VIDEO: Honda Civic side impact crash test at 50 km/h

The results of the first phase of ASEAN NCAP wasn’t the only thing the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) had to offer at its open day – all who were present were also treated to a live demonstration of the side impact crash test (as per ECE: Reg 95) that’s set to feature in the second phase of ASEAN NCAP.

Under the demo, a mobile lateral impact trolley was collided perpendicularly against the right-hand side of a stationary Honda Civic 2.0 at a closing speed of 50 km/h. Three ES II dummies, made specifically for side impact, were used, comprising one adult dummy in the driver’s seat and two child dummies at the back (one CRS-restrained, the other unrestrained) – look after the jump for a gallery of photos.

DSCF3831

ASEAN NCAP is a collaborative effort between MIROS and Global NCAP, with the first phase funded by the latter. At this level, the programme also receives support from automobile associations such as AAM, AAP of the Philippines and AA of Singapore. Additionally, MIROS also works with Australia’s ANCAP to ensure adherence to NCAP test protocols and procedures.

The MIROS PC3 lab took RM6 million and three years to develop, beginning in 2009. At a press conference during the event, MIROS revealed that the lab’s current location in the grounds of Akademi JPJ in Ayer Molek, Melaka is somewhat temporary, and that there are plans to move.

“This particular site is on JPJ land,” said MIROS director-general Prof Dr Wong Shaw Voon. “We are trying to secure a 100-acre site in Sepang, near LCCT. This (current) location, we’re looking at a period of three to five years.

DSCF3805

“We hope this year we can get Reg 94 (frontal impact, first phase) done, then we’ll move on to Reg 95 (side impact, second phase).”

What’s in the future then, rollover tests, possibly? “We do recognise the importance of the rollover test, but for the time being it’s not in our focus,” Wong replies. “Of course, the need will come, especially when you consider MPVs and SUVs, but for compact cars, rollovers are less of an issue. In terms of the number of fatalities, frontal collisions are still the highest.

“We work hand-in-hand with carmakers and component suppliers to make cars safer for consumers. What’s most important for us is that eventually we have safer and safer cars on our roads,” he said.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• koochai on Feb 03, 2013 at 11:56 pm

definitely great steps forward…how about special teams to monitor road surface condition? potholes also causing accidents…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • BMW Fanboi on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:45 am

Preve’s side collision test results were better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 36
      • daimler on Feb 04, 2013 at 4:20 am

Preve got T-boned by lorry had similar results. This impact trolley is much smaller. Go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • Yeah.. better on yet to be launched Preve+ built in 2013 just like what they did to Saga FLX+.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Too slow,must be around 120km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • I.ME™ on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:02 am

Looks okay, and as far as those people were saying “nothing happen”. But whats the result, we need results! before Kadajawi or any Honda neigh sayers comes and say the dummy suffered massive internal injuries and has to be sent straight to the mortuary. [joking…joking….no offence]

It says ‘MIROS also works with Australia’s ANCAP to ensure adherence to NCAP test protocols and procedures’. Not sure how strict is the ANCAP. but it’s a good effort. Hopefully this will result the implantation of stricter safety regulation for cars sold in Malaysia and it’s ASEAN neighbors in the next 2 years ,eg: a minimum requirement of 6 airbags and standard VSC before a model can go on sale.

“Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works”,Lol, Hopefully one day Jonathan this will be a reality. I still fantasies driving a rare RHD Ferrari F40 from Batu Caves to the McDonalds at Teluk Cempedak, Kuantan…. in one piece of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Kalun on Feb 04, 2013 at 10:50 am

ANCAP is 95percent similar to EuroNCAP. I’m not sure whether they tested for Whiplash or not.

But ASEAN NCAP follows the same protocol as ANCAP which follows the international standard for NCAP. Front impact at 64kph standard, Side impact with 900kg of trolley travel at 50kph, pedestrian test at 40kph and pole test car trevel sideway at 29kph. Child Occupant, equipment of ISOFIX. Electronic Stability Control test, immediate rotate of steering wheel to 270 degree.

Based on ANCAP twitter: They congratulate it’s sister ASEAN NCAP.
      That shows that they working together and all test will be similar.

Link: http://www.ancap.com.au/crashtesting
      www.euroncap.com/tests.aspx

If you guy thinking why i10 score a lower score, it is because of the equipments in ASEAN i10 is different than the European. i10 suppose to have 6 airbag and ESC but whereas in ASEAN, you know right?

• I.ME™ on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:36 pm

So in other words, ASEAN NCAP is still following international standards right?

As for the 6 airbags I10 ,I believe that hyundai will update them soon, can’t leave consumer worried everytime they buy an I10. I think ASEAN standards has been neglected for a long time. Like I said, this may be a wake up call for them to re-write the regulation. Hopefully the upcoming or the significant 2015 NAP to change that

• kadajawi on Feb 05, 2013 at 11:59 am

Haha, I just bash any 2012 car that has only 2 airbags, and maybe not even VSC. Perodua bash, Honda bash, if Mercedes like that also bash.

• the side airbag didn’t deploy?

• I.ME™ on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:29 am

Can’t tell, though the side airbags are just small ones on the lower B-pillar. Wish they have it on the hybrid ver…..sigh

• sudonano on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:35 am

Same question? Or is it because in Accessory mode, the airbag is not active?

• Kenapa Ya on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:34 am

kewl… accident free :)

• Abuya on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:46 am

Eager the result? Let me guess. If impact is not so bad, you will said, alah, 50 kmh je. If impact is so bad, you will said, fucking stupid car bla2….. not safe.

Basher always basher. Tagline is, ko sorang betul. Semua orang dalam dunia ni tak betul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Asean Ncap not reliable on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:46 am

Asean Ncap Firs phase shown it’s unreliability.
    i10 deserve more stars. Saga is also tougher then the 4 star Nissan March.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
    • driver on Feb 04, 2013 at 2:29 am

I’m curious.. care to justify your claims further?

• sudonano on Feb 04, 2013 at 9:44 am

I think I know why, cause the diagram indicating injury on the i10 does not match the diagram by Euro NCAP. http://www.fiafoundation.org/Documents/NCAP/asean_ncap_result_handbook.pdf

So its like a bit contradicting la.

• i10 euro is diff variant from what asean get

• sudonano on Feb 05, 2013 at 9:52 am

But its frontal impact test we are talking about in the diagram. Only difference is they get side airbags, but ours don’t.

• kadajawi on Feb 05, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Perhaps the car tested by ASEAN NCAP was built to lower standards. Looks the same, steel not. Perhaps it is because it was tested as a B segment car by ASEAN NCAP and A segment car by Euro NCAP. Perhaps it is because in 2008 it didn’t take as much to get a 4 star rating. Look at the injuries that were measured, the Euro NCAP car looks quite bad too.

• Lane tamer on Feb 04, 2013 at 1:23 am

If this test is apply to the magnificent Preve, how would it fare?

• driver on Feb 04, 2013 at 2:32 am

i’m still waiting for the calculation method of this star rating. would it be possible to have a situation when 1 point makes a different between a 4 and 5 star?

the star award mechanism has to be robust and made transparent publicly for the people to believe..

• If think that all your questions could be answered if you read these documents properly.

ASEAN NCAP Frontal Protocol
      ASEAN NCAP Vehicle Selection Criteria
      ASEAN NCAP Assessment Protocol
      ASEAN NCAP-RATING PLATE SAMPLE
      ASEAN NCAP CRASHWORTHINESS RATING PROGRAMS AROUND THE WORLD
      NCAPs Modifier
      ASEAN NCAP crash test results

Are these documents are made public? Yes, you can download here:

http://www.aseancap.org/?pg=protocol
      http://www.globalncap.org/Documents/asean_ncap_result_handbook.pdf

FYI, there are some events conducted on 31st January 2013.

ASEAN NCAP First Phase Result Release
      ASEAN NCAP First Phase Test Car Viewing
      Side Impact Crash Test Demonstration
      Malaysia Book of Records (MBOR) Presentation
      ASEAN Car Manufacturers Meeting

http://www.globalncap.org/Documents/asean_ncap_press_release.pdf

• andrew on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:35 am

Floor is smooth? should be paved. Higher friction / car will not slide so readily on impact. This will give a more realistic condition.

• Dr Cooper on Feb 04, 2013 at 10:11 am

Dude, those crash test does not simulate real crash test le..just a references for crash worthiness. Realistically there are thousands of way a car can be crushed..

• I guess you haven’t watched any of the tests conducted by EuroNCAP, ANCAP and the IIHS.

• CARtoon on Feb 04, 2013 at 9:03 am

so … what’s the result(s)?

• This was only the demo for SIDE impact test. It is not a real test which the result will be published. The demo for the FRONTAL impact has been done last year, on May 23-24 during the test facility launching using Toyota Vios, way before the real tests executed. Last year’s May event was also the largest ever meeting of NCAPs (NCAPs from the ASEAN, Australia, China, Europe, Latin America, Korea, Japan and the USA) and it was held in Malaysia.

http://www.globalncap.org/News/News_archive/2012/Pages/LargestEverMeetingofNCAPsheldInMalaysia.aspx

• ProLyon on Feb 04, 2013 at 9:06 am

At 50km only. Why 50km/h only? What about other speeds? Malaysian seldomly drive at 50km/h.

How many cars in malaysia nowadays? Malaysia should market cars that capable and has done research and come up with ncap rating as one of its compulsory specs before allowing them to market their vehicles here.

Where is the MAA? where is FOMCA? Where is our lawmakers? Sleeping? Considering high accident rate here, all safety features and aspect must be provided in all cars before they can sell it here.

And the media? Come on, play your roles. Educate people…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Dr Cooper on Feb 04, 2013 at 10:05 am

Most test crash around the world done at that speed (a.k.a 30 mph)

I do agree for Malaysian standard should increase more (with little sarcasm)

• vincent on Feb 04, 2013 at 10:31 am

Europe uses the standard of 64 km/h for crash test. Why 64km/h? Not 120km/h or 50kmh? EuroNCAP claimed that 64km/h is the average speed which they get when the car was hit. It is hard to have a 120km/h crash as during emergency, because the driver will automatically stomp the brakes real hard to avoid a collision. So by the time it hit, the speed already reduced at least by half. 120km/h kinda impact is usually head to head collision which it happens more on overtaking in country road.

• Kalun on Feb 04, 2013 at 10:54 am

Vincent is correct. You’re not living in Germany. Why do you want to test at 120kph. That why they implement AES to catch stupid people who abide the law.

• vincent on Feb 04, 2013 at 2:20 pm

It is not about living in Germany or Malaysia. With the crash of 120km/h, basically the driver and passenger can hardly survive. But of cos, a 5 stars crash test result car had a higher chance to survive compare to a 3 stars safety car.
          Earlier I saw a Alza tested at 30km/h on crash test, this is what I called monkey show. No point to waste the manpower and resources to conduct a 30km/h test. This is more like a traffic jam collision. Hahaha

• kadajawi on Feb 05, 2013 at 12:05 pm

IIRC 30 km/h tests are usually done to see how expensive it is to fix the car. Also, crash at 30 km/h without seatbelt and you may die.

• Kalun on Feb 04, 2013 at 10:57 am

You forgot about braking speed. Only stupid people would accelerate to avoid crashes. Drive at 100kph, brake with ABS applied thus slows down by 40kph. Average speed while crashes is at 50-60kph depends on the road condition.

• AES need to survive mah..
      Too rigid a test will produce damn safe car hence less life loss accident, no way to build more AES.. YOU SEE?

• what are the relation bet AES and NCAP? ..as far as i know AES bout over speeding n avoid accident survive/dead….NCAP bout safety n equipment..im i wrong?

• kadajawi on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Do you know that speed cameras are hidden in Germany? It is not announced where the cameras are. Not on a signboard, not online.

Ownership of devices that can detect or knows the location of speed cameras is forbidden.

Policemen can be found along the road with mobile speed guns to capture speeders.

Modified cars with cameras etc. in civilian disguise are on the highways chasing after speeders, tailgaters, people overtaking on the wrong side, people who drive too slow. The number plates are frequently rotated so that the cars can’t be identified (and they use common ones, in very common colors).

Cars are parked along the roadside with a mobile speed trap hidden inside.

There have even been waste bins with speed cameras in them.

THAT is how you make money. I have had photos taken of me without ever noticing that I was caught.
        The AES system on the other hand however makes it really hard to get caught! They put up warning signs. They post the locations on the internet, thus there are apps warning you where to slow down. If you are still caught… well, I think you deserve to get caught. Just slow down when they warn you. This does make people drive at reasonable speeds where there is increased danger, so I don’t see any problem with that. It does seem to be intended for safety purposes.

• azermalak on May 26, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Agree, used to live in Germany and thats how the system works. Now living in Australia and there is so many AES, with signposts of course, i drive 50-60 kph! Haven’t drove past 110 kph yet! If you past 0.5kph over AES speed limit that’s it! at least ours’ have 10 kph buffer limit.

• kadajawi on Feb 05, 2013 at 12:04 pm

In other countries the lawmakers don’t need to tell car makers they have to put in 6 airbags and ESP. Car makers do it themselves so that people actually buy the cars. The market forces them to do so. Only in Malaysia brand and resale value is more important.

• biggie john on Feb 04, 2013 at 9:33 am

Why they need to secure 100-acre for a test site? 10 acres more than sufficient. They trying to get cheap land from governmet??

• koochai on Feb 04, 2013 at 10:56 am

no need to pay…just appoint a certain woman’s chief as 1 of board member…

• *sigh* and everyone is an expert.

• true that. i watched that stand up thing by harith iskandar. malaysians are true expert when it comes to road related matters. accidents, crash test la, bla bla bla. all got their own analysis one..

sadly, when driving, can’t even keep within lane. following race line maybe? too advanced la malaysian drivers…

• ae101 on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:41 am

Yea, 100% agree. even by looking at the pic, they can conclude the comment more comprehensive than the expert.

• malaysian on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Malaysians like gebang, just tell hearsay/comments, nothing is coming with proof. If you translate all that probabilities into some programming logic, I’m sure it’ll be the most advanced active/passive safety device programme ever written

• alex chan on Feb 04, 2013 at 10:47 am

another fairy tale by gov to increase vote for them..rakyat know oredi..we chinese choose value…thats why rakyat vote PR..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • koochai on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:23 am

exora crash

http://www.hmetro.com.my/articles/Matikeranakatak//Article

• why aren’t the side airbags or air curtains deployed?……because there are none…

• alex chan on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:37 pm

i dont think she wear the seatbelt

• That’s the problem with Malaysian drivers.

They often neglect to wear seatbelts. I buckle up all the time.

• The mobile trolley using a Vios sport rim. Lol. I was thinking like the Vios was so geram and hentam sama itu Civic. :p

• koochai on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:43 pm

many people don’t know that in some cars, airbag won’t deploy unless seatbelt is fastened. but i tot this only apply to passenger. the rationale is if the car is moving there must be someone behind the wheel is it?! so either seatbelt fastened or not, driver airbag will still deploy in accident. unless the car does not have any of it…..

• kadajawi on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:15 pm

No. An airbag that deploys without the person wearing seatbelts will hurt or kill the person, it will not save him. That is why the person needs to wear a seatbelt. Keep in mind that the airbag needs to blow up first. This is done with a very violent explosion, so that by the time your face hits it it has become soft enough. If you don’t wear a seatbelt you reach the airbag too early, so there is an explosion right in your face.

Also in an side airbag there is no use to deploy the front airbags, right? At best it is harmless and will only cost money to replace, at worst it will harm the person it strikes.

Airbags save lives, but they need to be deployed at the right time in the right position, and the person needs to hit it at the right time and position. That is why proper seat adjustments and a seatbelt are crucial.

• Admin User on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:53 pm

So good, we have this Million Ringgit facilities in Malaysia but our National Car still contribute a lot fatalities plus we don’t care to enforce Airbag and ABS. Can we know the death rate and accident rate base on car model and manufacture in Malaysia with reference by our Police /JPJ and Transport Department if they dare or maintain in secret.

• kadajawi on Feb 05, 2013 at 2:05 pm

I believe such a list is around. Local cars score “top” results, and so does the Toyota Avanza.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Would be looking forward to seeing the side crash test as soon as possible. At least that way, manufacturers here will have no way to cheap themselves out by making do with only the front airbags. Even proton cheap itself out by not giving the curtain airbags available in Thailand.

oh, also, make sure they test both the base models (without air bags) and the fully loaded models with a full complement of airbags.

Normally they will test the base models with the minimum safety equipment, but knowing Malaysia, they would only test the fully loaded models.

• kadajawi on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:17 pm

Manufacturers offer what customers demand. They don’t demand a full set of airbags in a 150k car, then they won’t get it. Simple. If people stop buying Toyota, and to a certain degree Honda, and buy contis instead, then 6 months later T&H also have 6 or 7 airbags and ESP.

No need for regulations.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 04, 2013 at 4:08 pm

even the rated 900kg@50km/h deformable crash trolley seems a little light. ( I know its the standard procedure – NHTSA has a 944kg trolley at 50km/h)

Given a real world application, most side impacts are more severe, having much heavier cars and higher speed.

I would love to see how the small and narrow K cars work in side crashes.

• Expatriate VN on Feb 04, 2013 at 4:37 pm

– Why need ASEAN NCAP, to create more jobs for MIROS and other agency!

– Why the need to do similar test to same models which were done under ANCAP or Euro NCAP, in which the test results can be obtained easily from their respective websites. Is that the local model ocme with lower specs and quality built that warrant to do NCAP test again.

– How reliable the result conducted by them. For Saga with ASEAN NCAP 1 star rating, do this test result will “please-the-cronies” in Jaguh Kampung No. 2 chain of suppliers?

– Does this “ASEAN” adoption, the test result is acceptable to all Asean countries, bear in mind the specs for same models have big different within Asean countries, just check our model with same model available in Singapore!

– I think it is better just introduce as My-NCAP to reflect the reality on the ground!!!!

• Not Expert VN on Feb 04, 2013 at 6:40 pm

Seems either you are confuse, or you didn’t search for the infos before commenting, or simply you want to be a keyboard warrior. Just go to the link, or you can stay being a keyboard warrior.

http://www.globalncap.org/Pages/HomeMain.aspx

• no need la this test. honda make car lo. sure they have tested all this impact…waste money n time. just syok tengok saja

• What is the weight of the impact trolley? 100kg? 200kg?

Sorry to said that this test are nonsense.

• injinia on Feb 05, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Nonsense? Then you are saying ECE Reg:95 is nonsense too?
      Why? Reason?

School boy please finish to your Physics homework.
      Or you’d better off join Raja Lawak, Mentor and shit like that with that brain level of yours.
      p/s: I heard Senario is looking for apprentice.

• kadajawi on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Trolley seems a bit light, but other than that the tests can’t come soon enough.

Does it mean that first all cars are tested for frontal impacts, and then only side impacts? Doesn’t that mean we’ll have to wait a long time, since testing will only continue in 2 months? They should start with side impacts for the first group of cars ASAP, then do the MPV group both front and side impact.

• zanggief on Feb 06, 2013 at 8:55 am

In fact most of the foreign car model does have full spec version however it may due to marketing strategy thus some of the specs has been revised…
    MIROS should bring some basic model(w/wo airbag/s, no pretension seat belt, abs not even ebd/traction ctrl)of P1 & P2 to test…the results may be come out -4 star…