Hyundai Veloster Turbo open for booking, RM150k est

VELOSTER_TURBO_EXTERIOR

Well, that’s quick – just hours after a photo of the Hyundai Veloster Turbo surfaced on Facebook, Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has officially announced that the asymmetrically-designed hot hatch is now available for booking ahead of its expected local introduction in mid-April.

It’s been a long time coming, this car – it was first spotted at JPJ in October 2013, before it appeared at KLIMS 2013 for a public preview. At the motor show, we were told that the car would be launched in 2014, so it now comes here a year late. Well, better late than never, we suppose.

Still, in the intervening year the Veloster Turbo has switched over to the new mildly facelifted version, which comes in with more than its fair share of updates. Very few of them can be gleaned from just looking at it – there’s a new silver-trimmed front grille, a new 18-inch alloy wheel design and…that’s about it.

VELOSTER_TURBO_EXTERIOR_RADIATER_GRILLE

What’s more interesting is under the skin, where the Turbo gains a new seven-speed dual clutch transmission that replaces the preceding six-speed auto. The 1.6 litre turbocharged and direct-injected T-GDI engine it’s mated to remains the same as before – our mill gets the European tune, producing 186 PS (18 PS less than in other markets) at 5,500 rpm and 265 Nm from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm.

Also announced was indicative pricing for the Hyundai Veloster Turbo – the RM150,000 provisional sticker is inclusive of the upcoming 6% GST but excludes insurance. A five-year/300,000 km warranty is included. And yes, it will come in matte grey.

Pre-facelift Hyundai Veloster Turbo at KLIMS 2013

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• This car so rare on the road. And the price not a lot of ppl cn accept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
    • Abu Sayur on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:23 pm

dude price cant accept? toyota 86 200k+ that one can accept?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
      • George Abdul on Mar 20, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Worst is that “if” 110km limit implanted. This stupid “turbo” can only use in race track… by some minister.

Sime Darby another marketing fall…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • Same L0rrrr on Mar 20, 2015 at 4:23 pm

Got a kimchi/Proton, you syok sendiri.

Get a sushi, everyone around you syok.

See the difference.

RM150k price, next year got RM80k only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Abu Sayur on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:23 pm

focus st 200k+
      golf gti 200k+

• droll on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:09 pm

so now that Hyundai’s turbo engine can run on our grade of fuel – can we please have the 2.0 turbo Optima? :)

• spongewai on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:12 pm

fair or ridiculous price?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:30 am

See how it goes. If I accept trade in next year for this model, the RV may be slighly higher than 20% for an 18 months old Veloster

• TheDean on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:15 pm

I’d choose the VW Golf. Only 10k more for a proven pedigree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 43
  • Ccccc on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Pftttttt naseb baik facelift…BTW the price 150k which is little bit higher for 1.6TGDI with lower tune conpare to korean 204 hp….those 7DCT no comment…The design look like same mehhhh

• hazamiey on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:17 pm

This warm hatch comes in auto trans. Better top up a bit and get the Clio RS 200 EDC. Better performance (hot hatch) and more eye-catching.

• Toyota Crying Salesman on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Stuck with 2 rotten cabbages now.

I understand what is it like being a sorhai.

Sam will not even take this model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Proton on Mar 20, 2015 at 1:01 pm

better than Proton Saga as Sam is crying since he bought it end last year for his son from Cheras Eon branch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • Therealmaserati on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:21 pm

knowing the koreans, it will never feel as powerful as what their specsheet mention.

Take your rubbish bck to Korea Hyundai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
    • As opposed to the outdated and anemic 2.0 VVT-i engine still used in our Camry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
    • U again?
      Already saying that i will buy your 2012 Sonata at RM35k, i will give you another RM1k for duit kopi!
      What is your contact number?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Being a Korean product, you will have 2 guarantees :-
      1) It will have very very low RV and/or cannot be traded in
      2) It will sui kwan and kwai tai in the middle of the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 26
    • Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:17 am

Forgive us that has been shown the Hilux.

Kimchi owners like us have no choice but to badmouth sushis. The RV of our rotten cabbages is already so bad that my mother cannot recognize me.

So, I would take my anger to cyberspace and whack the sushis because I am jealous that their RV is so good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Nauts on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:22 pm

The only time i see this car so heavily featured was in the TV Series Burn Notice which ended few years ago.

• brazbuz on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:26 pm

Finally,a power that suits it sporty design

• insider news on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:28 pm

RM149,888 to be precise.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:32 am

6 months later, this car cannot even fetch RM50k for trade in

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:29 pm

one of the few times we get european tune and its the lousier one

• waldan on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:30 pm

150000+ for a 186hp car, ok la woi. Design pun nice jugak. Dual clutch trans lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • momoi on Mar 20, 2015 at 10:08 pm

VW golf, proven DSG failure.

dual clutch.

be prepared for gearbox failure too.

• aronebox on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:12 am

i have been driving my car for 2 years
        so far i hv no encounter any big issue
        thanks god and touch wood!!
        i feel really really lucky at all

• matrabun on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:37 pm

I’ll buy one if i can afford cuz new engine new feature ,my mind open minded not stick to only japanese brand. Malaysian memang tak suka berubah bn yours choice. Kah kah kah bising lebih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Not a head-turner. Next!

• Moving Forward on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:52 pm

A unique and looker car for me. But.. I still prefer a two years old reconditioned Toyota 86 for its stick shifter and Rwd, which cost the same as this beauty.

• It’s just a matter of time till Nasim brings in the 308 GT

• I know it’s never going to happen but Kia can you please consider bringing the Proceed GT. please

• hmmmm on Mar 20, 2015 at 1:53 pm

Hot hatch battle!
    Veloster, CRZ, Clio, Polo GTI…Suprima

• hmmmm on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Hot hatch battle!
    Veloster, CRZ, Polo GTI…Suprima

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • maria ozawa on Mar 20, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Hello SD..Bring the korean 204hp one and put six speed manual with 7DCT as option..

• Naza kia please bring in the proceed gt and sell cheaper than this veloster.

• Will give it a try if I need another car. For the price I think can accept from my point of view. Does it comes with free service?

• ahmadjohnson97 on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:44 pm

I would rather take Peugeot 208 GTi or Ford Fiesta ST than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Holofanboi on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:48 pm

My customer is one of the 3 subang jaya owners of a 208 gti. Having sat with him during his drives in the backroads of Kelantan i can assure you that the 208Gti is nowhere near as wonderful as paultan made it sound.

Infact, the car exhibits are rather dangerous ‘skittish’ behaviour which Peugeot claims to be normal for the 208gti.

Unlike the polo gti which feels safe even when driving like an idiot, the 208gti inspires zero confidence whatsoever. What is entertaining to the reviewers are often poorly applicable to us readers.

The 208gti does look a ton more attractive in any angle though! :D

• 208Gti on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:58 am

It’s the behaviour that made the 205Gti so famous, you have no idea why people value the adjustability so much over the “safer” polo gti

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 20, 2015 at 5:21 pm

RM150k new.

Within 9 months, can’t even trade in for RM50k, coz I used car dealers will not accept

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
  • autodriver (Member) on Mar 20, 2015 at 5:58 pm

It is wrong timing to launch the turbo veloster in msia. the NA version one is bad selling in Msia and bring the more expensive version is waste of time.

Even the price arond 130k, I doubt people will go for this beast. Hyundai brand name is growing gradually in Msia in recent year, but the car price also increase while the Japanese automakers selling cheaper nowadays, e.g. Mazda 3, HRV.

I would rather Hyundai CKD the current models and bring down the selling price rather than introduce new model. Especially the i40 is such a good car (GDI engine) but selling badly in Msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • momoi on Mar 20, 2015 at 10:10 pm

is a good car?

looks solid in and out doesnt mean solid.

just look at the budget germany car – volkswagen.

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 22, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Being the owner of 2 Hyundais, I will only but kimchis second hand.

Just sold my 26 months old Sonata to Sam for RM30k. Double Hailat

• yayyy on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:04 pm

horeeiii! does this mean I can buy turbo engine from Hyundai Sime Darby and fit into my Kia Cerato?

• Areola Tan on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:32 pm

So expensive!

• padanmuka BN on Mar 20, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Kimchi car now cost 150K???

after one year onwership, price will be half maybe?

• 150k for low quality Korean car? China Greatwall should cost 150k as well.

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:11 am

Kimchi owners like us have no choice but to badmouth sushis. The RV of our rotten cabbages is already so bad that my mother cannot recognize me.

So, I would take my anger to cyberspace and whack the sushis because I am jealous that their RV is so good

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:18 am

So, I would take my anger to cyberspace and whack the sushis because I am jealous that their RV is so darn good

• love the interior but meh!.. name one legendary hyundai for the past 20years. like evo,rx7,impreza,integra,type r, gtr,golf gti,mps and so on. They don’t have the credential for it. Might as well stick to race ready tech that we used to. this car just a plain poser in racing suit.

• fenzo on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:56 pm

New Peugeot 308 will be better buy with lots of premiums features. Btw I’m not sales person.

• clio RS much better..faster