Kedah JPJ to advise accessory shops on illegal items

jpj-strobe

The Kedah state Road Transport Department (JPJ) will carry out an ‘advocacy programme’ soon to advise car accessory shop owners, as well as non-compliant motorists, on the rules regarding the fitting of car accessories, Bernama reports.

Under the programme, JPJ will educate accessory shop owners and motorists on the existing legislation surrounding prohibited accessories like high-intensity discharge (HID) and strobe lights, said state enforcement division chief Shahrul Azhar Mad Dali.

He said the operation against HID and strobe lights, plus non-regulation number plates, will be carried out from November 1. We reported previously that the said operation would be executed in two phases – an ‘educatory’ phase lasting throughout October, and a full phase from November 1, when non-compliant motorists would be fined. This ‘advocacy programme’ could very well be part of the initial educatory phase.

JPJ will arrange to meet accessory shop operators and owners, as well as cooperate with other enforcement authorities to stamp out sales of illegal accessories. “The department has no power to seize the illegal items and we can only make the outlet operators aware of the regulations and laws,” said Shahrul.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• thefact on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:32 am

just a day after deepavali i was fined for fancy numberplate. so the ops is already ongoing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Black Mamba on Oct 29, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Nevermind black tint, how about black smoke.

Seems like JPJ has turned a blind eye on those vehicles

Buses, Lorries, Trailers all belching

cough cough cough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • thats going to be tough what with the quality of diesel available

but good move i guess. rather than going after the end users only, its time to take action on the sellers as well.

• Bobby (Member) on Oct 30, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Disel sod is 1,000 times more poisonous than cig smoke! Also, the fine sod once in the lung will never exit the body. Payback time is during your old age, beginning at 50 years old. Avoid following closely smokey and non-smokey disel vehicles on the highway and byways, and your RM can be spent in other places rather than in clinics, for the rest of your life, if u still have one, as it is now!!

• Annuar on Oct 29, 2014 at 11:20 am

So only the Kedah branch JPJ would carry out this education programme while the rest of the JPJ throughout the country would sleep?

Secondly, after educating the accessory shop operators if they still do not play by the rules, what is the Govn gonna do about it? Is there no follow through by the authorities. This is very poor planning and poor enforcement by the authorities.

I’m sorry to say I have never been impressed by the JPJ department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • JPJ please reinforce this strictly because really so embarrass and annoy when seeing those wannabe wajalution, Myvi and wira with HID but look position like high beam….LED and HID here and there. So mempersiasuikan our nation, just imagine if you see these type of car in China you will its so cheap and so its happened here.

I always advise my friend to save money to upgrade to better car instead of keep on accessorized their car.

Please get rid of those car on the road.

• macha on Oct 29, 2014 at 11:34 am

That’s the price u hafta pay bro..

• cendol (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 11:46 am

This kind of operation is akin to Malay saying,’melepaskan batuk di tangga’.

• EJ Loh on Oct 29, 2014 at 11:47 am

In my opinion the stick on or fix on sun shades on car windows , if does not allow the legal amount of light to pass thru are also illegal if they are fixed on where the vehicle is in use. If vehicle is parked , then no issue. Reason is because they have the same effect as a tinted window. In principle whether tinted or non permanent shades, both should be considered illegal if they don’t comply with JPJ standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • nabill (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 11:56 am

Why advice…ENFORCE…!

• lihwoei on Oct 29, 2014 at 12:05 pm

how about the 4×4 pickup truck roof top spot light? will they take action on this also?

• Good move

• Dead people on Oct 29, 2014 at 12:22 pm

How about day light?

• caliemen on Oct 29, 2014 at 1:01 pm

ask JPJ how can they approved double decker bus as express bus. where ada safety? Lagi 3 in a row sure the bus no balance. Do they know the daylight or strobe they claim does more good than bad. I think JPJ have go to back again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Car-Fans on Oct 29, 2014 at 1:41 pm

It’s time for ‘Let’s Minum Kopi’ … Built up good relationship among us :)

• Good move by JPJ Kedah. At least they are explaining the rules. Only question is why Kedah JPJ only?

• Bangau Putih on Oct 29, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Because there is no cohesive planning the way they do things

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:42 pm

But the thing is. As far as I know, while it may be illegal to use these items, it is not illegal to sell them. Barking up the wrong tree much? And why only Kedah JPJ?

I still see plenty of Alphads with strobes. Where is the enforcement? Even the Tint issue also cannot settle.

• Albert on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:55 pm

What to educate?
    Some are multiple degree holders doing all these donkey stuff.
    Malaysians dont need more education/cakap cakap.
    Just enforce the law to the max.
    In fact,i suspect more corruption is taking place in these “permantauan exercise”

• piupiupiu on Oct 29, 2014 at 3:19 pm

tapi kalau kereta2 orang kaya tak apa.. tak saman..

• Bangau Putih on Oct 29, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Why do u want to catch people with retrofit HID? It is not the type of bulb that cause glare but the angle which causes glare.

Drivers who drive with their high beams ON also causes glare to oncoming drivers. Maybe U should also fine these people then.

• Bangau Putih on Oct 29, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Why can’t the JPJ look at the big picture???

• Bangau Putih on Oct 29, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Last time there was an even bigger joke. They say want to ban all cars from using HID, even cars with original HID.

Foreigners in other countries must be laughing at the way problems are being solved in this country.

• saman king on Oct 29, 2014 at 4:21 pm

kena saman
    Errant car owners to be blacklisted @ Subang Jaya

• panjang on Oct 29, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Educate the seller and public, then enforce the law.
    Ilegal item will still be available for sale.We can even buy a gun today,let alone a strobe light.

Enforce,enforce,enforce….to everyone.

• kami (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:41 pm

i prefer those cars with retrofit HID and DRL to undergo inspection. if it match certain limit, JPJ shud endorse..like engine/gearbox swap.

#stupid.white.bulb.headlamp

• Mohd Khairul on Oct 29, 2014 at 9:58 pm

I agree. Jpj should inspect cars with HID first rather than simply banning everything.

Must look at the bigger picture.

• I thought the new tint regulation has been postponed. And in this phamplet, it already shows the “new” VLT regulations. Not consistent causing confusion amongst motorists. Shows that JPJ themselves are wishy washy over the rules, how to expect others to respect the rules..?