Porsche Panamera – facelift introduced, from RM740k

Porsche Panamera Turbo

Sime Darby Auto Performance has introduced the 2013 Porsche Panamera in Malaysia, and the revised Type 970, which premiered in Shanghai in April, debuts here in four versions, these being the Panamera, Panamera Diesel, Panamera 4 and Panamera Turbo.

The rest of the facelifts, namely the Panamera S, Panamera 4 S and Panamera GTS, meanwhile, are expected to arrive later this year, while the Panamera S E-Hybrid, which replaces the pre-facelift S Hybrid, is scheduled for sometime next year.

External revisions include a tauter looking front end, with a new bumper offering larger air intakes and a more distinctive transition to the headlamps. The car now features a redesigned rear section, with a revised boot lid, new LED taillights and a more swept-back rear window area. Elsewhere, standard features now include bi-xenon headlights, a multifunction steering wheel and an automatic boot lid.

Power is up by 10 hp in the 3.6 litre V6 that equips both the Panamera and Panamera 4, so there’s 310 hp on call now. The Diesel’s 3.0 litre V6 turbodiesel is good for 250 hp and 550 Nm, and the car’s top speed is up marginally to 244 km/h.

porsche mutiara

As for the range-topping Turbo, the 4.8 litre V8 biturbo mill pumps out 520 hp and 700 Nm, with performance numbers being a 305 km/h top speed and 0-100 km/h time of 3.9 seconds with the Sports Chrono Package strapped on.

Pricing starts from RM740,000 for the Panamera and Panamera Diesel, while that for the Panamera 4 begins from RM780,000 and for the Panamera Turbo, from RM1.2 million. All prices are inclusive of applicable duties but without insurance, complete with a four-year factory warranty and a four-year complimentary service maintenance package.

The new range was launched in conjunction with the opening of Porsche Centre Damansara, which is located on the LDP across from Mutiara Damansara. The 14,606 sq ft facility features a sales showroom equipped with a Porsche Fitting lounge on the ground floor, replete with a Porsche car configurator and Porsche exclusive parts to customise one’s ride.

It also houses a Porsche Approved Pre-Owned Car Centre on the first floor, which offers a wide range of Pre-Owned cars certified with a minimum two-years Porsche Approved Pre-Owned Warranty. Until the new flagship centre in Sungai Besi – scheduled to open in second half of 2014 – comes about, this one will hold court as the centrepiece.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• BLUR SOTONG on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Perhaps I never notice that a Panamera run on a V series engines .
    Where is the Boxer Six Cyclinders ????
    To my stand of point, a PORSCHE is not a Porsche without it iconic Boxer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
  • Simon Ng on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Wow. Another car that is as expensive as a brand new apartment.
    Will the people who voted for BN and the ones who did not vote, please stand up? You all made it happen. I am sure you must be very proud of yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 30
  • Jimmy on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Reasonable price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • Keris Jawa on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Yeah! I am proud for Malaysia to continue the culture of horrendous artificial car price! Bravo! :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • Gavin on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:25 pm

our friend there like kayu fella only

• maserati on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:47 pm

My super beng golf can tapau this car. My top speed is 350km/h.

Porsche so slow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 49
  • 中山郎 on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Bang for buck!

• Wow tats fast though, i thought Europe just launched recently. Bet goina see this flood the street again in few months times.. anyway, good job Porsche.

• putra on Jul 05, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Lousy car coz most of the time breakdown. My putra more reliable and cheap to maintain.

My top speed is 360km/h. Beat the super fast golf by 10km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • kepaleacikhang on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:04 pm

too bad you couldn’t afford to maintain…2 units turbo confirm bookings as soon as it launch in malaysia ! one for my wife and one for me ! i love you wife, u know who you are !

• my modded sentra can reach 380km/h easily. Got twin speedometer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • kepaleacikhang on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:11 pm

btw putra, all the mid & top ends chicks goes in my ride… those matt rempit hops into your putra ! i’m proud of you son

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Joe Radzif on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:38 pm

wait 10 years to get the dropped price one…
    he he he

• Those who say their car is faster than Panamera i have see it then. If u cant afford coz u got no money. its ok, work harder. dont come here bash this and that. Really funny la someties this ppl…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • motorhead on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Awesome price tag! I ll buy a wife for that price.

• jolly_idiot on Jul 06, 2013 at 1:02 am

Why so fast? Wanna go see jesus faster? We’re toking 300+km/h. Those r near to light speed in real life.

• Eyess on Jul 07, 2013 at 11:30 am

Those who are saying their car can reach 300++km/h is utterly bullshit. If ur cheapo car can reach that speed u r dard by now. Really, not even in autobahn can u handle those speed with a German car, talk about cheap car. Unless u have skills like racecar driver. Even that oso u wil treasure ur life. Sometimes this ppl wanna bash for the sake of bashing. Haters goina hate while those ppl with money will get the last laugh. I mean im still yet to afford a Pana. But my F10 serving me well. Mayb when i plan to upgrade i’ll go for Panamera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Are you sure you are driving an F10 and it’s not a Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
      • Eyess on Jul 08, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Owh, sorry did i hurt ur feelings? Dont be jealous. Mayb u can own one nxt time..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • Don’t talk big lah, a person who drive F10 will not bull around and tell others that he (she) is driving an F10.

• Eyess on Jul 10, 2013 at 9:04 am

Why not? i wasnt even talk big at all.I was just pointing out some statement regarding my ride. U are the one who caripasal with me and now cant accept the fact i really drive one? its ok, its ur right to have ur own thoughts. up to u. My F10 is serving me well, once again, period.

• dun medan on Jul 10, 2013 at 3:54 pm

haiya, i tell you aa.. these brand doesn’t give a single damn about you or poor bragging people la…those who keep saying “this car is overpriced, expensive, BN is the culprit” and such are obviously not their target client..and yes, there are people who will be buying this car doesn’t matter what the price tag is…it’s just the matter of passion or jealousy…