Hyundai Sonata LF to be facelifted after slow US sales

hyundai-sonata-lf-driven 725

The new Hyundai Sonata has only recently been introduced in Malaysia, but across the Pacific plans are already afoot to revamp the LF due to slower-than-expected sales, according to a Wards Auto report.

Hyundai’s American arm believes that the disappointing US retail performance of the new D-segment sedan – 216,936 units sold last year, just 6.5% higher than in 2013 – was due to the relatively milquetoast design, compared to its predecessor‘s bold flowing look.

“It’s a very handsome vehicle, (but) it’s not as distinctive as the vehicle it (followed),” said Hyundai Motor America CEO Dave Zuchowski.

The last YF Sonata wore the radical first iteration of the brand’s “Fluidic Sculpture” language – rather than the more refined and conservative “Fluidic Sculpture 2.0” on the new car – and became the first Hyundai model to sell over 200,000 units a year in the US.

The move contrasts with Zuchowski’s comments last April – that the company didn’t have to “stand on a table” anymore in terms of design, because it believed it has already established itself in buyers minds as a top midsize competitor, like the Honda Accord and Toyota Camry. Hyundai soon found out, however, that it had to give deeper discounts than it expected to move LF Sonatas off dealer forecourts.

2012-2014_Hyundai_Sonata_YF_facelift_002
The YF-generation Sonata was more distinctive, wearing the showy “Fluidic Sculpture” design language

He added that the new Sonata was a hit with brand loyalists, but did not pull buyers shopping for other brands the way the old one did. “If we’re priced comparably, and we appear comparable, it’s always difficult to win that battle with those more well-established, well-entrenched (models).

“I told the story to our parent company (of driving the old Sonata) home, (and) people were rolling down their window at stop signs, following me, (asking), ‘What is that? Where can I get it?’ And I don’t get that (with the new one),” Zuchowski said. “That was free advertising, right? People would seek us out because we look different. And we don’t get that now.”

The facelift is expected to arrive during the 2017 or 2018 model year. “It’s hard to get anything (done sooner) than midcycle with the tooling involved,” Zuchowski said, adding that the company knows “exactly what we want to do, and we’re busy working on it right now.”

Zuchowski said that through the misstep, Hyundai has learnt some vital lessons in product development. “The more important thing is to understand we always need to keep our styling edge. We can’t let ourselves get closer to the pack.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments largely express skepticism about the Hyundai Sonata LF facelift, citing concerns over its outdated design, interior quality, and perceived decline in refinement compared to Japanese rivals like Toyota and Honda. Many feel the facelift is too conservative and wish Hyundai would improve materials and tech features. Some mention that slow US sales prompted the facelift, highlighting a trend of rapid updates after short sales periods. There’s criticism of Hyundai’s market strategy, resale value, and quality issues, with a few commenters suggesting that Korean cars still lag behind Japanese ones in reliability and driving experience. Despite some appreciation for the exterior design, overall sentiment indicates disappointment, with many believing the facelift may not significantly improve sales or perception.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:24 am

Unsurprising as people gets wiser in the selection of their car choices..

I have been an advocate of performance over aesthetics and get unfairly bashed by everyone here… Now statistics don’t lie, you can see why nobody ever goes near a Korean car these days… The only merit it has is just aesthetics and thats subjective (i wouldn’t touch a a korean car with a 10ft pole, let alone drive it)… its driveability is nonsense, performance is worse than a kapcai and the gear change is rougher than a ship sailing on tsumani sea… its just horrendous…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 66
    • nobrand on Jan 19, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Sale is still increase by 6.5% and it is pretty good in business nowaday. The issue here is hyundai sales target is very high but they are very positive. They do not find reason to justify the low sales volume but put their effort to find weakness and improve their product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Even Americans know how to appreciate good build quality and RV, but not to be deceived by outlook, interior those surface and meaningless gadgets.

Be a man, do the right thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • Koreans Are the Best on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Last year Hyundai sold over 10 million cars. Are you saying 10 million are wrong and one pariah by the name of Maserati (Official) is right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 20
        • 5 Million itself as taxi in CHINA and other countries in ASiA.

Well done Hyundai

• HyundaiKiaLaJunk on Jan 19, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Muahahaha…. Korean Junk just launch & need a facelift after slow sales, junk belong to to scap yard not on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
      • Koreans Are the Best on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:51 pm

This is the statement of an insecure salesman, scared that his marketshare is going zero. Now, nobody buying Toyota because Malaysians know that Toyota, by ommitting the VSC, wants Malaysians to die in accidents.

Anyway, Hyundai took 10 years to capture marketshare in Malaysia what Toyota took 50 years.

Today, I hardly see Altis on the road. But so many Elantra everywhere. Why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
        • But now you’re going the other extreme by sprouting nonsense, just like the Toyota fanboi. Both of you are nonsense. Altis def more than Elantra, even though a number of Elantras also.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:30 am

At least Hyundai buyers are the smarter sorhais. They still have some RV and can be traded in.

Too bad for KIA and Ssangyong owners. Their faces are beyond hailat when I chase them away

• First, “The only merit it has is just aesthetics and thats subjective (i wouldn’t touch a a korean car with a 10ft pole, let alone drive it)…”

Then “its driveability is nonsense, performance is worse than a kapcai and the gear change is rougher than a ship sailing on tsumani sea… its just horrendous…”

How you know without driving one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Souya Tempe on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:11 pm

But Malaysian girls love everything korean. They might even give you a free hug.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Koreans Are the Best on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Maserati(Official) is one jealous dude. Remember he is the one asking for bumi discounts for cars also? How sad. How really sad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Sonata_is_great_but on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:30 am

Stop giving us the knocked off after market Infotainment system and gives us the real deal.

We notice…

• At least they learn and admit. Learn that P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • therealmaserati on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:37 am

Hyundai finally realised that looks is one thing but refinement and the way it drives is another thing.

In fact this new Sonata looks ok. But the refinement and the constant numb feeling in Korean cars sway buyers to purchase Jap cars which are so much nicer to drive.

Up till today, Korean cars still lack behind Japs by a huge margin. Alot of ppl say Korean cars have closed the gap, but the gap is still huge .

And those who have bought Kias or Hyundais are very much regretting their purchase after 1-2 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 30
    • Nice writing. What a pleasure it will be If most can write like this here. Yet I wonder how many care.

• Koreans Are the Best on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Maserati got identity crisis. One day say this, one day say that. then ask for Bumi discount on cars. Tak malu ke bang?

• Low Budget on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Huge margin? Please show us the authoritative bench marking results, if cannot show us means u talk kock only.

• Salambangi on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:44 am

The design language is too conservative even for me. The interior is ugly. Looks like a design taken from the 80s. The low RV makes it even worst for Hyundai Malaysia.

I rather have the Accord or the Teana. Toyota go and shoot yourself in the foot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Josh Ling on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:47 am

actually the new look is growing on me, and i prefer the more matured looking of new too. but yes, it certainly doesn’t look as fresh nor distinctive than the previous generation. and i think they might need to do the same to the rather safe-and-boring looking new genesis sedan too.

while at that, i will definitely urge hyundai to totally change the interior design, and please at least use better quality materials this time, and not just giving us something wow on the outside, and lose all the hoo-haas once we sit in the cabin and look at those el-cheapo materials. for me these 2 areas are really the achilles’ heel of the new sonata lf.

• Mackaroni on Jan 20, 2015 at 12:24 am

Don’t worry.. There’s always an i40 for a much funkier design.. Win win situation

• anyeong haseyo on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:50 am

Ahhh. Kimchi, it gets pungent in the beginning but through the time, you get use to the taste.

• They have crappy engine, that’s why their sales suck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • kington on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:00 am

Now this is gonna be a world record. Facelift so soon just after launch.

But they have to realize, D segment cars are getting less and less popular these days. People are still buying but unlike the old days of the 1994 5th Gen model.

• Honda also facelifted their Civic in the US after only 1-2 years.

• this car could sell well in malaysia IF sell below RM 100k this is worth of this car,bez when end of full one year launch and face lift will come then existing model would be sell around RM 110K.sharp discount of RM 30K +-.korean must launch TURBO CHARGE ENGINE with price of B to C segment price to breathe easily otherwise v know the results.

• RV King on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:09 am

No resale value, who wants to buy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • Sammy on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:14 am

Why I never hear Toyota complaining even the Camry looks dull?

Besides, this Sonata looks ok on the outside, but the interior is the one that need fixing.

• Camry already looks dull from the beginning, people get used to it; sonata looked exciting last time, but now become dull, that’s why people complaining.

• Conclusion: people are not logical, or even some say easily misled by pre-conception.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:06 am

Ah but you see. This is the US market Hyundai is talking about here.

Its highly competitive… These cars cost between 25 to 35k depending on engines and options, bordered by high spec C segment compacts and entry level luxury marques.

Even Honda had to do an about turn to correct the Civic 2 years in.

And by the way, the Camry looks very different in US. Not the boring uncle Camry we see here.

Local distributors and assembhere. won’t care less what happens here. The principals won’t bat an eye since our volume is so low….which mean the local guys get to dictate what happens. And you end up with poorly spec’ed cars safety wise.

• LFvsYF on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:16 am

The LF looks more masculine than its predecessor, and stronger(literally,51% AHSS) too.

The YF looks more streamlined than its successor, a bit lady-like but having more drag coefficient(as claimed by Hyundai,that means the LF is better at aerodynamics).

However, the interior is a total downgrade from its predecessor(looks like KIA from inside).

• turunkan harga..rm110k, baru boleh jalan, sedar diri sikit. berpijak bumi yg nyata.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • lambo on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:22 am

btoi..u jual harga sama harga accord, camry n teana….macam mana mau laku, hyundai musti ada bawah sket..rm120 k la kalau mau bagi jual, bagi jalan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • Sammy on Jan 19, 2015 at 11:26 am

Harga? RM110k? US lah ya take laku…
      Tak ade orang pakai di malaysia pun dia tak kisah. Facelift untuk kita?? USB tumbdrive lah dapat free gift untuk kau…

• wut the heck u talking about man…u speaking melayu ka english?

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:19 am

Its not ugly. Its just not memorable. The older gen (YF) looked fantastic when it first came out. But after 1-2 years, it looked dated already. Hence, the reason why the LF looked more conservative, so in the long run it will not look so dated. Problem is, not many people are buying them, even when they are still new. Maybe Hyundai need to make it edgy looking again, but still timeless. Something like the Mazda6 which still looks good after 2 years in the market, and will probably still look good after 5 years.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:22 am

The diamond shape centre console , the steering wheel design are all so 80’s …Hyundai definitely hv got things wrong this time..

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jan 19, 2015 at 1:11 pm

To sum it up, the interior is much more ” uncle” than the camry’s one.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:22 am

Sonata 2012 is only selling RM60000 second hand.
    A drop of more than 50% in 3 years.
    Who dares to buy it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • wayangkulit on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:57 am

Basing on alot of commenters here, I think plenty will buy la
      RV not important to them, its the YOLO generation
      You buy car to enjoice driving not to worry about RV
      They also predicted the korean brand will topple japanese brand starting circa 2011 or so because it has better specs

Sounds like salesman talk ?

• Bro,60k u got ah?accident free ah?find for me lah.normally around RM75~85k Lah.Camry more higher meh??? Around RM85k~RM95 only,don’t forgot that time Camry o.t.r price more higher RM10k.pls checking first before comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • PM me about the 60k car… i’m willing to take it… +2k for u… total 62k… thx ya…
      p/s: i’m not a car dealer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Allen Lee on Jan 19, 2015 at 11:16 am

Hi friend, are you a car dealer? do you really have a sonata 2012 RM65k? email me [email protected] Thanks. im a serious buyer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Koreans Are the Best on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:04 pm

This is the work of a jealous salesman or a jealous dude who drives a palat car and he is envious of the new Korean cars around.

What a low life.

• The look is eventually handsome and more practical when i view it last weekend in Mid valley…

• ahbeng on Jan 19, 2015 at 11:49 am

yeah i’d second that. judging from the picture it really looks unattractive at all. until i saw the real thing in MV ytd and i’m taking back my thoughts. It’s actually pretty handsome.

• QChan on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:30 am

Sonata LF is just so mehh…….. The front-end and rear-end appears to be each designed from different planets.

Even I can tell it’s so unexciting with highly forgettable looks. And the rear is a complete washout! I just wanna go to sleep looking at it…..Zzzzzz……

Just how the interior got approved for production is mind boggling!! I’ll certainly skip this one.

• kenot on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:49 am

too many “Fluidic Sculpture” also not good.huhu

BTW, I don’t care to much about it shape..as long as it reliable, good NVH, economical and comfort, I will choose it.

• Berann on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:53 am

As expected the sales will be bad…. Interior and exterior design so so and price like the Japanese Accord/teana. Not much improvement on the specification. In msia, korean cars are seen as one grade lower/high maint/ high fuel consumption/lower resale value/bad after sales service vs Japanese make. For example, very obvious ppl still go for City/Vios even they can get korean C-Segment like Cerato/Elentra 1.6 for almost the same price. Many Vios TRD too OTR with price tag 95k! Sam Loo sure very proud..:)

• They sold a lot. Just didn’t meet their high target.

Definitely many many times than Proton, and worldwide.

• brazbuz on Jan 19, 2015 at 11:18 am

Personally, i like the exterior of LF sonata but still think the YF interior design look better

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 19, 2015 at 11:38 am

Hyundai had a good progression, but they got too greedy and arrogant about it. Hyundai quickly puts high price tags on its new lineups. Just because of 2 years of good reputation, it doesn’t give secure and permanent support from customers. Maybe this slow sales of Sonata LF will teach them a lesson.

• AVH (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 11:51 am

I actually like the way the new sonata looks. I like how it’s more muscular and mature than the clown looking predecessor which, to be completely honest, wasn’t something I am fond of, in fact for me it just borderline ghastly.

Personally, the interior could get much better, having tried out yesterday at the mid Valley Road show, I was slightly disappointed with the interior. It looks big, I have to give it that, the center console gives you the impression that the car inside looks very vast. The interior quality also seems to improve abit. But a teana or an Accord is more special to be in, more ergonomically design and yet pleasing to the eye compared to the relatively Mundane look I’d the big hyundai. No matter how I adjust the seat for my 170cm+ body, I can’t get a comfortably clear view out of the dash, a problem I have with the new city as well.

End of the day, it just doesn’t stand out and define itself as much as a Mazda 6 or even a new Teana. In the US economy end the new camry or Accord comes with enough tech to make it irrelevant which is what causing it’s slow sales. The interior seriously needs to be improve and reading the front end of the hybrid version may help the exterior.

And to the lads that thought that the sales is a Malaysian problem and the car should be price at low C-segment level… . . In Malaysia?
    I like to have what you’re smoking please.

• joanna on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Mazda6 is spectacular but Nissan Teana?? Look so dated.

• AVH (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Interior, I never liked the Interior design of the 6 tbh, the facelift does help it do justice thou/ But the Nissan Teana, It looks dated, but the material and color is one of the best I’ve seen in the segment…..problem is that 5″ screen. I did recall ETCM offering an 8″upgrade

• Learn a lesson for Hyundai, design is backward.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 1:32 pm

im jus curious why do they assume that the design is the culprit for the declining sale????

could it not be the driving , refinement,quality,reliability and so on ????

it could be the competition(specially the new camry) in the US is vastly improved and othrs having a better all round products?…

its kinda easy just to blame the design , unless they are , indirectly,admitting that the last generation sonata was a success bcos of the design n how it looked in the showrooms…

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 19, 2015 at 1:41 pm

With every generation,

The KIA which follows the Hyundai will always look better.

Just wait a few months for the KIA equivalent.

The design for the next K5 should likely be softer than the current one, but given this thing with Hyundai, possibly back to the drawing board for the KIA.

• Jimmy on Jan 19, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Guiness stout?

A lot more to learn.

• Littlebear on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Where is Samelorr?

• Hyundai n kia which got more better resale value?

• NISSpengAN on Jan 19, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Korean product ie. smartphone,Cosmestic,electrical,Food everything can buy,except Korean Car

• joanna on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Hyundai admit their own mistakes. Our P1? Lol. My brother have a Preve, after 2 years of ownership the NVH so terrible it’s like you’re sitting in a bulldozer.
    Global car lol.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:38 am

But it will be too late for those sorhais to admit their mistake, because they will trade these cabbages in within 18 months.

One you drive a kimchi, your life will go down the gurgler. The only way to reverse the trend is to sell these cabbages off as soon as possible

• Another my son nephew uncle neighbour story, sigh.

• protiga on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:31 pm

Agreed fully with Mozilla Chrome. Hyundai thinks their cars are like VWs. Noticed some of their showrooms are closed. Some of their sales managers quit because of pressure.

• nobrand on Jan 20, 2015 at 12:03 am

Vw is worst than hyundai in term of quality, reliability and after sales service

• ahzai on Jan 20, 2015 at 3:02 am

I really don’t know what are these people thinking. Buy a car by looking only RV is really funny.

anyone own a YF before? did you know the petrol can last longer than many of you know. 7L/100km, 120 now for Ron97 can run for 650 to 750km? 6 speed is not better than camry and accord? what a funny phrase you guys are making. Resale value? go survey first before talk. See how accord perform the resale value.

Never own never know. I have a YF till now 4 years old. Still perfect running with low petrol consumption. Go update and ask around your YF friends if they have. If no, buy one and you will know. If you want play safe, buy a house and go for LRT train, sure safe money and won’t lose alot. This type of mentality really outdated, can’t those people give korean brand a chance to increase the brand value?

Talking about how good is VW? why owners still protested if they are good enough? please la, go compare the same segment, same price cars. why don’t you compare Sonata with Ferrari?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:31 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its a KIA, it can no lonnger be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7