GALLERY: Porsche Macan in Malaysian showroom

Porsche_Macan_Malaysia_ 003

Launched last week, the Porsche Macan is already making Sime Darby Auto Performance’s showrooms busier then ever. This will be a proper volume seller for Porsche, much more so than the Cayenne and Panamera. No surprises there, considering the new Macan’s (relatively) attractive prices.

The base Macan starts from RM420,000. We say start because that’s the figure before you factor in the various optional packages available. Start ticking all the boxes and you’ll be paying a lot more than the base price. And before you say that that will make it too close to the base RM550,000 Cayenne V6, remember again that that, too, is the pre-options price.

Prices aside, the Volkswagen-sourced but Porsche-tweaked 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine pushes out 237 hp and 350 Nm of torque here. It’ll do 0-100 km/h in 6.9 seconds, on to a top speed of 223 km/h through the range-standard seven-speed PDK dual-clutch transmission. It’s claimed to consume just 7.2 litres per 100 km in the combined cycle.

Exterior wise, you can spot the base Macan by its badge on the rear hatch, black brake calipers (instead of silver on the Macan S/Macan S Diesel and red on the Macan Turbo; optional Porsche Ceramic Composite Brake (PCCB) is yellow) and two rhombus-shaped tailpipes (quad round pipes on Macan S/Macan S Diesel, quad rhombus on Macan Turbo). Other visual differences (chrome highlights, aluminium roof rails, carbon-fibre side blades, etc.) are optional extras.

Inside, you get a choice between piano black, brushed aluminium, wood or even carbon-fibre trim on the dashboard. The tidy clock above the front fascia is part of the optional Sports Chrono Pack, and the cabin looks rather bare without it installed. Available as cost options are 14-way comfort seats, 18-way sports seats, leather-covered dashboard, panoramic sunroof and plenty of other details.

Standard features vary between the variants. For instance, Porsche Active Suspension Management (PASM) dynamic dampers is standard across the range, but all models above the base Macan (RM545,000, 245 hp/580 Nm Macan S Diesel, RM560,000, 340 hp/460 Nm Macan S and RM785,000, 400 hp/550 Nm Macan Turbo) get air suspension with ride-height adjustment too.

All prices are Nett Selling Price before OTR costs (registration fee, road tax) and insurance. As usual, all Macan models come with a four-year warranty as well as a four-year free service, parts and maintenance package.

Porsche Macan

Porsche Macan S Diesel
Porsche Macan S

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Ariff on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:16 pm

beautiful car and it will sell well. problem is I will never be able to own one to enjoy it. good luck to all who will own this beautiful car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 66
    • protonsucks on Sep 15, 2014 at 3:21 pm

u sir, is trully a humble one, none like others, already start bragging just by owning a VW(no hate against VW). i would be happy for u the next time when u can afford your dream car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 45
      • lorrycar on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:59 am

This is high heel GTI? not…Audi Macan? not…VW Macan?not…..VW q5? not……Porsche GTI?….not Porsche q5? not….Audi GTI? not….A bastard? YES!!!

• PeterPan on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:38 pm

This is one bloody ugly looking SUV. Looks like it dont belong anywhere in Porsche brand image

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Sawwy on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:19 pm

While the boss macai drive Macan, the poor macai can only buy Proton Iriz…hidup tak cukup makan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Usavich on Sep 15, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Frog inspired front design, katak car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Recond is the answer..Just wait for another 3-4yrs this car will go down below 300K. Nothing is Impossible!!

• Vader (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:28 pm

The price tag 420k onwards I direct compete with the BMW X4.
    Hope so the driven will compare these two ars as well.

• VOLKSWAGEN MAkAN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • cosmo on Sep 15, 2014 at 3:26 pm

RM545k to RM785k?? i find it way too overprice… its quite small actually (size of a Honda CRV?) for the same money or even lesser… can easily get a Merc ML , or Infiniti QX70 for style, or Lexus RX for extreme comfort… which is much bigger and ‘cheaper’…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • heybadigol on Sep 15, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Clock is an option on the base model? Sounds funny, but honestly, we all wear watches and have mobile phones that can tell time. So its not a major miss. All in all, the base model looks good the way it is. The rims also look ok and are 20 inches, not small puny rims. But when you open the bonnet, you will get a shock to see how small that 2 litre engine is in that huge bay. Its not very far back either is it, like what you would see in a BMW. But this is Porsche. If they can make a rear heavy 911 handle like a dream, why not a front heavy car, especially one with permanent AWD?

Only thing that might not be so good for the 2.0 model is the front & rear seats. They dont look very supportive, as there does not seem to be enough side and hip bolsters. So, “b” roads should be attempted with care, unless you want to end up being shoved to the passenger side.

Just wondering, what is the basic sound system provided? How many speakers? And is there any amps? I should think the Burmester system will come as a cost option.

• seancorr on Sep 15, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Somehow I think that base Macan you see in the pictures have some cost options like the 20 inch rims (standard rims is 18 inch listed on the UK website) and that panaromic roof.

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 15, 2014 at 3:40 pm

great car, now im in a dilemma on where to park this car in my garage considering i have 3 other continentals…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 26
    • Henry on Sep 15, 2014 at 3:57 pm

There is enough room in my house for this one. It can to fit 10 cars but I only have five.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • lololol on Nov 17, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Yeah, mine can fit 20, but i only have 12. Im talking about toy cars.

• coti ranai on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Nice Macan for Macai to buy

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:22 pm

nice but no gla

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Not a big fan of the cream colour, personally prefer the black leather.

Somehow I feel like the 2.0T still feels a bit too expensive for what you are getting…

• seancorr on Sep 15, 2014 at 5:59 pm

So for the price they’re asking for the base Macan, it really has nothing? I mean at least 6 way electric seats, xenon lights, front and rear parking sensors, leather seats and what not should be standard right? I cannot imagine those are also cost options.

• imagine driving a Porsche being overtaken by Golf , 328i or even 320d..etc , really a shame ! if got money but macan s , if no ..go for x4 m-sport , at least a pure authentic BMW engine .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Bob_B78 on Sep 15, 2014 at 9:28 pm

No big problem. 90% of the macan owners wont be bothered to be overtaken by bmw or vw. For they will laugh at those childish drivers trying to prove that their car is faster than macan. Macan owners would probably more envious of those who drive more expensive cars than theirs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • heybadigol on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:16 am

What a wanker, you lose then admit you lose lah, some more think people childish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • Can Do on Sep 16, 2014 at 11:46 am

Now Porsche become an old man car liao, same class like Volvo.

• Bob_B78 on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:31 am

Who is the loser actually? Using a hot hatch or sport salon to race a suv? You know, some fatal accidents are caused by such driving behavior. You never watch news or read newspaper?

• Can Do on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:57 pm

People discussing about car performance, and you start to talk about accident, how funny you can be?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • lololol on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Agree with Bob_B78.

Drive fast doesnt mean anything, the Macan can easily turn you fast driving losers girlfriends into theirs. nuff said. Its called style. People with lots of money are usually those who put in effort in their lives. be jealous losers.

• What say you when a Bentley COntinantal GT being overtake by a Nissan GTR which cost only nearly 30% of its value? Do you seriously thinks that anyone will care? one is luxury and one is the people’s car.
      So what if your GTI (provided you have one) smokes a 7seires or S class?..lol

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:15 pm

Bentley, 7 series, S-class are not sport car brand, Porsche is sport car brand, so how can a Porsche get tapao by VW, the driver will feel very humiliate, I definitely do not want to be that driver.

• coming soon..
    lotus with proton engine
    Ferrari with alfa engine
    Volvo with chery engine
    what a shame!!!!

• policeman on Sep 15, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Macam bodo je design dia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • kangkong on Sep 16, 2014 at 12:10 am

What a sick USD 45k++ car become RM 545k++ in bolehland?
    Thanks to BN so only cronies can afford them. And those idiot macai who voted them can only afford Potong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • heybadigol on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:25 am

“the Volkswagen-sourced but Porsche-tweaked”
    the Volkswagen-sourced- This is a fact.
    Porsche-tweaked- This is a marketing gimmick.

• w00tz on Sep 16, 2014 at 12:32 pm

let’ buy a Macan so we can Macan grass everyday!

• S-Class overtaken by Nissan GTR is nothing . s-class market as a super luxury car but not a sport car . porsche is a traditional sport car brand . people buy porsche is for speed not luxury . losing to M3 IS ACCEPTABLE but losing to 320d is absolutely a shame , as 320d just considered as a sedan . malu malu malu

• ozone on Sep 17, 2014 at 1:54 pm

I dont think people who can afford to buy a macan will actually compare the performance of the car with other makes.

I am sure they are buying a macan because it is a porsche.

I believe that is the reality of luxury car buyers in this country.

• Can Do on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Buying a Porshce do not actually compare the performance, that guy much be a gay.

• Alchemist on Nov 24, 2014 at 10:33 pm

What a sick USD 45k++ car become RM 545k++ in bolehland?
    Thanks to BN so only cronies can afford them. And those idiot macai who voted them can only afford Potong.

• saya punya suka lah on Jan 12, 2015 at 12:35 pm

If (if la) i own this Macan, i wont be bothered which car overtake me.. go ahead, i let u feel superior.
    Because at the end of the day, say what u like, a porsche is a porsche.. ngeee