J.D. Power – after-sales service improves in Malaysia

DSC_0121b

How do you rate vehicle after-sales service in Malaysia? Satisfaction with authorised service centres among new-vehicle owners of most national and non-national brands have improved, according to the recently released J.D. Power Asia Pacific 2013 Malaysia Customer Service Index (CSI) Study.

The study, now in its 11th year, measures overall service satisfaction among owners who took their vehicle to an authorised SC for service maintenance and/or repair work during the first 12-24 months of ownership. Satisfaction is determined by five factors: service quality (38%), vehicle pick-up (20%), service initiation (14%), service advisor (14%) and service facility (14%). Overall satisfaction stands at 758 index points (on a 1,000-point scale) in 2013, an 18-point improvement from 2012.

“While there is room to further improve service standards among the brands, dealerships are doing a good job with the service advisor greeting customers when they arrive; having the vehicle ready when it is originally promised; informing customers when to schedule their next visit; and getting the work done right the first time,” said Rajaswaran Tharmalingam, country head at J.D. Power Asia Pacific.

He further noted that the gap in service satisfaction between national and non-national brands in Malaysia has steadily narrowed to 23 points in 2013, from 31 points in 2012 and 48 in 2011.

chevy-service

“Customers expect their service advisor to make sure they understand the work being done to their vehicle, as well as answer their questions and provide advice, if needed. Overall customer satisfaction suffers when their service advisor fails to meet their expectations. It is important for dealerships to make continuous improvements in customer service and create a robust and lasting experience among customers,” Tharmalingam added.

Going beyond those expectations and providing an additional service, such as washing the vehicle before returning it, positively impacts customer satisfaction, it was pointed out.

Among the 15 brands included in the 2013 study, BMW ranks highest in overall customer service satisfaction for a third consecutive year, with a score of 817. Volkswagen (793) ranks second, followed by Honda and Mazda in a tie (786 each). Mitsubishi (765) achieves the highest improvement among all brands, with a 34-point increase.

The 2013 study is based on responses from 2,772 new-vehicle owners who purchased their vehicle between February 2011 and May 2012 and took their vehicle for service to an authorised centre between August 2012 and May 2013. The study was fielded between February and May 2013.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ron Simmons on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:12 am

VW is number 2? There must be some integrity issues in the JD Power survey. Now I doubt all the other 4 ratings too.

Any different points of view?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • i owned a vw for the past 3 yrs…their after sales at my frequent SC are lousy during my first year of ownership, improved a bit in the 2nd year and quite ok now but i dont rate them as high as this. I did went to another sc while out of the klang valley few months back, that sc really good. maybe, its because volume there are low and they can serve better compared to most klang valley sc which are quite jammed packed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:20 pm

‘responses from 2,772 new-vehicle owners who purchased their vehicle between February 2011 and May 2012’

so, figures arent actually that reliable. and perhaps, those serviec centres only focus their attention on customers of that segment.

which is simply pathetic.

• Basher on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:19 pm

And what evidence you have to say that?

• i owned bmws for nearly 10 years now and i can say they are ok but no way deserving the first prize and i never had my experience surveyed before, i think maybe they only choose customers with ‘importance’. not a double or triple blinded survey.

• I saw lots of people bashing VW service but yet it took number 2. So who is wrong now?

• seancorr on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Not only VW got many negative remarks but its the same for BMW. We all know the current F30 has a lot of quality issues so how did they get pole position in this survey? Want to see some of the complains? Go to BMW Malaysia’s FB page and take a look for yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • alldisc on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:22 pm

surprisingly, there is no report at all on BMW problems on any publication on earth.

coincidence, no? ask paul…

• Basher on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:18 pm

We all know F30 got problem? I dunno wor… Anyone else also dunno? Raise your hands pls.

• oblong on Aug 15, 2013 at 6:29 pm

Basher…ur name sound like coming from Sudan…in Malaysia current batch of F30 got problem and everybody in Malaysia know it. Go check www.bmwclubmalaysia.com under “Compilation of problems of F30 u encountered”.

• Basher on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Daer Oblong, yes, all Malaysians know F30 got problem including the makcik selling nasi lemak to me in the morning. She keeps complaining about her F30, bad car… So does her her whole family, they all own one. I come from Sudan, that’s why I dunno F30 got problem. The F30s in Sudan all very good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • i own the f30 328i CBU for 2 years now so far ok no big problems, only thing i can recall was my car had a problem with the telephone module and coolant tank sensor ( common issues)both covered by warranty, but no major problems. i dont know about CKD (maybe someone else can enlighten about that). overall reliability good but service not so good.

• oblong on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:24 am

Basher, if you wanna troll here with ur nasi lemak story then better u go back to Khartoum.

• Kereta Man on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:39 am

This fella must own a nasi lemak stall.. so obessed about his nasi lemak and mak cik nasi lemak..

• Basher on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Boo hoo hoo, I’m going back to Sudan. All these Malaysian BMW owners are bullying me cuz I’m not Malaysian and therefore do not own a BMW, or a VW, for that matter. You wait till I get my Malaysian citizenship, then I’ll get a BMW and a VW and then I’ll send them to service. Cuz by then, I will have the privilege to bash them like you guys.

• Toyota and Nissan?

• Load of craaaap on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:39 am

How the heck can WV and BMW be ranked first and second? They perform one of the worst, if not the worst in after sales services… Something is really really wrong here… So far, UMW’s after sales for toyota and Lexus customers are one of e best, if not the best… It’s a fact we can’t away away from… Honda and Nissan’s after sales are superb too. Next to UMW Toyota. Rating BMw and VW as the top for customer satisfaction is like rating Proton’s after sales to be the top.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Basher on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:09 pm

And it appears that everyone here owns a Nissan, BMW, Toyota, VW, Honda… And of course have sent them all to their respective service centres?

• glaze on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:46 am

are you sure VW is second? In this case it will be suspicious on the figures provided. Go check at VGM facebook page and see the comments…mostly are negative.

• Basher on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:17 pm

“Mostly” came from people who don’t even own a anything remote to a German car.

• glaze on Aug 16, 2013 at 1:53 am

“Mostly” are own experience in VGM facebook page, register a facebook account and update urself :)

• Basher on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:00 am

So, do you need a VW proof of purchase to go comment on their FB? My own experience is that my Rolls Phantom has too many problems and the wheel keeps falling off. I’ve just posted in their FB page too.

• oblong on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:27 am

Troll! own BMW la…own Phantom la…provide proof of purchase la maybe post it on youtube…

• glaze on Aug 16, 2013 at 7:00 pm

too bad I didn’t see your post, pls link it? If you want links for VGM FB page for “most” complains, I can give it to you.

• old dog on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:06 pm

I have not even heard of a VW satisfy customer…LOL!
    This report i think they get from other country and put that assumption to be as Malaysia market! lol

• Basher on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Serious? VW sold more than 10k vehicles in Malaysia and no one was satisfied? Wow…. VW, please close door.

• heybadigol on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:12 pm

The results are a bit surprising. Which 15 brands were studied? Sounds like some brands were not surveyed.

• kadajawi on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:19 pm

From what I experienced the VW service isn’t too bad, they offered to pick up my relatives’ car when something went wrong etc. (something with the tyre pressure…). I guess it depends on the SC and perhaps on the problem.

It would be interesting to map out where disgrantled Facebook posts are from. Maybe the owners all go to the same SC…

Btw., got no link to the full results? Where are the other brands?

• seancorr on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:49 pm

They did not survey all the brands as some brands sold too few cars so was not included haha

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:26 pm

http://autos.jdpower.com/content/press-release/J4FaHej/2013-malaysia-customer-service-index-csi-study.htm

• johnny perjalanan kaki on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:47 pm

hmmm it did say survey for new vehicle owners..
    i guess because the cars are still under warranty that VW and BMW are up there..
    once the warranty is over would we really want them to milk us dry..
    Thank you FB for allowing us to hantam them..

• Basher on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:10 pm

You hantam them if you own one and have sent them to their service centres

• kl fella on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:57 pm

where is Mercedes? Mercedes should rank higher than BMW and VW among the conti makes..

• glaze on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:41 pm

i do agree with you, i’m having a VW and really disappointed with the after sales service…Mercedes did it better than BMW and VW

• Basher on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:14 pm

And I presume you won a Mercedes, BMW and VW to make this comparison? Don’t tell me your friend’s friend told you ah.

• glaze on Aug 16, 2013 at 1:55 am

yeah I won a Mercedes, BMW and VW, any issue?

• Basher on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:03 am

Sorry, I own a 1995 Kancil 660. I eat my words cuz you really have shown proof that you do own a Merc, Bimmer and VW.

• oblong on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:28 am

Waa somemore own Kancil lak!

• Nasi Lemak on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:42 am

Dont eat your words.. just eat your nasi lemak from your kancil..

• Basher on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Of course I own a Kancil laa. If I own expensive cars, you think I care what you people say ah? I’m just jealous of people owning BMW and VW only maa.

• kl fella on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:58 pm

forgot to add that i’m a BMW owner, their service i can say is not the best i’ve encountered.

• Basher on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Yes, only owners have the right to say good or bad. Proton owners, don’t talk about BMW or VW or any other brands for that matter.

• Ridzi on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Hahah you guys better be grateful. None of your problems can compare to Ford Malaysia. Ford Malaysia (Sime Darby) has the WORST after sales service in Malaysia.

• odd job worker on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:19 pm

here’s the link – http://autos.jdpower.com/content/press-release/J4FaHej/2013-malaysia-customer-service-index-csi-study.htm
    The reason the full 15 brands are listed is because the lowest 3 places go to ……….. u know who……

• Loh Wah Soon on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:27 pm

I don’t think VW after sales is so good….

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:31 pm

report says not enough sampling from peugoet? they are damn lucky.. but sure or not as peuoget is known to sell quite a number of cars recently.

Naza Kia however and not surprisingly is dead last.

• Kereta Man on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Something is really wrong here if VW ranks number 2 for overall customer satisfaction. VGM just wants to flood the market with their cars and has never been interested with customer service.. Thats a fact and everyone knows it. JD Powers, you guys will lose your reputation for this!

• Basher on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Izzit? Everyone knows ah? How do you know everyone knows? And again, for you to say this, I’m sure you own a VW.

• Kereta Man on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Looks like only you dont know.. Go back into the cave you came from.. “I am sure??”
        How sure are you I own a VW? How you know?

• Basher on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:07 am

Sorry, yes, I’m the only one in Malaysia that doesn’t know VW just wanna flood Malaysia with their cars and not care about customer service. The makcik selling me my nasi lemak this morning yelled at me cuz even she knows! Her 2 year old grand daughter also know (threw her telur rebus at me too). I’m trying to shift out of my cave but property prices too high lately. Yes, since you talk like you own a VW, now I am sure you own one. I’m so sorry that your VW turned out to be such a bad purchase.

• Kereta Man on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:21 am

What a joker. Looks like we have a new clown in town! Nasi lemak lover.. Hahaha.

• oblong on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:34 am

Kereta Man…should sell ur VW and live in cave like basher…her cave got makcik selling nasi lemak infront and also free wifi tapping from kedai mamak nearby…

• Kereta Man on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:47 am

Oblong, I think we should visit this cave this Sudananese Basher fella came from.. Can have some free nasi lemak.. haha..

• audi sc sux on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:16 pm

Audi not in the list , i think because their service worst than proton,naza…

• Basher on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:29 pm

Yes, another “I think” person…. I think Rolls Royce has the worst service in the world. You think so?

• go-all-the-way on Aug 15, 2013 at 5:32 pm

It’s like kind of marketing gimmick to me.

• frenzyaustin on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:14 pm

A lot of good car, Ford, VW, BMW and Peugeot suffered from bad after sales service according to PT and FB. On the other hand, lame car like Toyota has the best after sales service. Damn, why can’t we have best of both world!
    On the other hand, there is a worse of both world, bad car and service… you know what I’m thinking don’t you?

• JDnotPower on Aug 16, 2013 at 1:24 am

They took samples, from 2,772 owners, how many are national makes owners? They are only a part from the overall national makes owners in Malaysia. This could be misleading.
    The article is a joke. Where is the sample questionnaire? We don’t know what is actually asked, LOL. If like this a primary school student also can do.

• longjaafar on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:44 am

I’m not surprised that Audi is not on the list. I am very disappointed that such a good brand have landed themselves with such bad local service. But are they reading all these? Naah! they don’t relly bother..

• Shikimaru on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Been driving dad’s BMW’s and own a E90 320D for a few years never had any major problems.. only break squeel when brake pad left 20k KM. ??

Other brand salesman here to bash is it?? lol

• mocka on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:51 pm

1 says good and tells it to the world
      9 says bad but keeps silent to himself
      muahahahahaha

• porselinaheart on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:33 am

Errrrrr… according to the Press release on J.D Power’s site. Toyota ranks highest with a score of 826. Nissan ranks second with 823 points, followed by Suzuki (821), Mazda (813) and Ford (812).

why this article so pro-conti brands lerr?? bmw isn’t first lerr

link to jd power press release:
    http://www.jdpower.com/content/press-release/JkEEjA5/2013-malaysia-sales-satisfaction-index-ssi-study.htm

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:33 pm

This article refers to the J.D. Power Asia Pacific 2013 Malaysia Customer Service Index (CSI) Study, and not the newer 2013 Malaysia Sales Satisfaction Index (SSI) Study in the link above. They are two different studies.

Here’s a link to the J.D. Power 2013 CSI Study press release that this article is based on:
      http://www.jdpower.com/content/press-release/J4FaHej/2013-malaysia-customer-service-index-csi-study.htm

• porselinaheart on Sep 05, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Doh! thanks for the clarification Hafriz, :P Looks like my eyes weren’t working correctly yesterday, heh.