Over RM800k collected in fines for number plate offences, 12,161 summonses issued from Nov-Jan

licence plate

As part of an operation that begun last year to clamp down on the usage of non-regulation number plates, it has now been reported that a total of RM810,300 has been collected in fines. From November 2014 to January 2015, the operation has seen 12,161 traffic summonses being issued out, as Bernama understands.

“Guidelines and specifications on vehicle registration plates are clearly spelt out under road transport regulations,” said Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai in a written reply to Member of Malaysian Parliament for Seputeh, Teresa Kok, in the Dewan Rakyat.

The nationwide operation was initially executed in the last quarter of 2014, with a total of 5,515 summonses being issued out in the first week of operation in November. Following a one-month period, the operation was reviewed by the Road Transport Department (JPJ) to determine whether or not to halt the operation.

During the ‘educatory’ phase of execution in October 2014, motorists who did not comply with the guidelines were not issued a summons. However, the second phase, conducted in November, saw potential lawbreakers being slapped with a fine of up to RM300.

Elsewhere, the operation also covered the illegal employment of high-intensity discharge (HID) and strobe lights by errant motorists.

Gregory Sze

An "actor" by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Samad Jain on Mar 19, 2015 at 12:38 pm

care to mention the kopi money collected along the way?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 9
    • Ripcord on Mar 19, 2015 at 12:57 pm

If you have nothing to say that contributes to the advancement of society, or by extension, mankind, better not say anything at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 126
      • I don’t understand your england. Better not say anything at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
        • Same L0rrrr on Mar 19, 2015 at 5:33 pm

What can RM800k do with the appetite of cronies and 1MDB?

Don’t forget Proton beg for RM1600mil last year.

RM800k, the minister eat a few days also finish lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • George Abdul on Mar 19, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Yes just BN says “I say sit u sit, I say stand u stand”
        “I say pay GST u pay, so I can buy JET for VVIP(Rosmah) use”

If complaint too much ” just get out of Malaysia”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
      • agogo on Mar 19, 2015 at 1:33 pm

If you have nothing to say that contributes to the advancement of society, or by extension, mankind, better not say anything at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
      • Ripcord macai on Mar 19, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Macai detected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • 4G63T DSM on Mar 19, 2015 at 3:31 pm

He is highlighting and speaking out against the widely accepted notion that our police force is corrupted.

That in itself is a valid “contribution to the advancement of society” in my books.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
        • Darkness on Mar 19, 2015 at 4:19 pm

it makes me Darkness of the moon.
          P is Cybetron robot…
          Chicken is Megatron
          D M is Sentinel
          Anw is Optimus

• Nah! Anw is more like Starscream. He will play both sides as long as it suits his needs and will not hesitate to backstab his allies and leaders whenever they get in his way.

• Shepard on Mar 19, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Better to channel all that back to our National debt.

• Sharon on Mar 19, 2015 at 12:41 pm

There are so many old and new registered cars with non regulation number plate can be found PLUS over dark tinted glass can be found here at my place.

No serious action taken by the JPJ and police. They don’t even dare to “stop” the cars as they are over tinted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Darkness on Mar 19, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Probably they “Pay” on the spot and just passby your eyesight

• Tanah Merah on Mar 19, 2015 at 12:43 pm

Syukur ! can reduce 1MDB debt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Sharon on Mar 19, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Please ask the KL police department and JPJ come to east malaysia to see how many of non regulations number plate and tinted glass here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Peaceaim on Mar 19, 2015 at 12:44 pm

But selling a single digit number plate alone put that RM800k figure to shame….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • the driver on Mar 19, 2015 at 1:08 pm

What happened to the tinted windows campaign? Non regulation number plates are that big a threat but tinted windows that may harbour criminals / snatch thieves/ break-in crooks / paedophiles, etc are a real threat.
    Focus, that is what is missing with the enforcement agencies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • the driver on Mar 19, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Not that big a threat that is.

• vodevil on Mar 19, 2015 at 1:22 pm

seriously, please focus the effort and resources to areas which requires much more attention i.e. the recent flood victims in the east coast. as far as i’m aware, much help is still required there

• xoxox on Mar 19, 2015 at 1:44 pm

ok, good ops, but moving forward? no more ops? on plan ops on Nov/December again?why don’t do it at least monthly? another thing, how many offenders change to legal number plates/headlight etc after paying summons?all of them??

• azrai on Mar 19, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Pay it before 1st April, no GST. :-)

• GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 19, 2015 at 2:12 pm

I got fined!!!!!!!!!For tinted glass on both of my cars and to small fonts on plate number on one car while too big font on the other

• Lorat on Mar 19, 2015 at 3:12 pm

And you’re complaining because what?

• He’s complaining becoz his right to break the law was cruelly violated and he was pervertedly fined by the deviously efficient law givers

• What? Font too big pun kena ka?

• Hilmi on Mar 19, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Paultan can you post about guidelines and specificaton of vehicle plate no?thanks..

• kumar on Mar 19, 2015 at 3:41 pm

waste of time.

• tokmoh. on Mar 19, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Cukur la the road is a lot safer now with JPJ compliant plates.

So safe today, that Myvi don’t need headlamp indicator anymore.

• Darkness on Mar 19, 2015 at 4:23 pm

Big Fish, never catch.
    Ikan bilis buying the bills.

Chicken and Hippo deserve to jail!

• carazy on Mar 19, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Malaysia driver are very creative, but can you just follow the bloody rule. If all citizen following the rule, the is no issue of polis or JPJ need to do roadblock or whats not.

• Malaysian politicians are very creative, but you just DON’T FOLLOW the bloody rule. In fact, AMEND the Constitution 700 times, make your own double-standard law.

If all politicians follow this rule, that’s why only citizens have to follow law. License plate, you get fined. Lose RM50B or RM12B in PKFZ, you get to buy 1 Porsche for each mistress.

There is no issue hahaha. The question of corruption does not arise. All the big, serious, billion-dollar law breakers no problem. But tiny thing like wrong font – you endanger motorist and you contribute to national security!! That’s why spend so much money on cops to roadblock – but snatch thefts/robberies: sorry, not enough cops.

• for me the government authority had failed miserably in reducing the accident in Malaysia:
    1. to educate the road users
    – simply by going out this days you able to finger count how much is using their signal
    – red light offences just alot
    – road obstructian by vehicles parked by the roadside is a norm
    2. to enforce the rule and regulations on much needed vehicle parts
    – the tinted windscreen for front and rear
    – tail light and brake lamp
    – oversize tyres which coming out from the fenders

and forsure much much more to mention……..

if the authority would like to go by the rule, they should just do it on daily basis and not by “regular-once in a blue moon” ops so the road users will abide the law.