BYD F3 Su Rui on sale – 1.5 and 1.5 turbo, remote-controlled driving for 65,900 to 100,000RMB

BYD Auto has released a new iteration of its F3 sedan, one of the best-selling compacts in China, on to its home market. Called the F3 Su Rui, prices begin from a meagre 65,900RMB (RM32,300) for the basic 109 hp naturally aspirated 1.5 litre variant.

But it’s the range-topper that intrigues us most, for it features remote driving – without actually being in the car, one can drive it from a distance of up to 10 metres away, enabling things like parking in super tight spaces and getting it to pick you up on your doorstep on a rainy day. Before you entertain ideas of silly stunts in a deserted car park, we have to tell you that top speed is limited to 2 km/h in remote-controlled mode. Take a gander at the rather cheery commercial below:

For only a shade under 100,000RMB (RM49,000) you also get a six-speed dual-clutch gearbox and a 154 hp turbocharged 1.5 litre direct-injected powerplant (allowing a century sprint time of under nine seconds), in addition to features such as a digital dashboard with trip computer, a comprehensive infotainment system with 4.3-inch LCD screen (including internet and GPS), tyre pressure monitoring system, ABS, traction control and more – to say we’re impressed is an understatement.

To create the Su Rui, BYD made the F3 150 mm longer and 60 mm wider so overall length, width and height are respectively 4680, 1765 and 2660 mm, pitting it against Emgrand’s EC7 and Baojun’s 630. A four-year, 100,000 km warranty is offered on the new drivetrain.

Another video below, this time in the real world, demonstrating the F3 Su Rui’s remote driving feature:

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• china cars, although having cheap interior and does not have own engine in true sense, at less not much differences with proton. as campro, in strict sense not developed by proton but lotus in UK, but china manufactured had provided better vehicle in terms of specs.

• spdfre on Aug 27, 2012 at 7:49 pm

economies of scale

• knight_rider on Aug 28, 2012 at 2:23 am

after this we will see merc and bmw alike cars, only the logo is different. it won’t only look alike but also can auto-drive like knight rider, plus many weirdo features that not even veyron can do that

• my civic fd2 cannot do like this. how come? i bought it >120k

• Black Dog on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:10 pm

This is called INNOVATION which is sorely lacking in many cars today. Most are copycats, even Japanese.

• i'mDrivingPreve on Aug 28, 2012 at 9:19 pm

now china not copycat! i believe the Europeans, Germans, Japs will follow suit! The world became the other way round. others all are copycat! hhahaha

• forte fan on Aug 27, 2012 at 1:14 pm

not available in malaysia, TT

• blwkjh on Aug 28, 2012 at 2:25 am

i kinda like it! what’s the price range in malaysia? i want to show it off to my boss who has bmw M5. his car cannot be remoted like thisone

• Forte>all, China made is not reliable except food

• Billy Lor on Aug 27, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Except food? How about infant milk produced by them that contaminated with melamine?

• Mana global car Proton?with such car also ppl don’t claim it as global car…..Proton really dream big….

• Leo Gallante on Aug 27, 2012 at 1:24 pm

haha, interesting, but when it comes to safety most of the Chinese car amnufacturers fails….. Anyway it is very cheap…. if sell in Malaysia I may get one…

• amatku17 on Aug 27, 2012 at 1:31 pm

On your face Proton, Perodua too.

• Lol, the second real world video, the car is leaking oil… Very Confidence Inspiring … haha

• vincent on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:29 pm

R u sure its oil? Most probably is aircon water …

• orange on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Why you’re so stupid ahh ? That’s an aircond leak..happened to ALL cars

• shawal the airhead.. on Aug 27, 2012 at 5:14 pm

you also not so clever, no such thing as aircond leak like that, its a water drop from aircond condensation

• Ang AngAng on Aug 28, 2012 at 12:04 pm

Aiyah…people NOT stupid, just didn’t realise it on tar road whenever they stop their car. It just happened that the floor is very dusty, leaving water mark. Why do they want to promote demo on such area

• MoFaz on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:49 pm

no surprise, even their elevated highway and apartment building could tumble in few months after completion. i won’t buy it.

• kimiru-kun on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:45 am

our MRR2 seem not better then

• MoFaz on Aug 28, 2012 at 10:14 am

MRR2 was built 20 years ago and currently exceeding its design capacity. the collapsed highway in China was built last year.

• Ryan.C on Aug 27, 2012 at 1:39 pm

wah… shopping centre parking lot can be more smaller??

• China has started it’s onslaught,watch out for the emergence of China made cars

• Kelvin on Aug 27, 2012 at 1:47 pm

cool, but the real life video seem far away from the advertising video :(

• Matkota on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:00 pm

is this said china technology is bad?..much better then others..

• shawal the airhead.. on Aug 27, 2012 at 5:56 pm

we don’t say they’re bad in term of technology, they have billion people in that country .. sure they can come out with an idea…but they’re bad in term of quality and reliability

• civicEK on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:01 pm

even china also now can build cheap + added value feature.. proton? sigh.. :(

• Adoyai on Aug 27, 2012 at 4:31 pm

ever been to china? a lot of people using electric scooter in the city

• janjidicapati on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:01 pm

nice!

• BuildYourDoom ! on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:02 pm

This feature is rather dangerous ! If my kids got hold of the car keys i am sure they will treat it as a toy !

• Leo Gallante on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:34 pm

perhaps they could implement lock and unlock, to use the remote control. Maybe they can use the unlocking pattern that uses for HTC…

• AngAngAng on Aug 28, 2012 at 12:11 pm

This one i agree :) Then my kids wldn’t want remote toy car or iPad anymore. This will help to accelerate kid’s learning curve on actual equipment…in a dangerous way (anyway…it may not crash but cause deep scratch @ 2km/hr)

• artworks on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:02 pm

woh ! so advance

• kington on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:05 pm

I guess as far as production cars are concerned, this would be the first to offer remote drive?

• chocolate)head on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:07 pm

awesome!! very clever engineering!

• AlexQWERTYUIOP on Aug 27, 2012 at 4:56 pm

Sorry, but clever engineering?
      If you got the right tools and spare time youu can easily do that to your car.Isn’t that right Adam, Jamie,Grant, Tory and Kari?

• YeapyEvo on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:16 pm

China National car <50k give u 6 speed dual clutch nd a 154 hp turbocharged 1.5 litre direct-injected powerplant; Malaysians only can get lagi best 4 speed auto 1.3L or Saga FLX 1.6L campro

• after a year..all the IC will burn out….made in china not lasting enuf..

• kambeng on Aug 27, 2012 at 5:22 pm

now your imported JDM car’s part also sourcing from China

• ramun on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:21 pm

I’ll dump P1 & P2 cars for this car spec. Apple to apple comparison this car spec is awesome

• “For only a shade under 100,000RMB (RM49,000) you also get a six-speed dual-clutch gearbox and a 154 hp turbocharged 1.5 litre direct-injected powerplant”
    i actually re-read the above statement 3 times!!

• pity us malaysians.. RM50k for a 1.5L myvi, and RM50k for a turbo..

• say anything u want about China car or Proton.. soon the victory still goes to the one that works hard without having any “protection”.

• ss427 on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:39 pm

hahahaha…. either the BYD products are so badly pirated (which i really think so) or their marketing dept can’t be bothered… but come on man, the show car in the video is LEAKING ENGINE OIL when it started to turn right! LOL :D

Some kind of a joke eh? :D

BTW, this BYD F3 is pirated off the G10 Corolla Altis platform. Pay close attention to the shape from A to C pillar. They’re the same as current Altis..

Well, it’s a well known fact BYD do nothing except pirating Toyota and some Honda cars… so this latest shouldn’t be an exception

• slumber on Aug 27, 2012 at 3:01 pm

The dash at centre looks like carbon copied from YF Sonata… it’s getting more international copy!

• kambinganas on Aug 27, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Friend, it is not engine oil, it is condensed water dripping from the air-cond.

Pirated or not, they are making a lot of effort in improving their cars and specs. What pisses off Malaysians reading this is that the kereta nasional that has been competing with the Koreans are soon to be outdone by the Chinese.

Before anyone kutuk China cars as unreliable etc, I am comparing them with something on par like Proton. So you be the judge, are the China car manufacturers getting ahead of us or not? Just like with Korean cars, don’t be surprised people will be singing praises of China cars in the future while our jaguh kampung is not even close.

• Weren’t proton “pirated” mitsubishi in the beginning even until now? Look at the inspira, they didn’t just use the platform, even the interior, drivetrain were copy “bulat bulat”.

• mrehy on Aug 27, 2012 at 8:31 pm

inspira is rebadged version of lancer, it’s legal ‘copy’

• The “pirated” here simply means using/ borrowing legally…

• crssjo on Aug 27, 2012 at 11:31 pm

so byd copied it legally or not?

• AngAngAng on Aug 28, 2012 at 12:18 pm

Yea…so much so on so-called “rebadging” until one replaces inspira front bumper with Lancer’s, you’ll get your engine burn in few hours. Be careful lor…

• Are you ao ignorant or plain sour grapes, or what, please read prior comments. Its air cond water lah..dud..Oh I suppose you do not drive air cond cars only air fan cars of the 70s malaysian cars.

• Bro…this is known that this car is a pirated this inside…..but dunno why ppl here thumb you down…

• malaysian on Aug 27, 2012 at 9:16 pm

ya la ya la, better you say its dripping petrol, the oil thank got lubang. only continental won’t drip oil..but drink

• Maserati on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:46 pm

China will produce quality stuff soon. Much better than the koreans who until now still producing unreliable crap. How i know? Well,my company deals with korean equipment. I can tell u they almost break down once in every 2 months!

• TurboMan!!! on Aug 27, 2012 at 10:04 pm

So your reasoning is every korean car is crap due to a few pieces of korean machinery in your company and that is why u r so ANTI korean.

With that mindset, i hope you don’t get your heart broken by a gal, cause u might just turn into a h*m*

• oblong on Aug 28, 2012 at 8:40 am

buying equipment from North Korea maybe….

• i am not sure whether this china-made vehicle is reliable or not! but i can c that they are developing its car industry in term of engine, tech, design etc. but look back at our Proton, the pace of improving is slow and the price is shooting up with low tech for those car below 50k. really a big Sighhhhhhhh…..

• drchaw on Aug 27, 2012 at 3:19 pm

Is that oil dripping from the engine? Remote control good concept for tight spaces, if only the driver is skilled enough with the remote. Will the driver need a licence to operate the remote?

• Chris Tan on Aug 27, 2012 at 3:21 pm

frankly, everything has to start from somewhere. isn’t it the korean look alike japanese when they first launched? wait for another 3-5 years when the skills and quality improved, i think we will not see china-brand car the way we see them now…at least the big boys like gm and toyota are paying close attention to these china manufacturer…malaysia proton/perodua, bolehkah?

• Ss427, what makes u so sure that it is oil?
    Doesn’t all cars manufacturer copy each other and modify to make their own appearance?
    Altis platform is better than cheapskate proton…
    The spec is way better than what national cars could offer!!!
    For rm50k…it is considered affordable and value for money.
    Preve? If selling at rm50k I would say affordable but not value for money. The fact it is sold at rm70k, it is overpriced and proton is take us for a ride….come on….

• bulld on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:43 am

are you byd salesman?

• zowell on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:43 am

are you byd salesman?

• ss427 on Aug 28, 2012 at 9:40 am

Bro, just look at the color la. Will water condensation from the a/c compressor have such dark brown color? I’d say either the engine oil is leaking or the ATF is leaking… either way, the drivetrain is a goner.

Bro, I’m from Sillypore. We’ve never view these Chinese pirated cars seriously at all. In fact, many SG drivers tends to give way to Chery QQ, A5 etc cos we will never know if their brakes still works when they try to stop behind you at the lights! :(

So are Chinese cars better than Proton? Well yes and no. Yes mainly becos the Chinese copied from well established designs (both ext and interior) and in terms of shape, they’re indeed much better looking than the kampong Proton LOL :)

But that’s where the ‘beauty’ ends. Chinese cars looked the best when you stand say 1-2m away from them! LOL :D Anything closer and you can see how sloppy their construction are.

Get closer still and sit in the cabin and you’d be appalled by the sheer lack of quality in everywhere in the cabin. Yes, the dash may looked like an Altis copycat, but the materials used is certainly NOT

And then there’s their engines options… or rather the lack of it. So BYD has some new engines, but they’re untested in overseas markets and we must always take Chinese marketing materials with a pinch of salt. But for other crap brands eg Geely, Chery, Greatwall or what have you, they only have those early 90s Mitsubishi engines to use. And never mind if the targeted model is too damn big and heavy for the engine, these companies doesnt care, so long the wheels can turn haha

• can singapore build car like malaysia? i really want to look the end product whether it can beat at least china cars since you compare it to malaysia’s

• now its much easier to make ghost car story..no need modification..hahaa

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 28, 2012 at 12:03 am

how bout lagi best 1.5 @ RM62k ? the biggest ripoff ever compared to even preve.

• silver on Aug 27, 2012 at 3:47 pm

china car are improving at a shocking rate, look at the koreans a few years back their cars are not worth mentioning look at them now , with their vast market and money available i could see them competing againts the world pretty soon…

• shawal on Aug 27, 2012 at 3:52 pm

just get the new ford focus and an umbrella , and an tamiya RC while ur at it…

• Painter on Aug 27, 2012 at 4:05 pm

I suppose someone can start changing that No Driver Yellow Volskwagen on Karak Highway prank to a more modern self-driving Chinese made car.

• ABTguy on Aug 27, 2012 at 4:14 pm

Remote control has not much real world usage, as most of us lock steering, brake etc when park at shopping centre.

But look at the double clutch gearbox and turbo engine, Pronto or Govt really penalise us like hell.

• JeremyNg on Aug 27, 2012 at 5:06 pm

The transmission and engine put our local car manufacturer to shame !!!!! But do you trust people form republic of china ??!! they are economic animal, they willing to do anything for $ so i don really trust them ………. they cant even build their highway properly (highway collapsed) so will this car work ??

• droll on Aug 27, 2012 at 5:22 pm

i wonder if the protocols used to remotely control the car can be eavesdropped / hacked! :)

• jalan54 on Aug 27, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Interesting… The spec is also very tempting for the 1.5 turbo version.

Most important of all, it’s cheap… :)

Proton… sigh…

• bulld on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:40 am

i don’t think you can get same price when it arrives in malaysia

• Bell&Ross on Aug 27, 2012 at 5:32 pm

hmm remote control related accidents soon?

• jalan54 on Aug 27, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Its only 2km/h using remote, how can you get into accident with 2km/h? Also, its only for you to control your car out of the small parking space, not for you to drive on the road

• Personally I don’t think the remote drive function is practical. Imagine a car driving 2km/h in front of you, you’ll run out of patience, no matter what.

• jalan54 on Aug 27, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Please read carefully, it is only for you to use to drive your car out from a small parking space, not for you to drive on the road genius.

• “and getting it to pick you up on your doorstep on a rainy day”

so it’s NOT “ONLY for you to use to drive your car out from a small parking space”, genius :)

Besides, maybe you would argue that how if the place you park is so small until you can’t open the door and get in the car? Well, before you get back to your car, your ‘neighbor’ would probably SMASH your door so they can get in theirs :D

• motorcamper on Aug 27, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Some smart fellow will hack the firmware and remove the speed limiter and wallah! A full speed, full size R/C car. Now everyone can be James Bond!

• nebula87 on Aug 27, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Now, everyone can become James Bond…xD

• Damn, everytime i saw the conversion to ringgit malaysia, i asked myself what car do our menteri-menteri drive?

• I mean we are actually buying their cars

• it’s a fking altis !

• Whynot on Aug 28, 2012 at 6:24 pm

Ask the Japanese to make automated feature like this and see how much will they offer!

• armandd on Aug 27, 2012 at 8:10 pm

I’m not impressed at all by the spec. Do you know that you can get China Iphone 4 for less than RM350 in KL? It’s 100% the same as the real Iphone, with some extra spec (can watch TV etc.) That includes 1-year warranty also.

Some smart-ass even compare this toy car with RM50k Myvi and Saga. WTF?

• YeapyEvo on Aug 27, 2012 at 11:54 pm

Yeah, Warren Buffet is so stupid that he invest in a Toy car company?

• smartest on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:34 am

can i be smarter? i want to compare this car with lexus, 7 series, S class merc and infinity

• armandd on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:21 am

you are the smartest person on earth, don’t do any comparison anymore.

• eagleeye on Aug 27, 2012 at 9:56 pm

knight rider from china…

• people get in and out of parking using all mirrors also still can scratch other people’s car. some ppl even need 10 point turns to get into the parking box. even at the lowest speed of knock, will still cause small scratch.. imagine taking the car out of the parking box using remote control without mirror n all.. just estimate n then hit the cars parked left n right..

• fengs on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:37 am

apa la lu, org beli kereta 200k pun tak boleh remote macam ni tau. tak guna merc dan bmw tu, dah ketinggalan.

kalau ada orang tengok dari luar lagi senang nak parking, apa raaaa

• Anon Kneemas on Aug 27, 2012 at 11:18 pm

Damn…remote drive feature? Will it ever catch on? Sounds like a lawsuit waiting to happen.

• kenny_lim on Aug 27, 2012 at 11:25 pm

haha…the car is leaking oil in the 2nd youtube…haha

• china are improving as time past.
    korean have already gone thru.
    wish cars and bikes will be cheaper in malaysia soon.

• Chong on Aug 27, 2012 at 11:38 pm

It reminds me the top gear video of china fast growing automotive industry. Even though people think China made is unreliable, but they improve from time to time, not like some Japanese brand…

• Cehhh…. china made cars are getting some goodies which betters Proton cars already??? Dual clutch gearboxes, remote drive etc. Proton better find some way to compete in the international market in the next 3 to 5 years. On paper, Preve is a non issue to BYD’s offering. Proton’s management better find a buyer soon for the company….. the way things are going its gonna go belly up soon. Btw, fyi… Proton’s CVT gearbox is China made…..lol.

• bongek on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:47 am

you are wrong, they are not only better than proton but better than audi, merc, bmw, vw, lambo, ferrari etc and they also got to find buyer soon for their companies.

and if know how to use pc, hp, laptop you are probably use china-made components too…lol

• bmw/mini also uses powertrain from same company, what say you?

• The side profile resembles the latest Altis.
    Innovative but in real life, this is just way too slow to park or move a car. At this speed, you’ll be jamming people up.

• pencuci tandas on Aug 28, 2012 at 2:41 am

hahahaha…you guys said that china car are doing good..nice…batter than proton blablabla..and what so ever…but in the end…people still buy proton and perodua cars…

• proton get lost on Aug 28, 2012 at 7:26 pm

people in malaysia buys proton and perodua because we are force to…the tax structure makes proton and perodua affordable, how many times people in malaysia had to be remind that if the tax is equalize, there won’t be any fighting chance for proton or perodua car.

• The technology are good but how come that’s some leakage underneath? Don’t look like air-con water, its like engine oil or some kind of oil.Watch carefully again the video.

• unnon on Aug 28, 2012 at 11:16 am

so many features but at the price of saga flx se? huhu.

china have low labor cost.. they have low cost in manufacturing, producing all these parts of the cars. malaysia?? we want high in pay, high labor cost it is. vendors mark up high price for the parts, plus all the taxes.. sooo.. u do the calculation. that’s y malaysian cars are high in price. IMO.

• Wait infected by virus and lock your steering wheel while you are driving

• 6speed dual-clutch with turbocharged direct-injected… interesting…

is 6speed manual with turbocharged direct-injected available?!

• Whynot on Aug 28, 2012 at 6:11 pm

China does not own bird brains. There are some of the world best or probably best in the world. Chinese history tells that Koreans and Japanese were once students of Chinese origins. They had super highways up mountains, super speed trains, super bridges, super rockets and super military jets. Why said that they are inferiors. Lives another 20 years to see how well they will compete. Only fools will now said they are stupid or inferiors.

• i'mDrivingPreve on Aug 28, 2012 at 9:34 pm

Malaysian has finally became so optimistic! It’s china car, famous for low-reliablity,,,,but no 1 bash! everybody love this product!
    Malaysian has grew more mature finally, we have to support, then more competitor will show up, benefiting us as consumers. :D

• Davincci on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:43 am

Read the Top Gear, see their comment towards Proton. Shame on us

• mrkthxbai on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:41 pm

funny features. there always a reason why top car manufacturers dont want to include this kind of feature