JPJ to review operation on strobe lights and non-reg number plates, to decide if ops continues after Nov

licence plate

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) says it will be carrying out an in-depth review of its current enforcement operation against the use of high-intensity discharge (HID) and strobe lights as well as non-regulation licence plates, according to news reports.

The review will allow the department to fully evaluate the effectiveness of the operation – it will then be decided whether the exercise should be continued or stopped after the one-month period of enforcement ends on November 30, its director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad told reporters.

He said that in the first week of the operation, 5,515 summonses were issued on the spot to errant motorists. He added that the nationwide crackdown – which began at the start of the month – was not just to penalise motorists but also to educate them on the need to follow the law.

jpj-strobe

The November-long exercise is the second phase of the operation. In October, when it began, motorists who fell foul of the rules were not issued with summonses. In the current second phase, motorists with vehicles that do not comply to the regulations can be fined a maximum of RM300.

The enforcement on the new permissible levels of window tint will only begin on May 1 next year. Some state branches are already taking the initiative to ensure there is no confusion over the compliance levels – JPJ Melaka announced last week it was offering free window tint inspection.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• neemfa on Nov 10, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Just kacau the strobe lights lah (those perasan car club ppl).. be a bit more lenient on number plates..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 15
    • wakenabeb on Nov 11, 2014 at 10:50 am

IMO, number plates also need to checked. i know at most cases it doesn’t really kacau others but i was just thinking when ‘langgar lari’ happens especially to motorbike, there are chances that they can see the plate number clearly when it is standard but not when it is fancy fancy and very very small.

• zeek (Member) on Nov 10, 2014 at 12:00 pm

If they’re smart, they would continue the ops on strobe lights as they are annoying & potentially dangerous for other drivers. License plates don’t really affect anyone except speedcameras.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 8
  • sharon on Nov 10, 2014 at 12:08 pm

must continue from time to time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • cendol (Member) on Nov 10, 2014 at 12:13 pm

In Malay we call it Hangat Hangat Tahi Ayam

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
  • Ken Kua on Nov 10, 2014 at 12:13 pm

JPJ should check tire and brake condition rather then size of no plate

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 6
    • yello on Nov 10, 2014 at 12:22 pm

absolutely right…

• kenot on Nov 10, 2014 at 1:32 pm

and don’t forget to check brake/tail light. sometimes only 3rd brake light is on. the main light not function.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Not only that. JPJ should take action against those vehicles, especially buses that omit black smoke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • renko on Nov 10, 2014 at 12:25 pm

kacau strobe light saja sudah la..itu memang mengganggu..nombor plet tak ganggu org pon..lain lah kalau nombor plet tu terlalu kecil atau ‘fancy’..barulah saman..pffttt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • go first for overloaded lorries,tayar potong,reckless drivers especially express buses who drove like F1….they most dangerous…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
  • Maseratits on Nov 10, 2014 at 12:48 pm

During a roadblock a few days ago, I saw one of their Toyota Fortuner number plate wasn’t even following their own regulations.

the JPJ letterings were almost overlapping each other, and the numbers barely had any spacing.

What the actual f**k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
  • it don’t really help to lower traffic accidents rate

• It look like “Magic Hand” involve in this decision so SPRM should check it out…..

• Bruce Wayne on Nov 10, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Plate number = just follow thailand’s step. No need to think anymore. Even ferrari follow thailand’s law too.

Hid = check it fitted properly or not.

Tint = final shot implemented only. After that, just summon anyone who doesnt follow tint percent.

Just cut supply if they continue to sell illegal thing. Throw their license. Easy for everyone to follow your law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Rather, educate the driver how to drive.
    JPJ are wasting human resources by using ruler to measure the number plate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Geez… JPJ, can u do smth that saves lives?
    For eg. make it mandatory for all new cars to be equipped with airbag or better still ESP like what the Europe countries have done.

Operasi on number plate will not help. If you want, do it like indonesia, thailand, singapore, australia. the government will issue the standard plate, and make sure no hanky panky.

Tinting, which study shows that higher VLC makes the road safer? how bout fully metal body van and trucks? I cant see through what they carry and what is in front of them..

JPJ, get ur priorities right!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • these are the basic, should be time to time
    why Oppsss, just start?

Plate must be within spec
    So, any criminal, any hit and run,
    can be visible clearly.

Strobe light.
    In law, blue and red are not allowed for non register user such police, gov escort team, ambulance, fire engine etc.

So many user mis use the strobe light to force normal road user to give way on highway. This is dangerous to benefit ownself, endanger others ppl safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Ibrahim bukan Ali on Nov 10, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Best way is for JPJ to provide the number plates. That way we can have some sort of standardization.

Window tints shouldn’t be made an issue at all except for those who tint their cars so dark it looks like the windows are being painted with black paint.

If HiD lights are not allowed to be used, the customs department should ban them at the ports if the Govn is really serious about this.

Same goes to the banning of recon cars if their original tints do not comply with local laws.

• Blaze (Member) on Nov 10, 2014 at 11:36 pm

It’s okay if JPJ is supplying the plate numbers, as long as it’s not monopolise by a single company and then they will charge car owners with absurd amount of money……

• Protiga on Nov 10, 2014 at 2:11 pm

JPJ and Police should also nab those drivers who play with hand phones while their cars stop at junction or at traffic lights. They are not concentrating on the traffic. If not checked, it is getting out of hand.

• The boss want them to hit the ticket sale target.
    The instruction was Stop when achieved target, don’t over kill. Reserve some quota for next year end.

• Steven YONG on Nov 10, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Hello… Malaysia should should…
    JPJ should check on those car are forgetting the switch on the headlamps.. Check also the brake lights…signal lights…
    I saw a lot of driver forgotten to switch on the light even in heavy rain…
    JPJ should check..
    To DBKL …MPPJ… MPAJ all those pihak berkuasa tempatan..
    Please do something on the road… Banyak jalan tak rata berlubang… And some lampu jalan malfunction and traffic light toooo…
    And now is raining season.. Adakah nak tunggu pokok tumbung baru nak take action.. Sudan terlambat..
    Thank you….

• boboi on Nov 11, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Can we as rakyat sue the government and claim our loss if our vehicles get damaged due to their f

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 10, 2014 at 3:23 pm

I think JPJ is doing a good job here, why the hate on this enforcement agency? if u pandai u buat la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • cendol (Member) on Nov 10, 2014 at 3:42 pm

If I can buat, I will definitely buat.
      But because of superior mentality, They are beyond criticism.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 10, 2014 at 3:41 pm

I have seen people’s car with black colour plate number. How the hell it can still be driven around on the road without getting caught.

• Loo Say Bok on Nov 10, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Why take action on public using illegal no plate when jpj and polis can go to putrajaya and catch ministers and ksu cars also using illegal no plates. Why double standad?

• xiper (Member) on Nov 10, 2014 at 4:04 pm

besides the number plate and HID, please do “educate” those drivers that are using emergency lane and NOT TURNING ON SIGNAL when turning/switching lane.

• manpatau on Nov 10, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Haramkan syrobe light its will cause accident to all jpj teruskan saman dan pemantaun terhadap strobe light bahaya pada pengguna jalanraya yg lain. Mereka suka buat kacau diatas jalanraya dgn high beam cahayanya silau.

• If catch number plate, please catch Najib’s Proton Accord W11N first. That plat number arrangement is confirmed illegal.

• 2cents on Nov 10, 2014 at 5:48 pm

I’ve got a suggestion. JPJ should encourage everyone to record videos or cars using strobe lights, illegal license plates, tinted windows, windscreen and HID lights. Even for racing, reckless driving, beating red lights, using emergency lanes, not signalling when turning, etc..
    As an incentive, give those drivers who submit this videos some commission (eg.RM5) for submitting this videos and sucessfully collecting the summonses from the offenders.
    The sales of on dashboard in-car video recorders will increase soon and drivers will think twice knowing that everyone is watching and recording.

• MeroMero on Nov 11, 2014 at 6:07 pm

This is a rather interesting suggestion.
      Your 2cents are definitely worth thinking about.

• Scott on Nov 10, 2014 at 6:16 pm

After i change my plate and my light now i see this. Feeling meh

• darkermarker on Nov 10, 2014 at 6:53 pm

JPJ, since the strobe light is illegal, go raid those shops selling the lights…saman the shopowners too…

Dont forget the window tinting oso…..

• drMpower on Nov 10, 2014 at 8:29 pm

why want to review.
    give me the authority to snap pictures that can help u people to prosecute these punks

i am gladly doing it for free

• Please feel free to snap all the car on the road. All of them are illegal.

• JPJ is useless on Nov 10, 2014 at 10:05 pm

if you want rakyat to follow the law, please ensure all JPJ, PDRM and government vehicles comply with them first before you go after the rakyat… look at those PDRM proton waja or inspira, the lights are whiter that usual and high until coconut tree also can reflect during night time… besides, i don’t see any of the JPJ/PDRM vehicles had changed to new number plates that the new law required…. so what are you JPJ trying to convey??? are you above the law or again you guys having exceptional treatment?? don’t forget, law is still law… i believed those summons can be brought to court and sue JPJ back if necessary… don’t always treat rakyat is dumb ass…

• drMpower on Nov 11, 2014 at 8:26 am

they don’t have to follow any public rule. that’s clearly stated. for example they don’t have to have number plates.
      and please, this is a national issue. all the illegal HIDS, blinding lights, or whatever, are nuisance to drivers

• Albert on Nov 10, 2014 at 11:11 pm

why review after 1 month?
    VVIPs complaining?
    In our Boleh Land,too much enforcement may mean rakyat very law abiding soon.Soon,sales of strobe lights and fanciful number plates jatuh teruk.
    Accessory shops and their manufacturers complain,kurang sales.Macammana?
    So,enforcement will kena “pemantauan” and eventually postponed or stopped.Do you see this sickening chain of events?

• Pening on Nov 10, 2014 at 11:53 pm

May I suggest that besides commenting in PT, will those with FB account bombard JPJ and Ministry of Transport Malaysia FB page and voice your dissatisfaction there about this fiasco. Do coment ‘kau-kau’ about the tint and number plate stupid enforcement. Those blinding strobe light, yes they are the only one who doesn’t get my vote.
    Also since nowadays everyone now has a smartphone or those who has GoPro to secretly record whatever transpired at the JPJ roadblock in case any duit kopi activity are detected.
    I have a feeling this whole Ops is nothing but to contribute to the JPJ annual bonus distribution.
    If we all pakat together on this we will be able hit them back. Thank you all.

• xoxox on Nov 11, 2014 at 8:22 am

i would suggest the ops carries on few random days (max up to 7 days) per month. this would definitely reduce the number of illegal number plates/tint/strobe lights. please also check the number plate surface, some using mirror finish plate/number which fully reflect the light back..

• german car lover aka Jian on Nov 11, 2014 at 10:02 am

They should only stop the strobe lights amd not the plate numbers. All my cars have tiny letters and numbers and blue EU signs beside it. I am gonna get sewed by JPJ

• german car lover aka Jian on Nov 11, 2014 at 10:03 am

They should only stop the strobe lights amd not the plate numbers. All my cars have tiny letters and numbers and blue EU signs beside it. I am gonna get sewed by JPJ.

• MeToo on Nov 11, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Seriously how many of us know the actuall approved measurement for license plate down to the last mm?

We buy new car.. the salesman provide us with the license plate… we use. So next when we kena stop, JPJ will whip out their ruler and say “Bang, ini kurang 1.5mm, kena saman $300″… only in Malaysia man!

• Honestly on Nov 11, 2014 at 6:00 pm

All dumb dick. Buy new car check here check there make sure this that but ignore number plate. Check online la for the size. If it’s not important why need number plate? No brain think meh. Some want fancy fancy, some numbers near near ptuuuui. Get it right!