Gov’t says no plans to reduce excise duties on cars

The government has reiterated that that there is no plan to reduce the excise duty of imported and locally-manufactured cars, currently estimated at about RM7 billion a year.

Doing so will have a significant impact on revenue obtained from excise duty, and will also harm the overall growth of the domestic automotive industry, International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed said in Parliament last week.

According to reports, Mustapa said the government will draw up a comprehensive strategy encompassing a roadmap to oversee reduction in car prices in stages and establish a National Automotive Council, approved by the Economic Council, to closely monitor NAP implementation.

“The government is aware that the domestic automotive industry has to be developed further to become more competitive and offer more benefits to the people, particularly in selling cars at a reasonable price,” Mustapa said, assuring that the policy and the NAP review will not be done in haste but in stages, after careful study and consideration.

He added that the government had unveiled several important initiatives under the NAP – these include the introduction of many car models in the same segment and the issuance of new manufacturing licences for all segments of vehicles in the energy-efficient vehicles (EEV) category.

There are however no plans to introduce cash rebates as an incentive for people to purchase hybrid or EEVs, as it would involve a lot of funds, Mustapa stated.

“Currently, to attract consumers, the government has lifted the import duties for EEV while major car companies were given incentives if they set up their manufacturing operations locally,” he said.

He added that although the government did not intend to reduce the excise duty structure, several local car manufacturers, through consultations with the government, have begun working towards lower car prices, of which the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) already says is among the lowest in Asean in terms of total cost of vehicle ownership.

“Several companies have already offered incentives, while some are expected to make announcements on incentives to ensure that the people enjoy lower car prices,” he said.

For example, Perodua What’s up Graduate Progamme has introduced a low monthly instalment scheme, a 50% discount on maintenance cost for two years as well as thrown in an insurance incentive and free driving licence, he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• KillBox1Alpha on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:29 am

After 30 years the local car industry still need help to be competetive?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 258 Thumb down 8
    • alldisc on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:06 am

and thats it.. with AES and this excise thing causing sky high car prices we now know who to vote this coming GE.

good luck G!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 229 Thumb down 13
      • Wisdom on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:37 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 141
        • or even worse…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 65
        • Pumpkins on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Wow you can tilik nasib kah?

Tell us lah…when will Protong will close shop…

We’ll stock pile the fireworks, foods, drinks to celebrate it get drunk for one week nonstop…PROTONG BUNGKUS, RAKYAT MERDEKA!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 7
        • funky munky on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:00 pm

what this guy says may or may not be true, I’ll stay on another 10 years – if nothing changes, I’M LEAVING!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • Most comment comment here mostly budak sekolah, pekerje kilang, opis boy, uni student, people not bejaya dpt gaji ttgi n pro-pkr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 116
          • Joe Radzif on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:48 pm

saya memang kerja kilang….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
          • hey come on lah, just because we are not successful like you does not mean we are not people okay.

your comments are very offensive to us who belong to the lower and middle classes.

just because we are not rich, does not mean we are undeserving okay – please take your elitist attitude somewhere else

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 3
          • Joe Radzif on Oct 29, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Hina sangat ke kerja kilang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
          • poor_malaysians on Oct 29, 2012 at 5:53 pm

kalau tak dau jangan comment lar, aku ni ex CEO proton pun comment juga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • klaus heissler on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:16 pm

yeah bcos low-lifes like us cant afford to live a better life.only the ministers,PTDs,cronies n the high-income groups can be comfortable.we have to live in hardship,and so do our children.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
          • Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:48 pm

But ……. I am expatriate earning 5 figure income!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
      • carlos on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Whichever way, we still end up paying tax. If car tax reduced, gov had to find money elsewhere to fund infrastructure like roads etc. Maybe higher tax on income- which is also not popular. reduce subsidies on fuel and food – also not popular. what choice do we have. The next government will also do the same. They need money also mah!!! where to find?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
        • Concerned Citizen on Oct 29, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Where and how to find the money you say? Oh come on. Let me teach you. Get back all the money from those rich corrupt politicians that’s been plundering our nation for the past 50 years and of course also from those filthy rich well connected “so called” businessman. You’ll know who they are. I’ll bet you it’ll be the most popular move. Wanna bet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
        • I tell you where to find the money. Cut down government greedy corruption. Almost each and every government projects/mega-projects involve millions of ringgit of corruptions. Imagine those corruptions are cut down to 50%, how much we can get back from there! So, hopefully new government will help us fight corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
        • Malaysian people like to complain. Just because of these car issue, they said G very bad and wanna change Gov. They dint appreciate bout others like education, medical, peaceful country, etc.

I wonder y Rafizi said this idea, not DSAI. Something tricky here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 60
          • jalan54 on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Ayam… lol, you really think like Ayam… :p

Do you know another meaning of Ayam? Let me tell you if you don’t know, prostitute… lol

You only think ppl want to change government bcoz of this car issue, well, yes and no. Car issue is only 1 small matter. What people hate most is the corruption of current G and not bcoz of just this tiny car issue.

Ok, lets talk about education. Well, how successful is our education since our eduction level keeps decreasing internationally. I also find that now a days, a LOT OF Malaysians are acting like “Sakai”, throw rubbish and spit every where on the street, never flush after using the toilet, smoke inside public toilet even though they know they shouldn’t have done it. These are very simple moral thingy and still LOTS OF people in Malaysia still don’t know how to do it right, so you tell, what kind of education system we have in Malaysia?

Medical. Yes it is quite good, but not enough. Imagine I only want to fix my tooth and I have to wait for one year. Is this good enough for you?

Peaceful country… Well, define peaceful. Crime is happening everywhere, the fcuking police is not taking report when people reporting a crime (no wonder crime rate getting lower, I can have 0 crime rate if I’m doing the same thing). Please don’t get me wrong, not trying to say all of the police in Malaysia are like that, but the fact is LOTS OF them are acting like that.

You want me to give you more example???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
        • kambinganas on Oct 29, 2012 at 5:46 pm

Then they should stop spending our money like there is no tomorrow!

Kalau mereka dah tamak, berapa banyak pun tak cukup!

• beckham on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:43 pm

simple. reduce wastage, leakage, corruption, cronyism, lop-sided concession etc. look at the attorney general report 2011. then, the government can save billions without asking the rakyat to pay more taxes or reduce subsidies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
        • sobeit on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:20 pm

our country are blessed with so many natural resources, i.e. oil, timber, etc..etc. if the present G plug all the wastages & leakages, country revenue is already in front of our eyes in our hand no need to squeeze the poor rakyat

• Pumpkins on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:20 pm

After 30 years, only poor rakyat still suffer pay 75 pct car tax

Dacing better punish also the RICH to pay MORE car tax lah…since no plan to reduce it

Eg.
      Car below 1800cc = 75 pct tax
      Car above 1800 cc = 1,000 pct tax

INI BARU ADIL…MISKIN KAYA SEMUA KENA HANTAM MITI KAW-KAW BAYAR CUKAI MAHAL HA HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • salgoodguy on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:35 am

sorry ..you lost 1 vote for Tanjung Sepat and Kuala langat..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 185 Thumb down 7
    • Wisdom on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:42 pm

voting at 2 different places. u must be that ghost voter they’ve been talking about… :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 55
      • middels8088 on Oct 29, 2012 at 4:33 pm

Tanjung Sepat is for state seat and Kuala Langat is for Parliment seat. You call that wisdom from your words?

• maybe his wife lah broooo

• MK.Amir on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:30 pm

You never vote before eh?? 1 for Adun and 1 for Parliament laa.. LOL..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • NinjaTurtleneck on Nov 01, 2012 at 12:55 pm

Wisdom or just plain dumb? Go back to school!

• Phahmeen on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:42 am

Which part? Evrything bout the current government i dont understand……….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 4
    • poor_malaysians on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:28 pm

if they reduce Songlap and overprice project by 10% only, already can cover RM7 billion revenue loss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Kenny on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:43 am

“no plan to reduce the excise duty”

“no plan to give you a vote!”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 246 Thumb down 12
  • “Example, Perodua..” I won’t want to buy Perodua..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 3
  • Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:48 am

“Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) already says is among the lowest in Asean in terms of total cost of vehicle ownership.”

– My big foot, go and compare with Langkawi or Brunei total cost of car ownership! Then you know how high it is plus AP, Toll, yearly fee for driving license, extra cost on financing for insurance and car loan in the form of interest as well as increase in total value! Please Mr. Minister, we as consumers have enough of craps!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 7
  • along on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:49 am

Hmmm,

Then we also have no plan to buy any new cars…
    We also iterated that we have no plan to maintain the current government…

Come on guy, lets show them who is the boss…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    When we work together, we can win this…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 216 Thumb down 4
  • Octavian on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:50 am

will harm growth overall domestic automotive industry??? or harm ur ‘kroni’ pocket?? why others country can provide a lot less money for a new car without excessive and unnecessary excise duty? most malaysian bankruptcy cause of car loan alone…stupid NAP

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 4
  • Ah Beng on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:51 am

I do not know if P1 or P2 is making a lot of money or not but I do know is that many vendors are surviving only on very thin margins. Why? Materials are subjected to import duties. Then you have sales tax. These taxes are calculated after adding on all shipment cost, currency exchanges, insurance, etc.
    Before you can install the parts on the cars, you are already taxed. We are talking of import duties ranging from 5% to 30%. Sales tax is compounded on top of the material cost + import duties.
    Then you have excise duties after the car had been assembled. And please do not forget you get income tax lagi on the profit your company make.

I think better change our local car name to PreTAX cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Beng on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:36 am

These Government think we all BLIND!!! They only talk about Excise Duty. But they never talk about other type of taxes.
      How can local cars fight with imported cars. Our cost is already higher than the imported car selling price. If no protection given, P1 and P2 long ago sudah tutup kedai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • poor_malaysians on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:32 pm

True, the Custom charge very high tax on imported parts for car.

• 1 Malaysia on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:58 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 196
    • comrade on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:04 am

many ways can counter… e.g new loan only max 5 yrs int rates 5%…, income tax rebate for those who still have car loan under ‘previous’ regime or no need to pay for road tax, … or special new tyres rebate….hahahaha… please add if you’ve any other ideas..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 3
      • ora ora ora on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:11 pm

So many rebate u want, so many thing u expect from ur country yet what this country can expect from u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 66
        • We paid tax…..then why don’t we can’t expect something from the gov????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
          • If you are talking about income tax, are u really a taxpayer?
            Only 9% of 28 million Malaysian are actually taxpaying citizens.
            Taxpayer in Malaysia have no say, doesn’t carry weight.

• tokmoh on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:33 am

@Jack: Let me put it this way:

So you’re saying income tax is not the main source of income for our govt. So let’s say our govt’s source of income is Petronas. There could be Petronas staffs lurking paultan reading this.

These Petronas staffs work their arse off to help Petronas to generate profit, which goes to paying dividends to its main shareholder Khazanah, govt’s investment arm, they also pay corporate tax, as any company would.

You get it? You’re not only paying tax when you’re getting paycheck. You’re also paying tax as you work, not only in Petronas, but in every company in Malaysia.

• NinjaTurtleneck on Nov 01, 2012 at 1:01 pm

ora ora ora,

How old are you?

Jack,

Even if a primary schoolboy goes to McD and buys a value meal using his allowance money also get taxed. Your argument?

• b sensible on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:41 pm

very creative. but who want to absorb the diff btwn initial price (when loan is given out) & depreciated price (when the loan is being financed)?
        will bank willing to offer rebate?
        how about gov?
        if sudden decrease in the price reduction, is the car dealer willing to reduce the car too?
        what happen to car dealers as some of the cars are held as floor stock for financing facilities?
        what happen to trade-in vehicle? the trade-in vehicle would not be valuable then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • alldisc on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:25 am

all cars depreciate, some lower. some higher. but in the end they will come to the same projected value.

say a new corolla at 100K, after 6 years it should be 55K and in the 9th year like abt 40K.

but with this scheme proposed by PR the depreciation will just accelerate faster but in the 9th year there will be not much difference.

MOST IMPORTANT THING IS WE SACRIFICE NOW FOR THE BETTER FUTURE OF CHILDREN AND THEIR CHILDREN.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 6
      • 1. Are you currently paying for a car loan? How many years left?
        2. Do you know of any 2nd hand car dealer on a personnel level?

It is easy to talk about making sacrifices when you have nothing at stake.
        Majority of Malaysians will be affected if any drastic measures implemented

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
        • NinjaTurtleneck on Nov 01, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Jack,

how many 2nd hand car dealer compared to the rest who are not 2nd hand dealers?

I would say even less than 9%

So, by your argument earlier about taxpayers, we can conclude that 2nd hand car dealers don’t have a say.

• kambinganas on Oct 29, 2012 at 5:54 pm

I’ve seen logical comments like these repeated in the last few articles on this.

Tetapi malangnya, ada ramai lagi yang tak faham2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • neutral on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:51 am

bro…if u think like that…then forever no need to change…if the government wants to increase minimum wage, it will impact employers financially also. However, the change is essential, we are after all moving towards a higher income nation. If we don’t increase our wages now, eventually it will increase. Ever heard of “susah2 dahulu, senang2 kemudian”? No. Because you don’t THINK. The way you think you just looking at current state, we have to look towards the future. With more people like you, Malaysia will be doomed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
      • kambinganas on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:01 pm

The govt don’t want to enforce minimum wage because most of them are foreign workers and businesses want to continue to exploit them. Sejak bila kebanyakan pak guard orang msia?

• Fireball on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:14 pm

This should not be a reason for not reducing the tax. The Gov can choose to reduce by stage, be over a period of 10 years for example?

If you’re a new car owner, unless you change your car rapidly, else by the end of 10 years, it’s time for you to get a new car and you’re gonna benefit from it. Don’t tell me you’re still hoping to sell your 10 year old car with good value some more.

• Pumpkins on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:27 pm

It’s hard to reduce? How about increase it? Overnight approval right???

Yes increase it to target the RICH to pay MORE tax

Unfair if currently only the poor suffer 75 pct car tax…

Eg.

MISKIN KAYA SEMUA KENA HANTAM MITI KAW-KAW BAYAR CUKAI MAHAL HA HA HA HA

• tokmoh on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:45 am

Philosoraptop thinks:

If reduce tax will bankrupt nation… will increase tax make us prosperous?

Because fuck logic, that’s why!

• protonsucks on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:51 pm

eh stupid …. got hear any stories from previous hybrid user before excise duty anot ? look at the evidence of users with hybrid cars before duty excise, nobody collapse at all..everything still jalan as normal ok… they still can earn their money..coz 2nd hand dealer knows how to make money when excise duty kicks in, its the same..when they accept 2nd hand cars, definitely follow market price and resell to make profit, y feed such small minority when the rakyat is the majority in the group ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • So simple on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:03 pm

Why cannot tackle? The solution is quite obvious,
      Let say ‘A’ bought a car before duty is reduced, car expensive. Then ‘B’ bought the same car after duty is reduced, car is cheap. So for sure ‘A’ will make a lost bcos bought the same car at higher price. Can ‘A’ be compensated? Yes. The keyword = duty. ‘A’ paid more duty but ‘B’ didn’t, so when duty is reduced, ‘A’ should have the right to take back the difference of the duty paid from the fu**king government. Yeah bullshit government will say it will require lots of money. Well how about pay us back through installment? Isn’t installment a cliché nowadays?

You see, this problem can be solved. The thing is whether government want to solve or not.

• carfanforlife on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:59 am

I think it would be very hard for any manufacturer to plan their local production plants if such govt plan “in stages” are not laid out in a full 10~20 yr scale & its direction movement set. Without such condition, whatever initiatives being drummed up now are just merely short-term.
    Where is the long-term?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:02 am

“Currently, to attract consumers, the government has lifted the import duties for EEV while major car companies were given incentives if they set up their manufacturing operations locally.”

– Another my big foot, what kind of incentives for EEV? Are they saying lifted the import duties for EEV is part of incentives, which according to FTA, is allowed up to 5% only in the first place. This is total craps, first they introduce NAP to protect cronies and AP King, and now that they remove something that is not supposed imposed in the first place, and they call it incentives!

Go have a study tour to Brunei or Middle East like Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, etc and they will find out all those “incentives” are actually are not incentives in the first place, but consumers right to get goods and services at lowest price!!!!!!! I think if UN conduct consumers rights index for car ownership, our Bolehland sure top 10 count from behind, maybe worst than Zimbabwe, Afghanistan, Somalia, etc.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
    • Y don include most of asia, all of africa, all of south american…most of them pricing of car similar to bolehland..some even worst…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
      • Pumpkins on Oct 29, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Why don’t you compare our banks give different rates National vs Non-National car buyers…

Any other country do this stupid crap loan policy?

Poor high risk buyer get higher interest rates than rich buyer…What if a Towkey beli Saga for his pet cat then he get higher interest too?

Look at bigger picture and see how many poor but honest hardworking car buyers being punished for fun by banks policy…how many RM Billions being lost in total gone into thin air so far

You think this correct thing to do? Ini kerja syaitan lah suka sembelih rakyat

• kambinganas on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:05 pm

That is because they loot their rakyat and are as badly corrupt like our govt or even worse. See how it make sense now why we are equally bad as them?

• NinjaTurtleneck on Nov 01, 2012 at 1:51 pm

i like the you think. We have to benchmark ourselves against the worst of the worst.

Good luck to you and your family.

• Ambik kau on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:05 am

No worry G, we have plans for you in the next GE

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 5
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 130
      • Vader on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:25 am

If G don’t work for rakyat, then no need to be the G. That is the conclusion!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
      • mayonis on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:34 am

and when you have money, do you like to spend RM30K extra for thing that you should get less than that? hey, i have iphone 2 that still not use( still in the box, never use. already 3 year in my cabinet). do you wanna buy for RM3000? please support local entrepreneur like me maaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Ambik kau on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Yes, I might not have the money to buy ferraris like the leeches crony do by sucking money from the system or subsidizing a failed car brand. But when I spend rm50k for a car, I hope it worth every penny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • polo saga on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:12 am

come on, how long that we have been treated like this? let’c change government, cherish ur vote on hand, guys!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 8
  • Wisdom on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:14 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 168
    • Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:06 am

Korean’s Samsung – world class smartphone & TV.
      Bolehland’s Jaguh Kampung No. 2 – crap quality car in Kampung!!!

Ha, ha, some one confuse between patriotic and pro-gov!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 10
      • Ramun on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:23 pm

Korean is so patriotic until they have their own top gear korea. Guess what car they reviewed? even ‘reasonably’ priced car is NOT A KOREAN MADE.

But why Koreans portrayed using locally made car? because their car is decently made, nicely priced.

Looking at our own mirror. What we have in our beloved country?

• You guys really need to understand how S. Korea car industries got to where they are now.
          There were really (even now) draconian measures by their Govt to protect their local industries when they started.
          I shudder to think (reading from the comments) that the seemingly majority of Paul Tan readers have blind hatred of our current Govt. and fail to educate themselves on what really are the underlying issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • matrxe on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:51 am

please dont bring that patriotism bull crap. Do you seriously think that all the gov high ups have proton cars in their garage save for the standard gov issued proton perdana? Do you seriously think that Proton top managements drives a proton as a daily ride and to ferry their families in it? Proton is for profit organization and they are making money by indirectly forcing people to buy low quality product by the means of gov protection. We gave them 25 years chance to be patriotic. My family and my wife’s family been buying P1 and P2 products. 19 cars in total under the illusion “value for money”. Patriotic enough? so dude.. whats your ride?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 1
    • _xXx_ on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:36 am

lei kong mud learn?

• Anti turbo on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:38 am

I dont think your name “WISDOM” does not suit you… this is not patriotism..this is stupidity… If the company gives back to the RAKYAT..then i wont mind be more supportive… the problem is, PROTON and the current automobile policy only benefit the cronies… PUihhh

• mayonis on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:49 am

i dont think that p1 and p2 will collapse, it just we force them to comeout with better quality product so that can compete in global market. so that when we go oversea we will proudly said hey this is our national product. not a jaguh kampung that still need our help to stand by forcing us buying low quality.

pulut panggang pun kalau tak sedap lepas itu mahal, org tak beli dah kali kedua. tapi kalau kena paksa beli sebab nak selamatkan peniaga pulut panggang tersebut…how do you feel?

• Sense on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:51 am

Patriotic to the country, the people and the spirit.
      Being a patriot also means we have to support our industries to be competitive, to be self sufficient, to work for the people and to serve its ultimate purpose. Blind support on second rate products and support the system that suppresses its own people? No thanks. We need to have something that we can be proud of, Koreans can be proud because their industries has grown to a level where they can be competitive GLOBALLY. i would be proud if my people work so hard to achieve that.

• ora ora ora on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:14 pm

Agreed. Patriotism that bring korea to another level with samsung, hyundai n kia. Patriotism of japanese that made gangnam style song not popular at all in japan. Patriotism made kamikaze aeroplane… Yet our Malaysian patriotism are depreciating..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
      • JOJOJO on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:54 pm

patriotism to malaysia which ruled by BN?
        sorry…

those korean and japanese will resign and shame on them self if they caught by media doing stupid things and bribery..

but here in malaysia, u can bela lembu dalam condo..you can become a hero like CHUA CD making pornography… buying stupid 8GB pendrive at rocket high price and nothing gonna happend. no action will be taken to those people.. and the worst things is dia orang tak malu langsung.. still can talk loudly said they done nothing wrong~

minta maaf for my broken english..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
        • Hahahaha on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:53 pm

No need to be sorry, so long as you send the message across.

• That is some terrible example you use for the Japaneses,I did’t know there are still anti-Japaneses sentiment here, the war was over like 60 years. But I can understand how some ppl feel towards them,
        …but anyway your comment remain valid, except for the Gangnam-style thing, they are also popular in Japan

• Pumpkins on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Hyundai pakai Tongkat to give full-spec low price car for local Koreans

Protong pakai Tongkat give crap car harga cekik for local rakyat

It depends how you make use of Tongkat…either to help rakyat or hantam rakyat lah

• Wisdom on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Are you sure the government that we’ve dream for will be efficient, clean and sincere?
        If the answer is ‘they say they will’… huh..

• sense on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:15 pm

seriously, please don’t come and make stupid comments like this under your pseudo “wisdom” this is why general elections are held. if we vote for the other gov. and they dont deliver, there is nothing to stop us from voting them out and choosing another new one. Its people like you who bring this country down, and based on your point, we are suppose to ‘close one eye’ to the current government because we are not sure if the next one cannot be trusted? open your eyes, your arguments are invalid, please seriously stop using that WISDOM of yours. Its people like you that cronies get rich, blind to the core.

• sense on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:19 pm

you are a wasted 1 vote. please dont bother voting in the upcoming GE, if you cant be bothered to make any changes or even improvement to you own life then please dont even bother voting since the outcome is of no difference to you.

• Wisdom on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:01 am

Wow.. hatred plus personal attack.. i like.
            I’m very grateful being born in Malaysia. I’m very lucky to live in a country with a lot of opportunities, facilities and assistance.
            I’m doing my part to the community.
            I like current system. Thats it. I believe PAS-DAP-PKR alliance will break this system off and make it even worst.
            Thank you but no, thank you.

• sense on Oct 31, 2012 at 9:32 am

Its about your ability to vote, its about voting for the right government that serves their people like they are supposed to. I am not condemning the current gov and i am also not supporting them. Note that i did not mention any particular alliance or parties in my statement. If you take it personally than i apologize, you like your life now then so be it, whatever that rocks your boat.

• poor_malaysians on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:41 pm

are you blind? this government only use patriotism as a glory excuse to feed cronies’ pocket.

• Pumpkins on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:16 am

Car Excise Duty X Car Loan Interest Factored = DOUBLE TAX CRAP LAH

Remember for every excise duty paid it is factored into your car loans too

That’s DOUBLE TAX for the same crap

Here it’s abig difference if Car excise duty being made INTEREST-FREE from car loans

For example:
    1.3L car with RM45K price
    Sales tax 10 pct = RM4,500
    Car excise duty 75 pct = RM30,375.00
    Total tax and excise = RM34,875.00
    Actual car factory car price = RM45,000 – RM34,875.00 = RM10,125.00 (or tax free price)

We can assume a RM45K car actual factory cost is only RM10,125.00 after deduct all the tax craps.
    (RM45,000 – RM34,875.00)

That car factory price RM10,125.00 only be imposed hire purchase loan rates eg. 2.5 pct per annum

Let’s take a 5-year car loan (RM10,125.00 X 2.5 pct pa = RM253.13 per annum) or RM1,265.65 over 5 years

Take that RM1,265.65 and add it to car factory price RM10,125.00 + RM1,2565.65 = RM11,390.65

Divide RM11,390.65 over 60 months (5 years) for RM189.85 per month

Also divide 60 months for the Total Tax (RM34,875.00 / 60mths) = RM581.25 per month

Combine both monthly payments (Car factory price + Total Tax)
    RM189.85 + RM581.25 = RM771.10 per month

OK look how much you pay in normal car loan practice:
    = 5-year car loan RM45,000 at 2.5 pct per annum
    = RM45,000.00 + (RM1,125.00 X 5) = RM50,625.00 or RM843.75 per month.

How much the difference?

RM843.75 per month – RM771.10 per month = RM72.65 difference!

Yes only RM72 difference but multiply by 60 months
    RM72.65 X 60 = RM4,359.00

YOU SEE IT’S STILL RM4,359 WASTED FOR NOTHING DOUBLE TAX CRAP

BUT FOR POOR LOW INCOME CAR BUYERS, RM4,359 MEANS:

– ALMOST 3 YEARS OF PETROL EXPENSES BEING LOST
    – OR 217 BAGS OF 10KG RICE BERAS NASIONAL AT RM20 PER BAG FEED YOU MANY YEARS OF MEAL
    – OR 55 CANS OF HIGH-QUALITY POWDERED MILK 1.2KG RM80 EACH GOOD FOR YOUR BABY BRAIN GROWTH
    – OR 5 TIMES CHANGE OF MICHELIN ECO LOW ROLL RESISTANCE FUEL-SAVINGS TYRES RM200 X 4 SMALL SIZE 13 INCHES

DOUBLE-TAX CRAP IS ONE BIG CRIME AGAINST RAKYAT

BRAVO DACING BRAVO!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 196 Thumb down 8
    • ThinkFirst on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:56 am

Great explanation.. I hope the pro-gov folks can read it and don’t support blindly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • ahmad on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:03 pm

vote PR

• abcnoob on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:31 pm

Is this calculation on car factory price correct? Based on my understanding, the calculation should be as followed:
      If the factory car price is RM 25 000
      75 pct excise duty = RM 18 750
      10 pct sales tax

• abcnoob on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:34 pm

Is this calculation on car factory price correct? Based on my understanding, the calculation should be as followed:
        If the factory car price is RM 25 000
        75 pct excise duty = RM 18 750
        10 pct sales tax = RM 2 500
        Total Car Price = RM 46 250

• NinjaTurtleneck on Nov 05, 2012 at 10:17 am

Bro,

Don’t think this will ever happen. You see, the tax are imposed by government. Loan interest are profit from the bank (private companies). If we do like what you proposed, banks will suffer loss.

There is a cost to banks when they lend you money. See when you borrow money from banks they charge you interest. When you save money in banks (or invest whatever), they pay you interest.

If the situation is reversed, you save in bank RM100k but they only pay you interest on RM50k. The other RM50k no interest. Which means you have given your RM50k to the bank for nothing.

See where i’m coming from?

Still, if somebody can figure out a way to work around this, (eg: tax exemptions to the bank maybe) it would be great.

• biruisnin on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:17 am

Can you give more interesting article on monday? this article makes my monday blues even worse :P

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • Kent Lim on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:23 am

Not easy for the Govt to give up the $7m duties, but I wonder why it is so difficult for them to do that – they can either reduce the fuel subsidy or being more prudent in their spending (am sure we can save up to $7m per year if we add up all the waste and fats from the Auditor General’s recently published report!)…. Since Govt has no plans to reduce the duties, neither do I have any plans to vote them in the coming election!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
    • ProTips on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:08 am

Nitpicking, I know, but it’s 7b not 7m
      7,000m

My question is, how does this affect our WTO membership and AFTA agreement?

If I am not wrong, we will be suffering penalties. How long till the penalties exceed RM7,000m?

• Ur saying bout reduce fuel subsidy?? Wow, what a great idea, never thought bout that, brilliant, thumbs down for u…

• Pumpkins on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Told ya since govt got no plans to reduce the duties, better increase it for bigger car let the rich pay more lah

Eg.

Miskin Kaya semua kena hantam MITI bayar cukai mahal lah

Ini tidak orang Miskin saja kena sembelih cukai 75 pct

Gila gila punya Dacing

• wuttaheck on Oct 29, 2012 at 5:08 pm

wow, copy & paste from other topic.

i never know that RX8, VW Polo owner (to name a few) is considered as ‘orang miskin’

get your facts right.

• tokmoh on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:58 am

Miskin la.

RX8 owner too poor to buy Ferrari, VW Polo owner too poor to buy Aston Martin Cygnet.

• poor_malaysians on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:01 pm

wtf is fuel subsidy, the fuel is ours, why need subsidy?

• that is expected already isn’t it…not even in year 2020 it will happen

• NAP lives on, not surprising. :)

Sorry to say so, I am going for 2nd hand car although I really do prefer new cars (who doesn’t).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • what about creating a FB page to gather all those who are using used cars, those who support buying used cars and post the link here so that we can let more people know about this issue.

• GTR 2.0 on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:25 am

““The government is aware that the domestic automotive industry has to be developed further to become more competitive and offer more benefits to the people, particularly in selling cars at a reasonable price,” Mustapa said, assuring that the policy and the NAP review will not be done in haste but in stages, after careful study and consideration.”

Does it mean that the current prices are not reasonable? So, why the gov allowed it to happen?

• Hello Mr Minister! We are getting older and older, we have no time for you and your stages, careful study or considerations!

We wanna drive cool cars, so either drop the prices or leave your office!

• Kogul on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:28 am

Well. This should be the wake up call for all of us…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Always keep mentioning low monthly installment scheme given to rakyat, means longer we need to suffer with those interest rate! Ada Paham? If no plan WE oso no plan to vote u lah! Ada Paham? Ahhh.. yang ni u paham!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • Apa Macam on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Low monthly instalment scheme given to rakyat is scheme cepat kaya untuk Gov. If not, Gov mana cari sumber pendapatan untuk kroni?

• mister potato on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:37 am

OK. We also have no plan to let you keep your plan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • JaRoD on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:38 am

Talk and talk no move… Same old style.

MiTi estimated car ownership cost ain’t accurate also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • aku_tak_kaya on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:42 am

Bye Bye BN, Hello any-other-party..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
  • I tell you, proton will continue to play chasing up with EEV. At this rate it goes, protection for proton will last another millenium. And who makes the decisions in the National Automotive Council? People with self interest I assume because there is no way in hell do taxes benefit an industry let alone the public other then the pockets of government officials.

They keep talking about total cost of ownership. Yet they also keep talking about how extensive the subsidy is for petrol. Why dont they find a balance between this two. Because at this rate it goes, the fuel price will escalate in the next ten years while there is no long term solution to reduction in car prices. Then what happens to the cheaper total cost of ownership? The adjustments must starts so that it will meet the ever rising fuel prices over the coming years.

Do you know that if the project Shell Gumusut project does not hit first oil by end of 2013, malaysia will become a net importer of oil. This will push the oil prices close to RM6 per liter.

How can these bunch of monkeys have no planning at this stage?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Beng on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:46 am

The way DRB HICOM is doing things, there won’t be protection needed for P1. Sudah tutup what for need protection lagi?

DRB now want to buy new Petronas engine which is a 1995 technology. They say for Preve hatchback and Exora facelift use. Do they know how long it take to have those durability tests?

Then they want to have JV with foreign partners but the cost would be high. Who want to JV with you and sell you cheap things?

Somemore they treat Malaysians as if we are beggars for our own cars as they offer overseas buyers better quality at lower price.

Lagi best is DRB think the foreigners are damn good. Anything local is substandard. Our own Malaysian engineers are not good.

Are you sure these clowns know how to run this automotive manufacturing business?

• Nitro on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:47 am

do i have to settle for a Nissan Almera then………….??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • shitoryuu on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:26 am

The car you have choose will reflect the personality of the owner. Is depend what you want people think of you. Smart/stupid/rich/poor. And after all the thinking, don’t buy might be another option.

• Just buy a 2nd hand car, be it dugong vios or what.

• alldisc on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:48 am

dude, is that the same car called Nissan Almari?

• AnCua on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:48 am

How many more year we need to carefully think and implement the NAP ? Well….how about another 50 years.

Thanks to our government, I know clearly where my vote is heading on the “coming” election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • U Can See on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:12 am

NAP ? Stupid talk again from mustapha …

• Joe Radzif on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:17 am

Please someone defend the gomen…
    please…

ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:21 am

If Mr. Minister have no plan to reduce car prices!

If Mr. Minister have plan to take care of cronies and AP King!

Then,

I have no plan to vote for this crap gov!

I have plan to vote out this crap gov!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
    • poor_malaysians on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:05 pm

This proton, drb-hicom and MITI crap are all under MR M control or influence.

• I just want a better car at cheaper price. Is it that hard G??

• It’s hard for them, where are they going to get the money to service their “fleet” in their garage without taxing us?

• No reduce excise duty nevermind, you make me spend more, forever you would not get my support, and this AP, AES, RM500 BR1M, Lynas, Raud gold mine and others is enoughlah BN, change to PKR, if PKR not performing well, change again, like US, change the those CEO who cant performed and sack them.
    I think BN sure lost a lots of vote from here, hope as we wish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • Does ‘abolishment’ and ‘reduction’ mean the same thing? I doubt they will lose as much as 7b if they REDUCE. Ahh, the government. Always treats us as if we’re stupid. Ha? Supporting our own carmaker ah? Then close down Proton & Perodua lah. They making 7b a year meh?

• SadChild on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:40 am

We are so sad on this news.
    Thanks pak mus. May god bless u.
    and, this is a wake up call.
    Please share this news and comments to all govt FB page, tweeter and others. so that they can feel our frustration.

It’s time to change.
    Now u lose one vote already. many will follow.
    Rakyat 2012 > government.

• lose cronies punya revenue la..

• thebugbud on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:49 am

bunch of bull… where are all the revenue goes? every year AG exposed all the funny spending… what has being done to kick off all these cronies? None!

That’s why it’s time for a big opposition vote to make a different.

• Penang playboy on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:50 am

haihz…after so many years, our dear P1 still need support????? It is like having a 29 years grown up adult still sticking with his parents at home and sucking his mum milk…( please lar, the milk already dry)

• Wanluqman on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:51 am

Mustapha mohamed suggest longer repayment period to ease burden.. ARE U STUPID ? im a 22 years old with no background in economic study. Yet, i know how STUPID ur plan MUstpha. God, how on earth did u manage to be a finance minister.

• abdullah on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:53 am

The government says it receive 7 billion in revenue
    a year. It can falsify the figure.I don’t trust the
    government. It is too high.

• Never thought it would be reduced. Too many special interest groups involved. Going to buy a Proton Saga as it is cheap and practical; additionally, if by any remote chance duties are reduced, my ‘loss’ will be minimal.

• Well, I have taken the full blow since graduated in 1986 (almost the same as the birth of someone’s stupid brain child)
    so what have I done to deserve this ??and to live with expensive junks…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:03 am

Welcome Mr. Rafizi – prepare for your future roles!

Bye Bye Mr. Mustafa – prepare for your retirement!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • matrxe on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:04 am

I think everyone in this forum would agree that nobody here expect the gov to abolish the tax next year. Seriously where is the bloody long term plan? the road map toward tax reduction..give us something!
    How about 1-2% reduction to start with and we go from there. Saying no plan is like saying youre incompetent to do your job.

• Anti turbo on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:10 am

THANK you “BARANG NAIK”… i think they fail in economist… In fact reducing the car price will do more good than harm…but it might harm their pocket….

• “government did not intend to reduce the excise duty structure, several local car manufacturers, through consultations with the government, have begun working towards lower car prices,”

Remove Air bag, VSA, EBD, rear drum brake etc then can lor

• Chris on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:34 am

Since they don’t have the incentive to reduce the tax, then i have no incentive to buy a new car. For all i care, they can price their cars 100k, 200k it means nothing when people not going to buy it.
    Rather than supporting the cronies, i might as well look for second hand cars.

• Yuzdi on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:38 am

All of us “KENA TIPU”

• v-power on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:43 am

So close to the GE and Datuk Seri Mustapa had to come up with such generic, self-serving statement…not surprising! Very little for the rakyat to cheer about…AGAIN!

On top of that, you need car companies to come up with better incentives for cheaper cars…hey, even P1 is struggling…you expect other makers with higher tax obligations to sell for less…? C’mon lah, they can only do so much…! To me, this report looks merely to please the AP kings and cronies, rather than benefit the rakyat…!

I might not know the specifics of Pakatan’s ‘Turunkan Harga Kereta’, but this report has given it a serious shove in that direction…along with my voting rights…

• Nonsense on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:47 am

we’re at a loss.. the country is at a loss.. we’re paying penalties to the other countries for not conforming with AFTA and the WTO for free market. stupid incompetent people running the government with fat bellies.

DAMN !

• I dont mind high car price if out salary is high. But look at our miserable salary. So low. I mean those working middle class. While our ‘beloved’ fat pig can go overseas shoping n buy expensive bags. When being asked, still dare to say ‘ i save money since i was young’… My foot. If u r smart, help fellow poor malays who are struggling in kampung.

• The Malaysian automotive policy is a disaster. How come they introduce this policy so that the car price in M’sia will be higher?

• totti on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:59 am

Well, anything that help the rakyat will bankrupt the country.
    1) Car excise duty.
    2) Lower the petrol price.
    3) free education/PTPTN.
    4) Lower the TNB bill.
    5) abolish the toll
    6)…many more

But anything help the cronies will be in fovour.

1) Car duty – charge the rakyat and benefit the AP crony.
    2) TNB – Charge the rakyat and benefit the IPP.
    3) Toll – charge the rakyat and….
    4) petrol – export earn more money and charge the rakyat by using subsidies.
    5) Charge the student (PTPTN) and take all the money for MRT/NFC lembu.

Malaysia boleh.

• john f kennedy on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:04 pm

Come on la gov!proton sold the preeve in australia much cheaper compared to malaysia plus got 6 airbags (malaysia got 2).i really dont understand that.can anyone explain? Dah nak dekat election ni takkan tak mau turun tax?? :) As a car lover I’m kinda frustrated.

• Not only import car got sales tax and excise duty, same goes to local car.

Just assume normal P1 car without excise duty, much more cheaper, cheaper than the price selling at Australia and Middle East

Dont forget M’sia is among the top 5 for cars per capita (100 people) in the world. Even import car expensive, still afford to buy.

http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/tra_mot_veh-transportation-motor-vehicles

• It’s 4 not 2. It’s much cheaper because Proton is also being taxed in Malaysia. A preve without tax in Malaysia would only cost you around 40k+?

• In M’sia…the current G practise high tax on cars (local and import) but still the income tax is below average compare to other countries in the world.

Every G have their own way on how to get their income (tax) and spend back to people. In UK, people always complain bout their G implements high income tax. Even David Beckham also complain that even he score a goal in a EPL match, he need to pay extra tax for it! Thats y he go to Real Madrid due to less tax.

Bout cronies, every G have their own cronies. Doesn’t matter if we change Gov, still the same happen. New G for S’gor and Penang also have their own cronies. To avoid that, just report SPRM. But many people dont have ‘balls’ to say that.

• Vehicle is a need & not a desire for most Malaysian, but it must of quality build & not the 1 that after 5 years of driving the car body started to get rust!

• Rakyat bolehland on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:16 pm

15 years ago it was Malaysia who proposed AFTA. And they themselves turn it down. Never expected car price will go down in bolehland. Car price will never change. The only thing we can change is the G!

• excuseme on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:22 pm

If Car prices r expensive(or being taxed up), has to go for cheaper, less desirable n less quality choices of cars -> Rakyat suffer
    Cheaper n Low quality cars introduced, more breakdown, more downtime and more maintenance, lead to Higher Cost of Living, Unproductive and Loss of Value -> Rakyat suffer.
    Less quality = Less assurance = higher fatality -> Rakyat suffer.
    Who is Rakyat? that’s me and you reading this comment. Why do we need to make ourselves suffer? There’s an antidote. USE IT!.

• poor_malaysians on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:08 pm

That why got AES introduced to make sure you drive slow slow and not to die in crap car ma.

• NAP=bullcrap on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:23 pm

excise duty is not even half of the original car price, why so hard to reduce? about 20% only.. cb la.. too bad i am 20years old.. if 21.. i going to do what is right now!!

• Hahahahaha, juz bcoz of this car price, people wanna change vote, so narrow minded, none of u above have vote for barang naik in first place, so why u said changing vote,, thank to peaceful that we have, thanx to healthcare that u have majority in big big city, appreciate ur country development n please be grateful one hahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 57
    • polo saga on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:47 pm

ur English sucks, so does ur corrupted mindset.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Yup, your english is not suck, coz u completed ur english phd abroad, sorry for my suck english…. But no sorry for my real mindset.. Be a grateful one, i repeat it for myself again……. Hahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • ur english translates our education system, thanks to ur barang naik.

• jimmyphon on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:40 pm

I can’t brain ur england

• mayonis on Oct 29, 2012 at 5:54 pm

you are the one that katak bawah tempurung. do you realize that our buying power become weaker? inflation issue of barang keperluan, unemployed issue, how many of our youths that facing a bankruptcy? where is our ringgit compare to Sing dollar, Brunei dollar and bath? hutang negara 53%…that you call economic efficiency? imagine this…

your monthly salary is RM2000, and you have to pay RM1,100 montly for your hutang credit cards. and the balance RM900 is the only money that you can use to pay your monthly F&B, car fuel, toll, do you think you can survive?

• Peace my FOOT… we are paying guards to do police work..
      Health care my FOOT… doctors and nurses never enough bcos of pathetic pay.. taxpayer $$ all go to cronies..
      Appreciate my FOOT… after living here for generations, still some stiupik MP told us to balik China.. you know those MPs from which party one..

• NinjaTurtleneck on Nov 05, 2012 at 10:27 am

You have a point there. I see lots of places now have private security guards i.e look at Subang and Taman Tun. 10 years back mana ada. (these are not gated communities)

Tak cukup polis, atau polis tak buat kerja, atau orang tak percaya polis atau penjahat tak takut polis

• “Doing so will have a significant impact on revenue obtained from excise duty, and will also harm the overall growth of the domestic automotive industry, International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed said in Parliament last week.” – WAA..lost 7 bill to rakyat cannot, but lost 40-50 billion per year on fund mismanagement/leakage no problem, eh? Woii..stopa, go and read AGREPORT dulu la!

• goBetong on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:35 pm

It’s all about protecting Naza & fellow AP cronies enabling them to milk the malaysian public as long as possible. A high domestic car price is a MUST to allow selling recon-cars (which are dirt cheap at their home countries) at “high” prices to work.

If we Joe Public could just boycott re-con cars, the AP system will collapse. When that happen, our desire for cheaper cars may be forthcoming.

Common fellow petrol heads – SAY NO TO AP CARS!

If we can rise together, we can change anything.

• disgusted on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:41 pm

let’s all exercise our rights to vote in a government that will actually take care of the rakyat instead of them cronies. The BN government is only interested in their cronies and not the ordinary rakyat. We are literally taxed to death now.

• Aiya, u all already lupa that Rafizi said that in order to cover back the lost-tax for implementing no-excise duty especially for import car, they need to exercise “open tender” in order to get the car itself.

So, same concept like Singapore. Now import car expensive due to excise duties, later for new Gov import car still very expensive coz of this open tender idea, or can be much higher.

Don’t trust the idea straight away, always some ‘hidden charges’, like salesman…says good thing, after buy then we know something bulls*** info doesn’t reveal to customer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • Pumpkins on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Aiya, senang saja recover lost tax itu lah….

Apa macam? Good good? Miskin kaya sama-sama bayar cukai mahal lah HA HA HA

• Now, for import car (excise duty):

Below 1.8 : 75%
        1.8 – 2.0 : 80%
        2.0 – 2.5 : 90%
        > 2.5 : 105%

Now u r practising the same thing, just above 1.8 is 1000% (10 times expensive). Now people complaining they cannot afford import car like bmw, mercedes, etc that so expensive and good safety. Only can buy P1, P2. If u do like 10 times higher, u r much worst that that.

• Pumpkins on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:35 pm

Tau takpe!

In fact, that dude that promote Protong but drive Porsche even worse off zillion times lah…Cakap serupa bikin lah

• tokmoh on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:24 pm

B-b-but, if low tax will bankrupt country, therefore high tax will make us prosperous! #umnologic

Terima kasih BN, janji telah dicapati lagi, masa untuk membalas budi.

• it’s already taxed in such way

• Rambo Ramsey on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Now also paying 75% for below 1.8 sedan, 65% for MPV and 105% for 2.5 and above

• The open tender will be exercised to cushion the loss made by the 2nd car dealers due to car price reduction.
      However, Rafizi did say that the open tender will be abolished in stages.
      What he is proposing is a damage control measure. The culprit is the already high price of our cars.

• Singapore case a bit different, import duty high…but…

1) Good Public Transport (another option to not drive car)
      2) no Local build or brand car (rakyat no need to pay for more so local car maker can sell their car cheap oversea and overprice in local)
      3) Fair to all Car Manufacturer. there are competitor to all manufacturers..

• But still we cannot compare apple to apple to S’pore due to this 2 factors:

1. S’pore no local car like P1 and P2. This is the main reason M’sia exercise high excise duty for import car due to cover the P1 or P2 (u all can say all those crony thing if u want)

2. S’pore is just a small city. With high income but small land to manage, no problem for them to provide very good public transport. Like a father to manage 1 child (S’pore) compare to 14 children (14 State in M’sia).

But remember, not people can afford to have a car due to ‘open tender’ rules to get a car and very small land. Dont say if u r an exac, if u are a manager, still u go to work by public transport. People in M’sia even just a uni student or just clerk can afford to get a car.

Plz….if u want to compare our country to others, make sure u compare ‘apple to apple’. Don’t worry, every people always complain their current Gov in every world, doesnt matter UK, US, China, Japan and even S’pore. So, if we change Gov, the new complain bout other things also can happen.

• mayonis on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:34 am

bro…it not the size we talking about. it how we manage the source in the country.

singapore is a small country. so if they allow all use own car, it will like hell, so impose high tax for owning a car but they provide efficient public transport to overcome this problem so their rakyat dont need to have a car. while we try to follow them by impose high tax for owning a car but our public transport suck…every year we said to improve public transport, billion we have spend on it but nothing much. so i conclude that we doing a separuh masak punya kerja.

the idea of comeout with own national car is good. but taking advantage more than 20 years is suck. plus AP issue, we paying some middle man that get easy money for nothing.

we have land, fuel source, agro, mineral. compare to singapore, we should be better than them yet they richer than us.

• totti on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:58 pm

With the BN national deficit dept of RM 450 billion.

Every 28 mil of malaysian need to pay RM 17,000.00 for the BN’s mistake now.

all rakyat with a dept of RM 17,000.00 now and keep increasing till bandrupt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Government should remove import tax on Eco-Car here!!Some Eco-Car are more green than Hybrids..

• Pumpkins on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:11 pm

If MITI got no plan to reduce car duties, then how how INCREASE it?

Yes increase it to target the RICH to pay MORE tax lah…why let the poor to suffer only…

Eg.

Only then it’s fair to all Miskin Kaya semua kena bayar cukai mahal HA HA HA

Viva = RM40K
    Saga = RM43K
    Polo = RM200K
    BMW 1-Series = RM550K
    Merc C-Class = RM800K
    Rolls Royce Ghost = RM6 Million
    Bugatti Veyron = RM20 Million….

MISKIN KAYA SEMUA KENA HANTAM MITI KAW-KAW BAYAR CUKAI MAHAL HA HA HA HA

• kereta lembu on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:46 pm

Being rich is NOT a crime. Don’t get me wrong, I’m nowhere near RICH. Please don’t forget the rich pays more tax as well. Some people are rich due to ‘illegal’ things or cronyism etc…but there are also honest, hard working rich people out there. So, please be mindful of things before you speak. Having said that, there might also be lazy people or wasteful people who are poor. I have to emphasize that I do feel for the poor but some of the so called poor people are poor due to their own making. So, to punish the rich that are honest and hard working is NOT right also.

• crank on Oct 29, 2012 at 4:04 pm

Nicely said.

• Pumpkins on Oct 29, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Those rich honest hardworking are minority lah…Itu rich Kroni Korrupt yang mesti kena target kaw-kaw bayar cukai 1,000 pct

How about the poor but honest and hardoworking? Keep punish them too loan kereta haprak harga cekik?

Are you having fun looking at Poor rakyat kena Sembelih kah? Gila gila punya kereta lembu…mana you punya Merc CLS simpan kondo kroni kah

• Whynot on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:21 am

Thanks for your good gesture. But with such large figures flying around like hells notes, soon RM is like rupiah or peso. We will have to grill you first!
      Just joking, no heart feeling.

• I can guarantee u all 1 thing. If new G implement this idea, for sure either:

1. They dint make the promise (like now)
    2. They will keep delaying it until I become 65
    3. If implements, for sure the car price much higher than the price now, coz due to open tender, only rich people can buy import car coz for exp, only 1000 import cars can register for that month, the people who pay higher can afford to get the quota. The money they pay for the quota can reach high up to the same value of the car even the car they paid is much cheaper like Langkawi price. Even Singaporean people complaining what their G practising this idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • bo kia on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Rakyat should topple BN before BN topple rakyat. BN = Barang Naik

• Deputy Finance minister said our total bankrupt individual figures currently stood at 240,000 people.

International Trade and Industry Minister said considering to the high car prices, the maximum capped repayment period would be extended. This statement will definitely contribute to the increase in the number above.

• Pumpkins on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:34 pm

Since rakyat being stucked with 75 pct car duties, it’s fair for Dacing to enforce similar 5-star Protong Australia treatment lah…

Every new car must be given 5 years of Free Service, Car Warranty, Roadside emergency assistance…

If govt allow Protong to give better treatment to Australians why not our local rakyat here…???

Ini macam kah Global car company

• Malaysian on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:52 pm

..Pumpkins.. you explainantion was bias, stupid and not clear.. please do not do rasis thing.. many malay are working in proton factory.. malay was not get good list in Malaysian Reachest People in Malaysia.. you ask for it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 5:54 pm

Without jaguh kampung, more Malay and non-Malay have the opportunity to work with world class car companies just like Thailand. If Jaguh Kampung can create 100,000 job, definitely Thailand can generate more than 1 Million jobs.

How the Malay will progress in this world when they are subjected to do work and merely produce crap metal junk that only can sell in kampung!

Malaysian, don’t be racist and with katak di bawah tempurung mindset, you are as good as want to see Malay forever good at work with jaguh kampung only. Shame on you !!!!!!!!!! Malay can do more than producing jaguh kampung’s crumb. Given an opportunity with the right world class car player, they can stand up and on par with other in the world.

• no ned to get angry… just go to vote pakatan so v will get 20% tax reduction! as simple as is it.

• Let’s vote for “party for family” as exercised by PR top leaders…

• you mean the sons of the ex-PM who are so successful businessmen that they could drive a Bugatti Veyron? or the son of a current chief minister whose ex-wife is claiming hundreds of millions of RM in ‘harta sepencarian’?

• X-MAN on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:04 pm

How expensive our car, how expensive our road-tax, still there is a lot people can buy expensive car….. but there is no point if the price is cheap but we dont have capability tu buy….. no “kuasa membeli”

• Justipoo on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:31 pm

For all those who says not to vote G, make sure we all vote. Even I have to travel far back to my state, I still go back to vote every time. I have scumbag friends who said dun like the G but never vote…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Let vote out Barang Naik, let vote in Rafizi!!!! Our future promising young leader put rakyat at heart!!!!!

Let those mindless and clueless blind supporters who can’t understand and differentiate between patriotic and crap-triotic get crap junk metal at perhaps up to 9 year car loan!!!!!

• because their qualities can’t beat others, so heavy excise duties are their only dirty trick they can play

• Potong no good on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Well, we need to pay the import duty so Proton can sell cheap in oversea….

sad… Rakyat Didahulukan….

• kereta lembu on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:12 pm

I remember when the NAP was announced, my dad and I had a new hope that one day we could afford cheaper and better cars. Years on, it is still nowhere near that ‘dream’ we had. For years we have been fed with nonsense and false hopes.

It is good that the Gov finally admits that NOTHING will be done followed by the excuses that I will not repeat here. Its all too familiar by now. They want us to pay for ‘their’ dream to make the local car makers successful. They want more time as if 20++ years isn’t enough to prove their failure. How long before they can admit enough is enough? Will they ever accept defeat and own up for their mistakes which they made at the expense of the rakyat? Why must the rakyat ‘pay’ for something we didn’t ask for (Proton & Perodua) while the things that we asked for fell on deaf ears?

Go ahead a do a survey and see how many people owns a Proton or Perodua because they LOVE it and WANT it so badly and how many people are FORCED to settle for a local car because other cars are beyond their reach financially?

If we’re fighting a lost cause, why not just cut the losses and do something else? Something that will benefit the nation as a whole and not something to sustain one’s ego.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • kereta lembu on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Oh…and 1 more thing, “Malaysia Boleh”…apa pun Boleh tapi Ini “Tak Boleh”

• hoochiez on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Ahem… been awhile. Here’s waiting for the infamous Mofa-rt-z and his konco of b-end cybertroopers cronie infected bunch to spill their crap ? Where art thou yo and what say you ?

• Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Mofaz and his konco-konco are now clueless as to which buttons of keyboard to punch!!!!!!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:02 pm

……. but I will be happy suddenly Mofaz and his konco-konco come out from nowhere, or at most dibawah tempurung armed with only keyboard warrior to …… ahem … as usual you know ……. I know ……

• Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Quite some time there is no “head-on-collision” with Mofaz in PT Blog!!!!!

• crank on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Excise duty should be determined based on the type of vehicle and person’s income so that it does not burden the low and average income group when they buy for example a vios. I’m not sure how much the duties are for vios but that little amount would eventually double up due to the interest rates.

• Pumpkins on Oct 29, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Protong – 3.5 pct bank loan interest
      Toyota etc – 2.2 pct bank loan interest

It shows banks still no confident in Bolehland cars no matter what quality show off blah blah by Protong…apa mau cakap lagi

• Whynot on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:29 am

Simply put it in this way – Mark UP! Dealers pay back commission to bank. I can give you 0.5% interest rate for this simple reason!

• all buy motorbike

• ernie on Oct 29, 2012 at 4:51 pm

Rafizi will bring the duties down. VOTE PR!

• dass G on Oct 29, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Who gives a shit what happens to P1 and P2.
    Let be wise, enough of this 20 over suffering years.
    I want to have quality cheap cars.
    Be wise people, choose your vote properly.

• Just vote Pakatan if u like this idea. If all people in this forum vote Pakatan, hopefully by ur vote can help to get cheap car in future.

However, I vote Pakatan but still no change in everything, except for water bill. That’s all. I was like u, always like the ideas given by Pakatan, but today, I was being cheated. So, just grateful with what u have. We r lucky live in M’sia, but just too greedy to have more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • I dunno if i could Sigh any harder but Seriously government, how can you not see the long term benefits of making all cars more affordable??!!??!! All i can say is !#@$%^%$&^&% and good luck.

• ahmad on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:08 pm

We understand that totally wipe out excise tax will collapse used car market (including existing car owner), but if you can reduce it gradually let say 5% for each year. By the time reaching yr 2020, no more tax on car (except sales/GST tax).
    But its ok, since you dunno how to reduce it, we know how to reduce it, vote PR! Dont keep trying to scare/threathen rakyat that PR will bankrupt the country.

• AnCua on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:40 am

Woah brilliant plan I would say…somehow our government that suppose to have the so called think tank couldn’t come out with any other ideas, except for slamming a big NO in rakyat face. Gotta love them for whatever they are doing in their office.

• Pat San on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:52 pm

I remember reading somewhere that says Pakatan promises cheaper fuel and cars. Well guys, you what to do in the very near future….

No harm done in giving them a try as we will not be getting anything from the current one…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:57 am

Yes, it is possible! Take away Petronas gas subsidy to IPP cronies @ RM 20 Billion a year, we get cheaper petrol. Wipe out cronies and AP King (i.e. reduce taxes), we get cheaper car!

• Whynot on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:16 am

The greatest reason why RM falls like hell is because we had been buying luxury cars and not be able to produce export by using our man power resource – “Brains Power”. Although we have some natural resource that can easily bring up the values of RM like Petroleum but this income had been going to some specific group of super rich peoples. They are many super poor, many poor, many middle class and only a hand full of ultra rich people. In order to stabilize the economic, an extreme change of attitude of all governing bodies is needed – even P1 management is not to be spared. The only power that we had is first to made a clean governing bodies. Some sacrifices is needed to prevent the further deterioration of economic is now seem hopeless in the future to come.

• Patrick Chong on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:17 am

Everyday i wake up, i hope its the ELection DAY, boy really need to wait till April 2013 ?

• Rakyat on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:51 am

“Gov’t says no plans to reduce excise duties on cars”

…and we have no plans to keep you our Gov. Vote smartly, citizens of this Bumi.

• John Dilinger on Oct 30, 2012 at 5:05 am

No plan to close proton, no plan to vote you(G).

Proton = Source of corruption, where cronies are born.

• momeng on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:45 am

Guys

This could be a ploy to quashed our hope and then nearing election, suddenly said “Ok, we will reduce” and shout “Janji Ditepai” !!! He he

• Micheal on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:58 am

reduce excise duties on car are bullshit! I KNEW IT! EVERYTHING THEY SAID ALSO SHIT!

• Those moron who spoke of patrotism. Come, lets talk about patrotism. Ppl who buy proton and blindly support proton are not patrotism. Its either they have no choice or they are pro-gov. Pro-gov ppl are not patrotic. They wreak havoc during election and rempit everynight across street of KL. those anak muda thinks they are cool. But they are being cursed at the back by locals and foreigners alike. Making our country name busuk is not call patrotic. Ppl who blindly support protong and buys proton but act like orang hutan and spoil out country name should go to hell. Bangang.

• Sven Cal Byan on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:49 am

Sudahlahhh MITI…harga kereta jual pada rakyat tak masuk akal…rakyat kena bayar harga cukai separuh dari harga kereta…produk proton banyak masalah..design outdated..perodua pula asyik rebadging…tidak ada identiti sendiri..i’m soo frustrated with Malaysian Car Maker…

• ah seng on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:35 pm

i’m still using a 20 years old proton iswara. the price is less than 10k…
    every month i can afford to spend rm 1000 for fuel price to go everywhere i like…

because if i buy a 80k new car, the interest rate and depreciation will be greater than the money i spend in fuel.

• You all think car price will drop after you vote PR?? In ur dreamz hahahaha everything,, u all want to turn politic, even nasi lemak stall oso can be politic to hahahaha

• ah seng on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:04 pm

of course… look at PR state!

• kereta lembu on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:47 pm

PR said that they will reduce the car prices if they can take over, whether its the truth or a lie, we can only find out by voting them into control. Even if it ends up to be a big fat lie, we’ll just end up with what we have now. So, why not take that risk? To have a hope is better than nothing. I don’t think the rakyat has anything to lose. If PR sticks to their word, we benefit, if they don’t, its exactly what we have today. If you don’t find this logical, then something’s wrong with you brain.

• Rakyat on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:57 am

Lembu is right.

• mayonis on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:08 pm

well, i rather try something alternative instead of not changing anything. at least you have to start somewhere. so why not?

• Kroni didahulukan, wang diutamakan.

• Gov No Logic on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:30 pm

If the theory of Gov is low tax will bankrupt country, then high tax should make the country rich.

But… the high bankruptcy of the rakyat shows us that this is not true.

So, either the country bankrupt(low tax) or the rakyat bankrupt(high tax), your choice.

• China did that before within ten years. I dun see they are bankruptcy now. Y cant malaysia? AcTually all the problems were started out by bn while first proton saga launched in 1985. Then , bn should face the problem now, not the rakyat, and not keep pushing the burden to the rakyat.

• brader_crony on Oct 31, 2012 at 8:49 am

we crony no need to pay excise duty because we are smart people. we got lobang. unlike you all, we dont pay income tax. our income is not taxable. come lah IRB, tax our “income” money if you dare! we are smart
    people we already cover all the loophole, IRB you go and tax those cow who work day and night. pfffttt!

• AnCua on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:45 am

Ini kalau macam, I think gua tarpao balik china la. Tarak mampu staying in Marasia anymore. Kuli sudah bertahun – tahun. kereta elok tarak mampu satu pon, sebab itu ah moi tak mau sama gua. Sayonara semua, peace out!

• eagles on Nov 07, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Its not that people are willing to buy cheap, we all just want to buy something that the price meets the quality that it is supposed to be. If one can afford 100k now, it does not mean one can buy a brand new ferrari while the tax is free. If one car does not need that much money in term of its quality, who are willing to pay extra? Unless you got no brain to compare what is wrong or right. So dont show your stupidity anymore.

• President of the United States on Dec 09, 2012 at 5:01 pm

Malaysian, there’s been enough complains about the current G. “Change will not come if we wait for some other person, or if we wait for some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change that we seek.”
    ? Barack Obama

• President of the United States on Dec 09, 2012 at 5:03 pm

Malaysian, enough complains “Change will not come if we wait for some other person, or if we wait for some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change that we seek.”
    ? Barack Obama

• can i ask no duti reduction means 200% original car price to duti????