DRIVEN: Porsche Macan – opening up the brand

Porsche Macan drive 1

Opening up a new segment is a sure-fire way to gain more traction in the marketplace, especially if you happen to be a sports car maker, and going the downsizing route surely helps – in a world that has become more austere, making it smaller and cheaper isn’t seen as a bad thing now, even for the lofty.

Indeed, making it more approachable for buyers is the trick, because after all, there are only so many two-seaters one can shift. Flash and clout will continue to sell, but hey, if it can be had for smaller and cheaper, why not? You also open up the brand to new customers, and if you happen to have a spanking new factory, you do need new – and more – customers.

Case in point, the Porsche Macan. It’s the automaker’s sixth model line, and looking at how it’s all shaping up, the tiger is likely to be one of Stuttgart’s best sellers. The third attempt at pitching four-doors and versatility is far better resolved than the two that came before it – it looks the business, correctly plays the right downsizing cards and sounds attractively priced (well, until you really start ticking the options boxes). All points to a proper volume seller, then.

The adage that big things don’t usually look pretty (or don’t look pretty in big) certainly holds true here, all amplified by the Macan’s arrival – the Cayenne looks ungainly and tired standing next to its new compact sibling, and that other four-door attempt, the Panamera, well, wasn’t exactly the prettiest thing to begin with…

Porsche Macan drive 9

This one is handsome, with good visual appeal coming off its lines in the flesh – the shape has a good tautness about it, and in terms of sleekness it more than holds its own against the more angular Range Rover Evoque and far edgier (and cheaper) Lexus NX. To this writer’s eyes, it’s definitely more winsome than the F26 BMW X4, another of its competitors. Inside, the cabin is prim and proper Porsche, and contrasting trim colours seem to fair nicely in this one.

In Malaysia, the premium compact SUV – which was launched last September – is available in four variant forms. The entry-level Macan, priced from RM420,000 in its base configuration, features a Volkswagen-derived 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, paired with a seven-speed PDK dual-clutch transmission. The Porsche-tweaked mill offers 237 PS at 5,000 to 6,800 rpm and 350 Nm from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm in the way of output, and performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 6.9 seconds and a 223 km/h top speed.

The next petrol model up, the Macan S, ramps things up considerably – its 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 petrol engine puts out 340 PS from 5,500 to 6,500 rpm and 460 Nm of torque from 1,450 to 5,000 rpm. It gets to the century in 5.4 seconds (5.2 if the optional Sport Chrono package is present) and has a 254 km/h top speed. Pricing for this one starts from RM560,000.

If you prefer your S model as an oil burner, there’s the Macan S Diesel, which is slightly cheaper than its petrol alternative at RM545,000. The variant’s 3.0 litre turbodiesel V6 engine turns out 245 PS at 4,000 to 4,500 rpm and 580 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 2,500 rpm, and gets the S Diesel to 100 km/h from standstill in 6.3 seconds (6.1 seconds with the optional Sport Chrono package) on to a top speed of 230 km/h.

Porsche Macan drive 14

The range topper is the Macan Turbo, which starts from RM785,000. Its 3.6 litre twin-turbo V6 lump pushes out 400 PS at 6,000 rpm and 550 Nm from 1,350 to 4,500 rpm. As expected, it’s the fastest Macan, doing the 0-100km/h sprint in 4.8 seconds (4.6 with Sport Chrono on), and the top speed is 266 km/h.

Identification of the variants is a simple enough affair – the tailpipes and brake calipers provide the necessary clues as to which is which. For the former, the base Macan wears two rhombus-shaped tailpipes, while the Macan S and Macan S Diesel get quad round pipes – the Macan Turbo also has quads, but they are rhombus-shaped.

As for brake calipers, black identifies the base Macan, silver the Macan S and Macan S Diesel and red, the Turbo. Of course, owners can go yellow with the optional Porsche Ceramic Composite Brake (PCCB) system. Sounds colourful, no?

Speaking of options, well, there are plenty to be had – the dress-up route for the Macan is extensive, from going the larger wheel route (up to 21-inches, if you want) to specifying items such as chrome highlights, aluminium roof rails, exterior/interior carbon-fibre add-ons and air suspension, it’s all here. In typical Porsche fashion, packages abound, with the limit being your wallet (and mental resistance).

So yes, it looks snazzy, and there’s plenty in the way of choice and kit, but what’s it like to drive? Sime Darby Auto Performance gave us the chance to find out with a half-day run on the SUV to Ipoh and back. The sampling platter consisted of three of the four variants (the base Macan, Macan S and Macan S Diesel), with the Turbo left out.

With two to a vehicle and three to try, mostly on the expressway, drive time on each was naturally limited, so this first drive report isn’t going to be very long. First impressions were good – as expected, the Macan S was lively on the uptake, tracking cleanly and soaking up road imperfections nicely, but the real positive were the hints of its agile, light-footed nature, already felt out on the highway.

The underlying character is very different to that of its larger sibling, no surprise given the difference in age, bulk and technical evolution between the two platforms. If anything, the Cayenne feels that more ponderous, now that this one is here.

Fast and responsive to throttle, both petrol and oil burner S models shone through their powertrains, but the real, absolute surprise was how well the base 2.0 litre Macan drove and how dynamically impressive it was for a 1.8 tonne vehicle.

Porsche Macan drive 11

Keen and willing would be the best descriptors, displayed best on the B-road stretch of the run – into the corners, the 2.0 offering drove beautifully, with poise and conviction. Communication levels were high, the steering sharp and tracking, incisive. With the least nose heavy feel of the trio, its sharpness and nimble balance made for the most driving fun.

In this regard, it feels far more supple than the BMW X4 – which is technically very accomplished but feels a bit too heavy-set in disposition – and the Evoque. Driving dynamics won’t really matter for most buyers, but for those who cherish such things, this one arguably defines the rubric of the premium compact SUV segment at the moment.

As for power, despite its on-paper credentials being lacking compared to the S versions, the 2.0 litre mill doesn’t feel too short going into close quarters and the accompanying twisty bits. In the end, the runt was easily my pick of the assembled trio over the short sampling run.

Compelling? It is, but there’s a caveat concerning pricing – RM420,000 for the base Macan makes it sound immensely attractive (compared to the X4 and Evoque), and it would be if it were that. That, however, just gets you a Plain Jane car, and the reality is that options boxes will need to be ticked to get it glowing, easily taking things past the RM500k mark.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Macai on Jan 10, 2015 at 1:57 am

I got it first, babeh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 40
    • No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 10, 2015 at 8:13 am

This is a damn expensive Volkswagen!! who the hell in the right mind to buy this!! Some more get tapao easily by a cheaper car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 56
      • What’s all this ah beng tapao idiocy. Tapao your stupid head. Who gives a crap who wins at the stoplight, then into traffic jam. At least give performance numbers or any substantial intelligent argument.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 73
        • Ma-cunt on Jan 10, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Apart from a badge… everything else UGLY. Seen it on the road.. Small SUV with small beady rear lights and ugly front DRL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 25
          • IrizX on Jan 10, 2015 at 3:37 pm

I saw more Macan than Iriz. It shows people know what is a good car and which car is ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 19
          • You see more Cayenne than Macan kid and those SUV had been here loooooooooongg ago
            Go back to school and learn more ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • policeman on Jan 10, 2015 at 9:22 pm

Agree this macan is damn ugly and weak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
        • Macai on Jan 10, 2015 at 1:47 pm

What performance numbers, go and read it yourself lah bodoh! Everything want spoon feed kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
        • Ah Beng Kia on Jan 10, 2015 at 3:18 pm

ah beng tapao idiocy? don’t tell me buying a Porsche and want to drive like….an old auntie. It would be like a pondan try to look macho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Bob_B78 on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:51 am

So it can be beaten by cheaper car in drag race, but it tapau these cheaper car for being more prestige and attention magnet.
        Basically, more than 70% of Macan owners will not drive recklessly just to prove their cars are fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
        • Policeman on Jan 10, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Not surprising, since most that drive recklessly are Proton owners(always want to smoke others) even though their cars are slow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
          • cam2ep on Jan 11, 2015 at 6:07 am

Wrong. It’s Myvi and Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
          • jacksonljs on Jan 11, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Echoed ‘cam2ep’ comment, most of the reckless drivers are those junk car drivers with ‘Lagi Power, Best ooh’ (lagi sohai got lah) and TRD wannabe ricer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • seancorr (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 11:32 am

Same can be said for the Audi which is using VW stuff too or the Lexus and Infiniti which are under Toyota and Nissan.

Yes a cheaper car will kick the base Macan’s ass say the VW Golf GTR or the R version but try doing it in on wet roads or taking your Golf into the woods and see how it handles in those places and you’d wish you had the Macan instead.

Let’s not even compare how much stuff the Golf can carry if you went to Ikea comparing to the Macan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Ya ya ya, Lamborghini also just a Volkswagen, Bentley too.

How sad it must be for someone’s life if they need to care about smoking someone else at the traffic light.
          Because loser in the things that truly matter in life?
          Inferiority Complex?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
          • That’s the sad life of Proton owners, you can’t blame them since they can’t afford a better car so have to badmouth other cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • DISLIKE on Jan 10, 2015 at 11:04 pm

oh, so there are many people spent few million to buy a VW. Feel sad and sorry to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • DISLIKE, you can tell that to your king but probably he isn’t using his own money to buy the cars

• samenob_ on Jan 11, 2015 at 6:09 am

@lee
            Badmouth exprt here is T SA = Same L0rrrr

• Jun-yo on Jan 11, 2015 at 6:40 am

I cannot brain why must dragging in p1 in every articles? p1 cars are not that slow nowadays

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 10, 2015 at 6:51 pm

yeah yeah, continue using others user name to leave a comment if this make you feel happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • DISLIKE on Jan 10, 2015 at 11:02 pm

No need reason to dislike you. Fake

• Macai on Jan 11, 2015 at 9:54 am

Agree it is a Fake Porsche but at least it is a real VW.

• Madani on Jan 11, 2015 at 8:45 pm

Ya, ya… Fake Porsche but can you afford it? If not, just get a real Proton

• Dr. Doom on Jan 11, 2015 at 2:13 pm

It’s not about get tapao other car. The problem is you can’t afford it. Get lost LOSER!

• You Dr. apa? Dr. Kaki todi kah? How you know he can’t afford?…. Wah make a statement from ass. Real loser is you.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:00 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 10, 2015 at 6:51 pm

No other story or comment to talk about? Repeat same thing everyday. Don’t you bored?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Bcoz he got paid

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 11, 2015 at 1:30 pm

The truth had been found

• jacksonljs on Jan 11, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Or too much free time at his ‘beloved god’ UMW showroom or too many ‘potential’ buyers at Toyota showroom, but ended up almost all ‘potential’ buyers get angry and pissed off due to very low safety spec and somemore cannot ask for more offer/promotion one (according to most of their ‘friendly’ sales advisor, jangan persoal, because our car is the best in the world in RV, you try to buy cars from other brand including kimchis, i guarantee you will be hailat and back to our Toyota after 1 – 2 years)

• glivine on Jan 11, 2015 at 6:41 am

As long as it’s Sam Loo comment, it’s rubbish!

• nabill (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 2:10 am

few days ago i saw the x4 on the road , for the first time , n it honeslty looks alot better in real than pics, very very cool and masculine…
    yess the Macan is a Porsche n thats enough to justify the premium , bt the x4 is roughly around 70k cheaper , n thats not a small amount even if ur in this ‘league’…
    ya the evoque looks nice bt dynamically its nowhere near the Macan and X4…i go for the X4 bt Macan has better interior for sure….
    dont shoot the x4 yet , jus see in in person u might change ur mind…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • weeee on Jan 10, 2015 at 6:39 am

This is much more better looking than the X4. But for the same price as the base Macan, why not get a Touareg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • seancorr (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 11:28 am

True but some people rather be seen in a Porsche than an el cheapo VW which is rated as a taxi/car rental/emergency response vehicle overseas.

IMHO choosing an Evoque or the X4 would have been better choices as those do carry premium badges along with its name and the spec it has is pretty good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 8:34 am

The new Toyota Klugger sold in Oz is even better looking.

Only AUD44k ~ RM130k, service pricing capped at AUD180 for the first 5 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 17
    • trdain on Jan 10, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Klugger = Fugly Fortuner!

• Heng Lee on Jan 10, 2015 at 9:17 pm

Porsche Macan 2.0: 237PS@5,000rmp, 350Nm@1,500rpm

Toyota Kluger 3.3 V6: 230hp@6,800rpm, 328Nm@4,400rpm

The smallest Porsche has more torque at 1,500rpm than the biggest Kluger has at 4,400rpm.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 11, 2015 at 8:38 am

Latest Klugger in Oz is 3.5V6 NA engine 2WD or 4WD variants

Do your homework before bitching.

• Heng Lee on Jan 11, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Hahaha, even the thirsty 3.5 V6 has less torque at higher rpms, compared with the smallest 2.0 Macan:

Kluger 3.5 V6: 337Nm@4700rpm
        Macan 2.0: 350Nm@1,500rpm

Better do your homework next time before bitching, boy.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:25 am

People that don’t read or can’t read compares NA and non-NA engines.

Maybe they also can’t even tell the difference if the salesman sells a Tata Mahindra to him disguised as a Ssangyong Korando

• Heng Lee on Jan 12, 2015 at 11:58 am

Is it my problem that Toyota is not able to build a turbo, boy?

BTW: The Klugger is a good car to drive construction workers to the construction site (this is what it’s used for in Australia). But compare a car with the handling of a lorry with a Porsche? Common boy… :D

• leopard on Jan 12, 2015 at 10:07 am

you wot m8? 44k in Oz for a half assed SUV? Are you based in Oz by any chance?

• Will written Anthony. Very nice… this. Makes a good daily driver :)

• @Anthony Lim

“ponderous” – brilliant choice of word. This has to be said. Brevity rarely used nowadays. Conveys what I need to know succintly vs the Cayenne. And not too fckin flowery like all those British-mag wannabe writers. eg “the road melts with the thunderous engine bla bla bla crap”.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:31 am

Meh. The true porsche experience to get is the 911.

For a baby suv, save ur money and life, get the Volvo XC60 T6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Volvo got no name like Porsche

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 11, 2015 at 9:58 am

The macan is not the Porsche’s signature dish anyway.

Volvo is always about being quiet and unassuming. Perfect if u dun have inferiority complex to need a car to show u got a small dick. For all else, Volvo is most value for money, safest, best aftersales care too.

• Don’t tokok if u cannot afford. Save ur money and life, get an Iriz

• blackbox on Jan 10, 2015 at 11:18 am

I will choose GLA 45 AMG any time than this Volkswagen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • seancorr (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 11:24 am

My 2 cents take on this Macan…its still a premium vehicle which is priced above its rivals, one should disregard the entry RM420k price as that comes with nothing while the Evoque and X4 (adaptive suspension, surround view cameras, etc) are almost fully kitted for the price it asks.

I’ve seen the Macan in the metal and it does look nice in all the colours it comes with and even nicer with the optional xenon lights but the center console is typical Porsche which is filled with too many buttons to my liking.

Having said that, I’d pick the Macan as I get the usefulness of a SUV which can enter corners like no other. The many video reviews from overseas will agree with me.

Now if only the options list weren’t so expensive…

• Hellhole on Jan 12, 2015 at 12:31 am

Get a used. 997 911 and an evoque. Better drive on weekends and better 4wd when you need it for about the same price as a Macan S

• Tom178 on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:55 am

@seancorr, I have to agree with you. The Macan looks good. But like you said the option list is absurd. Who charges for Cruise Control these days?!?!

• Amei (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 11:41 am

Nice Article. I quite agree, If I’ve ever wanted to buy one. The Options alone will make me go over-budget but I’m sure if you can afford a Macan, money is no object..

• spongewai on Jan 10, 2015 at 12:46 pm

one word SEXY

two words WORK HARD

• samelorstpd on Jan 10, 2015 at 8:30 pm

3 words SAMe L0rrrr is sucky

• suprimau on Jan 11, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Why must drag Same L0rrrr in every article even he did not comment here? Also that is 4 words if you know how to count

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 12, 2015 at 7:14 am

It is beyond obvious that this fella has been showed the Hilux before

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 1:27 pm

mercedes GLA better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Ah Beng Kia on Jan 10, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Better or not I not sure, but sure will MAKAN this MACAN anytime.

• wuvav on Jan 11, 2015 at 6:42 am

But still you cannot afford neither both.
      Pity.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 13, 2015 at 1:39 am

what to do…this year need donate to flood victim…

• Samad Jain on Jan 10, 2015 at 1:33 pm

Sounded like MAKAN

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Maybe its just me. I prefer the design of the current Cayenne over the Macan. The Macan looks a bit like its been boxed in. The Cayenne which has a longer wheelbase looks sleeker and more premium, which it should be considering its target market. Having said that, the Macan is still a very good looking car. I would prefer this over the X4 (i think its ugly) & Evoque. The Lexus NX is good looking too, but doesnt quite have the handling credentials of the Germans. Though I suspect the NX probably has more interior space as does the Macan’s sibling (the Audi Q5). So does depend on what the buyer wants: excitement or something with more space. The closest car to mix both excitement & practicality in this class is the Q5, in my opinion.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 2:30 pm

Work harder and you might be able to afford this Macan, albeit second hand

• Blaster88 on Jan 10, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Apparently, its selling like hot cakes…..was told that one salesperson sold 10 units last month…to be fair, most key automobile groups share similar platforms and technologies to save cost. But the fact that its a souped up VW with a GTI derived powerplant makes me wonder…hmmm

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Okay, I don’t know why but I actually liked the current Cayenne a lot. The old one as baloney, but the current one is actually very interesting. Even the Panamera, I like it, especially the face lifted rear, though the preface lift’s front was ok but rear was a joke.

Having said that, the Macan is a true Porsche I must say, just sitting in the Cayenne or Panamera then sitting in the Macan, the quality and fit and finish is exactly the same. Flawless. The Macan in terms of design, just like the Cayenne is unique I would say in the front, needs some getting used to. The rear, is very well done. The lights. Wow.

Compared to the Evoque, the Macan’s interior materials is the same or slightly better than the Evoque, though at least in the old Evoque, real leather was standard, the new one has a lower grade leather while the Macan needs an optional leather interior. And that’s the thing, option up a Macan to reasonable specs and it costs a bit too much. I was interested in one, before the indicated prices were revealed, but when I saw the price before options, had to hold on… If only the base price was at 400k, I would say spot on considering the X4 which has about the same interior space surprisingly as the Macan costs around there.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:51 pm

I just saw in The Star newspapers today…base Macan listed as RM425k…wtf? Increase by 5k out of nowhere.

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 11, 2015 at 1:33 am

The Euro is getting stronger and stronger. Just like VW I guess that’s why they have revised if up.

Wonder what happened to price reduction on cars…

• Evoque on Jan 11, 2015 at 1:37 am

That’s 2015 price… If u ask y, the will blame ringgit depreciation.
        But this price going up was already known long time ago, in fact in September . Was told 20k then revised to 5k

Willing seller and willing buyer,

Something like dat laa

• choha on Jan 10, 2015 at 8:08 pm

nice front but ugly butt….doesn’t match at all

• kangkong on Jan 11, 2015 at 1:34 am

What a joke? A starting price at USD 45k toy Cayenne becomes RM420k ( USD 118k) in bolehland?

• “340 PS from 3,300 to 6,500 rpm and 460 Nm of torque from 1,450 to 5,000 rpm”

you obviously dont understand car tech. if it were to make 340ps @ 3,300rpm it would be over 700Nm!

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 11, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Good golly, you’re right, it would be well over a third more in torque output! That’s what happens when you type too many digits. Corrected to the actual 5,500; thanks for the spot.

• They can’t afford it because their salary only 5K++. At least 20K to 30K per month! Or you already borrow money from loanshark?! hehehe….

• berkata benar on Jan 11, 2015 at 6:30 pm

macam kereta tun mamak je… eh mana ada… tun mamak kan sekarang bawak iriz je… iriz bagus kata dia…

• Cadbury on Jan 12, 2015 at 10:51 am

Don’t bother so much on what car can tapau me at traffic light and low RV whatsoever.

As long I enjoy the ride with all the built in gadgets and easily can reach 250km/h without struggling. I’m more than happy.

Once you drive continental car, you will never look back for asian car. F10

• Ted9622 on Jan 12, 2015 at 1:02 pm

It might not be true that VW Golf is bad on wet road as compared to Macan. Try check this out,

http://www.automobilesreview.com/auto-news/volkswagen-golf-r-is-the-safest-car-on-wet-roads/91969/

• KarTiN (Member) on Jan 12, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Macan looks good, same Q5 chasis with porsche tweaks i suppose?

• @Ted9622

I agree on that statement too, because four-wheel drive gives you traction, not grip. So it does not mean the Porsche Macan can perform better than Volkswagen GTI on wet roads.

• Ted9622 on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:26 pm

@macai Hmm..I believe there are different value obtained by having either Macan or VW. Different people persue different value right?

• Elvin on Mar 07, 2015 at 10:13 pm

Buy macan no money makan