Continental ContiSilent gives you the silent treatment

Continental_ContiSilent

Continental AG has introduced a new technology that substantially reduces tyre noise inside the cabin to increase car comfort. Dubbed ContiSilent, it’s a breakthrough invention that cuts tyre noise without compromising the tyre’s outright grip and safety.

The new noise-sapping technology comprises of a coating that is bonded to the inside of the tread area after the tyre production process. This layer of foam has a strong damping effect on the sound waves caused by the tyre, reducing rolling noise by up to 9 dB (measured from inside the car).

ContiSilent tyre components are designed to be applied on standard production tyres, so performance characteristics such as braking, handling and wet grip are not affected. Traditionally, specially designed tread patterns and rubber compounds are used to reduce noise, at the expense of the tyre’s performance.

Audi is the first car manufacturer to use this technology, fitting new Audi RS6 Avant, RS7 Sportback and A8 models with ContiSilent tyres. The RS models utilise them on standard ContiSportContact 5 P rubber, while the flagship A8 limo will be equipped with ContiSilent tyres from the ContiSportContact 5 range.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• decibels on Aug 12, 2013 at 8:06 pm

wow 9dB is a lot! 8 times less noise!

3dB = 2x
    6dB = 4x
    9dB = 8x

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Kaizer on Aug 12, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Nice.. When will it arrive in Malaysia?

• yangsfx on Aug 12, 2013 at 8:56 pm

RS6 Avant, RS7 and A8; all those are higher end model.
    Sounds like this Conti tyre price also high end.

• droll on Aug 12, 2013 at 10:00 pm

are these runflat or radials?

• Steve on Aug 12, 2013 at 10:27 pm

Hopefully there is a 15inch size for this. I loved the Michelin primacy LC but no more in production

• Oblivion52 on Aug 12, 2013 at 10:46 pm

If this can couple with Yokohama’s Orange Oil technology then would be perfectly silent yet grip-pier n much more fuel saving.

• flat_tire on Aug 13, 2013 at 2:45 am

sometimes i would give the silent treatment to those that annoy me.. might wanna throw a tyre at their heads while i’m at it as well lol..

• lamyf on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:36 am

can the tyre be repaired conventionally if the tyre have a puncture? ie in the normal tyre shop?
    looks like it can’t be repaired normally..

• the driver on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:57 am

Brilliant yet simple idea

• Jilbaber on Aug 13, 2013 at 9:14 am

Please make 13inch version so I can apply it to my small car. Small car need good sound insulation too meh…beside it sure laku punya in Malaysia coz most people here pakai kancil and viva oni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • ntah pa2 on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:04 am

kasi mulah2 sudah lah..kalau satu sudah 500 ratus mana aku mampu..kasi mulah2, manyak jual manyak untung, hati pon senang..

• Many car in malaysia fitted with Continental Tyre burst and accident.

And i mean it: burst resulting loosing control of the car.

not tyre puncit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Izzard on Aug 13, 2013 at 4:48 pm

My ContiPremiumContact2 already almost 3 years but no bursting. Are you sure it isn’t because of their driving methods (e.g. speeding, high speed cornering, etc)?

• Anonymous on Aug 13, 2013 at 5:21 pm

My Conti tyre is working fine. Been using it almost 3 years. Working perfectly fine. I guess it boils down to driving style. Its an establish brand so definitely a lot of R&D involved.

• kancildriver on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:46 pm

unless this statement is backed by substantial statistical data or reports from authority, this statement is just another irresponsible remark indeed.