Proton Preve REEV electric car prototype previewed

Proton_Preve_REEV_ 008

This Proton Preve REEV is on display this weekend at the Alami Proton carnival happening at the Proton headquarters in Shah Alam. It’s a range extender electric vehicle, which basically means it moves with pure electric power, but also has an engine that is used to power a generator that recharges the batteries.

This is not the first REEV that we’ve seen from Proton. There was an Exora REEV, but that was developed with Frazer-Nash and used a rotary engine as the range extender. This one is a continuation of the range extender powertrain in the Proton EMAS Concept, which uses a Lotus “Omnivore” three-cylinder 1.2 litre engine as the range extender.

Proton_Preve_REEV_ 006

In the EMAS, the three-cylinder engine did 51 horsepower at 3,500 rpm and 107 Nm of torque at 2,500 rpm. It only runs at 2 RPM points – 1,500 rpm and 3,500 rpm, as its sole purpose is to recharge the batteries. The batteries of the Emas could power the car up to 50 km on a full charge, so if your travel is under 50 km, you won’t burn any fossil fuels and can run on electric power alone.

Proton_Preve_REEV_ 024

This system has been updated for the Preve REEV – the aluminum block engine is now 1.3 liter in size and has a supercharger, which allows it to produce more power.

According to the Proton engineers manning the booth, the more powerful generator engine allows the Preve REEV to maintain highways speeds even when the batteries have been exhausted, as the more powerful engine can now produce enough power in real time to keep the car going at high speeds.

It’s a prototype to test the REEV system, so the engine bay packaging hasn’t really been done to production car standards. As a result, the engine is mounted high, and the engine hood had to be modified with a bump to clear the engine. The 15.7 kWh lithium ion batteries are mounted under the floor, and the fuel tank has been moved a little to the rear to make way for this.

You can charge the batteries via a plug-in socket on the passenger side front fender, so the range extender only kicks in if your journey exceeds the battery’s capacity. The electric motor can do 80 kW (107 horsepower) and 170 Nm of torque.

The Preve REEV weighs 1,724 kg, but has an ECE R101 fuel consumption rating of 0.82 litres per 100 km. It only outputs 19.4 g/km of CO2 emissions on average, but if you can keep it on electric mode, it’s basically zero emissions. The 100 km/h sprint is done in 14.7 seconds.

Visit the Alami Proton over the weekend to view the car in person.

Learn more: ,

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• unforgiven on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Good stuff, however do we have the knowledge and education to know about the Global standard? What should be the co2 output and what should be the hp/torque? What about be the 0-100km/h?

The overall package/combination should meet the global standard, not jaguh kampung please!
    At worst case, meet ASIA standard (inclusive of Japan) first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 56
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:38 pm

bro… japan market most difficult to enter.. their level ( jdm) is higher than us market

even US car also difficutnto enter japan market

JDM the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 19
      • DonkeyKong on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Don’t tokkok and boast so much just because you’ve been to Japaan for a while. You’re not the only one who have studied and/or worked in Japan and no, JDM isn’t the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 19
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:25 pm

it is much much better than ppl sell umw m p2 product n they believe they are selling japanese product

prfffthhhh hhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
          • unforgiven on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:56 am

Forward thinking, global standard.

Global co2 output standard, global safety standard.

Not forgetting, global single car price standard. To achieve that, we need educated people in the world. To have the knowledge of cost breakdown and what we are paying for.

• bumperbumpereverywhere on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:28 pm

He’s not ‘peyno’ lah
          Learn to differetiate a genuine comment first

• gear pakai button…budak2 suka sangat menekan itu ini..harap ada perubahan sikit.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:06 am

kereta nak global.. tapi pemikiran still tak global

anak kasi bagi seatbelt atau duduk dlm child seat laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:16 am

real peyno

awarded best forumner cari 2003

nominated best comment cari 2006

banned from autoworld, lowyat forum and motortrader( hated by uncle chip yap)

awarded king of troll paultan 2012

most hated by p2 n umw macai n salesman paultan 2014

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • global?wait n see…hehe

• unforgiven on Sep 28, 2014 at 12:11 pm

It’s still your responsibility to teach/guide people on what’s the best! To equip everyone with the knowledge and education. Definitely comparing with the best in the world, JDM/Euro/etc.

• Obvioisly you dont read what was written.. the century sprint was clearly stated at 14+ sec yet you still ask… Nuts!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • unforgiven on Sep 27, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Sorry, in global standard, 14 sec is not acceptable, definitely not acceptable by my Malaysian standard too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
        • eims perfume on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:01 am

common for later model from proton is the weight, it cant be helped since proton like to put more safety features in their model.

if proton could shed few hundreds kgs for the production model. i bet the figures will change significantly. this is prototype thats why everything is not proper yet.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:34 am

Plenty of cars in Europe that take more than 14 seconds to 100.

• unforgiven on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:52 am

Are you a forward thinking person? What are you comparing with, which year shall you be comparing with? Think of at least Year 2016 please, so again, 14.7 is not acceptable, sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Obviously (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 12:29 pm

What’s with this obsession about the 0-100km/h time? It isn’t exactly the most important figure for a car. There are other things more important things to be more forward thinking about.

• Axia is 15 secs, not acceptable?

• mojokojo on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:39 am

I don’t know what all the fuss is about…i mean its still a prototype…not a production car yet…n people are all ready bashing blindly..saying this n that…at least give p1 creadit for doing r n d on eev cars….its still not the final stage for the production car….let the proton boys n gals do their thing….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • mangata on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:03 am

Its good that proton is thinking about ev powertrain..but seriously?! I mean instead of wasting money on ev powertrain..they should b focusing on good,reliable cars..almost all of their car in their staple requires new design and proton is missing a A-segment car…why r they rushing for something they r not good in..Toyota and Honda only ventured in hybrid tech once they capture the global market! Heck even Honda doesn’t really have an electric car..so why r they rushing? Give Malaysian good cars n then v vll buy your electric cars

• unforgiven on Sep 28, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Think Global is good, it’s a good initiative.

However, if the basic of earning money is not there, and no timeline to make profits, then that’s a serious issue.

• AMG POWAAA on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Yea,other nowadays overseas car maker can achieve 0-100km/h under 10 second even Oldsmobile Trofeo can achieve under 10 second 0-100km/h figure.What we need is Torque,Handling and Power but sadly Malaysian manufacturer wont listen to that and still make car 0-100km/h over ten second like Iriz.Sir unforgiven,you are the only guy who thinks more than “stupid malaysian wanted to slow and stuff”. Please ignore the Like Dislike rating and I will support you.Cheers!

• YeapyEvo on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:31 pm

A solution to the Iriz “Global car” that cannot be sold to Europe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 54
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Correct. Fact & positive. . But ppl thumb u down.. so I add some salt on the wounds. .

“To develop an engine, it usually takes four to five years. We cannot wait so it is better for us to acquire it from other party,” said Tun Dr. Mahathir..

Tada enjin kita beli enjin. . Duit R&D suda tibai.

Perkara in biasa US government pon buat.. according to Plotong supporters..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 56
      • motorbart on Sep 27, 2014 at 10:30 pm

You don’t want to mention Japan?

• i dont know bro… its looks like all your comments so far have been nothing but hate driven vitriol, with the sole purpose of inciting hate and ill-feelings towards any and every efforts p1 puts forward. granted, their efforts in the 30 odd years of existence has been far from stellar. however i am of the opinion that such hostility is somewhat unwarranted. especially when the comments make it sound that our fellow countrymen/ malaysians from all level and department of P1 are nothing but bunch of baboons.

by your logic sir, we as a nation should’ve stayed remained as a british colony, for they (the mat sallehs) are better at every thing under the sun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • YeapyEvo on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Fact is Hyundai was behind Proton 30 years ago , and look at the differences between them now.

Speaking of efforts, Hyundai and China upcoming Qoros is ready to make it big in the world with Euro 6 compliant engine while Proton is still doing endless R&D, which by the time it is completed has become obsolete. VVT existed since 1980s and how much of the RM 500M development cost went into R&D of that engine? Is it economically feasible to spend so much money to develop a “new” engine with old technology that gets you nowhere other than selective market? Assuming Proton make 5k from each Iriz sold they need to sell 100k of Iriz to recover the cost.

Blind Proton supporters are unwilling to accept positive criticism, whenever people give criticism so that Proton can improve they take it offensively. Take a read on Narcissistic personality disorder at wikipedia to know more.

• jipangmenjerit on Sep 29, 2014 at 12:13 pm

the different with proton and hyundai is hyunday buy skills people from audi (if I don’t mistaken) to design their cars, while proton polish our malaysians skills which made the jap’s envy.

but hyundai is still back on engine development, unlike proton, and the fuel consumtions also much higher compare with aifm campro. even the luxorious ssangyong using mercedes engine.

• ada otak tak on Sep 28, 2014 at 2:43 am

Woii samdol, ko ingat duit R&D tu utk pakai buat iriz aje ke. Otak kasi pakai lah. Jangan jadi bodoh. Ko ingat REEV, platform, powertrain, chasis, car area network etc tak pakai duit R&D ke.

Lain kali belajar dan fikir macam mana kereta dibuat. Bukan main rebadge aje, bayar license kat orang lain. Kalau rebadge, memanglah main photoshop aje kerjanya, tak payah fikir pasal ip, trademark, patent.

Kalau tak tahu, tanya. Buat malu manusia ake.

• unforgiven on Sep 28, 2014 at 12:14 pm

Where’s the duit R&D from? What’s the duration/timeline to payback with interest? Please get the facts on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Obviously (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:32 pm

The plot thickens…things are getting mighty interesting. So if this power train is transplanted into the much lighter Iriz, it should be a really capable vehicle.

Wonder what decision they’d make in the end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • driver on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Interesting effort indeed. 170 Nm for 1724 kg is not enough though. They need to find ways to lighten the car. If they need somebody to test the car for a longer time period, I’m wiling to volunteer my self.

Instead of petrol, I would suggest a diesel engine that’s tuned to run on filtered used-cooking oil. That would be a more sustainable solution.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 8:28 am

That 170Nm of torque will come in from standstill, though, so I guess it’s quite usable. And 170Nm looks more suitable on the Iriz, which is far lighter.

At the end of the day, I think Proton needs more power train or engine engineers…

• unforgiven on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:55 am

Sorry, how long are you planning to see Iriz on the road? What about preve? Not more than year 2018 of course, common sense I guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Obviously (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:32 am

That didn’t make any sense at all. lol

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Iriz is potentially able to hold a hybrid engine, isn’t it.

Now let’s say they do productionise it, and put it into the Iriz/New Saga (logically speaking, in the next year or two, the Iriz will be the only viable existing vehicle they can place it in, for now. Preve will be with us till at least 2017, with the facelift for it coming in 2015 I’d guess. The Exora is due for a new model now that it has passed the 5 year mark. Saga may get it, since the Saga would be based off the same platform as the Iriz too…) first, this would make sense as the ultimate city car. Perfect for the city cause it is compact and cheap to run.

However for them to succeed, to be honest is going to be an uphill battle. Proton so far has not been producing very remarkable engines, up to the Iriz at least. The Campro debacle did leave a sour taste for many… It will be very interesting to see how it goes though. I won’t discount the part where they won’t do it, look at Renault and Peugeot, they are making some serious progress with the ZE and e-HDi technology respectively. It’s not as smooth as the Hybrid Synergy Drive, but hey even the Germans have not cracked the HSD formula, yet.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 8:37 am

They did claim that Iriz can hold a hybrid or EV powertrain, yes. That’s the interesting part. A hybrid or EV is the most fuel-efficient solution in a city setting due to the nature of electric motors to not require revving to reach their powerbands as internal combustion engines do.

I still think the current VVT engine is not particularly remarkable. Honestly, I feel that it could still be limited by the original Campro architecture. They changed the block, pistons and valves of the Campro. Most of the major components, yes. But there were no mentions about any modifications to the crankshaft and camshafts, even fuel injectors. So…it seems to me that this is a heavily modified Campro (unless changing the block makes it a new engine) and Proton decides to lose the Campro name because of its relative unpopularity. Proton would still need more powertrain engineers…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:35 pm

ni baru nama fuel saving technology

EV

bukannya buat engine cc kecik bawah 1
    liter pasal tu claim fuel saving hahahahha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 13
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Typical tokkok reply from someone with no engineering knowledge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 7:17 am

ok ok
        timing chain technology > All

macai

• pondan on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:48 am

Otak kosong period!

• DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Tokkok reply from low-class uneducated budak kampung.

If you think EV is the only thing that can be considered fuel-saving, while improved internal combustion engine efficiency isn’t, it proves you’re a typical tokkok who doesn’t know anything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 2:25 pm

yeahhh all makers now changing from ev hybrid tech to p2 style tech ( 3 cylinder 1000cc )

• driver on Sep 28, 2014 at 2:34 pm

if you think ‘budak kampung’ doesn’t know anything, then … [I don’t want to lower my level with curses like you].

• mr1031 on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:37 pm

after seeing the proton iriz’s interior, watching the other proton’s interior fittings just made me sad..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • Joe E on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:51 pm

This was my project under Green Tech in Proton. It is great to see it again. In public My best wishes to all the great team who assisted in making it. This car was fully designed and built by proton talented engineers. Good luck. Pity I was not given the chance to complete and commercialize it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 4
    • hahahah on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Denied to be produced and commercialized with unrealistic excuses are more accurate, right?

Very proud to know the whole processes from designing to integrations were done by proton engineers…MALAYSIANS!! . it’s funny and amazing to see proton decided to display the preve reev which has been the cinderella for how many years? 3 years? Dump the step sisters exora reev and saga ev.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • Winwin on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:54 pm

This Reev is acceptable as a prototype. It needs more propelling power for 0-100km/h acceleration. At least a 10 second. However, the meter cluster is nice and modern looking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Why should it need more propelling power? Look at the way Malaysians drive. Even getting to 80km/h after the traffic light turns green, Malaysian drivers will take more than a minute to do that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • unforgiven on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:59 am

Please learn and educate yourself about global standard, never give up in educating people surrounding you as well. Once we have educated people, your statement well be invalidated.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Once we have educated people we won’t have people like you and peyno

• prototype exora and saga also so quiet. this car should be better than those exora and saga so hope proton can put it into the production.

• REEV is interesting. Need to factor in maintenance and battery replacement costs though. And what those figures look compared to hybrids and electric only options.

• brazbuz on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:01 pm

O.82l /100km? Wow this is better than volks XL1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • That is very good Proton. Well done. If Iriz comes with this system….for sure….you have a winner in the local auto industry. Go go go and produce this (after you polish the tech of course)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • That is very good Proton. Well done. If Iriz comes with this system….for sure….you have a winner in the local auto industry. Go go go and produce this (after you polish the tech of course)

• Anson Ong on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:02 pm

This should be considered to be pitched against the likes of a few other lowest-end B-segment cars in Malaysia such as Honda Jazz Hybrid or Proton’s own Iriz, for your video comparison….if the Reev ever gets commercially sold in Malaysia…….

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:04 pm

1700 plus kg with only 107hp/170nm?14 sub seconds for century sprint?Dont waste time Proton on REEV instead concentrate more on building 1.8 & 2.0 engines and also turbodiesel engine for commercial vans and pick up if you keen for global vehicles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 36
    • driver on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Because they’re keen for global vehicles this REER was developed. Don’t you think hybrid/reev/ev is the way forward? While 1.8 and 2.0 engine are still relevant in malaysia, people outside are moving forward from fuel-combustion technology. And REER is one of the alternatives.

• Maybe it’s without the supercharger

• Najib on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:08 pm

That gearbox so damn fugly! I bet this stupid looking gearbox will not last longer than 1 year, oh god what the hell am I looking at!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 49
    • Jilbaber (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 7:12 pm

It’s ev power train la meh…I don’t think it have gearbox lah…even if it have how you know its ugly..it’s not even shown

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Because he is butthurt, normal for basher to hate without logical reason. Like to bash here and there, like he himself ais very successful person in life.

Talk is cheap

• I like the blue colour, is that colour available now?

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Bole sebat duit R&D.. dah x boleh.. buat kita beli..

Tada enjin.. kita beli enjin. .

Go plotong.. Go klentong..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 57
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:05 pm

boleh sebat incentive n privilage gomen syok
      sendiri national car

real import car anti NAP n nayinal car policy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 8:19 am

Nmpk sgt dok jepun jual butthole..

Dah plotong tu x sebat incentives?

Semua pon ko sebat.

Hahaha. . Dungu..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:08 am

perodua satu2nya company didunia yg 100% rebadge tapi dapat title kereta nasional

all nation, japan, indonesian laughing at malaysian bn crony bumper assembler p3

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:42 am

Dah masa partner dgn Mitsubishi dulu x rebadge ?
            Ke ko belum lahir masa tuh? Ke masa tu ko xde sini.. jual butut kat jepun?

• Plotong on Sep 28, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Ko nak sakit hati dengan p2 tuk knp..janji p2 untung bykkkkk..pakcik kayaaaaaa…

• motorbart on Sep 28, 2014 at 1:24 pm

This : Motorhead Pariah
            He was the starter:
            Motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:40 pm

• peyno (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 1:25 pm

sebab tu masa proton rebadge mitsu.. peyno bash proton gak…

p2 je company melayu criny umw tak sedar diri

satu2 di dunia tuuu

indon assemble daihatsu pon takde nak claim keta nasional mereka

eeee tak malu

perrfthhh

• peyno (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 1:26 pm

ko ingat peyno legend ni cam makcik2 kampung buyer p2 ko nak kencing p2 untung ke???

hahahah

ehh jual byk tu kira untung laaa… hahahah

• Jilbaber (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Ouh..glad it’s just a prototype..I hope production version or next stage prototype can improve the range and sprint time…at least below 10 seconds and 100 km…

• amirzaheen on Sep 27, 2014 at 7:19 pm

i like it better if they call it the proton beluga..hehehe

• isit me or proton is obsessed with sideskirt?

• local on Sep 27, 2014 at 7:52 pm

I went there n i saw iriz at the proton reev r&d bay with the sticker for green tech car. Also some info from proton vendor, maybe exora will be fitted with front n side sensor n next proton model can use all hp apps if connected with hp. but dont know what model. cheerz

• Garfield (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:06 am

U saw but didn’t try? I mean chauffeured around lah. It was quiet as expected from an EV and had good torque to start moving. I guess the event provided a lot of data that shall be useful in the development

• local on Sep 28, 2014 at 2:10 pm

As i said it, saw the car in r&d bay n not at the exhibit area. even we cant test the preve. btw there a mistake in my previoud post. its not sensor for exora. its side n front camera.

• Subaru Boxer Is The Only Flat Engine on Sep 27, 2014 at 7:58 pm

No shift knobs but why with hand brake ?

• jipangmenjerit on Sep 29, 2014 at 12:29 pm

who need gear knob when you’re in eletric car? and if you still insist for it, go take look at aston martin V8 vantage, their gears are just buttons

and plus, it’s prototype

..another thing, porsche also using flat boxer engine, not just subaru meh

• im not trolling but this car look like a piece of shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
    • Shiatty comment from shiatty person

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 8:44 am

Wow…I’ve never seen poop like that before. Which planet have you just come back from?

• ayamitik on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Good to hear that omnivor engine are being futher developed and fine tune. This should be the answer for euro 6 emission standard to break into europe market. Good luck proton, make it lighter (the curb weight) , better acceleration and higher top speed. Go reev.

• tak tahu on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:08 pm

so.. when the electrical power has been consumed completely (max distance of 50 KM), then there is backup to move the car by using the “range extender” which has 0.82L/100 KM?

• Nieko on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Well Well finally some images of the Proton Preve REEV and very good effort by proton ie the look of the interior is not to far away from any Euro Hybrid/EV and REEV nice job Proton oh and I am in Love with that Weird but unique Gearbox very Electro ……….

Cheers Guys …….

• Are REEV using Tesla Model S as benchmark?
    can achieve 50%-60% are good enough already! but 50KM range????

• Botol on Sep 27, 2014 at 9:19 pm

What a hack cut and paste job from lotus parts bin… That evora gear controller could at least be flush into console instead of pasted on… Typical proton… Drb kill this project before… Now tun is back in control the project revived to feed cronies pocket.. Now drb just ball carrier

• mascaretaker on Sep 27, 2014 at 9:36 pm

dont mind getting my hand on this. use in residential.. and shopping malls only.

1kwh is roughly rm0.40. wonder how much $$ saved per day. vs normal car 1L=RM2.10

• bolehland on Sep 27, 2014 at 10:32 pm

50km single charge is basically not efficient at all. here’s basic fact;

1. electric bus single charge is 150km
    2. electric bike (the kfc delivery bike) able to travel 100km single charge.
    3. other EV car by MOMOS (Renault Twiggy, Clio, Zoe, Nissan LEAF) are capable even more.

• familiman on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:06 am

prototype.. not finished product.. tak faham bahasa malaysia.. nieh english pun tak faham jugak???
      compare dengan finished commercialized product buat perr? duhhhhh!!

• Peaceaim on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:50 am

Please & please again, EV and REEV are different type of animal ok. All cars mentioned are EVs not REEV ok. REEV like Chevy Volt, Outlander PHEV, BYD F3DM.

• Abah now feeling proud of Proton.. keep it up, good job!

• plotongkoman on Sep 28, 2014 at 12:56 am

Haiyaaa… No talking talking about plotong maa..no money go buy plotong lah..rich guy will never talk about plotong..wasting my time onli..again, NO MONEY GO BUY PLOTONG LAH… Hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Strider on Sep 28, 2014 at 3:21 am

IMO Proton should look into producing a stand-alone model for an REEV, even if based off the designs from the Preve. Just a little something something to give you that elevated status above a normal Preve.

Until then, what if they named it the.. PREEVe??

• nerdy apple fan on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:54 am

Saya ada satu soalan berkenaan satu enjin yang baru dibeli oleh proton. enjin petronas tu. Apa yang berlaku sebenarnya boleh sesiapa ceritakan tak ? Kenapa tidak pakai enjin Petronas sahaja?

• DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Engine Petronas tu comply dgn standard Euro 2 saja. Member member aku kat Proton Powertrain cuba selidik dan modify engine ni utk comply dgn Euro 4 or Euro 5 standard, tapi tak berjaya. Lepas DRB-Hicom take over, mereka tak bagi priority utk project tu

• hahahah on Sep 28, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Enjin petronas tu original utk RWD tak silap aku…nak tukar masuk jadi FWD..Mcm2 hal nk kne ubah itu ini..enjin bay proton bukan besar so packaging issues which contributes to heat issues. What do u expect from 199×++ year punye technology. Confirm xleh lepas Euro emission.

Bg aku patut kasi variant proton models mcm perdana or preve or neo bole sumbat enjin ni even tak meet basic Euro…nak kata rugi? P1 major sales from domestic consumption. Petrolheads msia konfem berebut la nk enjin ni dlm proton…assuming power output mcm duk gembur2 dlm satria F1 safety car tu.

• ballpiece on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:51 am

Good stuffs Proton! Bring it on to safe the environment.

• hadi75 on Sep 29, 2014 at 8:18 am

Good…..now when will it be on sale????