US study: Over 10% of new car buyers skip test drive

A study carried out by Maritz Research has yielded this result – of 80,219 people who had bought 2012 model year cars in the US, 11.4% didn’t take a test drive, The Detroit Free Press reported.

Among the inferences are the increasing numbers of shoppers doing their own car research online (specifically 80%), not liking to deal with sales and dealership staff and wanting to buy quickly because of a general lack of interest in cars.

The report quotes several car dealers, who say the test drive is an important part of the car buying process because it could “convert a wavering shopper to a committed buyer.” Without taking a test drive, the customer wouldn’t have the opportunity to test any other vehicles before making a purchase, while the dealer loses the chance to lure the customer to a higher price bracket.

Philip Reed, a former dealership representative, told The Detroit Free Press: “The feel of the wheel will seal the deal,” adding that test-driving is like “trying on a suit. You’re trying to find out, does it fit me?”

What about you? Did you test drive your last purchase before you bought it? Drop us a comment – we’d love to know how many of you try before you buy.

[polldaddy poll=6467546]

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Black Dog on Aug 16, 2012 at 6:16 pm

I think in Malaysia it’s the reverse. 90% never go for test drive because most are buying Protons & Perodua

• Bob Vettel on Aug 16, 2012 at 6:45 pm

I don’t think so – last time I went to see the Preve the line was very long for a test drive.

It’s those buyers who are buying Toyotas who don’t go for test drives because they’re so certain of Toyota’s reputation, even if it is undeserved.

• AripSon on Aug 16, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Ya Black Dog…
      Even for other brands! Bcos we are so used to crappy quality from P1 and P2, then when it comes to T,H, or N – not to mention Merc nor BM – which have better reputation, almost no test drive is needed.
      They say: “They are good car maker maaa…. not like tuut or tuut…”

• Hmm i bought my Myvi SE 2 ‘ my first car ‘never went to P2 showroom to see that car…when i can get my car,then my friend just bring it to me…my second car is Polo and never text drive and just ask a bit information coz i know it’s better than Myvi so no need to text drive !

• thequestion on Aug 17, 2012 at 6:17 pm

please don’t “text drive” it dangerous and irresponsible ….

• Desmond on Aug 16, 2012 at 6:19 pm

It’s quite important to make sure that the “feel” of the car actually ngam to myself..

• Azrul on Aug 16, 2012 at 6:21 pm

I bought my Forte last week,trading in my Myvi for it.Never did test drives for both cars;i relied more on research and personal testimonials from friends and family..

• i bought Honda CR-Z, too bad there were no test drive units available.

• mirror mirror on Aug 16, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Most of the test drive sessions are too short to determine if that particular car is suitable for you. You will need to spend at least one or two days in the car to know if you truly like it. For example, I thought the new 3 series is very suitable for me when I tested it a few months ago. But when I had the opportunity to drive it for a couple of hours in my friend’s new 3 series, I found that I don’t like it that much, I thought the Volvo S60 is more comfortable and suit my needs better. My tip in choosing a car is – try it now but decide only a few months later.

• sudonano on Aug 16, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Wow. I can’t even think myself buying my car without a test drive!

• A family member is buying a car back in Malaysia and yet to test drive the car. Meanwhile I have done the test drive of the said model with a different engine and going for another one soon with the same engine as ordered back in Malaysia. Test drive overseas but buying locally. Lol. Doing research on the behalf and will be driving the car when I am back for holidays so vested interest there.

• turtlebusiness on Aug 16, 2012 at 7:03 pm

Bet all civic fd1’s owners never test drive the car before they purchased it. Cos only fd2 are available for testing…

• kamen rider on Aug 16, 2012 at 7:14 pm

My test drive is Paultan.org web site… LOL

I trust paultan.org more than the car salesman.
    For example, I believe Paul and others have write a good job in comparing Honda Accord vs. Camry vs. Teana.

I also find the Nissan vs. Honda CRV vs. Peugeout vs. Mitsubishi SUV comparison is very good.

Who need test drive if Paul and friend already the good test drive… :)

• Eddie on Aug 16, 2012 at 7:14 pm

10% = buying a ferrari/maserati/lamborghini/aston martin…etc lol

• kamen rider on Aug 16, 2012 at 7:17 pm

btw,

I really hope paul and friend can give more comparison test drive.

ex.
    Jazz vs. Yaris vs. i20 vs. Mercedes A
    Civic vs. Altis vs. Lancer vs. i30 vs. series 1 vs.
    etc….

• This pic is fake! Americans cant drive manual! XD

• Mario Gomez on Aug 16, 2012 at 10:12 pm

This is not in America.
      I think it is in UK or Australia as it is Right hand drive.

• WHO SAYS AMERICANS CAN DRIVE MANUAL ! -.-“

• mystvearn on Aug 16, 2012 at 8:16 pm

Want to test drive, but the dealer has no test car. Its a Honda. So I guess it is already predictable how it will behave.

• Chris on Aug 16, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Bought a Viva, didn’t test drive it. Bought it because I need a new trouble free car for commute and that’s the only one I can afford.

Have to buy it even if I don’t like how it drives :/

• Sgt Scoop on Aug 16, 2012 at 8:47 pm

I didn’t test drive the car I bought but I made sure my wife did before I bought it. I was worried that it would be difficult for her to drive it. I wanted a Japanese D segment car with high resale value and was decent to drive. You know which one I chose.

• Anon Kneemas on Aug 16, 2012 at 9:27 pm

The reason why folks in the US are reluctant to test drive yet alone step on the lot is to avoid the dirty car dealer games. Nowadays with the multitude of reviews and videos online, you can learn so much about a car without even looking at it. In addition to that, there are various specific forums that can answer questions your car salesman couldn’t even dream of knowing the answer to. If that isn’t enough you can even ‘tour’ a car in detail through the efforts of youtube contributors saabkyle04 (and alexlovesmac for local content). For my last car, I secured financing online and went through a website called truecar.com which generates the average best price attainable in the area and guarantees it at a participating local dealer. All I had to do was go to the dealership with the ‘pre-negotiated’ price in hand, finish up the paperwork and drive the car home. Gone are the days where you’d have to spend 6 hours at the dealership playing price games.

• mirror mirror on Aug 16, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Our preference can vary from one person to another. What is comfy, powerful, spacious or spacious are very subjective attributes, it all depends on your perception. The best thing to do is to try it personally.

• Carl Wong on Aug 16, 2012 at 10:47 pm

I always test drive and have a feel for the cars inside out even if I might not be buying lol. How can you buy a car with so much hard earned money without even sitting inside and have a feel first?? What if you regret your choice just after getting the new car???

• My wife is buying the 2012 beetle based on the look alone. Well, its her car. As for me, i test drivenmy car from as many dealer before i decided to purchase my mazda 6

• Sabahman on Aug 17, 2012 at 1:06 am

A Proton sales person told me most buyers never test drove the model they bought. The allowed test route was just the road outside the shop.

• kerelbort on Aug 17, 2012 at 9:23 am

Malaysian usually do test drive just to brag that they tested the ride without any intention to buy it…

the same reason why people who really wanted to buy the car did not get to test drive because some other people who not even looking in the market doing test drive and later on bising-bising on the net about it… :P

• Desmond on Aug 17, 2012 at 10:49 am

why must one test drive because he/she is buying? The car is there test lah. If not theres no need to put “test drive now at ___ showrooms” posters everywhere every single hot model launches.

• DAMN HARD TO FIND MANUAL TEST DRIVE UNIT
    NOW MANY KNOW MYVI 1.3 CLUTCH IS HARD TO USE, but back then no one knows.
    REAL MAN DRIVES WITH THREE PEDALS ~

• Safwan on Aug 17, 2012 at 3:10 pm

I test drove my car 3 times at 3different branch. First, i was the driver, didnt get a chance to enjoy the car because busy listening to the SA highlighting about the car, second time i brought a fren who sat at the back and i skip theSA speech by specifically looking at the things i wanna know eg, autostop. Lastly, i brought the same fren who drove the car n i sat at the back fiddling with everything. Then i get my fren feedback .

• I bought my wira 10 years ago and request for test drive. The salesman answer: You have not driven a wira before???

• ko malu saje... on Aug 17, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Buying a car without test driving is like marrying a girl without even dating her.

As for the pushy salesman you can always ask him to stfu…