New Proton PCC hatchback teaser image in blue!

PROTON-IRIZ-PCC-BLUE

Proton has updated the teaser image for the upcoming Proton Compact Car on its betulbetulonz.com.my microsite. This time, a front three quarter image of a blue hatchback is shown.

We couldn’t assemble the image perfectly though, as unlike the previous teaser of the green car, Proton added black borders on the edges of each individual “puzzle piece” this time.

Which “Iriz” do you prefer, green or blue? Let us know in the comments. For more information on the new Proton, check out our Proton Compact Car infohub.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments mainly praise the Proton PCC hatchback’s attractive front and side design, especially in blue, with some expressing hope for improved interior quality and safety features like airbags. Enthusiasts anticipate the launch, hoping it will be competitively priced around RM25,000 to RM60,000, and see it as a strong contender both locally and globally. There is excitement about its potential to challenge rivals in style and safety standards, with some skepticism about its rear design and fit for overseas markets. Several comments express support for the local brand, while others criticize the car’s appearance or question Proton’s safety ratings, fearing possible misrepresentations like changing from ANCAP to ASEAN NCAP. Overall, the sentiment is a mix of optimism and anticipation for the full reveal.

• paultong on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:14 pm

look good…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 4
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Yes, definitely good color matching for the cheapest 5 star NCAP car. Double thumbs up for PROTON!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 7
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:35 pm

People who book for Axia will regretted..Hehe..Sure some of them will withdraw the booking and look for Iriz..Ah Beng can not wait this month launching..huhu..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 16
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:41 pm

definetely p2 salesman cant answer when his customer of axiah asking
          ” why aziah only 2 airbags?? why no DRL??? why ni CVT???

then p2 sslesman answer to customer
          ” proton no sales, proton nit good no japan DNA”

customer
          “#%^*<€£¥"

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 42
          • ProtonGSC on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Proton is Tun pride and proud of Bolehland.
            Proton fanboys love it to be expensive because the built quality that Tun promise.
            Tun love spyshot, Proton fanboys love Tun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
          • ProtonGSC on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Peyno
            Know nothing about Proton.

Proton brand, Global standard.
            Design didn’t copy others.
            Engine Campro (single tank travel whole m’sia)
            Safety NCAP or whatever ncap still better.
            Handling Lotus feel, even Real Lotus cars loses.
            Transmission like sportcar.

King of road and RV. Proton designer global standard with high salary.
            Tun love spyshot and sapshot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Whatever color, can Proton just LAUNCH it first?

Enough of teaser, leaked image, advertisement non sense! ENOUGH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
        • Indian Color on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Aiyoyo Samy… why why why … Blue la, Green la, Yellow la…

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 209
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Same Lorrr, rakyat smart already. They can’t b cheated again with bashers like you. Please improve your Toyoltak cars! People now condemning new Vios because of the poor quality. This news already circulating in Vios fb fan page. Please click below link:
          http://www.siakapkeli.com/2014/09/jangan-beli-sekarang-sebelum-menyesal.html

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 2
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:56 pm

yess
            rakyat smart oredi

rakyat now can differentiate between real toyota JDM snd crap umw unser avanza vios hiding behind japanese name

rakyat smart orediii

• !@#$%^& on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:59 pm

And you are in the same class of a toilet bowl, Same LOrrr!

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Fake Same L0rrr is here again. Ah Beng you really too free to impersonate me??

Real Same L0rrr never comment on people, I don’t have discrimination on city and kampung people.

Real Same L0rrr only discriminate on poor build quality and bad RV cars.

This Iriz not out yet, it is too early to say it is trash or not.

Real Same L0rrr always fact based. Just like Proton 5S lifestyle:
            1. Sendiri Cakap – fact
            2. Sendiri Syok – fact
            3. Sentiasa Rosak – fact
            4. Sales Carnival – fact
            5. Semakin Mahal – fact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
          • Obviously (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Told you to register your nick lor. It’s very common on these comment sections for ppl to hijack unregistered nicks.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:50 pm

yes most perodua macai who cant afford real toyota JDM car.. his dream car us UMW trd vios limited edition

and most rakyat prefer honda, bmw, audi n mazda as their dreamcar

• Pity you, full of hatred that will be impacting you yourself..

You know, among others who are waiting for this car are very successful people with luxury cars but wanted it as a second or third car…

Surely they did not fit the profile you mentioned..

• ahbeng ong on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:32 pm

be toyota owner like you??!!
          hahahahahaha!!!
          hahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!
          if all toyota owner like you i rather take bus to work…
          hahahahahaah!!!
          #barupakaitoyotasudahmaugebang

• frossonice on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:40 pm

You’re a racist cunt.

Deny all you want but I read between the lines and clearly see who you really point your insult to.

Shame.

• Still talking about toyota the king of tin kosong..

PUI…

• ProtonGSC on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:17 pm

John
            Why you never learn?
            Is UMW toyo, NOT Toyota !
            Learn John learn !!!

• alldisc on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:44 pm

agree with Proton GSC, dont you know it John… UMW is owned by PNB which is the govt itself?

of coz govt would want UMW and PNB to make as much revenue as possible but at the same time, pricing vios closely to persona (which is abt in 45-55K range) would not do good to Proton sales and will also eventually kill off myvi as no.1 selling car in malaysia.

you do know anything about car pricing in malaysia?

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:50 pm

90 dislikes within 1 hour!!!
          Oh my, rakyat memang smart ady..
          1.5 b000s for Same Lorrr per minute..Hahaha..
          Come on guys, lets make him invisible in Paultan..h0h0h0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:20 pm

I know I know, Ah Beng. you are so depressed on getting rid of me in Paultan, but no need go impersonate me and BS about kampung people.

Isn’t it your usual accent of asking ppl get out of Malaysia, go back to kampung??

I just can’t stop laughing when you use my name talk about kampung people. Ah Beng… Ah Beng…

• Rahman on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:56 pm

You own a Toyota and you think you are better than people. Puuiihh. Malay call you syok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Ibrahim on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Many proton perdana owners are chaufeured driven. Not like you looking for parking spaces like a hawk.

• ayamitik on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:13 pm

oh please Samelor,
          U are a disgrace to your kind. Work hard and buy a vios and Altis?

Vios is the lowest line in toyota while altis is in second rank from bottom.

Please says something like, work hard and aim for Mercedes Benz, BMW or Audi. That we call as luxury car. Vios and altis is just a budget car. Because it coming from ToYOLta, it doesnt mean it not crap.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:17 pm

be like toyota owner like u???
          umw avanza, unser, innova , vios u said toyota???

u really insulting toyota JDM owner,real toyota recon salesman n japanese generally

rakyat smart oredii

• sirokoroko on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:50 pm

if toyotong so high standard one y the new vios rooftop singing like milo can when rain pour on it?? stooopid….

• infinity on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Blue is definitely my cup of tea. The green IRIZ seems too funky for its design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:40 pm

What IRIZ stands for:
      I-llustrious car!
      R-ealization to be global car!
      I-deal car for young, professional and urbanites!
      Z-ealously to be no.1 in its segment!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
      • Ah Bengg on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Iriz = Idiots Really Insane Zombies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 52
        • Don’t understand why so much teasers? Just launch it. By the way, don’t think the highest spec will be cheap, around 60k-70k i guess.

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:12 pm

That’s so stupid. The Preve is slotted at the RM 60,000-70,000 price range.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Z = Zombie feel when driving the car.

• alldisc on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:45 pm

that is not a name at all. no meaning. not even a word. it is an acronym.

does this means all future proton cars will be based on acronyms as well?

• bbtree on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:17 pm

based on image, not bad

hope the quality and performance also commendable..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • nice!

• Fahmy on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Oh my..looking good!
    I think it will sells like hot cakes if the pricing is right..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:34 pm

damn … so many positive comments

tak boleh jadi ni

remember savvy??? sales?? power window prob??? no timing chain.. right hand signal…guna duit rakyat( petodia xpe)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 40
  • First impression reminds me of Myvi.
    Can’t help to think that Proton is following the global market trend of producing a hothatch, which was hot indeed like 2~3 years ago.
    Lets see if Proton could regain their market share with the PCC. Interesting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:42 pm

u never been in overseas rite

we understand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • Hi peyno

What’s that suppose to mean?
        Is being oversea anything to do with my comment???
        Pengsan.

• AliAhkauRamasamy on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Wayyyyyyyy better than MyVi.

• Potong on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:36 pm

RM 24,888..

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Thumb Down You !!!

Tun say “better built quality come with more expensive price”

• Low Budget on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Probably in your dream only, at RM24,888 is definitely suicidal, one would expect the lowest entry model at RM40K.

• Bataman on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Sohai. Only lowest Axia is RM 24k…milo kosong with manual transmission A-segment car.

Go ask Perodua reduce Mawi to RM25K, then you come back here.

• AzmanZainudin on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Hahaha, it a real thumbs up. The color daringly matched the design of the PCC. I cant wait 4 this car to launch, my personal opinion, Proton is really improving in styling aspect but it still have more to do though, in order to compete with the other automotive giants. But overall Proton did well, keep supporting our National Car Maker dude..,

• Ah Bengg on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Yes from 150k units to 10 million units as jaguh global car makers.

Jangan jatuh pokok kalau mimpi besar sangat, okay!

• Low Budget on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Agree! The look has improve and look more beautiful than other Proton models, hopefully Proton also improve on the inside and the fitting of the accessories too.

• Bataman on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Exterior look improves a bit. Rear still bland, but not ugly. Interior though…have to say, this is not global standard yet.

They need to redesign the dashboard if this is going to be sell overseas.

• xoomie on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:40 pm

when can we see the arse ???

• Ya la!!why hide the bedonkadoink??too hot for us to handle ke??too bootylicious is it??(well actually its already all over the internet right?)

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:42 pm

It’s effing ugly…
    Gonna end up like Savvy…
    Even more expensive than MyVi…
    Just not worth the money…

LOL….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
  • ANCAP TO ASEAN NCAP ..safety problems on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Blue, black, green all the same, the car sucks no matter what color it comes out !!

Proton has changed the 5 STAR ANCAP to 5 STAR ASEAN NCAP…..what gives PROTONG …ARE YOU TRYING TO HIDE SOMETHING WHICH ANCAP HAS DISCOVERED about your car !!!

Another ultimate failure even before launching the car …. CLOSE SHOP PROTONG !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 55
    • Ah Bengg on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Only really stupid crazy Australians would buy Proton there.

• NO MORE 5 Star Rating from ANCAP for Iriz on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:50 pm

I too noticed a few days back that Proton changed the 5 STAR ANCAP to 5 STAR ASEAN NCAP. You may see for yourself right now, at the Iriz website, and compare them with the photos that Paul posted here on Merdeka Day. Proton DEFINITELY changed it for some reason.

But WHY ? This makes me very, very angry, disappointed and worried. Does this mean that the Iriz is not 5 Star ANCAP rated ?

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:53 pm

5 is bigger than 4

no safwty, no cvt, no drl, no 6 airbags

• Wow!! Sharp eyes…

• You are the ultimate idiot.

• driver on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:44 pm

new bullet huh?

the car wasn’t even launched. but at least it has 6, SIX airbags. how many myvi got?

• kereta kompak on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:50 pm

where on earth did they mentioned about it??

• Yang bising-bising ni,loan dah lepas belum?

Aku tak nak tengok kau orang tak test drive lagi,lepas tu bising berdasarkan reference makcik kepada kawan kepada sedara kau orang yang kereta ni tak guna.

Jangan sebab loan tak lepas nak angkat vios,marahkan Proton pulak.

According to insiders,Proton tukar ASEAN NCAP sebab Euro NCAP belum officially keluar results.It’s safe to say,Proton is following the rule of making it officially certified first.

Kau ni mesti jenis orang yang share berita palsu dekat Facebook tanpa klik link,ataupun jenis komen terus tanpa tekan link,ataupun jenis orang yang tengok artis bogel dalam link,terus nak tekan.

Some Malaysians.Sigh~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • INI BODOH PUN ADA !! on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:15 pm

your the kind of Malaysian which will continue to hear insiders story….that why cannot make anything out of your life …stupid dumm fark …..EUroNcap …bloody moron, car not yet release already masuk euroNcap …..so when protong publish ANCAP 5 start ..how come the results release when the stupid car not even launch yet ….now tukar cerita to ASEAN NCAP ……. you the same moron in Malaysia which can never die off, always talk kok by listening to insiders !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • Hehe.

Kenapa bang? Loan abang tak lepas eh nak beli vios? Abang kena buli tempat kerja ke? Janganlah sebab Myvi abang tak selamat,abang lepas geram dekat sini.

hehehe.

What if you are talking to an insider?

Bodoh.

• Car lover on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:17 pm

GSC, sokong!! manyak langau tau bising sajer..talk without brain..hahaha

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:59 pm

???

Come on. The failure here is your jumping to conclusions.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:46 pm

What? Another teaser? Booking pon x boleh?.. harga pon x berani announce?

Again. . Kasi lu all syok sendiri lah.. pekerja kilang tg malim..& salesmen. .

Wa rasa nak berak dulu… then ejeculate lagi..

meanwhile.. protong is making another teaser. .

Hahaha. ..

• Allen on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Unofficial Price List

Standard (2 airbags, ESC)
    1.3 M Solid – RM38,800
    1.3 CVT Solid – RM42,800
    1.3 CVT Metallic – RM43,300

Executive (2 airbags, ESC)
    1.3 M Solid – RM42,800
    1.3 M Metallic – RM43,300
    1.3 CVT Solid – RM46,800
    1.3 CVT Metallic – RM47,300
    1.6 M Solid – RM46,800
    1.6 M Metallic – RM47,300
    1.6 CVT Solid – RM50,800
    1.6 CVT Metallic – RM51,300

Premium (6 airbags, ESC)
    1.6 CVT Solid – RM54,800
    1.6 CVT Metallic – RM55,300

• Jimmy on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:43 pm

This pricing is not bad. Give early bird pricing and see the response in terms of booking.
      BTW the one in blue is surprising good looking in this pic, don’t know the rear design yet, if it is like i10, then sorry la.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:48 pm

what?? standard low version oso come with ESC???

damn.. we p2 salesman must work harder

” no timing chain, right hand signal, remember savvy??? no RV”

• Yes,proton ceo naik harga semua variant 5 k ,coz iriz is good quality item

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:01 pm

this car will be launched on 16 sept

take my word

legend

• When is this car going to be launched already!?

• driver on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:37 pm

waiting for white

• kereta kompak on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:44 pm

can’t wait the full reveal. Proton Iriz for the smart on-the-go lifestyle!

• Starting Price = RM25k.

the Rakyat’s Car with a PRoton Engine.

• Iriz for global standard, never going to be this CHEAP.
      You think Proton is for poor people like you??
      Proton is for Global and will sell expensive with ncap.
      Proton tak perlu mu.

• Jaybond on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:52 pm

No matter how good or how bad the end-products are, these Proton bashers will never be satisfied..

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Ah…this is so much better than the green. I wonder if they will go and do the same unveil for all the colors before launch. This will take a while if they decide to go that way since they’ve yet to show the classic black, white and silver colors. 1 color per week? Launch on 29th?

• car lover on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Proton always try to give the best..but then, rakyat bising2 like langau taik..heyy, jangan tau condem saja lorr…if you have lot of money, go buy your car la, no need to bising2…IRIZ look smart in blue!
    We support our local brand!

• PCC Safety Failure on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:03 pm

I noticed a few days back that Proton changed the 5 STAR ANCAP to 5 STAR ASEAN NCAP. You may see for yourself right now, at the Iriz website, and compare them with the photos that Paul posted here on Merdeka Day. Proton DEFINITELY changed it for some reason.

But WHY ? This makes me very, very angry, disappointed and worried. Does this mean that the Iriz is not 5 Star ANCAP rated ?

I hope you’re listening Proton, you guys can’t afford to f*** things up again, not after what happened to the Prevé’s launch. This kind of small oversight should not and cannot happen ! Each and every step you make is being watched by all 30 million of us Malaysians. Don’t disappoint us, not again, not any more.

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:12 pm

what are you talking about? asean ncap is an independent body which recently saw honda win 6 awards. does that mean asean ncap is not trustworthy.. besides that.. im sure this car has never been tested by ANCAP yet as it only refers to cars already sold in Australia. the preve and suprima have already been independently tested in australia and given 5 stars by ANCAP.

• Orion on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:13 pm

haha… just another blind basher… lets see if proton give 5 ANCAP also you wont buy because u still serving your 9 years loan on a perodua car… because you are a perodua salesman…

Dude… Perodua dont even offer such safety features also u no bising… but wanna say got japan tech… haha… japan tech my ass la… only women can stand the bad driveability of perodua…

oh i forget u are a p*****…

• rosdi on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:15 pm

ANCAP stands for Australasian New Car Assessment Program, which is wrong. The correct one is ASEAN NCAP. Google it.

• Allen on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:22 pm

To have ANCAP tested, you need to have your car on sales in Australia to have it rated.

Iriz not even available in Malaysia yet, not to say Australia. Thus its not possible for Iriz to be “ANCAP” rated.

Perhaps it was a mistake made by Proton towards this. I bet they are highly confidence that this will get 5-star ANCAP but procedure wise, they do it wrongly.

• As a proud owner of a savvy, 3 months to go for a 9 years of fussfree ownership which already cloaked 180 000 km ++..

I’d promised, reminded myself not to buy another hatchback(susah mau balik kampung wor).

Mana tau this thing gonna come out looking too good and might need to get this one instead!!

• Lair, balik kampung jer.
      Don’t come back.
      Proton tak perlu mu.

• Bataman on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:57 am

Wait for PCC-Saga aka Saga 3. Will be based on PCC platform + boot….No boot to balik kampung, you will sure regret again.

• alldisc on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:08 pm

lets wait how fast proton will launch this car in europe, to compete with fiesta, vw up, hyundai i10, vw polo, audi a1, skoda citigo, toyota yaris, vauxhall corsa, dacia sandero, honda jazz, suzuki swift, seat ibiza, citreon ds3, toyota aygo, skoda fabia, kia rio, peugoet 208, fiat 500, fiat panda, kia picanto, mazda 2, citroen c3, nissan micra, fiat punto, alfa romeo mito, ford ka, mitsubishi mirage, and some others… dont forget, where peug 208 is double the price of iriz and mini cooper 4 times more, in europe and especially UK it is an open market and therefore no protection.

i like to see proton succeed but i hate to see proton insiders claiming this model is the best and so on and so forth. it was the same with gen2, it was the same again with savvy and satria neo but they hardly sell. only sales figure will tell whether the car is really good or not.

rmember, this car was code named GSC meant to attack global market and not only to woo malaysian buyers.

• Bataman on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:58 am

GSC=Golden Screen Cinema lah.
      Now it’s PCC. Proton Cheap Car…OOppss..I meant Proton Compact Car. :sweat:

• Paul, could you do a comparo tis so called ‘Iriz’ to Myvi? Next to each other pls..

• botolsusu on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:51 pm

How many proton worker drive myvi, vios and city? Look at the parking lot at their kilang. And that one also preve selling at 50k. So lets all buy iriz so proton worker can upgrade to altis and city…. start with peyno.. haha

• matt saaboo on Sep 15, 2014 at 5:59 pm

unless you are impotent or dim witted, iriz sounds and looks desirable!!

• Nalza Kamunting on Sep 19, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Pandangan depan dan sisi sangat cantik dan berdaya saing.Tapi malang sportrimnya orang akan buang dan lempar jauh-jauh seperti rim bunga raya kereta gent2 dulu yang telah hilang di telan bumi.Pandangan belakang kurang mengancam .Ini yang membuat orang akan buat pilihan lain.Kreatif le.. sikit.Orang nak kawin tentu nak bini cantik.Kalu masuk enjin Mersedis tapi body tak cun…habis le…Tun mahathir bagi le nasihat sikit..Peminat kereta tempatan