Follow the M’sian unveiling of the Ford Focus on FB

Sime Darby Auto ConneXion has started a Ford Focus in Malaysia Facebook fan page where they are revealing the Malaysian spec Ford Focus bit by bit, and if you’re interested in the soon to be launched new Ford Focus it’s probably going to be one of the first few channels which you’ll learn about what we’re getting. If the past activities on the Ford Fiesta in Malaysia Facebook page is anything to go by, there could be contests running there too.

We are expecting the Focus to be launched this year, since there has already been news on the Thai production of the Ford Focus for the region starting. Apparently, there will be no TDCi option rolling out from the Thai plant for now, just 1.6- and 2.0-litre petrol engines.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 09, 2012 at 4:02 am

I think SD is going to really jack up the price on new models like they have been doing recently with the Mondeo and S-Max. Expect the price to be north of RM130K+ for the base sedan model.

Also expect the same crappy service and warranty.

• You think? Ok, that’s cool..

Other than that, it’s sad that they didn’t bring any of the turbo pot.

• Ford Needs to Buck Up on Jun 09, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Instead of playing games revealing and teasing bit by bit the new Ford Focus, concentrate on improving services.

Ford owners sometimes wait up to 4 months for a part that is so common it bewilders Ford owners why it is not stocked in Malaysia. I myself know someone who waited 3 months merely for a side mirror.

So, instead of playing games like setting up facebook pages etc, concentrate on improving your after sales. That is more important. Get priorities right.

• alamak on Jun 09, 2012 at 12:17 pm

SD never let a chance suck blood, yet with bad service and warranty cover…..they waste too many good car….someone need to stop them

• Unforgiven on Jun 09, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Do we have a choice in M’sia? No, not with the current NAP.
        Just have to take it unless there is a Change!

• polo saga on Jun 10, 2012 at 4:02 pm

yes, pull down the f*cking corrupted BN!!!

• Ford Rich Man's Car on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:34 am

The service is so substandard and rude. My 3 year old Ford Focus gearbox rosak, they kept my car for 3 months before it was returned to me. In the meantime, I had to wait for the Intrakota bus in the rain and smoke. The least they should offer is a replacement car if they are going to take so long to repair my car. Let future buyers be forwarned, service is VERY slow and parts are SUPER expensive. Parts are more expensive than my current BMW. Ask all the Ford Fiesta owners….all crying to the bank. General rule is this, if you want to buy Ford, make sure you can afford and maintain a BMW 320i and it is by choice that you choose not to buy a BMW. To emphasise and elaborate on the meaning of slow, expect no less than 2 months wait for most parts. And if your car cannot run without the new parts, expect the car to sleep in the workshop for 2 months. I post this on the facebook page also, it was taken out and deleted. So scared people read this.

• droll on Jun 09, 2012 at 6:43 am

time to hold off on the mondeo upgrade! the new interior and spec list of the focus should hint at what the new mondeo would have. better wait.

• shawal on Jun 09, 2012 at 9:14 am

Ford should consider Naza to distribute their cars if they’re going after volume, or do it themselves like VW

• wishful on Jun 09, 2012 at 6:32 pm

do it themselves like vw, can see how much in road vw have made in msia…..ford, do it ur self ler, same goes to hyundai….sd really destroy ur products here in msia

• wishful on Jun 09, 2012 at 9:44 am

1.6 & 2.0 eco boost engine?

• Sgt Scoop on Jun 09, 2012 at 12:11 pm

I love these ‘teases’ that car companies do. Proton are always putting their cars in a box and all that stuff when nobody cares about the cars they are launching. Just launch the car or don’t. The fact that Ford are doing it for the Focus makes it even worse. How many Focuses did they sell last year, around 9 right?

• ahmadfaris93 on Jun 09, 2012 at 12:22 pm

I hope the price will be able to compete with the 308 turbo. I also hope that we wouldnt get crappy specs like basic small rims or something similar. Diesel engine for what ? Diesels in Malaysia are horrible. Everytime I walk past a diesel BMW or Merc they sound like trucks. So you spend your money on that thing . Bloody horrible.

• wishful on Jun 09, 2012 at 6:36 pm

guess…it just u, more ppl are accepting diesel here in msia. its way more powerful for real world usage and damn frugal. try driving a modern diesel, u’ll soon be addicted to the massive torque and the reduce visit go the petrol stn

• forgoodd on Jun 09, 2012 at 10:37 pm

sound like u never drive diesel before, go try it ur self….

• if diesel is so horrible, wonder y merc, beemer, audi, vw, peugeot, ford, are selling so well with diesel engine.. its only msia not popular.. clean diesel is the way for better economy, lesser emission n not giving up the fun part of torque n power at the sametime… too bad the only thing u concern about is the sound…

• vios power on Jun 09, 2012 at 1:21 pm

what? no turbocharged engine?
    FORGET IT!

• RadzLee on Jun 09, 2012 at 1:47 pm

will they be fitted with ecoboost engines? im looking forward for the TDCi…

• Already launched in US, go www.ford.com, expect the lowest spec will be in this region

• teelim on Jun 09, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Its a real shame if they don’t bring in the TDCi.

• sudonano on Jun 09, 2012 at 6:32 pm

The 2nd Gen Focus was pure joy to use. Most responsive car, mind you it was poorly maintained (it was on rental,while my other car was in service-company car) anyway, the Duratec engine never failed to let me have a satisfying feeling ever drive! Beats all those Japanese engines, even the ones with bigger displacements. But i hope EcoBoost comes soon, this, if priced right, will become the Civic/Altis/Forte/Elantra killer. Forget manufacturers service, all the same, VW same, UMW same, Ford same, Proton same, all same la, cause the revenue of a company comes form the sale of the car! Pure awesome, this Focus.

• my gt-r smoked focus many times, its handling is not as good as mine, you know who tuned gt-r handling?

LOTUS!!!! and no wonder if proton cars smoke ford cars easily at corners

• You smoking weed bro?

• DArkerMarker on Jun 10, 2012 at 8:04 pm

Smoke this car, smoke that car……

Typical Ah beng attitude…

• Kumar san on Jun 11, 2012 at 10:27 am

Dude,this is an automotive blog,it’s not a blog to discuss whether your so called GTR can smoke which car,or how it’s handling is better or what not.

If you like the topic of smoking so much,i suggest you get a pack of fags or some weed.Then you will be smoked.No offense.

Cheers.

• what GT-R?…kancil 660 with DIY GT-R sticker?? hehe..so silly comment like this

• sudonano on Jun 13, 2012 at 11:37 am

To GTR, a new Focus 2.0S petrol is RM117112.40, 2011 design. Recond GTR is RM390000. Obviously a GTR can beat a focus. If it doesn’t beat a Focus then confirm something wrong.

This is like comparing an Inspira to a M5! Duh.

• jaafar on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:26 pm

gt-r
        Are you having a laugh? show me any UK articles that say the Proton with so-called Lotus touch handles batter than a Focus…

• if its 1.6NA, my guess would be between 100k to 110k?
    if its 1.6 ecoboost, probably between 130k to 140k.. IMHO, my benchmark would be more expensive than 308THP, and cheaper than Golf TSI..

• pelangi on Jun 10, 2012 at 10:00 am

from what i heard.. they gonna bring those 2.0 sedan n hback petrol version that comes with auto park assist, which really excite me.

• Check out the selling price and those few year old Focuses on sale in the classified…

• DArkerMarker on Jun 10, 2012 at 8:02 pm

suspense only…..
    Just reveal the car lar….

• amirad on Jun 11, 2012 at 8:05 am

Strongly agree with Ford bucking up their after sales service instead of playing games but I guess the marketing people have different idea. I’m willing to splash my hard own dough on this focus provided if there is an improvement in the after sales. No doubt the focus is a good and reliable car. Will wait for the ecoboost engine.

• poor after sales, long waiting time for parts…

whats the point. the teasing is so silly. Someone forgot to tell the genuises at Ford that there is something called internet.

• Hyundai Fan on Jun 13, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Hi Paul, is it the model that lost to Hyundai Elantra in the North American Car Award recently?