MIROS gets new director-general

MIROS gets new director-generalThe Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research, otherwise known as MIROS, has a new director-general. Associate Professor Dr Wong Shaw Voon, director of the Vehicle Safety and Biomechanics (VSB) Research Centre of MIROS has been appointed to the post of director-general of the institute with effect from August 1.

Dr Wong succeeds Professor Ahmad Farhan Mohd Sadullah, who has ended his secondment to MIROS after a tenure of three years and returns to Universiti Sains Malaysia.

Dr Wong, who has a PhD in mechanical mngineering from Dublin City University, has served as the director of VSB since the establishment of MIROS in 2007. He is currently on secondment to MIROS from Universiti Putra Malaysia.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Good…hope he do not attempt to research nonsense and proven techs like whether or not the active or passive safety can save life.

• RawDeal on Aug 09, 2011 at 7:06 pm

First thing to do is INCREASE the AGE of motorcyclist from 16 to 18.

At 16 they are too young to be riding – boys think they are are invincible at that age.

Too many daredevils, mat rempits and unneccessary deaths.

Not sure why MOT and JPJ dont realise this.

Also – Working with our Govt maybe a waste of his talents.

He will not get anything implemented with all the little Napoleans popping up everywhere

• BadBET on Aug 09, 2011 at 7:19 pm

Dr Wong, if you read this… please make malaysian standard better than Euro NCAP, there’s no point we have MIROS if our standard is the lowest.

• Lightning McQueen on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:22 am

BadBet…. is there any standard in MAlaysia? Better to make compulsory every new vehicle to be rated is in UNECE rather than Euro NCAP. Euro NCAP only for selected cars not all. Or Dr Wong are you sure you are well verse on automotive industry?

• transformer on Aug 09, 2011 at 8:35 pm

its not an easy jobs since “juara kampung” producing sub-standard cars for local consumption…… MIROS can draf and implement all kinds of measure but they will get resistant from many parties…. Sigh!

All MIROS can do is build up Road Fatalities Statistics. Hope they will be allowed to performed post-mortem case by case and reveal whats the root cause to the public and lets public decide whats car to buy….

• it already shows that malaysian driver are very careless n make many silly costly mistake…..if u fall asleep while driving and u drive mercedes latest safety feature car abs+esp+tc+pmr+spm+upsr….. etc. do u feel safe?…u need in control of that car if u want to use all those feature..but if u sleep who control….only god knows what happen….sigh

• Lightning McQueen on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:25 am

Only stats? Have you heard about variables? On the road there is so many variables… u know.. just like KZM mentioned… better if MIROS set standard for cars which is going to be brought in MAlaysia should be at least meets UNECE requirement. And also Malaysian drivers should have a refresher session especially those mat rempits.

• Friction on Aug 11, 2011 at 6:00 am

those were caught rempit-ing shud be CANED!!
        tht would leave a mark for them to talk about.. yes?

• alfie60 on Aug 09, 2011 at 8:42 pm

Have met him personally seem like a sharp guy and knows his ‘onions’. ;-)

• aprilcoco on Aug 09, 2011 at 10:54 pm

RIGHT… so now we can have side curtaiin airbags and vehicle ESP for everyone???

• Lightning McQueen on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:31 am

Airbags are what we can categorised as last resort for an accident, what is important is the design of our road itself. airbags developments is costly thus the car price is going higher, but for esp,ebd,abs all area cheaper and it works to avoid rather than to dampen the injury during the accident itself. I would rather recommend avoidance effort rather than damage control like airbags.

• i like comment which is knowledgeable on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:40 am

I like ur comments.
        Basically, people commented here, doesn’t know a thing about automotive industries. I just laugh and cried out loud, eventhough I knew only a little bit. Haha~~~

• aprilcoco on Aug 09, 2011 at 10:56 pm

Ummm, actually was wondering is MIROS a waste of money, in KOREA they don’t have anything like MIROS their vehicle still can get NCAP 5 stars??? Wasting money?

• Johndeep on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:02 am

Pls check who is KOTSA?

• Kumar san on Aug 10, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Korean Transportation Safety Authority – KOTSA

Well established and certainly not beginners.

Cheers.

• cardreamer on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:55 am

Congrat to both Dr Wong and Dr Farhan,

My suggestion is, MIROS to play a bigger role in having driving safety ads on our TV. Currently we do not have, to say, good road safety ads that can capture peoples’ mind and heart like we do with the late Yasmins’ raya ads..

And also to make fully use the digital board we currently have on our roadways to give updated infos on road incident on daily basis…am daily user of NPE, the only thing i read on the million ringgit electronic board, daily, is “Patuhi had laju” be it during free ride or during heavy traffic jam! what a waste!

• CASTRO on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:03 am

MIROS can talk and give suggestion only…final say?? of course not them..
    anyway…congrats for ur new appointment…
    for me dr wong would be better than farhan

• akinablue on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:12 am

i heard this morning in radio that new myvi got 4 star rating from miros. when miros test the myvi ya? ke main belasah je miros bg rating tu or produa belasah je guna nama miros? pls, if paul team can verify this..