which it will go on sale across Europe in Q2 2012.

The cee’d is a C-segment hatchback car made for European tastes – the rest of the world gets a C-segment Kia in the form of the Kia Forte in 5-door hatch, 4-door sedan and 2-door coupe form. The cee’d will be made available with an industry-leading 7 year warranty.

The sole shot we see here is of the car’s front three quarter angle, which shows off Kia’s “Schreyer grille”, a common feature that the South Korean car company has implemented across its entire car range.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• quote from top gear ” cee’d, the only car where its name have an apostrophes “

• James on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:02 am

Koreans are really dominating the market these days.. With really nice smart phone like the Samsung galaxy S2 and cars, such as those brilliant looking Kia/Hyundai models releasing lately.Also not to forget the involvement of K-pop.

• and they all have one thing in common, outlook and design as priority first

• Not gonna say anything before Masked Ryder or Maserati so that I could have some fun bashing them.

• psychotic bionic on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:14 am

looking good…
    Koreans are getting better and better…except for k-pop

• malaysia car when haa??

• Very sad to hear that Protongkat Tuah Hatchback P3-22A only out by 2014….too long…too outdated…how to become global car like this….

• Korean Cars getting better but NAZA and INOKOM made them worse

• tiadaid on Jan 11, 2012 at 9:14 am

I wonder why the rest of the world gets the Forte while Europe gets the Cee”apostrophe”d? I’m sure many people would appreciate some Euro touches – I know I would.

• adammo on Jan 11, 2012 at 9:15 am

bring this to m’sia pls…

• DewaSemut on Jan 11, 2012 at 9:16 am

Nice… cee’d should be offered to the rest of the world as well, not just Europe…

• Ha Gnih on Jan 11, 2012 at 9:43 am

It has the bimmer front. VERY nice indeed.

• anonymous on Jan 11, 2012 at 9:57 am

good design & outlook does not mean it is equally “good” in performance & long term durability…it need times to prove d koreans succeed compared to other makers. cheers.

• kadajawi on Jan 11, 2012 at 3:27 pm

I drove the previous gen cee’d sports wagon (rental one), and it was a good car. Not as good as other contis like the Golf, but good enough to be worth considering. The difference isn’t that big, I preferred it over the Yaris/Vitz (Vios hatch), much better ride and materials (of course different segment). Nothing you’d regret buying if you can’t afford the Golf (which is a few thousands more).

• Masked Ryder on Jan 11, 2012 at 10:05 am

One Word “UGLY”……

• ss427 on Jan 11, 2012 at 10:14 am

Another great effort from Kia :)

Guys, the Cee’d has always been the Euro market Forte.

This new Cee’d will obviously be the next gen Forte that we will get eventually at the end of this year.

Notice the Cee’d is using the same 17″ as the Forte Hatch? The Forte Hatch is available in SG too :)

http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/resized-20110529210036395.jpg

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 11, 2012 at 11:14 am

Chinese would never buy this car unless Kia change their name.

KIA Cee’d = Kiasi (Takut Mati).

The front light look very familiar ??

• as usual lah! on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:26 pm

nice :(

• ezracopters on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:38 pm

i don’t know. look kinda cheap isn’t it??? for me, TATAish a bit la.. just look at the rim, my god, even Perodua can design better than this. i guess it’s becoming true..at least for me. first time i saw new korean design language..wow, so nice.. f futuristic. and then came a fella told me, that is just a puppy love, wont last for long..

and recently, i did felt bored and jaded looking at this .. i dont know, i felt..hmm did u ever had a girl (classmate) in school which u know for so long. she is definitely not someone who we called cute, attractive or beautiful. but few years gone bye, everyone is older and had a career…banggg 1 day u bump into her and u didnt even notice coz she is CUTE now!!! she’s the one who say hi 1st..and instead of reminisce chat, ur head busy figuring out how she mask the ugliness from view..hehehe

KIA Cee’d = Kiasi..??? why not change it to KIA Suu’d je hehe.. name only matter on paper. when we bought a car we’re looking for reliability, durability & value for money.

yes, these day, pro-k cars said why bother bought a lausy jap car and save it for others, for the sake of 2nd hand value etc. we’re the one who gonna drove it… well, i’m certainly agreed with Anom 11/1/2012 at 9:57 am, time will tell if it is that good or just another Jonny B’good.

• kadajawi on Jan 11, 2012 at 3:29 pm

7 years warranty in Europe, and cheaper than their competition in Europe. Decent car too, drives way better than the Toyota Yaris (Vios).

• Ash Menon on Jan 11, 2012 at 7:41 pm

I see a lot of the Fiat Bravo in this. The Forte’s also going through a model change, right?

• celicazzt231 on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:18 am

c double e apostrophe d

• those of u who cant afford japanese cars, kia is d best bet.

why spend extra rm20-30k if u can get cheaper car with better spec