Locally-developed EV to “cost below RM100k” – MAI

Tesla Model S-14

The Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI) has revealed at its 2014/15 review that development of numerous electric mobility solutions are underway – as part of its on-going initiative to further augment the local automotive industry – with some expected to bear fruits by the end of 2017.

Further development of lithium-ion battery technology, along with an e-bus and EV project are said to be the highlights of MAI’s undertaking, as stated by CEO, Mohamad Madani Sahari. The on-going e-bus project is expected to produce its first prototype by the end of 2015 with production slated for sometime in 2016.

MAI_14_15_review_ 012

As for its EV programme, Madani states that it is not connected to Proton’s own on-going EV development project – itself scheduled to roll out a prototype by 2017. Instead, it is said to be undertaken by a local, private firm with a prototype slated to appear as early as the “first quarter of 2016,” added Madani.

While details of the vehicle are scarce, Madani mentions that the production vehicle “will cost lower than RM100k” as well as boast an “operational range of up to 300 km” on a full charge. In relation, Madani has also stated that talks are on-going with Tesla Motors on a potential collaboration that might see its battery supercharging technology become available, in some form or another, in the future.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• spongewai on Jan 13, 2015 at 1:03 pm

extend the excise duty for CBU and CKD hybrid vehicles then we’ll more happier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • ProtonGSC on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:30 pm

“EV cost below RM 100k”

Madani never listen to Rakyat…

We need AP system and excise duty to be abolish !!! And not add another type of vehicle to make the road more jam !!!

MAI can chnage name to Cronies Automotive Industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
      • TESLA is completely FREE! on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Those idiots at MAI are so so so so so stupid. Tesla is NO 1 in electric technology and hybrids.

Recently Tesla said all patents and tech info is FREE for everyone. Anyone can take it for free. All their patents, plans, designs, blueprints and working models are FREE.

That means if MAI had a brain or even Proton had a brain, Malaysia could produce the best EEV or Hybrid cars for zero research

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
        • Panties on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:32 pm

We can never progress. Half the time we are getting upset with who said what and who said that

Where got time to progress? All the time authorities are concerned with petty issues, sedition la, halal chocolate la, you cannot use this word etc.

We got no time to do R & D.

That is why you see Singapore progressing faster and even former 3rd world countries overtaking us in R&D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
          • Panties on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:38 pm

MAI, every month gomen gonna make billions from our over priced petrol. We are now over subsidising RM1 per litre. Each time you fill your full tank, you give gomen free RM50 (assuming 50 litres)

Where the money going MAI?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • Panties on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:41 pm

RM100k still cheap? You think most Malaysians can afford RM100k?

Already 250,000 people lost all they have ever owned up north. For them, to buy food alone is a luxury.

So , how to buy RM100k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
        • AutoZen111 (Member) on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:38 pm

The materials and labour are not free. If this vehicle’s technology turns out to be based on Tesla’s IP, consider yourself lucky for being able to buy it for less than RM100,000. Do you even know much a Tesla costs, after federal incentives and rebates?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • Panties on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:44 pm

So, is it safe to buy Proton EV? If below RM100k, sure letup!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
          • unforgiven on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:56 pm

After so many years, all the educated folks know that anything from MAI or Madani is basically not up to par yet. Nothing is great from them so far, unfortunately, which created negative view when their names appear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • AutoZen111 (Member) on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:09 pm

It’s clearly stated in the second last paragraph that this vehicle is not connected to Proton. Why bring Proton into this conversation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Tesla model S, is a luxury performance 4 door car that has rear wheel drive and a gigantic screen in the center console, it cost RM250,000 before our government’s stupid tax, it is really not expensive at all to the many people who can afford a base 3 series.
            We are about to pay RM100,000 for a hatchback, with 0-100 time of probably 9 or more seconds, FWD, with a rubbish interior that is smaller than many cars at the same price, tell me which is more worth it?

• MAI - The Con Artist on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Madani Sahari is actually a puppet used by the Government to confuse the car buying community to con them into paying high car prices.

Before Madani comes out with all his predictions and analysis, may I remind you Madani, whatever you have told us in the past has not come out at all. In the past you told us that the Government was moving towards EEV. Many people took your advice and bought Hybrids. Then suddenly, Government themselves pulled the plug on the tax issue and said no more tax benefits on hybrid. So many people were left stuck. Honda also took Madani’s advice and set up billion dollar plant to CKD the Civic and Jazz. That also went down the drain.

Billions wasted because Madani gave “false” direction to all the local companies to set CKD Hybrid in Malaysia. Those who bought Hybrids also now suffer because Insurance premiums have gone up (Insurance companies now value your car not RM150,000 but RM250,000) and to replace a stolen Civic Hybrid would cost that much. So, current owners of Hybrid suffer with higher premiums and also nobody wants to touch these cars in the 2nd hand market because the price is like yo yo.

So what happened Madani? You always come out with heavy duty charts to show Government encouraging EEV and Hybrids, now apa jadi?

Second issue is, Madani should, before coming out with all his usual nonsense from his mouth, he should ask his boss Najib, what happened to Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

Najib, before the elections last year promised all MAlaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted BN in. He said not to trust PKR because PKR was dishonest. he further stressed that BN always kept their promises and that it was 100% sure he would reduce car prices by 30%

So what happened to Madani’s boss Najib and his promise?

Madani, instead of kipas Najib and waiting for your Datukship, do something for the rakyat. Even the AP issue also you have not sorted out. the PEKEMA theives are stealing so much from the rakyat and MAI and MITI and the Government close an eye. 30 million people suffer just for 20 PEKEMA members to make billions per annum each.

So, why Madani you come out with all this analysis and prediction when two most important things you have not done

1) Najib’s Promise to reduce car prices 30%
      2) Abolishing the PEKEMA AP conmen

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 5
      • Malaysia losing to Thailand on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Can Madani explain why we are losing billion to Thailand every month whilst MAI is costing the Government millions to pay MAI staff?

Malaysia was on its way to becoming the Detroit of Asia in the 90s. But the AP system cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to share the pool of APs with the cronies and they knew 90% of all APs go to the cronies. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

We lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

A word of caution to Madani and the idiots in MITI, Malaysia might even lose existing companies who are already CKDing in Malaysia. BMW, Mercedes, Nissan, Honda and Toyota might even close up their plants in Malaysia to open up in Thailand.

This is so worrisome. Despite Thailand having an unstable economy with riots and bombing, no stable government, yet car companies still prefer Thailand to Malaysia. Makes us wonder…..what is wrong with Malaysia?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
        • Close MAI down on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:11 pm

Better close MAI down. Waste our tax payers money. I heard these MAI guys go overseas in one big rombongan by Business class and stay 5 star hotel just to learn about cars.

Each business class ticket alone is RM20k. Hotel I think few thousand a day. Allowance another thousand a day,

All to learn about cars in overseas. Free factory tour, jalan jalan, jolly

• kzm (Member) on Jan 13, 2015 at 8:52 pm

u guy very gud of using misleading n incorrect information to make ur reasoning look credible.. i’m impress even im using clearly publically available info seem like using false information..i’m impress really..wow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
        • Grammar Nazi on Jan 13, 2015 at 9:33 pm

impressed — ada ‘ed’. Publicly bukan publically.

• kzm father on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:05 am

What to do. That fellow do online business, no proper job, where he knows how to speak proper English.

• This EV things “reev etc.” has been barked many years ago..people here easily forget.

Nothing happened, Proton still sell high price car. MAI should set direction National car only priced at below RM 55k. As other consumer subsidized Proton.

The nature .- many will not expend more than 60k for preve. No proven. Design ugly. Please fire those banyak cakap no results Chief with the team together.

I never meant to condemn Proton if they are good I will buy one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • lelle on Jan 13, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Preve design ugly? You must be fan of Almera dugong and Vios catfish designs.

Lol

• C.P.MOHAN on Jan 13, 2015 at 1:09 pm

With current global low oil prices, we realistically should be looking at 2018 onward for any development in this arena.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Oil - US$45 on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Now oil already US$45. This would be Petrol should be 90 sen per litre.

We Malaysians still overpaying by RM1 per litre.

Can MAI, who like to spend millions on research explain why we Malaysians are paying more now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Guan Yin Maa on Jan 13, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Proton can’t even produce a proper petrol car on its own , want to make EV ? Good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
    • muka tembok on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Proton EV – below 100k price

Others – above 100k price, higher is better

• Car Prices Going UP UP UP! on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:56 pm

MAI just reported that ALL car prices in Malaysia will go higher in the next 6 months. Last month he said OPPOSITE. He said car prices would be going down because of GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • SO you think Saga is not car? Tank? Bus?

Lel

• JB_KIA on Jan 13, 2015 at 1:18 pm

MAI again…..wonder anyone bother what you have reported.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • I think those MAI people standard only at weekly reporter level.

There are not Industrialist enhancer or research activator for Malaysian ,- just makan gaji and forget whatever they said yesterday.

• slk3879 on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:57 pm

only read MAI’s report for amusement

• Panties on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:35 pm

MAI is the NO 1 talk kok in town. Second is MAA.

Both ceos will be Tan Sri soon

• development ‘towards’ euro 4 & 5? People are developing towards 6 dy la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • TESLA is considered as a Premium EV car in the US!

• ThePolygonal on Jan 13, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Good news :D Looking forward to it. Wonder what is that local private firm. Any idea guys?

• slk3879 on Jan 13, 2015 at 1:36 pm

As usual, know how to talk only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • nowadays oil is so cheap, no need EV la..
    scared msia developed batteries will meletup one.. lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • ikkkl on Jan 13, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Hope VW fixes rotten DSG first
      That’s much better done

• my TSI manual one.. lol

• lockerum on Jan 14, 2015 at 12:34 pm

http://paultan.org/2014/10/20/volkswagen-malaysia-dsg-resolved/

Read this one pls sir. With so many gadgets and internet connection everywhere, you still cant get this simple info sir? How lame.

• Painter on Jan 13, 2015 at 1:59 pm

100 years ago, it’s a one man show when it comes to technology breakthrough. Thomas Edison was sneered and jeered upon and failed many times over. But if it weren’t for him, we’d be basking under candle light during night time and internet wouldn’t even be a dream.

As humanity enter the globalization age, everything is connected and each of everyone play his/her small part in pursuit of a better life, and that means contributing back to society.

So, to those who go out of their way doing R&D, experimenting and failing, bringing in new technology for society to try, and the society itself who chose to be part of this massive experiment, hats off to you.

Nevermind the armchair critics, nevermind the naysayers, nevermind the bureaucrats hell-bent on failing you. Thomas Edison had gone through worst. You have done us all a favor by pushing mankind forward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
    • yellowschoolbus on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Hats off to you sir for keeping an open mind…we could use more people like you…unlike majority of the posters here with their constant brainless bashing and blaming everyone around them but themselves…as if these morons contributed any advancements…kudos~!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
      • Talk Rubbish on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Bodoh like you. False history. Distorted truth. Just like our Sejarah.

It was Nikola Tesla la that invented it. You are reading Utusan too much bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
        • yellowschoolbus on Jan 13, 2015 at 5:18 pm

there you go…morons like mr talk rubbish here is an example…did i comment on his history reference? i was applauding his constructive support…and here we have this super genius keyboard warrior blabbering about something he got of wikipedia flew in like a superhero with his so called intelligent argument adding utusan, sejarah what not all of a sudden in the equation…hahaha…you’re amusing…go shoot yourself in the head please…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
          • kzm father on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:07 am

This guy always ask people to shoot themselves and die. Poor boy. Sounds like an abused childhood person with persecution complex.

• Edison didn’t invent the light bulb. In fact, it’s well-documented that he was a master of corporate greed and cut-throat business ethics.

Heinrich Goebel was likely the first person to have actually invented it, back in 1854. He tried selling it to Edison, who saw no practical use in Goebel’s invention and refused. Shortly thereafter, Goebel died and, shortly after that, Edison bought Goebel’s patent, (you know, the one he saw no merit in), off of Goebel’s impoverished widow at a cost much lower than what it was worth.

And that’s just one instance his schemes. Don’t mean to burst your bubble, but it just annoys me when people use Edison as an example for perseverance = success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Ripcord on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Your point is similar to Adam & Eve versus ‘We were apes before humans’ kind of argument. Each proponent is trying to outdo each other, whereas there are more important things in live that crediting who did what.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • AutoZen111 (Member) on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Those who ignore history are in peril of repeating it. Edison was a kiasu businessman, not a real scientist. If you want something more contemporary, how about Al Gore inventing the Internet? So each time you log on, make sure to worship him. Faham?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Panties on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Similar to Malaysia and Proton. All copycat. No brains to do on their own. Why? All the brains have migrated or are migrating. Brain drain even Najib has acknowledged!

• comeonlah on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:44 pm

But electric cars and hybrids technology have already been developed. Your analogy with thomas edison is not valid. The jeers from most of the keyboard warriors here are why local manufacturers are still struggling to produce EV or hybrids after all the initiatives and $$ being pumped into these companies. Why punish the rakyat with high car prices when the ones that failed are them? Do you think thomas edison like seeing his invention being priced exorbitantly because 1malaysia cannot produce their own light bulbs?

• Obviously (Member) on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:49 pm

If you want to thank someone for the electrified world we live in today, there are many to thank as the development of electrical systems to their current state seems to be long and storied. Nikola Tesla, Edison’s contemporary should receive much of your gratitude as he had a hand in developing further many of the devices that are essential to running our world in its current (haha) state.

Thomas Edison was a faithful proponent of direct current (DC) while Tesla championed alternating current (AC). The two competed quite bitterly but Nikola Tesla ultimately won because of AC’s inherent potential, a potential which Edison’s backer, J. P. Morgan, the man who had a hand in founding America’s General Electric, saw. Edison stuck by his DC system in spite of being shown AC’s potential and this caused Morgan to forsake him in favor of Tesla’s work.

Now, the name Tesla is once again at the forefront of electrical engineering, this time in the automotive industry, producing some of the most desirable and capable production fully electric cars on the market today. Though the company is merely named after Nikola and doesn’t seem to have any relation to his lineage, it carries on in his spirit of pioneering the field of electrical engineering.

As Robb said, Thomas Edison was a bit of a jerk, if you’ve read about what he and his company did way back then before being swallowed into the General Electric conglomerate.

• Talk Rubbish on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Bodoh betul. Write so long but all rubbish. It was Tesla that invented it la. Go read real history. You read msia history all salah. Even Parameswara has been deleted. Go read real world history la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • yellowschoolbus on Jan 13, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Kalau pandai sangat and everyone else is bodo, golah teach history at school…your contribution is much more meaningful rather than sit here and calling everyone bodo…no one likes a “smartypants” like you…hope you get electrocuted so you can meet your mr tesla that you love so much…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
        • kzm father on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:08 am

what is golah and bodo? Searching is dictionary. Cannot find.

• Irresponsible on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:25 am

Why in all your post you wish people bad things? Grow up and be mature. Grow up and argue like a real man. Small form 2 boy playing behind his keyboard

• nichola tesla on Jan 13, 2015 at 5:20 pm

er actually Thomas Edison is an extremely bad role-model for all. He is a ruthless, heartless businessman. Stealing almost all of ‘his’ inventions. Bankrupting legitimate inventors. Look for it.

• Budin on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:24 pm

by the time EVs were to be introduced, TNB keep increasing the tariff such that it will be too high already, no point getting an EV anymore

• Panties on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Clean diesel also cannot give, want to do EV somemore. Clean petrol also dont have.

• EV is not good for Malaysia..
    when everyone using less fuel, oil demand drops, USD rise, RM down, equity down, economy uncertainty, inflation up..

We should build more gas guzzles to drive up the oil demand.. lol

• Buried among all the negative comments about politics is the awesome news that we Malaysians are working with Tesla, and that if it works, our EV will not only be among the cheapest in the world but also with the highest range on a full charge (wonder how they are doing it though). 300km is no small feat when the BMW i3 and the Nissan Leaf has less range than that. Hope it’s not just all talk from MAI. Wi th Tesla Supercharging stations Malaysia can be the leading EV hub of Asia.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:01 pm

I unfortunately do not share your optimism.

No great product ever came out of a closed, uncompetitive and protected environment.

MAI is just another GLC thinktank. It champions the governemnts interest, not the general public and its wishes.

• Ripcord on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Myteksi, Air Asia, just to name a few. These are all great Malaysians products.

• how about petronas, the 4th largest (last I checked) oil company in the world? When petronas was started, the gomen protected it like hell.

• robin on Jan 14, 2015 at 1:00 am

AirAsia sure as hell isn’t a GLC. It’s the GLCs that are rubbish, not Malaysian products/companies. They can literally talk rubbish, shake their legs and only be productive a couple of hours a day and still get paid along with big bonuses.

• jimmy on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:46 pm

When son said, daddy I want to become pilot, daddy will say, haiya study oso cannot get straight A want to become pilot, how?

Then son got so sad, he forgot about his dream and become toyota salesman. The end.

• What is this?
      Story of Same L0rrrr / Albert / any bangang bashers@SA?

• darkermarker on Jan 13, 2015 at 8:45 pm

3 words…..

MAI

SYOIK

SENDIRI

• CyberPatrol on Jan 14, 2015 at 6:22 am

Tesla Open Source tell a story why growth can be stagnant because of protection. Now auto engineers around the globe can see the Tesla R&D works and make enhancement for good of the industry, extend battery milage, reduce of C02 emission etc…

MAI claim to do a collaboration with Tesla I wonder how this equation works Protection + Open Source = Innovation & Growth.

MAI are you planning to protect Malaysian made EV with Tesla Open Source. I dont think that Tesla Open Source motive and sense of sharing. I’ might do some investigation on licenses Telsa Open Source auto vehicle vs Open Source licenses for software (GPLv2)

• Anonymous on Jan 14, 2015 at 12:00 am

beribu ribu tahniah……we are so outdated

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 14, 2015 at 8:01 am

beribu ribu tahniah……we are so outdated

• cost below RM100k, u mean to price it at RM99,999.99…1 sen keep the change ^^

• Dr Amin on Jan 14, 2015 at 10:46 pm

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

• Desmond on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:07 am

Who in government decide to remove auto lock and auto unlock system? Did ECE R94 & ECE R95 stated auto lock must be remove? Why other country that has the same compliance has auto lock and auto unlock approved on all vehicle on the road?