Lexus ES sheds dowdy image, follows the GS’ lead

When the Toyota Camry got renewed, it was just a matter of time before the Lexus that’s based on it was replaced as well, so the 2013 Lexus ES that debut at New York wasn’t unexpected. Compared to the smooth wallflower of old, the new ES gets a sharp new suit, wearing the spindle grille face and cues seen on the new GS, recently launched in Malaysia.

For the first time, the Lexus ES will be available as a hybrid. Featuring a 2.5L four-cylinder Atkinson cycle engine, the Lexus ES 300h is expected to earn an EPA fuel economy rating of 40 mpg combined.

This new, low friction DOHC engine features a sophisticated power management system, 12.5 compression ratio and VVT-i. The beltless motor is designed to improve fuel economy and durability, and a near zero evaporative fuel system helps reduce emissions.

The Lexus ES 300h hybrid offers the driver four modes: Normal, Sport, Eco and EV. The latter allows short distance drives using only the power from the hybrid battery pack, something Prius owners can also do. Eco mode favors fuel economy while Sport mode increases powertrain responsiveness.

The ES 350, on the other hand, is powered by a 3.5L V6 engine with Dual VVT-i, paired to a six-speed automatic gearbox. Suspension and steering changes and a stiffer body deliver more precise handling, while opposite-wound coil springs on the front suspension enhance straight-line stability, says Lexus.

In the pursuit of better dynamics, Lexus also threw in revised rear suspension geometry and improved shock absorber damping characteristics.

A reduction in the steering gear ratio delivers a more responsive and direct steering feel. Increased body rigidity is achieved through lightweight, high tensile strength steel, added bracing and additional spot welds. Despite being slightly larger and roomier, weight is reduced by almost 40 kg.

The ES will roll on standard 215/55 low rolling resistance tyres on 17-inch alloys. For the first time, the entry luxury Lexus is also available with 18-inch high-gloss alloys.

Like the exterior, the cabin is also much changed for the better. A newly sculptured seat design enhances comfort, while the steering wheel angle has been reduced from 24 to 22 degrees for a more “natural control position”. Fluid-filled engine mounts, new sound absorbing materials and a tuned engine intake minimise the intrusion of outside noise.

Space wise, rear seat legroom and knee room have been improved, by 104 mm and 71 mm respectively. There’s also additional foot room below the front seats. The new ES’ wheelbase is up by just 46 mm, so better packaging is responsible for this jump in space. The new ES will feature enhanced NuLuxe seating surfaces, developed to reduce environmental impact. Genuine leather is also available, as is semi-aniline hide for an even more luxurious feel.

Available comfort features include manual door window shades, a power rear shade and a power trunk closer. Optional ambient lighting, discretely placed under the wood trim, softly illuminates the surfaces of the instrument panel and all four doors.

The new ES is further proof that Lexus is serious in fulfilling its promise to add dynamism in both looks and drive. Of late, Toyota’s luxury brand has been losing ground to the Germans in the crucial North American market, and we’re seeing a range renewal to address the slide. Read the brand’s plans here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• confused on Apr 12, 2012 at 9:17 am

So many Camry cues.. Or the other way around lol.

• Wow !!! this car is damn nice !!! From the appearance already can feel the comfortness.

• kington on Apr 12, 2012 at 4:09 pm

Looks very proportionate and blends well with that Lexus’ new Spindle grill thingy.

Honestly i was never a fan of this Spindle grill thingy until this came.

Possibly the best looking Lexus in their line up.

• Honda De La Junk on Apr 12, 2012 at 10:10 am

Wonder why UMW doesnt bring this into malaysia

• ss427 on Apr 12, 2012 at 10:53 am

The ES is the one of the few Lexus models that Toyota doesn’t have RHD models. And yes, it is not available for sale in Japan either.

But there are reports that Toyota may consider resuming RHD production of the ES from this new gen onwards…

For once, this is one Toyota that is can excite me… :) Even the current LS 460L is a complete bore as compared to this

• kington on Apr 12, 2012 at 4:14 pm

There were RHD models. The ES was sold In Singapore as un upmarket Camry. Sales figures were quite average, although Many went for the IS200 just before it was discontinued. It was made more attractive becasue Lexus threw in a subtle body kit that really made the IS200 look amazing.

• albag on Apr 12, 2012 at 10:12 am

its much better looking than the upcoming unclish camry for our market…

• back look a bit like new Sonata :-D

• Sonata again….I don’t understand why every new car being launched peoples will always say looks like Sonata. This kind of rear end design is common in auto industries espescially that kind of taillights design. Seriously, enough of this ‘looks like Sonata shit’. Sonata is a nice car IMHO but every car must not be compared to the Sonata.

• Michael on Apr 13, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Because Sonata is the cheapest car in its’ segment.

• But they compare new cars to Sonata even if the car is in a different segment.

• ss427 on Apr 12, 2012 at 10:46 am

Hmm… I have to say, this is the best looking Toyota.. I mean Lexus till date. The rear end does looks like a BMW 7 series but Toyota designers managed to carve out a unique ID of its own.

See la, why are we forced to buy a Lexus if we wanted a great looking, well equipped Toyota? :( The ES is built off the Camry platform, and all mech bits are shared with the Camry as well… including the 3.5L V6, 6AT.

The new Camry looks so awful and boring, while the new ES looks great.. So this is a great example that it is NOT TRUE that Toyota can’t build a great looking, and well designed car, its just that they leave all the good stuff to the Lexus nameplate so that you can pay even more just to get them…

Sigh… prob that’s why the Koreans can improve so quickly. They do not restrict great designs to some high end models… Great designs and great engineered cars should be able to be enjoyed by many, not just the few

• You are wrong…for this generation of ES….it’s the first time lexus is not using the camry pkatform….previoys ES model,yes.

• ss427 on Apr 12, 2012 at 2:10 pm

No bro the ES has always been a glorified Camry since its 1st gen back in 1990.

This new ES is based on the upcoming OMG Camry XV60 platform.

• wise lee on Apr 12, 2012 at 6:03 pm

if u think your new Toy Camry too boring no worries, we will come up with face lift body kit transforms your Toy Camry to Lexus ES.

• harimao on Apr 12, 2012 at 6:09 pm

tak perlu beli Lexus ni, beli saja camry baru kemudian pasang bodykit tukar jadi lexus jimat duit.

• Interior full fine details, only problem i hve is the gbox position indicator next to the stick…looks cheap as lifted from toyo parts bin..surely toyota can put a nicer design indicator..

• Garfield on Apr 12, 2012 at 11:21 am

Now I can see….. and maybe you all can see already…..

This Lexus is based on Toyota Camry. That’s why UMW makes us pay Lexus kind of money for their upcoming ‘new’ Camry….. so they say we Malaysians can imagine that we’re driving a Lexus (when it’s the other way around).

Well, I certainly wouldn’t mind a Lexus at Lexus kind of money. But I’ll say I’m a bit pissed to get only a Toyota at Lexus kind of money. Well, heck even a Lexus is overpriced here!!!!!

• Garfield on Apr 12, 2012 at 11:25 am

But Danny, it says in Wiki that it’s based on the latest Toyota Avalon, not Camry….. So there we go, we get the Lexus-priced Camry which is even more inferior

• Yes…Danny pls update on this

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 14, 2012 at 1:49 am

Yes, the ES shares a platform with the new Toyota Avalon, which in turn sits on an elongated Camry platform. Platform sharing is the norm these days – nothing unusual

• Paint on Apr 12, 2012 at 11:35 am

If an IS competes with C-class/3er/A4, and the GS competes with E-class/5er/A6, then, this ES competes with what?

• silwen on Apr 12, 2012 at 11:57 am

The lines of the ES competition are not as clear cut. The US has far more car models than we do and it probably fits in there, somewhere.

I think the EW is like the luxury version of the camry. It’s not a GS yet but it is larger in internal space than the IS. The IS is a more youthful looking vehicle.

• Gajen on Apr 12, 2012 at 12:24 pm

ES is an executive car like GS,eclass,a6,5series but es is made to be the entry level for executive car
      in lexus line up, GS is higher than ES but both can compete with 5series,eclass,a6

• Well,……this is one heck of a Toyota…..In the US they have Toyota Avalon which is better looking than our unclish looking camry. Our last Gen Camry is based on Aussie Toyota Avalon why aren’t we getting the US made Avalon…………???

• John Player Special on Apr 12, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Our last gen Camry is derived from Oz’s AURION la not Avalon… get that? Toyota AURION!

• The exterior reminds me of the new Avalon designed by the US designers we saw a few days ago. I guess this ES and Avalon share the same platform as well..Nevertheless, it looks good and civil, while the GS looks more aggresive. Overall, good job by LEXUS.

• ss427 on Apr 12, 2012 at 2:12 pm

The Avalon is built on a stretched and widen Camry chassis… so yes both the ES and the Avalon are Camry based.

The Avalon actually offered more cabin room than the ES

• car lover on Apr 12, 2012 at 1:54 pm

looks like kia optima k5

• ss427 on Apr 12, 2012 at 3:20 pm

Well it also means the Koreans have finally made the mark…

That even the best styling efforts from the Japs ended up looking something similar to what the Koreans had already done. :)

No one can accuse the Koreans for offering junk cars anymore.. well except our Maserati and Hyundai de la Junk bro… :(

Anyway back to the subject, as much as Toyota strive to keep up with the competiion with these new Lexus models, they have to revamp their B&B cars to at least bring them closer to what these Lexus have to offer.

Because total ownership experience doesn’t end after you drive the Lexus out of the showroom and back to your parking lot. Its the after sales that count.

I dont know about Toyota dealerships in Bolehland, but here in SG, perhaps due to space constrain (wow that’s ‘new’:D ), Toyota and Lexus are svc together at the dealer svc centers. Yes the customer reception area may be different, but once you handed your Lexus keys over, they will drive your Lexus to the same svc bays as regular Toyotas… and the bays are fully visible to all customers so that they will have more peace of mind when they go for svcs.

Now in SG, its not so bad as the cheapest Toyota we have here is the Vios… and while it is hopelessly outta date and feels cheap, it is still rather presentable when parked next to the, say RX350 or the GS300.

But in Bolehland, if the same setup are used, your spanking new ES350 shown above will be svc together with the CMI Avanza! And it is certainly not assuring that the same technicans used some common parts between the Avanza and your new ES.

Toyota will either need to build Lexus only svc centers or junk their crappy models eg the Avanza and Innova if they want to improve on their customer’s service experience.

• Anonymous on Oct 22, 2013 at 9:20 am

We do have lexus only service centres in Malaysia. In my experience they are really posh, and the service is very good.

• just another glorified toyota….zzzzz

• kington on Apr 12, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Many thought so too. But drive a Lex these days and you’ll notice that they have done very well.

Just like how you’d be hard pressed to accuse Jags as glorified Ford’s in the past but the XF was quite an experience. Sadly, i can’t afford one.

• dreaming of maserati on Apr 13, 2012 at 1:21 pm

read the article 1st man! the ES is based in the CAMRY whether you like it or not!!! they share the same platform
        so those lexus buyers just shiok sendiri

• shawal on Apr 12, 2012 at 7:24 pm

Lexus , we’re japanese ….but in a good way….

• DArkerMarker on Apr 12, 2012 at 7:28 pm

the polished gear lever looks like women’s intimate toy that they play with……hahaha

• The Enthusiast on Apr 12, 2012 at 8:13 pm

What a beauty! Shame that the new Camry is not remotely look like this.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Apr 12, 2012 at 9:38 pm

camry, y u no look like this.

• Proton Salesman on Apr 13, 2012 at 4:20 am

Better looking than pervy.