DRB-Hicom: Proton to be involved in Asian Car Project, Prevé to debut in Indonesia next

DSCF3527

Where Malaysia’s automotive industry is concerned, it’s difficult to avoid bringing up DRB-Hicom in a conversation. Perhaps best known for being the owner of Proton Holdings Bhd, the industrial conglomerate also has, amongst others, the Honda, Isuzu, Suzuki, Mercedes-Benz and Volkswagen brands in its local-assembly and distribution stable.

Although a huge majority of the group’s revenue currently comes from the automotive sector (bumped up further by the acquisition of Proton), DRB-Hicom is keen to point out its investments in other sectors, namely services, property, assets and construction.

At a recent press conference held during the firm’s annual media getaway, group MD Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil said: “It’s not about one particular company or person. We have many other investments that will help DRB move forward.”

Developments of late include the merging of Proton Edar and EON, JVs with HBPO and Faurecia to develop, manufacture and sell auto components, and the expansion of POS Malaysia into courier and logistics areas.

ART_3078_resize

Naturally, however, we remain car-concerned, and a couple of issues came to light regarding the automotive sector, although few in-depth details were revealed. Mohd Khamil said that Proton will be involved in the Asian Car Project, which is expected to see Malaysia being made a regional hub for Volkswagen production. The aim is to begin exporting by 2014.

“The (ASEAN) region is now very promising. The needs are growing and buyers are becoming more sophisticated,” he said, adding that cars sold in the region were all of brands outside the region. “Proton being the only indigenous car brand in the region should champion this.”

Little was said about the collaboration agreement signed between Proton and Honda, save for it still being in the “exploratory” stage. For the Japanese carmaker, RM350 million has been invested in the Pegoh plant to double capacity to 100,000 units per annum by the end of this year.

Proton’s main issues are product quality and after-sales service, acknowledged Mohd Khamil. To that end, vendors will be rationalised into a number that Proton can manage and will be subject to more effective scrutineering. Those that consistently do not deliver will be cautioned and subsequently, their services terminated.

An effort will also be made to improve after-sales service by ensuring Edar adheres to a standard operating procedure of good quality. Practices garnered from overseas OEMs from the Pekan Automotive Complex will also be put into place at Proton.

proton preve

All this is certainly needed to ensure that things pick up, in more ways than one. A report last week indicated that Proton is in danger of slipping into third spot in passenger vehicles sales behind Toyota and market leader Perodua in the country, with Proton’s market share reportedly sliding to 17.7% in December 2012, just a shade ahead of Toyota’s 17.1%.

The export market is also to be prioritised. “We have started the rationalisation of the export market. Currently, we are exporting less than 20,000 cars. The volume must go up to bring costs down. Within five years, I would like to see 500,000 cars produced by Proton. We are prioritising countries that Proton can do well in,” Mohd Khamil stated, citing Indonesia and China as high-potential markets.

With regards to rumours of the possible privatisation of DRB-Hicom, Mohd Khamil mentioned that “at our end, we haven’t any notice that we will go private.” He also divulged that Indonesia would be the Proton Prevé’s next destination, after its Australian and Thai debuts.

In a possible reference to the global small car project, the group MD added that “Proton is missing from the city car, or A-segment. We want Proton to be represented in all segments.”

Proton officials remained tight-lipped about the Petronas engine technology and patent acquisition, save for that the technologies could be applied to any given industry equipment, but reports say the turbocharged variants may find their way into the replacement for the Proton Perdana, word of which hasn’t come about for quite some time.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• normal_user on Jan 15, 2013 at 6:16 pm

…Mohd Khamil stated, citing Indonesia and China as high-potential markets.

Its very tough to sell in Indonesia & China. Went to Jakarta last year, and hardly saw any Proton roaming the streets. Even the rare Nissan Jukes are more common that the Exora, Saga & Persona combined. Don’t know about other region.. hope that I was wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • protonkualitimcmbontotkuali on Jan 15, 2013 at 6:58 pm

you’re correct my friend…i’ve been in jakarta and bangkok, hardly to see proton model..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • cobest on Jan 15, 2013 at 7:59 pm

I saw pesona as taxi at jakarta but 2 times only.

• unforgiven on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:23 pm

If DRB need to channel money to the old man, meaning barang naik. Ckd cars in Malaysia are always more expensive than fully imported (if we remove the tax), just like BMW/Benz. Another great example lately is the Honda jazz cbu made in Japan much cheaper than our locally ckd jazz. Inspira also much more expensive than the original fully imported from Japan Lancer (Langkawi price). Where do you think those additional money gone? Cronies and corruption? Come on, please be real, some 1 is watching!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
          • u compare taxless area with tax area of course la expensive…what u think price if all taxes in taxes area is remove.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
          • i dont understand when some people accuse some else corrupt without proof? maybe proof of political parties..maybe.if PR people incharge no corrupt maa..sent from heaven people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
        • Latuk Bandar on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:14 am

Perhaps it is best for Indonesians to avoid Proton, just imagine another street protest… and your proton is gone.

China, not an easy market to penetrate unless Proton increase the quality and design of the car.

Stop the racial/religious hiring policy and hire real talent… no, i don’t see any good Malaysian chinese or Indians, I do not see any good China Chinese or India Indians to replace the current design and R&D team in proton. Hire some germans, brit, japs… pay them well.

Look at Kia after they hire the german guy. the design is a leapfrog from ugly to beautiful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
          • asian cant design no shit (Japanese exempted) . let it be Chinese, Indian or Malay. lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Indonesia is Japanese car territory. Proton only has less than 1% market share for Indonesia, the same as Hyundai. Kia has about 1.5%. Toyota however has a massive 36% market share. Makes sense why you couldn’t see many Protons there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Honda lover on Jan 15, 2013 at 8:22 pm

Went to Munich before,haha Potong never sell their junk there,besides VW,BMW,Merc and Audi,i can see a lot of Ford roaming the streets of downtown Munich.Japanese cars a few,including Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 36
        • Observer on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:11 am

Whats wrong with this guy??? Proton never go to German, thats why no proton there.. Better quite rather than talk nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • alldisc on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:36 am

yeah, true. the nearest proton hit europe was belgium with 413 (wira 1.3), 415, 416, 418 and 420TD.

twin airbags and even rear disk brakes for 1.5 spec. and this was something like 15 years back… no good result though so they were back at trying to be local hero.

• @Honda Lover : Of course there aren’t many Protons there, you’re in the wrong part of Germany. If you go to the former East German cities like Berlin and the smaller towns, you can see quite a few Wiras and Satrias. Use Google Earth Street View and check lah if you don’t believe me.

@Observer : I’m sorry to burst your bubble, but the fact is Proton did sell cars in Germany (and all of Western and Eastern Europe including Russia) during 1995 to 2001.

• Last I saw, Potong Wira there. But that was N years ago.

• Honda lover on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:49 am

Name:Thats what I said,N yrs ago Potong decided to quit from German markat because it is too junk compare to their national cars.You see,even the Ford Fiesta can do 200km/h on their autobahn without problem.Potong??Racing with Fiesta and end up kwai tai by the roadside.

• tokmoh on Jan 16, 2013 at 3:59 pm

200km/h only? Our jaguh kampung myvi can fly to the moon wei hohohoho

inb4 sumpah tak lawak

• start-a-figt on Jan 16, 2013 at 4:17 pm

car for racing? what’s wrong with this guy? (honda lover)

• kadajawi on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:36 pm

A typical German drives 140 on the highway. In driving school the first highway lesson is usually done at 140-170. Got to train em early.

It is not uncommon to see B segment cars drive 160-200, bigger cars of course too.

However this shouldn’t be a problem for the Preve. They just need to give it a manual gearbox, good/long warranty and a reasonable price, a bit below the Koreans. Then, after it has received good reviews and a good crash test rating it can sell quite OK.

• kadajawi on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:30 pm

German brands are popular in Germany, so VW, Ford and Opel are doing well. Skoda is doing well (most successful importer), because people know they get a VW/Audi for Korean money. Koreans are also doing well, and so is Renault.
          Japanese brands are not popular. Reliable, but bad image for their owners, especially Toyota. Drive a Toyota and you are immediately an uncle or aunty. The Toyotas in Germany are better than the ones in Malaysia though.

Proton was sold in Germany long time ago, and they did quite OK in some regions. The problem is they had nothing to follow up. Always only producing the Wira is not enough, when other car makers moved on. And before Waja, Savvy and Gen-2 were ready they gave up on the market.

• Well, the problem is the autobahn, japanese cars are not design for the autobahn (high speed cruising).

• Vader on Jan 16, 2013 at 7:56 am

N years ago, so call new generation proton car been introduce..
      P years ago, so call global potong car been introduce..
      Now, involved in so call Asian car project?
      If potong keep running in a circle, what kind of project name also not help at all!!!

• Got outcome for it 1, Kroni enriched and rakyat poorer.

• 11Kaki on Jan 16, 2013 at 4:35 pm

if no new project name , how to get loan from bank and ask money from government?

• paulz on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:03 am

Most of Indons drive Toyota vehicles on the streets. Proton? Tak nampak pun….

• alfarabi on Jan 15, 2013 at 6:16 pm

why are we still protecting proton even when it is already been privatised? i think it is for proton own good globally in a long run to be independent and competitive.
    unleash proton now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Lol.. Impossibiru, ff DRB kong, a lot of things will kong together because, they all under control of 1 single person. XD Kong Xi Fa Cai

• Che Det on Jan 15, 2013 at 6:26 pm

Ever since DRB-Hicom took over Proton, the sales of Proton cars in 2012 have slipped to only 140k while both Toyota and Perodua has gained 135k and 189k sales respectively.

Shame on you since Proton was gaining sales under the previous management.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Abuya on Jan 15, 2013 at 6:29 pm

To be CEO, you must have vision although looks like impossible. Then later must put full effort to realized the vision. The end result of course will be unfavorable but as i said…. that is CEO.

You all no need to gather all information and spell out here. No matter true or fake, as i said….. that is CEO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 7:55 am

CEO-Chief Entertainment Officer kah??? Telling us Proton joke plan fairy tale cerita dongeng lawak jenaka…very entertaining indeed He He He He

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Dont say Nissan Juke, even Chinacar BYD and Gelly count more than Proton other Indonesia.

It’s more fair to compare the number of Proton car with Ferrari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Well, at least Malaysians love Indonesian cars. Avanza, Innova, …

• Malaysian on Jan 15, 2013 at 6:34 pm

“Where Malaysia’s automotive industry is concerned, it’s difficult to avoid bringing up DRB-Hicom in a conversation. Perhaps best known for being the owner of Proton Holdings Bhd, the industrial conglomerate also has, amongst others, the Honda, Isuzu, Suzuki, Mercedes-Benz and Volkswagen brands in its local-assembly and distribution stable.”

This might be one of the reasons why our car prices are so high. Monopoly….Sime-Darby, Naza, Berjaya Group holds the rest of the other car brands in Malaysia.

• protonkualitimcmbontotkuali on Jan 15, 2013 at 6:54 pm

slipping into 3rd? well done rakyat…now they able to distinguish between diamond and glass :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • driver on Jan 15, 2013 at 7:07 pm

Have a very strict, professional scrutiny to all of Proton’s vendors. No cronyism! Then hopefully the quality can be improved.

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 7:56 am

DRB is crony vendor lah bikin bumper Proton…so how apa macam lah??? He He He He

• I’m looking forward to seeing exactly what these ‘priority markets’ are for Proton. As far as I’m concerned, there’s only 4 or 5 emerging markets car companies should concentrate on; China, India, Indonesia, Brazil and maybe Russia.

• Forget about Brazil, Proton would have to open a factory there:

“Financial Times:
      Brazil hits imported cars with tax increase
      Brazil has turned its focus from fighting currency appreciation to protecting its industry with a sharp increase in taxes on foreign-built cars that will hit imports, particularly from China and South Korea.
      The measure will increase by 30 percentage points Brazil’s industrialised products tax for vehicles including trucks that have less than 65 per cent local content and are made outside the South American Mercosur trade region or Mexico.”
      http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/d051c68c-e086-11e0-bd01-00144feabdc0.html

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:02 am

Big joke lah. Remember how Proton bought MV Agusta last time give excuses as entry point for Brazil auto market for Proton…later plan all gone kaput He He He He

• paulz on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:53 am

Don’t forget Nissan-Renault is gonna unleash Datsun brand later this year, this gonna hype emerging ASEAN market even current situation is gloomy.

• Not in Malaysia. Datsun will become a luxury brand here (by our standards) :/

Pitiful.

• start-a-figt on Jan 16, 2013 at 4:21 pm

that is all u can afford name.. live with it.

• I ride bicycle 1, environmental friendly. Better than those stupid hybrid, say environmental but not that different oso.

Good thing with bicycle is, I got money to buy house. :p

• paulz on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Datsun is no longer stranger to every Malaysians especially they were the pioneer in the 60’s and 70’s.

• kadajawi on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Datsun will sell Ladas with a bit of make up. You must be out of your mind to buy one of them. They are so unreliable that when Putin drove a (specially picked one) for maybe 2000 km they brought 3. One of them broke down after 350 km. Another one, picked to show in front of the press, couldn’t start. Took many attempts. Boot also couldn’t open. Pure junk. Better buy Tata Nano. Higher quality.

• Paulz on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:47 pm

Tata Nano immolate by itself in India couple years ago. Big risk for insurance companies.

• “Proton is missing from the city car, or A-segment. We want Proton to be represented in all segments.”

Please bring the EMAS! It even dosen’t matter if you drop the hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Vince on Jan 15, 2013 at 7:43 pm

All I can sum up is these people are not “car people”. Clearly, they don’t seems to have the know how of making cars and no direction. Decades after decades same old story. Come year 2030 the new CEO will also be singing the same tune.

Their expertise is basically managing “protected companies”. As long as everything progresses smoothly, salary month end come out, all is fine. And I don’t expect them to think out of the box.

In the car industries, you will need outstanding mind and calibre.

• alldisc on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:40 am

this is reason they are labelled as syok sendiri.

• paulz on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Pendek kata “Mengaut keuntungan sahaja”. Car people? I don’t think they are even understanding driver’s car dream.

• cobest on Jan 15, 2013 at 8:05 pm

Proton must know who want bought national car. RM450 we can got saga but in indonesia you can got jazz!!!. Every new model from proton price increase even proton say it is replacement model. Look japan car price same with previous model but more innovation….im very said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • start-a-figt on Jan 16, 2013 at 4:22 pm

haha.. i’m very saId…

however in Malaysia, always price increase and feature missing.. specially for Japanese car.. how about that?

• Absolute Rider on Jan 15, 2013 at 8:25 pm

Whether No.1, No2, No.3….. I don’t care. Actually doesn’t matter. Look at global, which place you are is not that important, what people really waiting is “NEW MODEL” & “NEW GENERATION of that MODEL”

What matter most is, always:
    1) IMPROVE Quality & Services
    2) IMPROVE & CREATE Good Designs
    3) IMPROVE SAFETY
    4) IMPROVE Time Frame of launching new models and
    replacement of each model generations

• kadajawi on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Safety is not important in Malaysia. Otherwise why would Toyota be successful?

• After more than 25 years and Proton is still at this level, better sell it off, our money will be drained out. Because we dont have expertise. Or we throughout the years had not hired expertises….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:11 am

Committed to be better…Dare to change…Smart guys get it…Drive it to believe it…LOL He He He He

• Absolute Rider on Jan 15, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Proton must learn fast. For example, now IIHS.ORG has a new test known as small overlap front test for car. You should do so too.

There is no other way than PUSH, PUSH, PUSH. Proton must set a time frame right for launching a new model or replacement model. Designs, technologies gets old faster than ever before. If you launch late, mean the design and technology soon outdated. Buyers will not interested your car and they move to other brand.

You must know what is next. If you want to launch a new model in 2015. You are doing your sketch, R&D now (2013), you must know the car must meet 2015 emission standard, safety standards, trends, other regulations, technologies and equipments level in 2015 and not 2013.

• kelvin on Jan 15, 2013 at 10:56 pm

After nearly three decades, only now Proton-DRB-Hicom is talking about Asia project, we can’t even sell Proton to our neighboring emerging country, talk Asia? Koren car is now selling like hot cakes around the globe. If you ask every rational Malaysian, how Proton is doing? All will tell you, Proton is a biggest fail project.

• Expatriate VN on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Funny and crap, this Jaguh Kampung No. 2 already beaten flat locally by Juara Kampung No. 1. Now they want to talk about Asian car! For syiok sendiri, some more Preve! during DSZ time is “small global car”? They are at all time very good and consistently inconsistent!

What does that means? How to categorize Asian car? What characteristics needed to show Asian DNA?

• chevrolet on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:06 am

I bet those guys do not know what the heck they are talking about. They do that just simply to tell Malaysians Dont worry we can do it. Screw them. Whole bunch of loser there. If they do not know what car to build find westerner or someone who can perform

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:34 am

Yes without tongkat monopoly, what those jokers can do? Flipping burger?

• tokmoh on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:12 am

First pic: Khamil Jamil looks like flanked by two powderful samseng minions. Kat kiri tu siap lipat tangan weiii, gila gangster brooo

• Car Lovers on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Lipat tangan. Cara selalu bagi orang tunggu dan lihat saja. HABIS….

DSZ u paling baik selain Yahaya Ahmad (yang telah meninggal dalam kemalangan helikopter. Rundu….

• Robot Boy on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:32 am

What PROTON needs is a professional CEO from Germany or USA to head the company without interfering of Cronies and people who think they are know it all. then it will go forward. Remember BMW in 1980’s it was almost bankrupt until they hired new CEO and CFO and also new chief of design. they they jumped up. this is what Proton needs. they took out all the German directors of the company and replaced them with people from other DRB companies who know nothing about running a big company. this does not work. I really pity proton. there are so much talent and professionalism there but all stuck due to bosses who think they know it all.

• Haihya, you put accountant (colorful accountants) there to operate a company, what you expect!

• silver arrows on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:22 am

D accountant previous screwed our utility comp n nw drb… Hahaha wat a joke

• paulz on Jan 16, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Sergio Marchionne, Ralph Gilles, Akio Toyoda, Ulrich Wolfgang, Carlos Ghosn, name a few. These peoples I have just mention are no-nonsense key players who turn the table so fast that you didn’t notice in a short time. Time is essence and think-tank is very important to fast growing corporate culture.

• Huh? From Global car to Asian car … downgrade. … ok la… if you change your car, it is a downgrade … from Kancil to Preve, it is a downgrade too.

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:06 pm

Nope. From Lancer to Inspira now that’s call downgrade.
      (unless you change the bumper pakai logo Mitsubishi diam-diam mana org tau lah He He He He)

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:44 am

From the body language, DRB folks seems to be reluctant in running Proton business…macam kena paksa jer muka monyok…He He He He

• Can employ me a? I am willing to do nothing and get big pay cheque! Of course I can put on a better smile and motivation than those guys there.

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:51 am

Yes such a waste also to Lotus by Proton…imagine that RM1 Billion bank loan for Proton to hire new car designers instead of wasting it for Lotus…employ both Peter Schreyer and Chris Bangle for Proton…only then Proton can become Asian BMW lah He He He He

• You actually believe Proton’s problem lies on the designer? It’s their attitude.
      And can ask them to forget about Asia’s BMW. Become Malaysia’s PERODUA also good enough already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Haiyahh you budak amoi apa tau kereta?

Good design first, then car quality. Itu Hyundai, Kia kualiti sama kualiti Proton tapi design saja cantek…cuba tengok bawah pun rosak itu rosak sini…Sam Loo pun pening kepala resale value…He He He He He

• Nuradi Hamzah on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Those guys won’t come here… KIA is easily 4-5 Times Bigger than us with freedom from boardroom interference. Not mentioning the pay package. Peter Schreyer is even now being the first non Korean to head the company. I think we already have a fair design languange, we only need a better engine and product quality.

• kadajawi on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Schreyer went to Kia because he had 100% freedom. If he has to raise production costs to make the car prettier, he will do so. At Proton they’d say no. Too expensive. At Kia he is very powerful. In Malaysia that wouldn’t be possible, because he is not local.

You really think they got him with money? I’m sure VW could pay him well too. He wanted freedom, the chance to create something new, not do something evolutionary. Given the freedom he enjoyed I think what he came up with was very disappointing though. Very conventional, even mimicking other brands.

• kadajawi on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Proton gets good designers and engineers through Lotus. That is not the problem. The problem probably lies in the management. You can only cut cost so much before the quality suffers. Quality suffers, reputation suffers. Reputation bad, sales bad. It takes forever to get rid of such a bad reputation. Look at Opel. Once very successful, they then cut costs so much that the cars broke within few years. Opel still has not recovered, and that was maybe 20 years ago. In the past 10 years they produced good cars. Still, reputation bad, people won’t buy.

Proton is in the same position now. That the Preve has quite a few problems doesn’t help.

• Proton, should be own by individual rather than corporation, full stop. Then no one would interfere in your direction. Proton has changed hands god knows how many times. Corporation has so many agenda they ned to pursuit..look at the above statement..

• DewaSemut on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:47 am

Is the Lotus Chief Designer Donato Coco still with Lotus? Now that the Lotus’s Paris Five plan is shelved, he kurang kerja already… Bring him down to Proton… He is an award winning car designer too… :)

• Paulz on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:34 pm

The guy who responsible to rev up V8 engines for Lotus, Wolf Zimmerman…never been heard for sometimes.

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:56 am

DRB will not tahan losing money to Proton…soon they’ll give up and scrap iron Proton to UMW saja lah…

So under UMW, Perodua rebadge Daihatsu and Proton rebadge Toyota. Subaru cars jadi Protoru…HE HE HE HE HE

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Yess!!! I know exactly how DRB can help Proton!

DRB go ask each car brands under them to donate one old model each and rebadge it as new Proton! Bikin lori Proton Isuzu pun boleh!

Very easy way out short-term solution lah HE HE HE HE

• Honda lover on Jan 16, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Hey you are Ononimous!!!I like your comment…
      From a Honda Civic owner who like to bash Potong and think Civic is a better and affordable car.

• That’s exactly what is already happening!

Accord will be re-badge as Potong Perdana after launch of new Accord in August.

Next is re-badge Alto or Swift to compete with Pero2…???

So much for a turnaround plan, Master re-bagder!!

• ae101 on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Internet is quite affortable in Indonesia now. Before indon buy proton cars sure they will read the car review. If they found rakyat themselves bashed own produced car kaw kaw. What you think they do? Seriously for proton to enter international market, they really need to join venture with other car makers to gain the quality trusts.

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:08 pm

Alamak! How many Indons saw that Top Gear joke on Proton already???? He He He He

• I tell u what Dr. Kiasu..Top Gear is British Based automotive entertainment.. they always complaint about other countries car.. but they forgot that British very far behind again German, France, Italy, US, Japan or even Korea in automotive industries

• chevrolet on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:49 pm

at least british cars are better than proton. Proton body frame was made by the recycle coke cans. one kilo is about rm 3 .

• takyzark on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Have seen the preve driving impression on youtube.
    its a decent car in my opinion. the factor that malaysian who make this car from the ground up is a real seller.

despite all the negative aspect from what i’ve heard from the netizens (I don’t understand politics in Malaysia), Malaysian can be proud that they have their own indigenous car maker.

However I doubt this car will be successful in Indonesia, seeing how some of our people (if not all) perceive each other nation. Something that I really regret. there is also other reasons such as relatively new brand image and many Indonesians bought car based on resale value (hence toyota wins).

Indonesia is all about Japanese car such as Kijang Innova, avanza,xenia,ertiga etc..
    In replace of your perodua myvi, we bought Honda Jazz and Toyota Yaris.it is quite popular here.
    we are still long way to go to have local carmaker such as proton or perodua :)

• john f kennedy on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Woi!Kau agak agak lah proton.Syok sendiri lah.Malaysian want better driving experience here.not other country.

• Nuradi Hamzah on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Asian Car Project… Could it be possible that Proton be assembling QOROS.. :) besides Volkwagen ??

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:02 pm

You sudah gila kah? Itu kan kereta Yahudi. Haram.

Tapi takpelah nanti saya invite kawan lama George Soros launching itu kereta sini lah He He He He

• hunte on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Pumpkins kawan Soros rupanya patut lah bikin rosak orang punya bisnes He He He He

• zartan69 on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:54 pm

as usual, ignorant Malaysian talking about their own product, what you guys missing are the bigger picture, yes Toyota rules the street of Jakarta, but thats Jakarta ONLY and have you been aware on how BIG is Indonesia?. Exora has slowly but in a steady pace penetrating the MPV market over there, you can virtually see at least 1 exora in some kampung and dusun.. because Proton selling price better than Avanza/Xenia and much bigger space, remember in Indonesia is not about lotus handling or others, but Cheap and BIG Space can take a lot of of load. Forget about the other proton model since Indonesia (AS IN WHOLE COUNTRY) main market is MPV oriented. And perhaps many of you dont know, Proton Edar dealership has reached eastern part of Indonesia and some of the exora they converted to work on the Lombong site due to the practicality and space + selling price. and when working on mining sites, not every vehicle qualified to perform there, fortunately Exora managed it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • takyzark on Jan 16, 2013 at 6:26 pm

I live in neighboring city of Jakarta (Bandung), proton is still scarce here. but true some people start buying exora. I heard that the dealership giving a hefty amount of discount from the msrp. this really close the price gap with avanza/xenia which are the best seller in Indonesia. you can get Exora which is in Kijang Innova teritory but with the price of avanza/xenia..
      but with the amount of contender that giving the same value, I think proton will have a hard time to increase its market share..
      recently the Korean launch a lot of value for money vehicles. KIA carens is in a similar class with exora and this year I heard this car will be launched in Indonesia.
      I am looking forward in how the preve will be marketed here. In Indonesia, sedan and hatchback has a different tax regulation. sedan model is way more expensive compare to its hatchback counterparts. so probably preve hatchback will be a better seller here.

• sompro on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Majority of Malaysians can only afford to buy around RM50K car with 9 years loan. They don’t care much about safety, comfort, driving experience, quality, technology and . they only care a little bit about styling and fuel consumption. so simple. that’s why perodua sold.

• Faizul on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:45 pm

qoros? i dun think so.you should check the banckground of soros its a car project backed by israeli firms and given current standing in Palestin. i dun think any party here will establish ties with israeli counterparts.

• start-a-figt on Jan 16, 2013 at 4:39 pm

ppl bash China car and yet they want Qoros.. which is also a China build car… just design by the Israeli Corporation

• Sharu on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:56 pm

To get market share in Indo and China will be tough or impossible mission for Proton….
    Proton have to admit they have lost the league, just re-badge Honda car and sell it at CKD price…..
    Or slash up to 50% of the vehicle price,and rakyat will start to buy proton….. mungkin jaguh kampung boleh jadi market leader kat boleh land

• Proton38 Türkiye on Jan 16, 2013 at 3:24 pm

I follow Proton since 1997, very close! I can say that Proton and the people in Malaysia can’t handle or realize global plans or strategies.

Since years they bring out plans, call new partners for collaboration and at the end point: NOTHING!

The Korean, Chinese countries are growing up year by year, which i want see the same by Proton, but what we see is every time same:: NOTHING!!!

Close Proton, close the fabrics… I have had dreams with Proton since i follow, but no one in Malaysia is afford to do something or is interested to sell cars and go global!

For me is Proton = disappointment, incompetent, weak, soulless, blunt….

Who is guilty?

Thanks for reading, best regards from Türkiye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Heard that some Proton Turkey dealer run away hiding in Malaysia…bad business failed kah He He He He He

• Proton38 Türkiye on Jan 17, 2013 at 1:20 am

Yes its true!

Proton has a partner called Ulumotor, and they are so uninterested to sell or to make some ad. Ulumotor is killing Proton image! If they work in the future together i cant imagine that proton can sell any car!!!

Ulumotor is known as a mafia group and we heard that they beat persons by service or selling offices. Because they want only service! Shameful.!!

• Same things went to Volkswagen..they had very bad cars and very bad services..please refer to Volkswagen Fbook Malaysia..

• ahnadino on Jan 16, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Bussines mean to make profit no glamour on its name like proton in malaysia, why dont proton joint ventures with big compony, at least we can gain something at the end.

• Sharon on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:32 pm

I don’t think DRB-Hicom top management are CAR LOVERS. Only CAR LOVERS know the taste. CAR LOVERS, they are PASSION IN CARS!

DRB-Hicom can’t effort to employ them all and of course many of them (car lovers) don’t actually doing designs.

DRB-Hicom have to go around the all the states of Malaysia, have a show there. Let people give ideas and opinions and make sure you listen carefully all the inputs. Go back to main office, analyzed those inputs.

You need to meet Proton Owners around Malaysia before you go global.

• Car Lover on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:03 pm

They ARE car lovers! Make no mistake about that. Thats why the Exec Chairman & Dep CEO drives Audis (and NOT Potong!!) as official company cars.

But they are the typical SS (syiok sendiri) that embark on non-viable projects like Westfield Potenza (now under Potong) and Can Am Spyder but lose good franchises like Citroen and Chevy.

Now u see these 2 brands making strong comeback under Naza Group. Brilliant isnt it?

• chevrolet on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Proton better ta pau and go home. wasting our tax payers money. Malaysians have been giving chances and pouring money into it but still fail in the end. sad

• Paulz on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:42 pm

Old news however there are something fishy going around in Norfolk and it doesn’t sound very generous folk tale so far…tunggu lagi 2 tahun dan kita akan dengar apa yang Dr.M akan cakap pula.

http://skiddmark.com/2012/07/behind-the-story-lotus-eaters-take-a-gamble/

• daniel on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:58 am

let me tell u dear ceo for whoever you are,proton enjoys better sales during dsz era,and he has vastly improved quality of proton cars,i have experience better service quality during his tenure as ceo.what can u do now other than ruining it all.during your time.the service was so bad that i swear i will not buy a proton again

• daniel on Jan 17, 2013 at 3:07 am

dear ceo,you re there to ruin the brand,trust me that proton has seen better days during dsz tenureship.and u r fit only to run poslaju.

• Dr Advisor on Jan 17, 2013 at 7:48 am

1.The last resort for DRB is to lelong Proton Shah Alam factory as scrap iron. This is to stop DRB bleeding cash for fun.

2. Proton relocate entire operation to Tanjung Malim. Let see still make money or not. If make money good lah stay there.

3. If not DRB lelong also Proton Tanjung Malim scrap iron, close shop and whoever cannot accept Proton’s death silakan pergi masuk Tanjung Rambutan cry cry cry over there lah HE HE HE HE HE

• gOOsh on Jan 18, 2013 at 3:22 pm

sekali air bah… sekali pantai berubah… tula nasib proton…

• Norman on Feb 18, 2013 at 8:53 am

Who says Japanese cars not suitable for autobahn?The fact is there are no speed limit in Autobahn but the road users there is more considerate and would not hesitate to give u way and there’s no tailgating there unlike our boy racer wannabe drivers here.Ive ever drive a 1.4,1.6.2.0 and even 3.5 cars there with various car makers and I see no problem driving there.Add on I’ve ever ride a Honda Cbr1100xx cruising at 220-230 and even a 600cc naked bike with no problems at all

• Norman on Feb 18, 2013 at 8:57 am

There’s 2 factors under drb
    1 different styling with Honda supplied engines especially for bigger cc
    2 Newly design Campro engines but mostly will share platform with ASEAN Honda cars