Ops Warta to target traffic offenders with outstanding warrants of arrest from next month – report

Merc_CLS_Audi_A7_001

Ops Warta is set to kick off next month, under which hundreds of thousands of traffic offenders with outstanding arrest warrants will be targeted, The Star reports.

“To date, 2.49 million of the 4.09 million warrants of arrests have already been settled. Now we are looking at the remaining 39% (1.59 million),” Bukit Aman traffic chief Senior Asst Comm Datuk Mohd Fuad Abdul Latiff told the English-language daily.

He said that although multiple warnings have already been given over the past two years, the remaining offenders have refused to settle their summonses. Bukit Aman has worked with the Employees’ Provident Fund and the National Registration Department to track down the addresses of these traffic offenders.

polis-saman 630

“There are many ways of checking for outstanding summonses so do not expect us to let you off easily,” he said, explaining that motorists can check if they have outstanding summons through myeg.com.my, rilek.com.my, and at traffic police counters, post offices, Maybank ATMs, plus selected shopping malls and Road Transport Department (JPJ) branches.

“Don’t be surprised if you are stopped at a roadblock next month and are placed under arrest,” he warned.

SAC Mohd Fuad told The Star that 880,914 summonses were issued in the first three months of 2015 – of these, 9,119 were for emergency lane misuse while 69,629 were for queue-cutting.

“From these numbers, I can gather that our motorists have not changed their attitude,” he said, adding that they should try to be more law-abiding and courteous.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• holofanboi on Apr 24, 2015 at 11:23 am

Hohoho, yet another wonderful course of action from these guys. GOOD.

There’s too many people I know personally who are misguidedly smug about not paying their summonses.

Don’t want to get summoned? FOLLOW THE LAW :P

(I myself have been summoned a few times for not paying ze parking so… :3 )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • azrai on Apr 24, 2015 at 11:25 am

Police should be aware it is not the outstanding summons but for those who received and sign their summons and have arrest warrant. While those ‘saman ekor’ they do not have arrest warrant. Please clarify on this. Don’t mock-up by blackmailing with arrest just for the sake to get more money by paying summonses.
    And for those wealthy people, they don’t even bother to pay for a rate at RM300 per summon compared to average RM2,500 earners with 4 children living in KL.

• i have 3 “saman ekor” under pdrm and 1 under AES. All that summon are because of speeding. so i dont have to worry about it or should i regarding this ops?

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 24, 2015 at 11:27 am

Why the photo of Merz and Audi? Our Vios TRD can race too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • jemah on Apr 24, 2015 at 11:30 am

AKU BYK SNAP PIC ORG POTONG Q HANTAR KE JPJ =D

• matlaju on Apr 24, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Tak mahu kena saman pindah kebulan kebintang atau matahari kata Yb menteri umno bn. Wa kak ka ada brani.

• Low Budget on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:17 pm

No more giving special discounted rate?

• When it comes to stern action from our Government, it’d always be against the people.

No action against bastard Telco who raised the prepaid card prices nor against the service tax, despite the earlier noise.

When it comes to people, …

• Songlap our money in billions in 1MDB, they buat tak tau. After sapu our money they now collect thru traffic summones by hiding in some bushes and also very quick to threaten arrest. Go fly a kite!

• karipap basah on Apr 24, 2015 at 11:20 pm

It can be summarized to 2 words. Take your pick….

All talk.
    No Action.
    No Enforcement.

and lastly….

Syoik sendiri.

• Stupid police on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Those corruption cases go free. But police want to catch these people using emergency lane. Imagine the traffic jam in the cities which is due to poor public transportation (politicians fault), people are always fighting the traffic to be on time so they use the emergency lane LAR. Stupid police.