GALLERY: Perodua Axia vs Viva – a big leap forward?

Perodua_Axia_vs_Viva_ 001

It’s hard to measure advancement without proper context. This is doubly true for the new Perodua Axia. It’s easy to look down on a car as relatively cheap and basic as this. It is. But it’s only until you compare it against the model it replaces – the Perodua Viva – that you start to grasp the full picture. So, Perodua Axia vs Viva, here we go.

The Axia Standard G Auto here now goes for RM33,200, while the Viva S Auto carried a price of RM29,900, and that’s after it was slashed by RM5,300 last June. When it was first introduced with the rest of the S-Series models in 2013, you had to pay RM35,200 for one – RM2,000 more than the equivalent Axia.

Equivalent isn’t really the right word to use here, of course, as it’s an improvement in every measurable way. The Axia is both longer and wider (by 65 mm and 145 mm respectively), and it has a 60 mm-longer wheelbase. Its 260 litre boot is significantly larger than the Viva’s 146 litre cargo capacity, and that’s with the space saver spare tyre upgraded to a full size unit too.

On the outside, the Axia gains 14-inch alloy wheels with 175/65R14 tyres instead of 12-inch steel rims with 155/70R12 rubber on the Viva. The older car’s lift-type door handles have been banished altogether, and the rear lights now have LED illumination. The old school key and remote control fob have been replaced by an integrated unit too.

Inside, it’s a world of difference. The instrument panel now has a modern cowled-in design as opposed to the Viva’s flat meters, and the standard single-DIN CD/radio player has been superseded by a neatly integrated double-DIN head unit in the Axia. The window switches on passenger doors no longer look like an afterthought either.

Crucially, the Axia has three-point seat belts for all passengers instead of the Viva’s centre lap belt, and Isofix mounts for child seats are now present. Improvements also include new innovations such as the rear seat hooks, anti-snatch hook for handbags and a tissue compartment behind the front passenger seat.

Under the hood, the Axia has a 66 hp/90 Nm all-aluminium 1KR-DE2 1.0 litre engine, which compares favourably against the 60 hp/90 Nm cast iron EJ-VE 1.0 litre motor in the Viva. DVVT variable valve timing is no more, but the new mill is Euro IV-compliant instead of Euro II, and is more economical to boot.

Take a look at the two cars yourself in our comprehensive comparison galleries below. Still think that the new Perodua Axia is underwhelming? Well, think again.

Perodua Axia Standard G

Perodua Viva S-Series

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Yep.. Axia is overwhelming. . Lets the numbers speak. .

Now motorists can switch to cars.. even cheaper than some 250cc bikes.

Happy for kampung folks & lower income group.. this is for you.

Bawalah kereta hantar anak2. . Selamat sikit.. sad to see young girls, kids or mak cik died in motorcycle accidents.

I told to my kids.. I ll buy this if they manage go to university.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 9
    • ProtonGSC on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Next Proton Iriz vs Proton Savy. Good make more comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • motorbart on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Iris > Axia / Myvi > Viva

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Iriz not yet launched, how you know will be better?

This is typical blind support. Even if the Iriz is made of plastic, they would love it.

For them, this Iriz can land on moon and travel in time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
          • samelorsark on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Iriz not yet launched. Then how do you know the airbags and VSC don’t work?

Moreover:

1.ANCAP 5 star – showed airbags are working.

2.The airbags and safety modules are not made by Proton, why you say it’s not working?

Eat your own words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
          • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Enough, Bodoh L0rr.. what’s your problem if people still believe in Proton? what’s your problem if Proton getting better and better?
            Indians have reached Mars already, but we Malaysians keep bashing our own products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:18 pm

I NEVER said Proton’s airbags won’t work. The one used in crash test definitely work for sure.

I just doubt if the Proton’s safety feature will work ALL THE TIME when they are needed, looking back on Proton’s history of build quality.

There is grey area between Never Work and Definitely Work. Faham?

Things made by Proton already not reliable, what about those not made by Proton? How can we believe on Proton’s QC, looking on the spare parts quality of Proton GENUINE parts?

• Same L0rrr on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:09 pm

With Proton Iriz, you might be safer, IF airbags, VSC are working (it is a Proton after all).

With Proton Iriz, your wallet and bank account definitely not safe. You know Proton’s build quality lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 48
        • Jayden Koo on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Come on Sam, rakyat is wise enough nowadays. They rather get a P1/P2 rather than a car that made by atap zinc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Motorists? I think you mean motorcyclists, or riders, in some circles. Anyone who uses a motorized vehicle on the road is a motorist. :)

But I agree, this is much better than a motorcycle for those who can’t afford better cars. The Axia’s space makes it quite comfortable to sit in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Yep.. I meant motorcyclists. . As I compared also 250cc bike price..

..Motorcycle accidents.

• vivon on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:54 pm

You should say it’s alternative to motorbike if only the price is 6k like those kapchai

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Well talk about 6k.. get a 2nd kancil then..P2 still support. Sold mine at 5k.

• Imagine all motorcyclist in Malaysia change to cars.
      Expect traffic jam to jump triple fold. :)

• rosli on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:17 pm

How about axia g auto weight vs viva s ?

• rosli on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:27 pm

It is true axia engine vibrate and under power ?

Frankly comments please ?

I already pay the booking fees and got loan approval from the bank.

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:50 pm

that’s why you should test drive before booking. i can’t understand why so many bookings on Axia and Iriz although the car is not even in showrooms yet.

• MotorBoat on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:11 pm

if you read the review, its sounds like a motor boat. because its 3 cyclinder only

• Hasan on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Havent you had a test drive? It behaves just like viva 3 pot engine. Vibrates (rather horribly) at idle. I praise it for smooth sailing at highway speed, but dont go any further than 110 please. If you pick advance version, you’re an idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Jayden Koo on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:57 pm

I would say the feeling of driving a Kelisa is much better than Axia, especially on handling, pick up. Cabin space wise no doubts Axia wins it all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Jinyiwei22 on Sep 24, 2014 at 5:10 pm

My ex-Kancil 850 Manual uses 3 cyclinder, it really vibrate when you start the car or when the car idling.

I complained to SC & they say 3-silinder memang itu macam. Tune rpm higher than 1.5 boleh kurang sikit vibration.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 6:46 pm

if u want to get unbias review.. go n google indonesian review on this car

most of them complaint engine vibrate n noise issues

• Same L0rrr on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:20 pm

if u want to get unbias review.. go n google Malaysians’ review on Proton

most of them complaint and swear they will never get a Proton again in their lifetime

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Don’t worry Rosil it’s 10X better than my previous Kancil 850EX.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 9:11 pm

no wonder la praise p2 like hell
        pakai kancil je

kalau dah pakai jdm xam peyno mesti geli nak pakai kwta jepun celup ni

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:06 am

You best test drive again before you sign for the car if you still have uncertainties like these…

I’ve test driven the car and this is what I feel…

For the engine power, I wouldn’t say it is very underpowered since the car’s ECO tuning will make it feel that way. How a car is tuned has more impact than what you can see on the spec sheet. In first gear, the autobox feels hesitant to start from standstill (0 km/h). In order to exit a junction quickly, you need to show no mercy to the accelerator pedal and really rev that 3-pot block. A slight prodding on the accelerator pedal will give almost no response. Progress won’t be fast but just keep in mind that this car has been tuned to be an EEV so the e-throttle mapping and valve timing will be in an energy efficient (and usually this means lower powered) configuration. It doesn’t have VVT so the valve timing is always stuck in ECO mode. Manage your expectations before buying this car.

As for vibrations, like some others have pointed out, when you come to a standstill in the car or approaching standstill and your gear is engaged, you will feel pretty considerable vibrations. Switching to neutral should negate the majority of the vibrations. While sitting in the back, I felt that the ride was bumpier than some cars but I am not a Viva owner nor have I rode in a Viva before so I don’t know if it is bumpier than that.

This is the cheapest new car in Malaysia, after all. Manage your expectations and this will serve you well. It is definitely an upgrade over the Viva. I can even call it an upgrade over the MyVi since it is safer in a crash, has more usable space and the cabin has that much more practicality features and is really quite comfy to boot. If you’re concerned with performance, you gotta look elsewhere. This car is not made with performance in mind. Performs best in city conditions. The smaller engine means you are using less fuel when you’re stuck in a traffic jam, compared to the 2.5L Camry beside you or even the 1.5L MyVi behind you.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:14 am

But do keep the lack of ABS of the E and G variants in mind, k?

• Aero (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:46 pm

I really, really like these comparisons ! The quality of the photos are incredible, and the whole thing is well executed. I also like the car tours, and the Axia tour is the best one yet.

Please keep up the great work guys ! :D

• kzm fanboy on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:22 pm

If Proton Iriz can give 30km/Liter fuel mileage, i’ll run half naked wearing only tiger-stripes seluar dalam from Tg Malim to Shah Alam.

Any takers?? Wanna bet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • kiuho on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:45 pm

30km/l is stupid already.
        You should say 100km/l so that we can call you insane!

• Jayden Koo on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Don’t be so childish. It’s time for you to grow up.

• takNakP1 on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Malaysian car ownership is a “big leap backward”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Axia Still Ahead of the competition on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Some how I feel IMHO the meter cluster in the viva looks better than the current Axia. Perhaps their next face lift, Perodua should think of making the meter cluster a little bit more pleasant in the Axia rather than cramping all in that small space, a color LCD screen in the meter cluster would be really nice for the top end model of the Axia as well. Still Ahead of the competition

• rosli on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:44 pm

quote ” Axia Still Ahead of the competition”

P1 and P2 got government protection, if not fair. Frankly sepaking, I had to bought Axia G Auto because, I have no choice and tight budget. hhhhhh

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Also I feel the interior lamp in the Axia looks cheaper than the Viva (kancil interior lamp anyone?) not to mention the positioning of the interior lamp leaves the rear passengers in the dark

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:42 pm

This is best city car! But I still love my kelisa much more..

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Yep.. be happy. .

Once Axia flock the steets.. engines replacement for your kelisa is a bliss..

This the advantages of Daihatsu. . Regardless JDM or not.. copy or not, rebadge or not. Low mentality wouldn’t understand.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 6:54 pm

coz u never been in japan and own eeal jdm

once u own real JDM.. u
        widnt say like that

that y u only can cheat ppl who know nuts about rwal JDM

• Airbags and ABS VSC can add kah?

Kah kah kah

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:53 pm

My kelisa is over 10years old, but still running strong without major problem..parts are cheap & easy maintain..ABS VSC is useless when you drive in city with the massive jam around..with full tank rm50+ i manage to run around 400KM-+, some people can get even better FC than me..kelisa still unbeatable!

• rosli on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:46 pm

KaoPehKaoBu,

Jimmy Carlkson of Top Gear LOL to u. Remember, he blow up Kelisa car with bombs. hhhhhh

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:55 pm

what car you driving? let me put a bomb in your car, if your car wouldn’t explode i buy you brand new car x10..deal?

• lazyf on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Interior lamp/light for Viva looks much better than Axia.

Axia’s interior lamp is exactly same like my previous 2004 Kenari’s interior lamp.

Viva’s interior lamp is same like my current 2007 Myvi’s interior lamp.

• Credit to Daihatsu but not P2.
    What have P2 done to this car?

• peyno (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 9:07 pm

axia will kill myvi 1.3 variant
    axia will kill viva all variant
    iriz will kill myvi extreme variant

axia will kill himself due to unsafe n safety

• rosli on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:22 am

peyno,

that true, myvi 1.3 overprice, unless p2 reduce the price.

axia 100% surely drop 50% of viva 2hand price.

iriz premium is not so sure can beat myvi extreme.

• the Ultimate warrior on Sep 24, 2014 at 10:12 pm

Hmm, feel a bit regret for getting a viva later last year, but nevermind, because I am quite happy with my viva, since I can get from point a to b is good enough for me already, :-) also I am not using it for street racing or rempit…

• JOVEN on Sep 24, 2014 at 10:15 pm

It’s really wait for a long periods to get the perodua axia car, i been order it more than one month and the agreement was approved since august! really dissapointed with the perodua management team! As the dealer informed, can get the car after 5 days launched the Perodua Axia! Unfortunately, the transportation of the car face a big problem right now , so the car haven’t start to send to the centre!

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 10:25 pm

As for me i still need my 600cc bike to work..My spouse already driving her new Ford Fiesta 1.0 ecoboost and my eldest daughter will be sharing car with her while i still maintain my Preve LE.Might need something like Axia or Iriz for her if finance permit.

• mascaretaker on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:24 am

viva now looks like cheap rectangular metal scrap. 24k axia for the win