DRB-Hicom merges EON with Proton Edar

Proton cars are sold by both Proton Edar and EON. The latter, once upon a time synonymous with Proton, has been a “master-dealer” for the national car company since 2009. EON is a subsidiary of DRB-Hicom, Proton’s new owner, so the merging of Proton Edar and EON is not a big surprise.

Yesterday, DRB-Hicom announced to Bursa Malaysia the completion of the “internal reorganisation exercise” as part of a strategy to streamline and align its Proton business operations. The cash involved totals RM400,800,000.

The internal reorganisation involved the sale, transfer and assignment of the rights, title and interest in all the assets, liabilities and employees in the Proton business to Proton Edar by EON. It also included Proton Edar’s acquisition of 100% equity interest in EON Properties Sdn Bhd and Automotive Conversion Engineering Sdn Bhd, wholly owned subsidiaries of EON. In addition, Proton Marketing Sdn Bhd will take up 40% interest in Proton Parts Centre Sdn Bhd from EON.

“Besides being one of the Group’s strategy to achieve greater operational efficiency, establish cost savings and enhance the Group’s future earnings, the Internal Reorganisation will also ensure the seamless implementation of strategic measures to achieve performance excellence in distribution, logistics and after sales service,” said Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil, Group MD of DRB-Hicom.

“The Group will also be able to leverage on specialised expertise with the consolidation of the workforce, allowing the Group to augment its service offerings for the automotive industry. This reorganisation also means that we are delivering our promises of improvements in Proton,” he added.

We recently talked to Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil, where he shared with us DRB’s plans for Proton – click here to read. Earlier this week, it was announced that Proton has entered into a collaboration agreement with Honda – to revisit that one, click here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• vee-oh on Nov 02, 2012 at 12:00 pm

got VSS?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • alldisc on Nov 02, 2012 at 4:40 pm

yeah, they do. 20% reduction from Proton’s 10,000 workforce

• vee-oh on Nov 02, 2012 at 5:18 pm

pity them

• alldisc on Nov 04, 2012 at 5:26 pm

i heard many actually were dismissed without compensation. this includes non-performing staff, or those problematic with discplinary issues.

the company will wait for one to make mistake, and out you go!! what to do? this is corporate way of doing things. evil, yes.

• As you said they are non-performing staff, or those problematic with discplinary issues. So whats so evil about it.

• zainal abidin on Mar 09, 2013 at 8:48 pm

Oh no not entirely true,there are also higher ranked performing staffs who come late for work for most of the week and yet never got any warning letter or dismissal and this has been going on for more than 4 years since EON times. Why? Because the lower staffs all do their job so he can ‘goyang kaki come to work’. Work smart I may say. Some more can get promoted within DRB. Nuff said!!

• So what is the next branding will come up next? Proton-Hi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • Vader on Nov 02, 2012 at 12:06 pm

yes, it may improve the proton mainly for the logistic and operational efficiency, but not the car it self.. so the statement “This reorganisation also means that we are delivering our promises of improvements in Proton” is not really mean to consumer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
    • “strategic measures to achieve performance excellence in distribution, logistics and after sales service”
      tell me, does after sales service important to you? I’m consumer and its important for me. I won’t be happy to hear Technician says “aiya, bmw pun like that la” when i bring my car for fault inspection. Instead I would be happy to hear ” We will try our best to solve your problem sir,” dont you think?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Reasons why companies (yes companies, as not only DRB-PROTON is doing this) do restructuring:

Company restructuring -> restructuring assets, cash flow and resources -> lower company’s overhead -> increase productivity and efficiency -> better products and or services to the customers.

Whether good or bad the outcome is, we shall see in 3-5 years time. yes, it does take that long for you to see the outcome of a long term restructuring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Abuya on Nov 02, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Patut dah lama buat. Orang dok komplen, bila datang servis, encik, ni kereta EON. Jadi warranty kena pergi EON sc. Begitu juga vice versa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • sepul on Nov 02, 2012 at 12:23 pm

well, from a business standpoint, this move is a positive take

i am seeing a good future for them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • MoFaz on Nov 02, 2012 at 12:24 pm

i find that EON give better service satisfaction compared to Proton Edar & Proton Service Centre. i think it’s better if they absorb PE & PSC into EON and not the vice versa… Proton should only concentrate to design and build cars, and let EON do marketing and servicing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
  • roslan on Nov 02, 2012 at 12:30 pm

I have using Prevee Turbo wow it is a good car and worth value since june2012. I have no problem and performt well. Congrate Proton u have produce a good Prevee AHY 7575

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 10
    • how is the power window bro? i have been traumatize by the power window. any improvement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
      • I have a first batch of Exora since May 2009. No issues with the Power Window since purchase the vehicle. They have fixed the bug.

Only had 1 problem with the car, the air-cond fan was not working when I took the car, got it replaced for free under warranty without any hassle. No other issues since, no rattling noises etc. The Exora is one of the better cars made by Proton and in the market.

If I have not mistaken, they now give 10 years warranty on the Power window…..so if problem, repair for free.

• Sandy on Nov 03, 2012 at 10:56 am

you’re wrong. it is lifetime warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
          • MoFaz on Nov 03, 2012 at 1:33 pm

lifetime warranty is based on the life-span of a product, and not ‘until-you-die’ kind of ‘lifetime’. life-span of a car usually is 10 years

• Proton’s vocabulary
      1. Wow
      2. Butthurt
      They have been using these since TM era.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Kalun on Nov 03, 2012 at 8:17 am

How the power window? The air-cond leaking issue, Power short circuit issue, engine rattling issue, wind noise issue, reliability issue, roominess issue, quality control issue, plasticky interior issue?

Most old/ex proton user really want to know about that. Any current Proton user, please give us a convincing verdict!

Here’s my point of view of proton(I too no more own a proton since the Proton waja). So I went to a Proton Showroom. So there I was greeted by an unsightful salesman. Keep on telling me this and that. (Not everyone like it).
      So I went into Proton Exora and proton preve. I did do several test that Proton fail few years ago.
      When closing the door, It feels premium than my old Hyundai Matrix. No wind noise except for the cvt noise. One thing i really hate in both car is the unpleasent look of the dashboard. Man it sucks. Eventhough it has soft touch. Quite annoying if you have any passenger who like to scratch the dashboard.
      The ride and handling is superB and the roominess as well. I’m 6 feet tall and the leg room is design is very malaysian. I hit my leg on the sharp egdes of the plastic infront of me. Not a good sign in a accident. I can get my leg apputated.
      Design wise, i would say exora looks much better than any competitor in the market. Might be a great competion with the new Kia Caren/Rondo.
      Preve, kinda a bit lacking. I don’t like the tail lamp. Too much like in the year 2000. If they put in the r3 body kit. It do make the car looks nice. Not like Toyota and Nissan.
      Engine, both car accelerated as expected(still worried about engine reliabilty. My Hyundais engine can last quite a long time 10years plus without any problem.) It’s not highly rev like those VTEC engine nor the turbo doesnt wake up at 1250rpm like BMWs. Engine is decent.

Now for marketing. IT IS SUCK. They don’t really market it properly. No ads, no sponsership. Lacking. No one knew about Proton btw.

I still keep my hyundai. The engine is very reliable. Except for steering sqeaking sound. And the aircond problem(last only for 3 years of usage . After 10 years, the problem has been solve by the local mechanics.) The thing I don’t like about my hyundai is the ride and handling is sucks. The plastic brittle after 6 years of usage. And alot of wind noise.

Thank you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • I’m not a Proton Lover, but i bought a 2nd hand iswara aeroback roughly 8 years model, now it’s in 11th year, the car still smooth…200000km already, engine not yet overhaul, engine still in good condition, when i hit on high speed, it does hear the air sound, changed the rubber around the doors, now it’s fine. 1.3 manual can hit maximum 150km/h steadily include fuel saver too, work place 30mins from home la…stuck in jam for 15 min per day, full-tank petrol RM80 can stay max 12 days. Maybe it’s my luck to get a 2nd hand with that condition.

• ernie on Nov 02, 2012 at 12:33 pm

still regret not buying the myvi instead!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 37
    • alytheman on Nov 02, 2012 at 2:36 pm

waah… myvi so hebat than Proton arr??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • Then why you think Proton sales still lower than Perodua?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • MoFaz on Nov 03, 2012 at 5:53 am

better sales means better car? so does it also means Myvi is better than Ferrari and Porsche too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • 1 Ferrari = 30 Myvis. If you’re a ferrari man, would you take 30 cars rather than 1 for your garage? Or if you’re Ferrari’s tauke, would you make 195k cars annually or 7000 plus cars with grater sale value and profit margin??? And that’s still not taking into account brand value, merchandise, royalties etc etc etc.

• MoFaz on Nov 03, 2012 at 1:36 pm

lol, do you even understand what i’m trying to say in my statement above?.. that kind of reply is unnecessary.

• Oh please… for a company that went hanging banner celebrating their top spot position sales last year for 3months and you say sales is not important?

And please don’t associate this tongkat company with those reputable car makers

• I think it is lower because people had bad experience in the past and say “Won’t buy another Proton”. When I first bought my Exora, my friends ask, “Why you buy Proton? Quality not good. Etc.” Than they add their experience, “10 years ago I bought a Proton and faced problems like……(too many to say)”. Fortunately, I have nothing but good experience with my Exora since I got it in 2009.

• My brother regret buying Myvi.. frequently he asked me to “tukar suka sama suka” my 9 years old Waja with his 5 years old Myvi while he continuing paying the monthly payment with extra RM5000 pocket money… His POWERWINDOW was jammed and he was a smoker. NO WAY!! i said to him.. hehe

• With this “tukar suka sama suka” attitude, we can know what kind of people are they. Probably never service the car before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • whoah.. very good ah you can view other people way of life… for your information my brother was a very careful person when goes about car. Servicing his car every 5000km even though the engine oil can run up to 10000km. “Jangan terus lemparkan tuduhan tanpa bukti”. dont be a dick.

• “Servicing his car every 5000km even though the engine oil can run up to 10000km”

That’s is so stupid. Anyway don’t bluff la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
          • Any other people said was a bluffing and u r always perfectly right. U have a power to control others people life and u will know what they r doing.

since u know everything, may i know how to service the powerwindow everytime when do the routine car servicing? since when the superior Myvi when had a problem with the powerwindow, “IT’S THE DRIVER BAD ATTITUDE DIDN’T KNOW HOW TAKE CARE THEIR CAR”. Since the “tukar suka sama suka” was a “BAD ATTITUDE” according to u.

And when goes to PROTON had a problem with PW, u will said “THE CAR WAS SUCK NO MATTER WHAT”. No matter how bad the driver handling the car.

Kid… with your attitude, “cuba menegakkan benang yang basah” is showing how immature u are.. NOW WHY DONT U GO OUTSIDE AND PLAY A KITE AND GET A LIFE!! DONT BE A DICK

P/s: Nak aku tujukkan bekas minyak hitam yg masih berbaki minyak didalamnya selepas setiap kali abang aku servis kereta dalam masa setahun ni? Tapi ko kena jilat balik apa yg ko kata selepas aku tunjjukan bukti. Ada berani?

• Kalun on Nov 02, 2012 at 11:53 pm

So I went to a Perodua car dealer the other day and I sat inside one of the Perodua Myvi Extreme.
      The name is very catchy but once I look forward. I can feel the unsatisfication.
      The interior is absolute rubbish. Feels rubbish, looks rubbish, look “Extreme”ly cheap.
      To be honest with you. Between both malaysian cars, Proton has much better interior than Perodua.
      No wonder James May says the Perodua Myvi’s interior is rubbish. Try to go to Top Gear website. Read the verdict yourself.

I still prefer the old leather look on the dashboard.

• gen y on Nov 03, 2012 at 12:33 am

Yeah! You’ve got that right. My sister just got her new Myvi last month… dashboard fitting is so lousy… sigh…

• MyVote on Nov 04, 2012 at 3:31 pm

That’s why people call it ‘Lagi Syok-Sendiri’ punya kereta.

• ernie on Nov 02, 2012 at 12:35 pm

u feel very tired driving the persona coz the car struggles to move. so letih la! ayuh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 30
    • ya lorh.. you have the hand brake on.. memang la susah sikit nak gerak.

*face palm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
    • clearly u never drove the persona before…

• carazy on Nov 04, 2012 at 10:33 pm

clearly u never drove the AUTO persona currenly..pitty

• hahaha.. pity u.. i’ve drove the AT Persona in countless times.. period..

• why la on Nov 02, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Another Renong in the making? So many company in their hand and still acquiring more.

Did anyone knows that the major shareholder Mokhtar Al-bukhary has total RM34BILLION corporate debt? 34billion! man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
    • Bujang Lapuk on Nov 02, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Listing sources would greatly strengthen that statement.

• why la on Nov 02, 2012 at 6:09 pm

Obviously the figure wasn’t plug from the sky. It was highlighted in the parliament too.

Do google search, and judge it yourself …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
        • just quote any related source and we will try to be a judge

• gen y on Nov 03, 2012 at 12:37 am

Asking others to find proof 4 ur statement shows you have no credibility. Please, proof 1st then comment.

• any reputable source(s) to back that claim?

by not providing a reputable source(s), you’re just slandering the other person. that’s not cool bro.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 02, 2012 at 1:33 pm

What kind of improvement that our consumers can benefited. Best scenario is give better quality of cars to export market!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • tiadaid on Nov 02, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Old news – tell that to Koreans, to Japanese people, even Americans.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 02, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Perhaps any saving from internal re-organization partially use as paying to that white lady ambassador for the Oz market!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Just me on Nov 02, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Sign of trouble ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Don’t know about you guys but i felt signs of improvement towards Proton brand. Its good to be more organized which perhaps maybe in the future, they can really focus on what consumer actually want, ie after sales service which Proton really lack of.

• Pumpkins on Nov 02, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Lower sales predicted so better merged cut down dealers…getting smaller and lower business…match in heaven…jangan lupa juga hutang RM 1 Billion kasi langsai cepat…

• I cant wait for the day i will but proton with pride and joy!! DRB-Hicom is moving in the right direction but Syed Mahkotar has too much under his control in this contry. I hope when PR takes over they would implement a anti-Trust Law/Competition Law to break up his ownership of all his big companies. if one of his companies goes bust he will bring the whole of malaysia to hell with him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
    • scania380 on Nov 07, 2012 at 7:02 pm

hopefully PR would not rule Malaysia.. disaster coming if there would be. cheaper Falcon Jet for rakyat’ hahaha

• as i expected the merged between PE and EON is happen now.

• _xXx_ on Nov 02, 2012 at 7:56 pm

kawin/cerai, korang punye pasal….who cares?

• RedBeanBun on Nov 02, 2012 at 9:29 pm

merging 1 garbage with another garbage has not much difference. pity those people being conned for 25 years that Protong makes jobs for people. I wonder foreign car companies create more jobs or Protong. Wake up, it only mean for the pocket of the cronies, or the son and daughter of the politicians..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • No point on Nov 02, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Even if u closed down no one would give a S@&£. Crony company who milk us for so many years and yet till now still need bailout and protection. Let me repeat this, U CAN’T EVEN COMPETE WITH SOUTH KOREAN. They started later but they progress worldwide. My advice is, GO TO HELL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • My point on Nov 03, 2012 at 12:07 am

Your point s very unrelevent. Praising the wrong traits. South Korean come about because of their good management skills in marketing business.

Reorganise, reintroduction, reinnovating. Plus with Joint-Venture.
      Hyundai and Gema joint venture to produce a good and reliable engine. Hyundai/Kia took a different approach on introducing a bold design that attracts many buyers, besides that, they do a great marketing ads around the world to buy their cars. Like sponsering sport events.
      They reinnovate the gadgets like airbags, TC, VVT, and kind of gadget that can be found in conti cars.

Proton in the other hand are lacking is some of it. Especially the “GOLBAL MARKETING”. Proton already being praised for the best handling in it’s class. But their engine still lack behind because of most greedy malaysian being Jaguh Kampung forcing them to invent their own engine whereas they can take the Hyundais approch like Joint-venture with othe companies to create a good and reliable engine.
      The quality is still not meeting our Malaysian expectation.

• You mean Proton sucks all these while because of its marketing and not its QUALITY?

• Omg, same old story, changing ownership from left to right, just sell bloody Lotus and will save hundreds of millions every year

• Proton probably worth more in parts than in total. What they should do:
    1) Move entire production to Tg. Malim.
    2) Move KL office into another building
    3) Develop the current Subang/Shah Alam factory land into a mixed development of commercial and residential. This area has direct access to Kesas Highway and, with that, can make a billions in profit while increase operational efficiency.

• Day_nee_all on Nov 05, 2012 at 9:08 am

Dear Proton, just make better car and take care of us customers. No point finding faults seriously.

• Made Fake on Dec 05, 2012 at 5:55 am

Agree with BS, but too many political baggage. Wait for someone to DIE first lah..

• eon the best. Pasal panel hospital semua bgus for 1 family unlimited. PROTON panel ada limit 1 family.better change back.. HR proton also very slow.

• zainal abidin on Mar 09, 2013 at 9:18 pm

Actually it should be EON buying and controlling this Proton Edar. For example they’re using the lowest ranked SAP system and customers have to wait for some time in front of the service advisers not like when they were still EON and the pc business system they use were really fast. And Proton Edar people are not really friendly to these EON newbies. In fact they seen ‘to hate’ everything that is/were EON.

• Malaysia Boleh on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:29 pm

So will a employee get his compensation after being sacked by the proton edar due to non-performing?

• So will an employee get his compensation after being sacked by proton edar due to non-performing?