McLaren set to show production ready P1 at Geneva

McLarenP1_rendering

The McLaren P1, successor to the legendary F1 hypercar, will make its debut in production-ready form at the Geneva Motor Show next month. The rendered picture above is largely identical to the original 600 PS per tonne concept car shown last year, and in the video below we get a first taste of how the force-inducted V8 sounds. Feisty, that’s how.

Next to no detail is given, other than a pair of pictures showing a race-inspired digital instrument panel in two modes – normal and Race. On the road the digital readout looks like a very simplistic view of a regular meter cluster, showing the engine rev, speed and of course, the engaged gear in a normal road car manner.

Put it on a racetrack, initiate Race mode and the view changes. The speedometer no longer takes centre stage – the gear you’re in is more important than exact speed when you’re attacking set curves. The rev counter disappears, replaced by a set of colour-coded lights à la-Formula 1 to assist its driver in getting the perfect shift times. Gamers who’ve tried drag racing in Need For Speed will know that it’s no mean feat.

The production-ready P1 made a full camo-ed cameo appearance at McLaren’s latest Formula 1 contender, the MP4-28 unveiling last week, driven by team leader Jenson Button. Poor new recruit Sergio Perez only got his hands on the MP4-12C Spider. My my, the season has yet to start and the young Mexican is already getting the short end of the stick handed to him it seems.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• I.ME™ on Feb 07, 2013 at 3:08 pm

This car should attract many buyers from Malaysia. Funnily, ONLY in Malaysia you get Lamborgini buyers who are jobless and do not work but somehow they seem to have lots of money. Quite a lot of luxury car buyers are jobless sons of government servants!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Blizz on Feb 07, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Hmmm. Looks like huayra from the side

• The Ferrari F70 killer.

• I.ME© on Feb 07, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Like they say on worldcarfans, how do you even know?the specs aren’t unveiled yet.

If things goes the way like the mp4-12c and 458. Most likely The mclaren will be a technological orgy while the Ferrari will be a driving passion. If it goes that way.

• kicap on Feb 07, 2013 at 6:15 pm

From side looks like hennessey venom and the car already looks georgeous even with the camouflage sticker!

• GT-Rider on Feb 07, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Can this one smoke GT-R?

• Ah Beng on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:11 am

This P1 is better than the one made by P1 in Malaysia.