Mazda Australia recalls 80k cars with Takata airbags

Mazda logo

It would appear that the whole world has been recalled for defective Takata airbags. The latest round of updates surrounding one of the most prominent manufacturing error in automotive history sees a total of three separate recall campaigns issued by Mazda Australia. An additional 79,919 Mazda vehicles are involved this time round.

The first recall involves cars sold between August 22 2002 and November 19 2007. Models affected include the Mazda 6 (GG/GY) sedan and wagon, RX-8, E-Series (Bongo) van, T-Series Cab Chassis, B2500 and B2600 in both cab/ute configurations. Said models are only affected by defective driver’s airbag(s).

Following on, the second recall involves both the driver and front passenger airbags. Only Mazda 6 models sold between July 29 2005 and November 19 2007 are affected. The third recall involves Mazda 6 models sold between April 28 2006 and March 30 2009 with only the front passenger airbag said to be the cause.

Earlier this month, Mazda announced a global recall of its cars, totalling in 2.02 million vehicles, for the same Takata-related issue. Other manufacturers including Subaru, BMW, Chrysler, Ford, Mitsubishi, Honda, Toyota and Nissan have also issued corresponding recall campaigns as a result.

Back in May 2015, the Japanese parts manufacturer admitted that a sizeable chunk of its airbag inflators had ruptured during testing. Said inflators were reported to be made with propellant tablets that were known to degrade over time, a process allegedly sped up by exposure to moisture. Upon deployment, excess pressure caused by the propellant causes the inflator to rupture, potentially spraying metal shrapnel into the cabin.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• safetyno.1 on Jun 11, 2015 at 2:30 pm

To Same Lorrrr, too bad you words are wrong because now people can go wrong with sushi

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 11, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Recall means we are committed to our customer safety, regardless how much it gonna cost us.

No recall means good quality. Good luck with your Proton and VW DSG then. Good luck.

You don’t do body checkup doesn’t mean you won’t get cancer.

• You do checkup doesn’t mean you WONT get cancer. Otherwise Steve Jobs would have made an iPhone that has that function, you nutjob.
        Stay in ur RV universe and let others comment.

• recallaftersued on Jun 11, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Recalls after killing and being sued are committed to customers?
        Ptuih!!!

• joejoey on Jun 11, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Why.no bashing? Coz japs cars?

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:45 pm

No need bashing to educate how good is sushi car(especially Toyota). Mazda is nice looking and good engine no doubt, but the space, maintenance fee, spare parts and RV will scare you off. That’s why mazda sale still far below Toyota.

Bashing so much like proton salesman so what? No one bother their “awesome” iriz too.

• convec on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:09 am

Nowadays no one bother with your catfish Vios, Altis also same.

• Hadi75 on Jun 11, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Like he care about safety…all he care is rv

• paanjang16 on Jun 11, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Adoi, yet another car kena recalled in the Takata airbag roulette. Wonder which brand going to kena next round?

• If this was Proton…

• Expect at least 200 bashing comments, including those who never drive p1!!!