MIROS reveals outdoor crash test results, more videos added!

The Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research or MIROS has revealed at a press conference today the results of the outdoor crash test that was conducted last week at the Malaysian Institute of Aviation Technology (MIAT) in Dengkil.

Just to recap, the objective of the test was to ascertain the effectiveness and level of damage sustained by the energy absorbing underrun installed at the back of a commercial vehicle, to analyze the safety levels involving a child seated in a child safety seat compared to a child wearing just the rear seat belt as well as to analyze the degree and type of casualties sustained by occupants of a vehicle involved with a rear-end collision against a stationary vehicle.

A self-developed propulsion system was used to get the Alza up to speed and the impact target was a 6-tonne stationary trailer. The Alza was occupied by five crash test dummies including two Hybrid III dummies fully equipped with various sensors, one non-instrumentation Hybrid III dummy, one P3 dummy with nominal instrumentation and a child dummy which simulates a 3-month old child. From these five dummies, one was an older child dummy that was secured properly on a child seat while the 3-month old child was held by an adult dummy.

According to MIROS, one of the reason why they decided to conduct the test at 30 km/h was because the runway wasn’t long enough. The institute would be able to conduct tests at higher speeds in its facility that is being built in Malacca. This facility is scheduled to be operational by June.

Below are the findings obtained by the analysts at MIROS:

• The underrun was able to prevent the Alza from being pinned underneath the trailer
  • There were no visible signs of injury to the properly secured child. In contrast, the 3-month baby in the hands of the adult was thrown forward hitting the back of the driver’s seat.
  • The frontal airbags on the Alza cushioned the impact to the driver and front passenger. The test revealed that the front occupants were subjected to a violent head acceleration equivalent to 50G. This is within the safe tolerance of 80G.
  • There was no variable contact recorded at the knee of the driver and front passenger.
  • There was no breakage of the Alza’s dashboard.

As mentioned earlier UNECE 58-specified underruns will be made compulsory for commercial vehicles by October this year and the enforcement will be done by the Road Transport Department (RTD). This is definitely good news as long as there is proper implementation. Continue reading to view some new videos of the crash test.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• nebula87 on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:32 am

me, 1st?? anyway, do proton conduct dis for Exora?

• malaysia memang bole on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:32 am

at 30 km/h,we can't really rate it as safe.

• if we look at the video, the Alza hit the trailer at a speed of 23km/h only..it's not even 30km/h!!..worst of all, the baby would stay in coma if not killed.. :(

btw, stop the crap of saying 'I'm first!!'..what's the point?..

• Eric G on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:40 am

no side impact yet Paul?

• Arcane (Member) on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:49 am

Crash occurred at 23 km/h

• tayar kitar semula on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:51 am

fuyooo… alza ok je bila langgar 23km/h!!!

hebat hebat!.. tengok lak bila langgar 50km/h dan suruh orang basikal laju 30km/j langgar dari tepi lak… mesti alza ok punye!!!

pas tu campak dalam longkang … mesti bumbung tak kemek punye!!!

• "do proton conduct dis for Exora?" — ha ha ha ha ha

• proton on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:06 am

bila proton exora/persona langgar trailer lori besar ni kat 80km/h, proton mesti takda masalah, ini proton tau?

tougher than you think?

hidup proton selama-lama nya. cucu cicit saya pun nak bawak proton!!!

alza tu, produk buruk dari toyota, tengok? toyota nak mampus dah!!!

• proton conduct exora test at spain la bro.. takkan tak tengok yg exora duk bergolek sume tu

• iskett on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:20 am

Seriously, my brother just crashed his iswara to a highay railing yesterday night at 40+ km/h. At a corner (it just rained) his tyre locked, and the rear swerved so he hit the side barrier almost full head on, before the car spun..

His front bumper kemek terok, one side tercabut , right headlamp hancur, and the front bonnet lekok quite a bit.. But car still running and drivable, but gear 1 and 2 like very rough and hard to shift (perhaps transmission affected).

He was uninjured, but quite shaken. Now, I'm not posting this to say Proton cars are safer or anything, and the cause of tyre lock is also a concern (the car is 9 years old).

What I'm trying to point out is how silly it is to test a car crash at 30 km/h and rate it 4 star if it passes. I know they are still working on faster crash speed, and other aspect of crash, and the focus of this test is on the child occupant, but note that NCAP uses 64 km/h for its frontal test.

So please don't conclude any car is safe just because it survives a 30km/h test. And seriously, MIROS should not start rating cars if they haven't got the proper facilities. The results are very misleading.. My brother's iswara is definately NOT 4 star, but it Alza is, despite the limited test done.

Again, i'm not saying Alza is not 4 star, just questioning how MIROS awards the MyVAP stars. Just my 2cents.

• that dummies…

are loan from P1 izit…? P2 hv dummies for crash test..?

rediculous… since they only know 'ubah bumper' je… haha

not full car development..

clarify this paul…

• Paul Tan on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:26 am

I dunno where the dummies are from. I'm assuming they belong to MIROS since they aim to setup a crash test facility… takkan takde dummies kot.

• katak on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:30 am

so we drive at 26km not at 110km, its make us stupid or MIMOS is stupid

y not do it at 100km come on mimos are we children.

do it the right way so the people get the right message,

• Paul Tan on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:30 am

iskett: As I've mentioned countless times before, this crash test is to test the vehicle underrun protection, so happens Perodua donated an Alza for them to use, not sure for what, perhaps publicity purposes on Perodua's part but looking at public reaction it may have backfired.

The 4 star MyVAP thing was tested before this crash test. The certificate was handed over the Perodua on the day of this outdoor underrun crash test itself, so it wasn't based on this crash test. The findings of the underrun crash test was only reported a few days later (hence this second story where we attended the press conference).

I have no idea on how the MyVAP 4 stars were calculated, since MIROS has no facilities yet. Perhaps outsourced like Proton's test in Spain. But apparently both the Exora and Alza have somehow managed 4 star MyVAP. I think consumers should not place too much importance on MyVAP ratings for now until they clarify what MyVAP is supposed to be.

• MBX Boy on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:30 am

Hope this is the beginning of many more test crashes. P1 and P2 needs to be compared to established brands when it comes to crash tests. So, we'll see: Honda Civic : how many "Miros" stars, Proton Exora: how many "Miros" stars.

• iaya….my 1993 saga better than this car, because my own experience

• bmpower on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:44 am

seems they were paid by p2.

look alike Alza promotion for me.

sorry. unacceptable at all!

Rubbish!

• MBX Boy on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:45 am

iskett said,

March 7, 2010 @ 11:20 pm

What I’m trying to point out is how silly it is to test a car crash at 30 km/h and rate it 4 star if it passes. I know they are still working on faster crash speed, and other aspect of crash, and the focus of this test is on the child occupant, but note that NCAP uses 64 km/h for its frontal test.

———————————–

Good that your bro is ok. I've crashed my iswara into the back of a moving lorry too once (thank God it was moving, cause I think I was driving at 100kmh before I dozed off). Honestly, iswaras are not the best cars in safety around. Probably will only score zero or half an NCAP star.

Anyway, I agree to what you wrote. But just to point out, recently NCAP increased their frontal crash test speed to 72kmh (45mph). It was 64kmh (40mph) for quite a long time.

I think that's the way to go. I think NCAP will keep increasing the speed as time passes by to raise the safety bar. Anyway, most cars tested by NCAP nowadays are now scoring 4 or 5 stars quite "easily". Manufacturers are improving in car safety. Honestly, if MIROS is worried about starting their standards by doing frontal 40mph (64kmh) tests because our P1 and P2 cars will look like real milo cans, perhaps they can crash test all cars sold in Malaysia at a slower speed, say 50kmh for example. Hopefully P1 and P2 will improve safety in the next 3 or 4 years, then, next step, the speed can be increased to say 56kmh for example. Just my 2 cents.

• Two_Faces on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:18 am

For reference, Daihatsu Sirion 2005 (aka Perodua Myvi) NCAP ????crash test!!

That's the minimum result u can expect from most Japanese car these day (or better).

I believe Alza should be easily achieving this^^

• King Samurai on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:43 am

A bit off-topic but are u guys wondering where the interior view of the collision footages came from?

The images we see here were captured on board a special video device called Drive Recorder. An active safety device that captures live images upon impact that includes a GPS speed (what you saw 23km/h at impact), G-sensors, voice recorder and even can be connected to on board navi system to point the exact location of incident occurred. The device is now installed almost 70% on board public transport in Japan especially taxis since introduced into their market in 2006. MIROS is also currently studying the importance of this particular device and may suggest to govt to implement Drive Recorder to be installed on public transport. I was somehow involved in this project to some extend (before I switched job) as part of the our very own crash test centre project which currently undergoing construction somewhere in Melaka as Paul mentioned.

We seem here to bash MIROS for the publicity without knowing what is MIROS actually up to. Yes, indeed this outdoor crash test was a publicity to kick start the MyVap ratings once the crash test centre is fully functional. To answer question about the dummies, yes they belong to MIROS and all the equipment including Drive Recorders are from MIROS (most of them were sponsored). Prior to this 'publicity' test, MIROS team have extensively conduct studies on the crash test including visiting test centres in Europe and in Japan. I was given the opportunity (with MIROS) to witness Japan's crash test centre belongs to NTSEL (National Traffic Safety and Environtment Labroratory) where they responsible for type approval in Japan. Their facilities were huge, superbly high tech and to what under MIROS plan was not even close to their entire program and facilities. But it was a great eye-opener and I believe MIROS is working extremely hard in setting up the first crash test centre in South East Asia. They're working closely with their europeans and the japanese counterparts towards educating our society about vehicle safety and road safety…don't just bash..support them. It was a great pleasure to work with Prof. Farhan (MIROS Director General)'s team on this crash test project; most of them are young engineers, energetic, passionate and have completely different mindset of govt officers that we used to know. Hope this will be the milestone for us Malaysian to have more concern on road safety. But no matter how MIROS contribute towards the safety awareness, if our attitude don't change..nothing will happen.

• satako on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:50 am

there is much more to look into other than speed.

setup of the car, the specific regulation would call for specific dummies, luggages, to ensure the test is carried out at the regulated weight with regulated speed.

other than Head Injury Criteria, there is rib deflection, chest deflection, pelvic, leg, etc. many many items would be view to ensure the passenger and driver is okay.

ECE regulation is mainly ensuring the car is up to the standard, and doesn't provide any information about how safe the car is.

If you want to know more about safety, you can look at www.euroncap.com

cheers..

• Arcane (Member) on Mar 08, 2010 at 9:09 am

I just wanna know when, where, and how did MIROS award the 4-star MyVAP ratings to the Exora and Alza, since they don't have the facility to do so.

• LiuLaySan on Mar 08, 2010 at 9:57 am

But no matter how MIROS contribute towards the safety awareness, if our attitude don’t change..nothing will happen.

==============================================

what is MIROS contributing towards safety? Please don't even try to sugar coat the test MIROS has conducted, we Malaysian aren't stupid and illiterate. What's taking the DG and MIROS so long to be the body to ensure car makers in Malaysia or cars imported into Malaysia adhere to international standards?

Education is almost worthless if there's no regulation. Therefore its suffice to say, MIROS is all but a toothless tigers that goes around the world with tax payers money only to come back and conduct road safety awareness? Ptuii.

They want support, earn it. We Malaysian are already supporting MIROS by allowing such agency to exist using tax funds, not the DG Prof Farhan grandfather money.

In case you have forgotten, this is already 2010, not 1980 or 1990. A bit too late, but yet they are slow in what ever they're doing,and if by using Alza at 30km to kick start their 'awareness campaign' it has started with a failure.

Capiche?

• nabill on Mar 08, 2010 at 11:01 am

the way things are here , there no such thing as an independent body , i jus cant trust watever they catogorise as 'findings'….

• peYno on Mar 08, 2010 at 2:28 pm

According to MIROS, one of the reason why they decided to conduct the test at 30 km/h was because the runway wasn’t long enough.

==========

prrrfthh what a lame excuse…

• peYno on Mar 08, 2010 at 2:31 pm

Two_Faces said,

March 8, 2010 @ 12:18 am

For reference, Daihatsu Sirion 2005 (aka Perodua Myvi) NCAP ????crash test!!

That’s the minimum result u can expect from most Japanese car these day (or better).

I believe Alza should be easily achieving this^^

==========

prrrfthhhh

Passo has their own crash test… so does Sirion Daihatsu… if they are sharing same platform, why they need to conduct two diff crash test???

• btol jgk tu paul… ehehe..

lupe lak MIROS :p

• dzulx on Mar 08, 2010 at 4:31 pm

King Samurai said,

March 8, 2010 @ 12:43 am

We seem here to bash MIROS for the publicity without knowing what is MIROS actually up to. Yes, indeed this outdoor crash test was a publicity to kick start the MyVap ratings once the crash test centre is fully functional…………….

——————————–

I understand your feeling against all these mindless people.. They even can't understand the objective and the importance of the test. Clearly they did not read and think carefully and hence brainless. They will not stop bashing and whining unless govt give them RM10k every month for free.. Even so they will still bash saying 10k "mana cukup…"

• 4G63tDSM on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:00 pm

While on the surface is nice and dandy,

Why would MIMOS have to come up with some other rating system. What is MyVAP ratings anyway? Can't we use the established Euro NCAP and save loads of money just by specificating the same test. JPJ will jsut have to make sure the specs sold is identical (I can see all local car producers having problems here)

Perhaps do equivalence tests on cars that do not have NCAP ratings, at least that is something usefull. But knowing malaysia, we always have a special rating system for us…usually lower requirements or gets watered down (our education system is a prime example of lowering standards).

Anti-submarine barriers on trucks have been in existance and there are plenty of crash reports/tests done….why duplicate that if not for publicity only? I'm sure some of these departments would have trouble with thier KPIs…hence finding things "to do".

• In fact we're all crash test dummies..

• theanswer on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:12 pm

bila proton exora/persona langgar trailer lori besar ni kat 80km/h, proton mesti takda masalah, ini proton tau?

tougher than you think?

hidup proton selama-lama nya. cucu cicit saya pun nak bawak proton!!!

yes..i agree..because how bad is p1(or even p2) govt will help them. govt wont even let vw help p1 for the sake of patriotism. p1 know that how bad is p1, ppl will always accept them. so no worries.

• Is MIROS qualified to issue a vehicle safety rating anotherword is MIROS a get certificate on this? Is their equipments meets all the std req? I hope they are…if not it juat waste of ppl money. BTW I think P1 and P2 (daihatsu/toyota) already done the test prior to mass production!

• Ahmad on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:29 pm

King Samurai said,

March 8, 2010 @ 12:43 am

———————————————

I fully support the MIROS initiative…good info & an eye opener as well.

• Alifz on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:34 pm

Miros should also ensure all underrun protection is up to specification eg. type of steel, detail of the mount, bracket details etc. and not just DIY at somewhere at backyard workshop.

• There were no visible signs of injury to the properly secured child. In contrast, the 3-month baby in the hands of the adult was thrown forward hitting the back of the driver’s seat.

—————————————————————–

Seen lots of msian holding their child at the front passenger seat….thats scary. Child restrainer seats should be made mandatory here. Yes its extra cost but in my opinion, the child life is more valuable!….Just my opinion

• pomen_gtr on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:35 pm

ehhh…

wait wait wait….

did miros says they test the alza to get crash rating???

they actually test underrun add-on bar on the trailer…please read properly and don't simply bashing….

• learner on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:39 pm

i personally think that if want to test the vehicle underrun protection (not the car itself) why want to use brand new car? of cause i know p2 donate the car for publicity purpose but miros suppose to use the older car since i believe at that speed the damage to any car are almost the same (which make it hard to tell this car is better than that car at this speed). the test should save people in any vehicle be they in old dutsun or in brand new mercedes s-class. for example, if they use the old 1985 saga that they can buy around rm5000 only or just ask for the old car from proton or perodua since they have a lot of them under exchange program instead of brand new alza, and if the result revealed that the saga is safe because of the vehicle underrun protection than logically all vehicle better than saga will be safe too.

i believe the myvap rating is using 'eye and touch' test only (sound like PUSPAKOM inspection) if im not wrong, if wrong than just forget about what i said. so the 4 star sound so easy to get even by looking at vehicle specification only.

• leonardo on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:15 pm

Hello people – this test is to measure the effectiveness of the underrun for lorries in rear collision for cars/MPV. Not about P2 or P1. This proposal was actually mooted many years ago but they were not strictly enforced by JPJ and Police.

Malaysians can only be confident about the crash test results once MIROS complete facilities will be completed and commissioned in June 2010, as indicated by this article. And surely not crash tested at 30 km/h! (Equivalent to 60 km/h impact).

And another thing – crash test ALL cars sold on Malaysian roads, not just P1and P2 but also all CKDs and imports from Thailand, China, Korea, etc. I would like to see the results of branded cars such as Toyota, Honda. Nissan, Mazda, since i know the specs for Malaysia is different from those in Japan or other export markets.

Another thing – there are many silly bloggers example of crash experience of very old Sagas since the benchmark was raised over the years. Why don't anyone tell about their crash experience on the Toyota KE30 or the 2nd Gen Honda Civic, which is the same period of the Saga?

Good luck MIROS, at least this is a start for better things to come.

• LiuLaySan on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:54 pm

I understand your feeling against all these mindless people.. They even can’t understand the objective and the importance of the test. Clearly they did not read and think carefully and hence brainless. They will not stop bashing and whining unless govt give them RM10k every month for free.. Even so they will still bash saying 10k “mana cukup…”

==============================================

Tell us what is the importance, and objective of the test, the significance of it?

This is just another 'wayang kulit' a MIROS PR drive to show after all this years, after all the traveling..'lawatan sambil belajar' to Japan and Europe, they did achieve something – testing Alza at 30km?

Who is the DG, what is his experience, some public university lecturer pickup to fill in the vacancy? Did he ever work with testing facilities either in Europe or Japan before ?

Another 'wayang kulit' and waste of public funds. We bash because after the millions and many more millions spend of public funds, this and only this will you have to show?

• madimat on Mar 08, 2010 at 9:34 pm

If they do the test, people will bash. If they don't do the test, people will bash even more. It is like, "I want to do my own crash test before I buy you car, can aaa…?".

Then people go die in their own crash test, and they wont complain anymore.

• critism on Mar 08, 2010 at 10:57 pm

4G63tDSM said,

March 8, 2010 @ 9:00 am

While on the surface is nice and dandy,

Why would MIMOS have to come up with some other rating system. What is MyVAP ratings anyway? Can’t we use the established Euro NCAP and save loads of money just by specificating the same test. JPJ will jsut have to make sure the specs sold is identical (I can see all local car producers having problems he………………………….

Please correct your statement and some other commenters here. It is not "MIMOS" but "MIROS", OK?

• To the anti bashers, to quote the objective of the test

"the objective of the test was to ascertain the effectiveness and level of damage sustained by the energy absorbing underrun installed at the back of a commercial vehicle, to analyze the safety levels involving a child seated in a child safety seat compared to a child wearing just the rear seat belt as well as to analyze the degree and type of casualties sustained by occupants of a vehicle involved with a rear-end collision against a stationary vehicle."

The results of the test fails to achieve any objective cos all real-life collissions happen at speeds way above 30kn/h or 23km/h as reported by some forumers. What would happen if the Alza crashed at speeds of 60 km/h? Would the rear-end rallings be strong enough to absorb the impact or would the Alza be pinned under.

Something for the anti-bashers to ponder.

• > The results of the test fails to achieve any objective cos all real-life collissions

> happen at speeds way above 30kn/h or 23km/h as reported by some forumers.

This is a real-life crash into a stationary truck on a highway:

http://miros-road-safety.blogspot.com/2010/02/ceo…

It is a car that was probably rated four stars in Euro NCAP:

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/bmw_5_series_2004/2…

• However, it is certainly good to figure out to what extent (for example, up to what speed, what kind of injury etc) the proposed devices are useful.

• ReactiX on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:33 am

30km/h? even my bicycle can run faster than that…

• ex-proton on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:50 am

MIROS should have rented the crash test facilities at PROTON….they have the proper setup…

who in world perform a crash test like this?

what? u think crash test is like a picnic aahh? can do outside?

u are doing the crash test on ALZA..proton will gladly publish the results to everyone….

• think on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:17 am

I WILL ONLY SAY ONE THING…UNTILL THE GOVERMENT ABOLISHES THE TAXES ON CARS,,,NO POINT OF CONDUCTING ALL THIS SAFETY PROCEDURES..AFTERALL,MAJORITIES OF MALAYSIANS CAN'T AFFORD A SAFE CAR…HAVE TO USE A CAR FOR ALMOST 20 YEARS…WHAT A PITY SITUATION..SOME OF THE GOVERMENT MINISTERS ONCE SAID THAT THE PROTON PERDANA'S MAINTENANCE IS VERY HIGH COMPARED TO A CAMRY..IF THEY THEMSELF GETTING CARS WITHOUT TAXES AND CANCULATING THE LEVEL OF EXPENDITURES NEED TO FACE AND STATING US THE EXPENSES,,,WE NORMAL MALAYSIANS HOW MANY TIMES HAVE TO CALCULATE WHEN PURCHASING A CAR….THINK……….

• Ah Chye on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:41 am

4/5 stars EURO NCAP is safe. Global player targeting 6 stars. Did 4 stars MYVAP equal with EURO NCAP 4 stars?? I dun think so… I really dun think so…

Proton Impian/Waja score 3 stars EURO NCAP and the car structure was damage quite bad. It effects it's chassis frame. Brake pedal and throttle may injure your ankle. Try this "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IiVGg2wgBbw"

After you watch that video…

Our guys are under standard…. hehehehe..

You guys rock!!! Raise ur standard. M'sia Boleh!!!

Later, throw your monkey to P1 & P2. Let them headache… I like to see which one get migraine first… Hehehee

Keep Building Our Nation

• dzulx on Mar 09, 2010 at 7:41 am

speechless with all the comments.. Ohh my fellow Malaysian..

• learner on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:12 pm

leonardo said,

March 8, 2010 @ 12:15 pm

Another thing – there are many silly bloggers example of crash experience of very old Sagas since the benchmark was raised over the years. Why don’t anyone tell about their crash experience on the Toyota KE30 or the 2nd Gen Honda Civic, which is the same period of the Saga?

i think you better read my post again and again until you fully understand. as i mentioned earlier and you quickly mentioned too just after my post, the demo is to test the vehicle underrun protection. if to make sure the underrun protection is sufficiently designed and will be saving the people in the car that bottoming the lorry with the underrun protection than even the oldest car should past the test at 30kmh. i think you should twist your brand a bit here and there. quickly calling someone silly is reflecting yourself.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:35 pm

Actually, Msia have no crash std. It is so dangerous. Just take Kancil, Kelisa, Viva and Myvi for example. The rear end of the car is flat. What if the car is hit from the back, for sure the rear passenger will left with no butt…..Ever wonder???

• farghmee on Mar 10, 2010 at 3:54 am

wehhh…

korang ni agak2nye faham ke maksud UNDERRUN?

yg sampai jadi kes speed 30km/h, alza xkuat etc. ni apekebendanye?

jgn la offtopic lebih2 sgt..

UNDERRUN tu ialah besi yg macam tiang gol terbalik kt belakang lori.

fungsinye utk elak kenderaan yg langgar belakang lori tu masuk ke bawah lori.

isunye skrg ialah adakah UNDERRUN tu direka mengikut spec yg ditentukan?

xfaham? xkn nk buat underrun pakai kayu beluti?

seingat aku mmg ada guidline utk buat underrun kt carriage ni.

steel type apa, thickness berapa, panjang berapa, jarak dr load berapa, kena letak getah buffer @ xletak etc…

• xmizanx on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:56 am

all of malaysian car are not safe….

• Neutral on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:29 am

good start MIROS.some basher not even read the article properly.just excited to critic,critic and critic.of course MIROS refer to NCAP method to evaluate the rank 4 star for both Exora and Alza beb! actual crash test at oversea as per NCAP and invite Miros to joint and verify the result. perhaps the next local test will be much better.

• Noname on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:10 am

Halo………..better buy bulldozer. If you don't understand what the test mean.

• Noname on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:16 am

The car is safe……..only the driver not safe……….drive like F1 car.

• hwt said,

March 8, 2010 @ 4:44 pm

"This is a real-life crash into a stationary truck on a highway:

http://miros-road-safety.blogspot.com/2010/02/ceo…

It is a car that was probably rated four stars in Euro NCAP:

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/bmw_5_series_2004/2…

– – – – – – – – – – — – – – – – – – – — — – – – – — – — – –

Thats not a fair comparison cos the BMW was probably doing speeds in excess of 110 km/h whilist the crash test is at only 64 km/h. FYI, not many cars (save for F1) will survive crash at speeds above 100 km/h.

When I mean crash, i mean at the point of impact, meaning the car skiids or the driver did not apply any brakes.

• x cakap banyak on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:50 am

P2 pandai beli MIROS utk dapat **** for alza………jimat x payah crash test kat luar negara.

• hamssss on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:54 am

ACCORDING TO THE ALZA CRASH TEST, MIROS SAID THEY CONDUCTED THE TEST AT 30KM/H BECAUSE THE RUNWAY AT MIAT DENGKIL WASNT LONG ENOUGH????!!!!!!!!!

WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I STUDY AT MIAT DENGKIL AND THE GOD DAMN RUNWAY IS SOO DAMN LONG AND THEY ONLY USED A QUARTER OF IT.

GOD DAMN LIARS.

AND THEY SAID THERE WAS NO BREAKAGE AT THE DASHBOARD?!!!

I HAVE A GOD DAMN PICTURE OF THE DASHBOARD AND IM GOING TO SEND IT TO YOU PAULTAN.

THEY KEPT THE CARS AT THE HANGAR OF MY PLACE FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS AND I TOOK A LOT OF PICTURES.

EVEN THE AIRCOND KNOW WAS BROKEN FOR NO REASON.

http://paultan.org/2010/03/07/miros-reveals-outdo…

• CayaNunAlif on Mar 11, 2010 at 3:37 pm

Alza using Avanza engine right? and also chassis mot much differ from Avanza..

So, if that the cases, the REAL CrashTest is here…

Kosmo Online- "Tiga maut Avanza rempuh treler"

http://www.kosmo.com.my/kosmo/content.asp?y=2010&…

• learner on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:36 pm

CayaNunAlif said,

March 11, 2010 @ 7:37 am

Alza using Avanza engine right? and also chassis mot much differ from Avanza..

So, if that the cases, the REAL CrashTest is here…

Kosmo Online- “Tiga maut Avanza rempuh treler”

http://www.kosmo.com.my/kosmo/content.asp?y=2010&…
    ______________________________________________________________________-

i deeply condolence with the family. i believe the speed is more than 30kmh but less than 90kmh as the damaged is not like the example of BMW 5-series. so the picture actually showing the real life crash situation at average accident speeds that can either cause death or just minor injury. obviously the lorry don't have the underrun protection. assuming the lorry have the underrun protection, do you think at the accident speeds at least one person will survive? so miros suppose to do crash test at 60 to 70kmh to see either the underrun protection can really save life or not. at 30kmh, i bet no one is dead in what ever vehicles (if there any, maybe because their own stupidity such as not wearing seat belt) so instead to test the underrun protection at 30kmh which is not necesarrily will kill people even without underrun protection, why not test it at a speed that is suppose can kill people? see if the underrun protection can save the life at the average killing speed without underrun protection.

• tired of msian ppl b on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:27 pm

tired reading all those bashing P2 n MIROS. am not goin to cover up even though I am one of the fellow crew that were there at the crash test area.

just one thing for sure, read > think > comment (with no rude word please). hope this helps bringing Msia as one of the good countries seen by other nation.

thanks.

• Hondas on Mar 16, 2010 at 5:31 am

How safety and tough of the car is………for those reckless driver out there give no different……….in the 70's cars do we found any safety spec……..yeah yeah now is the high technology world…………but still have crazy driver without knowledge of self and other's safety………just think of…………wow this car have this and that……….the first question will always ask is how fast the car can go………….please read and understand what is the test ………….before bashing………… :)