VIDEO: Volkswagen Golf Mk4 gets light blue wrap makeover in this amazing stop motion video

Ever wonder how all those ‘car wraps’ are put on? You could head to a wrap shop and observe how they do it, but that would take a few hours. This amazing stop motion video is far more time-efficient – it shows a Volkswagen Golf Mk4 getting a blue wrap applied.

What’s great about this video is that it isn’t just the whole application process recorded and having it speed up on video – stop motion means this video was produced out of individual photos. That explains why there are no people in the video – you do a bit, then you step back to take a photo, and repeat.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Black Dog on Mar 14, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Amazing video.

But not so practical technique to replace paint for everyday cars.

• Abu Sayur on Mar 15, 2015 at 1:15 am

shud just use plasti-dip. I did mine in Jln Ipoh last time quite good service and long lasting and also doesn’t stain the paint beneath..

• This is awesome!! I wonder how long the stickers gonna last. When thinking of how ‘pandai’ Malaysian open their car doors at the parking lot, it is possible that the stickers will torn in less then a day after installed.

• Holofanboi on Mar 14, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Actually, dings from other parked cars’ opening doors (rip my english) are of the least concern.

Its the bloody stones and projectiles during highway drives that are the main cause for paint chips. I doubt this wrap will last more than a day’s worth on the north south highway drive.

• Volkswagen – Germany car with ‘High Tech’ that is not Durable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • fanofthisite on Mar 15, 2015 at 1:56 pm

out of context lah

• What do you mean by durability? As far as I know, German engineering is one of the best in the world if compared to the Korean and French cars. Japanese cars is pretty good but if compared to German cars, of cos they’re still lacking of performance and stability. I switched from Perodua Myvi to Honda CRZ to Volkswagen Golf GTI now and I believe that my Golf GTI is the best among all in terms of durability, performance everything. My previous Myvi bang the side divider and the whole front part of the car including the engine just trashed. Same thing happened to my Golf and all that happened just some minor crack on the front bumper which didnt affect the engine at all. So tell me which is more durable.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 14, 2015 at 6:48 pm

On the front page I can see the actual video, on the page that directly links here I see a HR-V walkaround?

• eichang on Mar 15, 2015 at 10:26 pm

How much the cost for wrapping…..is it cheaper than repaint??