UMW Toyota issues recall over faulty Takata airbag inflators – Camry, Vios, Yaris, Corolla Altis, RAV4

toyota logo

UMW Toyota has issued a nationwide recall for models including the Camry, Corolla Altis, Vios, Yaris and RAV4 models. The recall aims to rectify the possibility of an improperly manufactured Takata airbag inflator on the side front passenger and front driver’s airbag.

Said flaw could cause the airbag to inflate abnormally in the unlikely event of an accident. The “special service campaign” affects a total of 97,000 units of said models assembled in the year 2001 to 2007 – UMW has stated that no other Toyota/Lexus model sold in Malaysia made before or after said period is affected.

UMW Toyota will contact affected customers regarding said campaign. Should replacement be deemed necessary, the defective inflator will be substituted with a new airbag inflator module at no cost to the owner.

Individuals with further questions regarding the campaign are advised to contact Toyota Malaysia at 1800-8-869682, from Monday to Friday, 8am to 5.30pm.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• sudonano (Member) on May 13, 2015 at 6:56 pm

I really really hope UMW will put up large ads in the mainstream newspapers. Seriously.

Camry, Vios and the Corolla are UMW’s core sellers during that time, and for such a high profile case, we don’t want any more lives lost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
    • traul on May 13, 2015 at 8:59 pm

HahahahahahahahahahahahHagG
      hahahahahahahaahh
      Haahhahahahahaaahahaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • toyotarubbish on May 13, 2015 at 10:08 pm

So where’s the quailty of the so called global car? If like this Toyota is worse than local car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
        • Same L0rrrr on May 14, 2015 at 11:31 am

Toyota is willing to change your airbag even though it is 10 years old car, this called COMMITMENT!

You think Proton/kimchi cars will bother to do it? Do they care their 10 years customer like Toyota does? You slowly dream.

No recall doesn’t mean it is good. You don’t do body checkup doesn’t mean you won’t get cancer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 34
          • sackeddesigner on May 14, 2015 at 1:15 pm

p1 got recalls lor but not airbags issue. Get your fact right.

• taknakToyota on May 14, 2015 at 1:18 pm

2 airbags is already small, still they couldn’t get it right?

RIP Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • karam singh on May 14, 2015 at 2:00 pm

At least P1 dont have problems on their car’s safety..
            I prefer power window problem rather than airbag,
            value our life ..

• justmy2cent on May 17, 2015 at 10:00 am

P1car no airbag that time

• eagletalon on May 14, 2015 at 8:47 pm

even the car is total lost, the airbags never work. so, proton has no this issue. no need to change.

• olio benzina on May 14, 2015 at 9:20 pm

COMMITMENT to not being sued kaw-kaw you mean.

Airbag that act like grenade is not same as problematic power window.

• Sorchai Albert on May 15, 2015 at 2:40 am

SAme Loor is such a moron. Recall after 10 years is good? I already sold my vios to a bangla 5 years ago. How did it benefit me? Useless toyota treating their customers like dirt. Please upgrade yourself la same lor. Not everyone like you no money and Driving the same old shit for more than 10 years.

• Hor Shen Hau on May 17, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Moron,dengar sini.You ingat Proton tak pernah buat recall ke?Habis last year,Proton call Exora bold and Prime for engine parts calling?Please lah,get a life

• jambanvios on May 13, 2015 at 10:21 pm

Toyota will surely be out of my car list next year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
        • Toyota out of my list 10 years ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • karam singh on May 14, 2015 at 5:33 am

where’s sam loo …
          without VSC, then problematic airbags,no side airbags
          perfect formula for disaster.
          toyota car prices going down, RV going down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • Same L0rrrr on May 14, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Karam, don’t act like your R3 Satria is any better, it doesn’t even have VSC!

Pity the better equipped Preve and Suprima S can’t run. Even our battery car Prius C can beat you with 9.7s 0-100km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
          • Sam Loo Ori on May 15, 2015 at 2:26 am

Luckily I already left UMW and am now selling lingerie. Otherwise all my customers gonna taruk me kaw kaw for selling them a rotten junk that endangered their lives all this while. Now my junior salesman kena hantam teruk

• waooo on May 13, 2015 at 9:31 pm

My Mondeo got 7 air bags but all are ok wooo…
      Toyota camee, atik, veeoos, yalees… ada 2 biji saja pun tak boleh pakai?!

Why ah?
      RV king ah? Sam Loo, Same Looor ?
      Sibeh lau kui..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • zainal on May 14, 2015 at 9:10 am

where is big fat toyota salesman sam lorr??

• George Abdul on May 14, 2015 at 9:34 am

To be more accurate the UMW toyota salesman.

UMW greedy and arrogant attitude has no more trust by existing and potential customers !!!

RIP AP UMW !!!

• takeo1070 on May 14, 2015 at 11:39 am

sam lor been recall by toyota for briefing of how to respond to bashers….

• wiwiwiw on May 13, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Yeah, should also recall because those cars don’t have traction control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • haha.. absolutely.. i dunno why but my instincts have always been to stay away from the useless toyotas.. i think this just confirms my instinct again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Rover (Member) on May 13, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Traction control is not that useful in Malaysia, what we need is ESP (or VSC as Toyota calls it)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • jibby on May 14, 2015 at 8:26 am

traction control is useful too bro, u get more control on wet road and ur vehicle will be planted on the ground on slippery surfaces (not skidding)

• Fed up with UMW on May 13, 2015 at 7:39 pm

This airbag news thingy had been on for so so so long already. All my honda owners friends have had their airbag replaced already. Now then UMW issu a recall to fix. Super late. Umw might be trying to see if it can’t avoid the fix. Profit 1st. Customers last. UMW another GLC company that will tarnish TOYOTA brand name in malaysia. Toyota Japan HQ, if you’re rewarinh this, time for you to really consider changing franchise, this one is going to sink your market share here very very soon. Not if but when.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
    • Mat Maivee on May 13, 2015 at 9:07 pm

All these while they tipu their customers saying their products are safe no need to replace faulty parts even though worldwide all said their cars are affected.

Why now only want to do recall?
      After heard that the Sarawak Honda City owner sueing Honda, then only scared.

UMW is a dishonest company that is greedy to make a large profit on their overpriced CKD cars with low on safety and stupid bodykits. All these while they have been lying to the public stating their cars are safe.

The fact that Sam Loo has a lot of time being a keyboard warrior, means that sales must be pretty bad for Toyota since he got nothing to do buy to vomit Kimchi, Baguette, frankfurter, Swedish meatballs, English scones, lasagna or hamburgers. Eating too much sushi can get stomach ache.

UMW Toyota. The reality is you are selling unsafe cars. Please stop lying to the public.

Best wishes,
      Wiwiwiwiwiw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • dodgeviper88 on May 13, 2015 at 7:53 pm

Sam Loo must be crying now with his RV gone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Albert on May 13, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Shambolic……UMW…ultimately PNB.
      Thats why I have said PNB only wants the highest car prices,the rakyat have to suffer.
      Cos of the need of PNB to declare voluptious dividends,UMW have to maximise profits,even delaying recalls…..
      they have no morals at all.Maybe,someone in a Toyota has a mishap with the airbags…they quickly decide to buck up.They are the scum of car distributors.
      Toyota Japan,don’t you have other capable bumiputra dealers to take over shambolic UMW ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • wiwiwiw on May 13, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Sounds very fishy. Maybe the airbag incident thing happened recently on UMW Toyota cars, and they did some massive cover up. Now they suddenly theyre doing a nationwide recall.

• Snobs on May 14, 2015 at 1:32 am

Takata. The name is as infamous as Sam Loo/Same Lorr nowadays.

• How many recalls Toyota aiming to achieve? New KPI for them to get as many recall as possible?

• BeemerFreak on May 13, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Vios, Camry, Corolla Altis……it’s pretty much everything they sell, and they are all crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • old dog on May 13, 2015 at 8:28 pm

did UMW delay the recall? the airbag problem been known for long time ago..

• Sorchai Albert on May 15, 2015 at 2:44 am

Earlier UMW said none of their cars are affected by the recall

• WhereIsSamLoo? on May 13, 2015 at 8:51 pm

Sam Loo is too busy sending out calling letters to all the owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • When UMW toyota does recall: “Very responsible brand”, “thank you”, “takes care of their customers”

When Proton does recall: “XY57U%XB@+!”, “Lousy protong!”, “No quality!”, “Betta close shop!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • RUGAL on May 13, 2015 at 11:47 pm

Dulu ada orang kata Proton letak banyak airbag tp BELUM TENTU boleh pakai..sekarang Toyota pulak sudah recall sbb airbags MEMANG tak boleh pakai..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • ok.ok.ok
      can we back to Toyota’s problem? and Toyota’s quality?

• eaturownwords on May 13, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Toyota has airbags also no use coz its airbags are not working perfectly. I still can recall last time Same Lorrrr questioning p1 airbags working or not. So now eat your own words!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • tom byron on May 13, 2015 at 9:19 pm

samelorr is hiding now..

• roxas on May 13, 2015 at 9:30 pm

while many dont agree with kimchi, at least im glad to have my kimchi…

• Eeewan on May 13, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Padan muka Sam Lorrrrrrr

• Eeewan on May 13, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Sam Loo Where are u hiding, long live Santa Fe.

• Vios J (2007 – 2010) is not equipped with airbags.
    The only Toyota without airbag perhaps?

• DPCraft on May 13, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Last time laugh at Honda, now Toyota also kena.hahaha

• Guest on May 13, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Wow.. Imagine you bought a car between 2001 to 2007, now UMW told you the airbags were improperly manufactured. First thing came to your mind – Thank God there were nothing happened for the past 8 to 14 years.

• why is my comment not going through? whats up admin? u have a problem?

• Guest on May 13, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Imagine you bought a car – equipped with airbags on 2001. Today Toyota told you the airbags were improperly manufactured. First thing you should do – Thank God your airbags were not needed for the past 14 years.

#What? It takes so long to diagnose the issue.

• Shame lorr on May 13, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Kah kah kah….
    Toyota RV will increase after this problem…

• That is Why I said before, airbags not really good, people complain about 2 airbags in Toyota in Camry, See, In fact it can cause more problem. Hahahahahahahaha………….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • jibby on May 14, 2015 at 8:36 am

airbags is good bro, only takata airbags (honda and toyota airbags supplier) is problematic. other than takata, everything seems ok until now. proton, kia, ford, vw, hyundai, no issue found so far.. one thing for sure, toyota RV will continue to sinking even more.. lol

• Megane on May 14, 2015 at 9:10 am

Haiyo Jibby , Ong was poking fun sarcastically at Toyota seemingly low number of airbags in the core models sold in Malaysia and funnily they couldnt get them right hahaha

• Diesel on May 13, 2015 at 11:23 pm

If toyota are doing after sales research & development, they would replace long time ago. Same as the pedal issue that after many people accident, complaint & sue toyota, then they start to do research.

• nabill (Member) on May 13, 2015 at 11:52 pm

there is one idiot who is missing in this post , hopefully got killed by a faulty airbag!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • pagoh on May 14, 2015 at 12:59 am

Honda pun pakai takata

• Snobs on May 14, 2015 at 1:30 am

It’s a post about Toyota and i was expecting Sam Loo/Same Lorr to run his mouth here. Alas, i am disappointed he didn’t even make a sound to defend his employer. Too busy answering phone calls from disgruntled customers, perhaps.

• Sam L00 on May 14, 2015 at 2:13 am

at least toyota admit their problem and is willing to compensate the affected owners of this problem. Unlike so many other car manufacturer expecially VW…pfff

This is not the first time toyota faces a challenge. toyota will learn from the mistakes and grow stronger. Toyota will still be the KING in the automobile world !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
    • Bob_B78 on May 14, 2015 at 11:31 am

Toyota is no doubt king of the world. The things is in Malaysia, Toyota is king of profit. All thanks to UMW

• SamLoL on May 14, 2015 at 11:42 am

WILL THE REAL SAM LOO PLS STAND UP?

• King of automobile world for what? Produce more, more people moving to coffin. I’ll be forever banned Toyota brand, Toyota is bullshit

• Head Hunter on May 14, 2015 at 6:28 am

This is probably a reaction to the Honda Takata Airbag case which happened in Sibu years back and finally UMW finds it justified to recall the models sold. In this case Takata should be blamed. Toyota is just doing the obvious although it is quite late but better late than never. I wonder who else are using Takata’s?

• I am sure there could be some accidents happen but the car owner never realise it or could be dead before finding out the real problem.

• Eewan on May 14, 2015 at 8:08 am

Hello brader Sam Loo nevermind no worry about this small mistake of air bag.small matter maaaaa.this small matter for u that have caused the death of one pregnant woman.how generous u are sam loo.i pray that your air bag will pop up and hit your face while driving then u know how serious this matter, how important safety of your wife and kids.

• Same Lorrr on May 14, 2015 at 8:37 am

Toyota still good RV.. No question about that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
    • No 2nd hand car dealer want Toyota, waste their spaces for stock pile

• VHL Lorr on May 17, 2015 at 4:37 pm

If no used car dealer want Toyota, i can take in, but price surely will be Very Hailat Lorr (VHL). And all these cars will be either head to scrapyard or exported to other 3rd world countries so that i can buy and owned a brand new Mercedes (at least A200/A250) with cash payment.

To Axxx,
        These days, not free to reply since a lot of Toyota owners rushing to sell their beloved Toyota to settle their whole stack of traffic summons (you knowlah, most Toyota drivers are barbarians, but since no money to settle as most of their income already dumped into river to pay their Toyota’s monthly installment because of terlebih gaya, so they have to sell their cars to avoid Polis Raja Di Malaysia haul them up and thrown them inside when Ops Warta will be started within few days)

• Same Lorrr on May 14, 2015 at 9:15 am

As long as Toyota still no 1 and make profit this small problem of airbag is not a big problem and not important maaaa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
    • same same on May 14, 2015 at 10:10 am

As long as Toyota still no 1 and make profit this small problem of airbag is not a big problem and not important maaaa.

• ciakap on May 14, 2015 at 2:08 pm

death of pregnant woman is not big problem?

• Fortegees on May 14, 2015 at 9:21 am

no,Toyota is still good on RI (Recall Issue). what a shame..

• Fortegees on May 14, 2015 at 9:24 am

no, Toyota still has good RI (Recall Issue), what a shame!

• Joe Jambu on May 14, 2015 at 9:37 am

hahahaha, where is the Toyota fanboy now? hiding in the underwear basket in Parkson and all major deparment stores???

• sammy on May 14, 2015 at 9:42 am

Recall? more like refund…
    Could you believe you have paid for a safety equipment that actually could kill you?

This is worse then Proton.
    The power window doesn’t work, tail lights masuk air… all seem petty now, because you wont die.

• Eeewan on May 14, 2015 at 10:13 am

Yes I totally agree Toyota good at RI(recall issue) ha ha ha ha.Shame on you Sam Loo just thinking about profit rather than safety.long live Santa Fe.

• so late to recall

maybe they are waiting for the court decision regarding the death of malaysian driver cause by airbag

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 14, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Great initiative as a preventative measure.

Takata is now like Korean Car owners, super hailat.

But in reality, kimchi airbags will fail to work after 24 months anyway, so better sell off the rotten cabbage after 1 year

• Shame Lorr on May 15, 2015 at 7:47 am

This is the way of frustrating man…

Always blame other people..

Kah,,kah,,kah..

• eagletalon on May 16, 2015 at 3:35 pm

it has nothing to do with toyota or honda or bmw or watever. they just buy the parts and put on their cars only. these company dont design airbags though. this is same as they dont design battery, tires, speakers, etc. surely they have responsibility to make choices of good parts to install on their cars, but in the end, they are victims too.

• its not a toyota issue only… other car makers also have a lot of issues… cheap plotong have thousand issues unsolved…

• toyoda owner on May 19, 2015 at 1:13 pm

called 1800-8-869682…ring ring…ring ring……… no one answer. how bad can the customer service be. cant they create a parent site to check this ourself. inefficient customer service.