Twelve tolls plazas to go fully cashless in September, including AKLEH, DUKE, SMART, Penang Bridge

TnG SmartTag

The Malaysian Highway Authority (MHA) has announced that twelve more toll plazas will go fully cashless starting at noon from September 9 onwards, Bernama reports. They are all set to switch to the all-Electronic Toll Collection (ETC) system, requiring the use of SmartTAG, Touch ‘n Go or PLUSMiles card.

Affected toll plazas are:

• Penang Bridge toll
  • SMART Highway toll
  • Dato Keramat toll on the Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH)
  • Ayer Panas, Sentul Pasar and Batu tolls on the Duta-Ulu Kelang Expressway (DUKE)
  • Jitra and Bukit Kayu Hitam tolls on the North-South Expressway (PLUS)
  • Lunas and Kubang Semang tolls on Butterworth-Kulim Expressway (BKE)
  • Gombak and Bentong tolls on the Kuala Lumpur-Karak Highway (KLK)

Queries regarding the implementation of this system can be directed to the MHA hotline at 1-800-88-7752.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• michaelooi on Jun 13, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Perhaps before they do that, they ought to revamp the touch n’ go reloading system. It’s not widely available enough for this kind of implementation.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 7
    • UMNO Untung Lebih on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:07 pm

This move has got nothing to do with making the traffic flow smooth. It is actually to give the crony Touch and Go card maker more money.

Don’t be fooled thinking our Government cares. Go and see who really makes the Touch and Go cards and the chip inside. It is an UMNO crony company.

So, this, will indirectly make more money for this UMNO goon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 72
      • Be rational please on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:59 pm

So for the sake of not loving the greed you wanted yourself the long queue and wasted other people time to also queue with you ? Its up to you if not to but TnG but we really need this system to smoothen the traffic. Else ppl with TnG and Smart Tag also affected with the queue. You can do better than this and act smart if dont like UMNO or BN. You know what to do when the times come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 19
        • George Abdul on Jun 14, 2015 at 9:18 am

Mostly everything related to Govt in Malaysia are partly with cronies aka Bolehland country.

Either kill them or join them… BN will never stop making fools of Rakyat. Especially Spanco sdn bhd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
          • cakap lebih, keje tak buat on Jun 15, 2015 at 9:52 am

Always talk about cronysm…
            PR don’t have cronies ah? its politics bro… cronyism everywhere… don’t say lah they didn’t have…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
          • Anti-Pati on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:26 am

Budak BN, you are so ignorant. Like Spanco, our Government spends Rm221 million per year just to rent Protons from them.

• hadi75 on Jun 14, 2015 at 12:17 pm

If we want to really smoothen the traffic flow, better implement the system like singapore is using…their auto pass…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
          • Autopass does not work in Malaysia.. People will pass through without paying at all, know how many dishonest Malaysian are in existence.. Want to talk about enforcement, forget it. this is big country, unlike Singapore
            U know what, same system are used in Bay Area, California, and Brisbane, Australia. Already some people manage to pass though without paying, accidental or not, and sorry to say, i was one of ’em. And yes, i did NOT get fine as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Jimmy on Jun 14, 2015 at 3:24 pm

1. The best way to divert attentions away from 2NDB is by asking my sister to raise an issue on swimheadwear and to use Cheong Sam during perlumbaan 100m. Make the issue as big as possible for up to 2017.
        2. Am I not confident of myself and my attentions can easily be diverted & aroused by arms and thighs?
        3. I do not want to melancong ke Europah and Amerika, in case I lose control. I do not want Bahasa Inggeris. I do not purchase RR, Bentley, Patek Phllipe, Rolex, Hermes, LV; I just want to stick to my China made products.

• Where in My Interest on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Most people reload RM50. this small Sdn Bhd alone has billions. On interest alone they make a few hundred million per year.

By right, they should give you RM55 for every RM50 you reload. they should pay you the interest upfront.

Imagine, one person who owns this Sdn Bhd makes hundreds of millions just on interest alone on the credit you put in.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 7
      • And what, if the company goes bankrupt for any reason?

Will the Malaysian Highway Authority guarantee for the deposits?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • intermilan on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:02 am

TnG card balance is a prepaid balance, not deposit. Almost similar like telco prepaid balance.

Since its not a deposit, interest cannot be paid to card holders. Its the law. Thats why no prepaid card pay interest.

The prepaid balance is kept hold by appointed trustee company. Therefore, by law, TnG prepaid balance is protected by Trustee Act.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:19 pm

You feel nothing when you pay with TouchNGo (compared to cash), especially with smart tag.

Then it is easier for government to hike up the toll charge. Understand the logic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 10
        • Sam Logic on Jun 13, 2015 at 8:15 pm

You are sales man that has no integrity and lie all the way, please don’t share your logic here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 29
      • Why pay extra on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Why pay.advance with no extra value.given? Because of monopoly? With new system, now we know why toll rate will increase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Zaki ipoh on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:57 pm

TnG money firstly goes to a trustee managed by Bank Negara. TnG can claim only after highway give tng number of vehicles used the highway. Happens daily

• fanofthisite on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:02 pm

good to know this

• intermilan on Jun 14, 2015 at 10:37 am

And the money from the trustee (who hold all the TnG card money on behalf of card owner) will go to the toll operator where the toll transaction took place. A very small sum is retained by tng as they earned commission to process the transaction.

They are basically like MEPS, a clearinghouse.

• Zaki ipoh on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:21 am

I have to admit, I am told by our company to tell you this. Intermilan also works with Touch and Go. We scared the public know how much profit we make from people’s money

• Nazgul on Jun 13, 2015 at 7:50 pm

Welcome to the capitalism world. Maximum profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • Gargantia on Jun 14, 2015 at 9:23 am

More like Cronies World by Tun himself aka Bolehland Monopoly industry !!!

But still he’s doing a job criticism PM.

• Good for them …living with interest money!

• Couldn’t agree more, not many petrol kiosk have touch n go relad service, and many that do have always facing service down problem…

• Bladez on Jun 13, 2015 at 7:48 pm

Online bro…

• Zaki ipoh on Jun 13, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Tng reload cannot be done online because. The ATM need to update the chip in the card with value of your money.

• Elaineteh on Jun 14, 2015 at 7:56 am

All watsons, tesco, kkmart, 7eleven, and mynews are available with the touch ‘n go reload service.

• LNick on Jun 14, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Then the ETC only will solve the reloading problem. All ETC only Tolls I have encountered have tambah nilai lanes without any additional charges.

• OMG…u can see long queue at tambah nilai lane in Batu Tiga toll after implementing this cashless system = useless system. puihhh…

• blahblah on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:12 pm

The traffic is WAY better NOW compared to before using cashless system. Reload lane itself is somewhat faster than before. This comparison is made during lunch time and after office hour.

• حاتيفي عظيم on Aug 09, 2015 at 11:59 am

tempat yang caj 50 sen untuk tambah nilai, kena cukai (GST)
      Adoi!

• Is this a must?at least one lane for people who do not have one tng. Not all people can commit 50 bucks in the card and also, abesla pekerja2 tol nanti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
    • LIAR TIPU BOHONG on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Go and find out who makes the chips for the Touch and Go Card. Then you will know why this is implemented. Now, he can make few hundred million free money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Zaki ipoh on Jun 13, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Electronic payment is the way future la.

• Electronic payment is also loss of freedom to the people…

• Anti-Pati on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:30 am

the only future is to put free money into Touch and Go company pocket. Everything also charge 10% extra. Top up also, charge 50 sen extra. Curi duit orang free free

• Anti-Pati on Jun 14, 2015 at 3:18 pm

The chips are made by Philips no?

As for Touch n’Go itself, it’s a subsidiary of PLUS. PLUS is owned by UEM which is a Khazanah Nasional company and EPF. So unless you’re self-employed, you own a TINY part of PLUS through your EPF contributions.

• intermilan on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:50 am

The chip / specifications by Philips. Blank card with chip manufactured by many companies worldwide.

TNGSB majority shareholder is CIMB Group, not PLUS. PLUS, MTD are minority shareholders of TNGSB. So most if not all shareholders of TNGSB is public listed GLC, except MTD which was public listed before but had been privatised.

If and when TNGSB itself is public listed, the general public can have a share of the company.

They got operating license and therefore supervise by Bank Negara Malaysia, exactly like how banks and insurance companies are regulated by BNM. Safe to say they are not your average Joe sdn bhd company.

• leo galante on Jun 13, 2015 at 1:37 pm

It is a good idea, so that it saves time and less congestion.But what I worry about is those old aunty, uncles, mak cik, pak cik who rarely reads the automotive news , follow up the latest updates and those that always stays at home and rarely travels… and get stucked in the toll with out the touch n go card or smart tag? It happen to my uncle in his 70s where he stucked at the batu tiga toll few days back. He complained that they not keeping at least one cash booth for those people from rural areas and older drivers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 13
    • So you’re saying just becoz old folks dunno how to use smartphone, it should not be invented at all, or Google should make a crippled OS just for them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
      • fanofthisite on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:05 pm

naw, i think you are the one saying that.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 14, 2015 at 10:05 am

its called legacy support.

using new system doesnt mean you throw away the old system completely.

i use the smart tag but i feel for people who infrequently use the tolled highways. i have spare TnG cars expired due to lack of activity..and lost credit on them…the charge to transfer credit from card is 20 bux. if you dont use it much, would you remember how much money you have in it?

• Be rational please on Jun 13, 2015 at 11:00 pm

Then educate them and informed them. Take your part.

• jobless liao on Jun 13, 2015 at 1:39 pm

ramai akan hilang kerja woi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
    • Mann Bell on Jun 13, 2015 at 3:10 pm

cari kerja lain la woi! apa hal cita2 kau nak jadi pengutip tol?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • Mari Bercukur on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:31 pm

Don’t worry. these special people will be absorbed into PLUS and other crony companies. It will be like MAS where 10 people do 1 person’s job.

That is how GLC works and how the tongkat culture works. There former toll booth operators all need the tongkat all the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Mari Bercukur on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Ramai hilang kerja tapi Touch and Go, a small Sdn Bhd can make hundreds of millions on interest and billions in profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • No more toll operators on Jun 13, 2015 at 7:58 pm

Why toll prices increase?
        Why government pay the toll companies millions year after year for their lose?

WE DO NOT NEED TOLL OPERATORS! (Not all) but MOST steals money from the company on a daily basis! Read online on how toll operators can be earning RM 5,000++ per month (NO it is NOT their salary, its from “elsewhere”).

• Zaki ipoh on Jun 13, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Ketinggalan zaman la ko ni. Zaman tol pakai cash register dulu, logik juga. Tapi la ni,mana boleh.
          This is really a fitnah. Kesian.
          Highway use the money to pay loan.

• Michael on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:34 am

What is ko? Highway use the money to fill the crony pockets la. Malaysia highway higest cost in the world. Like Rm100 million for 1KM of highway without acquisitions.

Get 10 Bangla and some tar to tar RM1KM can come to RM100 million ah?

• blahblah on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Still better to spend RM100M per Km for a brand new highway rather than RM27M per KM for a painted bike lane on existing road in Penang.

• Just wondering, we have to top-up our TnGo cards, then does the money get used as capital/invested anywhere? What abiut the returns?

So now concessionaires reduce their labor cost as there’s no more manual toll operators.

Still we’re charged RM10 per new card; 10% per transaction at parkings; RM5 deduction if we want to redeem our card balance. Not to mention the non-existent security if the card is lost (since card registration is not automatic & there’s no PIN for retail purchases).
    Imagine the scale of highway users affected. And yeah, it’s all a monopoly.

Seriously, how much profiteering can one company ethically make?

If they want to make this mandatory then I say TnGo cards should be part of the facility (highway) provided i.e. if you run a parking lot business, does it make sense to charge customers the cost of the parking card?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • Mari Bercukur on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Touch and Go cards are all owned by one big fat crony. He has relatives in Parliament ie Minister there.

It is unfair but we rakyat have to suffer. No idea why 10% parking extra need to be deducted. Just want to rogol the rakyat further of their money just to support these cronies.

• Jibby running out of cash. Need to tighten belt a little :p at the mercy of pekerja toll

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • Get RID of all the TOLL BOOTHS all together la. Real Outdated method. GO LEARN FROM SINGAPORE’s ERP system. The toll Booths are the reason there ar Jams!!

• Zaki ipoh on Jun 13, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Yes. But first we must migrate to full electronic payment. Then we can implement like Singapore. It is called multi Lane free flow.

• Michael on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:37 am

Cannot la. One culture is so hardworking and another culture lazy and want tongkat all the time. Want kerajaan to tolong all the time. Like to eat nasi lemak and sleep the whole day. So, how to compare with Singapore?

• LNick on Jun 14, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Would be good for our heavy traffic flows but judging by the negative comments on ETC. Any ERP system will occur a tremendous backlach unless the sytem is free. RM 10 for a TNG card also people here complaining

Plus ERP syatem quite a hassle for thoose unprepared people to topup. ETC has tambah nilai if not enough value. ERP has fines. Lol

• sharpe on Jun 13, 2015 at 3:10 pm

Nasih ada lane utk tambah nilai di exit hiway…macam di exit lukut dan mantin.so pekerja masih digunakan.jangan risau,masa itu penting..kenapa nak bazir masa jika masa itu boleh di bayar

• nobrand on Jun 13, 2015 at 3:32 pm

All these company actually want to collect advance money

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 13, 2015 at 3:55 pm

To all the people that voted this regime because they don’t want pekerja toll to hilang kerja, nah ambik lah kau.

Now we have to deal with toll hikes and less people with jobs. Maybe next election, the idea of abolish tolls won’t be too hard to swallow.

• Reload Lanes on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:27 pm

The Penang bridge closes the Reload Lanes at peak hours. Please open them up if you want to go fully cashless.

That being said, most daily users of the Penang bridge uses TnG anyway to get the discounts but long queues still happen. Mostly due to people not having enough balance in their cards.

• SuperAguri on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:39 pm

They should really implement it on NPE. In certain hours the Q for touch & go & Smart Tag are often longer than paying cash, this is a joke!

• Tong Kosong on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Imagine when reading ERROR, not enough balance, the queue and accident is more frequent than ever.

My TnG reader failed in less than a year- 100 for them damn dump people to make maney frm stupid & non blessing way each year.

This is how stupid Highly expensive coroprate people behavior in Malaysia- stupid, arrogant and no brain think how to make other suffer.

learn from Briliant Gooogle find ways to make email free, microsoft,now even offer windows for Free

• Michael Liang on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:57 am

if you want everything free then i really have got nothing to say to you. basically you are a shame to mankind to ask for everything to be free.

• Xen Wen on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Smart tag always got problems. The machine did not detect properly especially in peak hours. Please fix the machine or put your lazy ass staffs at every counter. TQ

• Please improve Smart Tag lane in NPE tool booth if want go cashless there. Smart Tag Lane is nightmare there. Always got stuck with problematic Tag

• jobless on Jun 13, 2015 at 5:05 pm

going cashless wont solve congestion..just look at Batu Tiga toll…many lorries still slowdown for resits…abd some tolls like SMRT seldom needto go cashless as most of the time not busy..look at cashless lanes at Damansala toll etc those lanes actually slowrr than the cash lanes..fixed the toll designs eg from 4-6 lanes entering toll than after toll only two lanes these r the real reasobs for the jam

• Ace Lim on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:26 pm

If I am not mistaken the Banking Act says that no can refuse the Malaysian currency in Malaysia. This would mean that the toll concessioners must accept the cash given to them. The toll conssesioners have broken the law and they must have at least one lane for cash.

• Samad Jain on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:38 pm

since it is cashless transaction….how about reducing the toll fee?
    As the toll collectors gaji no need to pay…

• kanazai2001 on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:57 pm

OmG… Wed Thu Fri…
    How i gonna drive to PG?
    any GST while reload TnG??!

• No GST for reload but there might be 50sen transaction charge at some places. Petronas stations along NSE that does reloads, dont charge the 50sen. Now u know, use them.

• zz9925 on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Isn’t this instance of going cashless in a monopolistic situation a violation of one’s freedom since CASH ‘diperakukan dengan nilai…’? Can someone from legal background revert/comment as in instances there isn’t alternative access? I am willing to pay CASH at barrier gate (and endure the jam) but this policy does not allow me to pay -coz no card!!!
    Also those infrequent users -does not make sense to buy the card when cash is readily at hand. A CASH lane should be an option left albeit single lane. It does now indeed smell of compounded interest for the Sdn Bhd.

• Zaki ipoh on Jun 13, 2015 at 8:39 pm

Whether you like or not, ready or not, this will be the way forward.

• SureRock on Jun 14, 2015 at 2:36 am

No need to buy card….why spent RM10 when its already given free via your IC?

• Looking at the comments, I cant fathom the mindset of the Malaysian road users.

Here we are in the 21st century and we have no hesitation to pay things using credit cards, debit cards, IOU cards, and various E-payments.

Yet to pay toll, instead of demanding easier electronic methods like ERP, we still insist on going back to the 16th century and using cold hard cash.

Something must be wrong with their mindset. Or perhaps they just wanna see the toll booth aweks. Maybe thats why they’re hoping mad with this system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • That means u just read without comprehending the real reasons behind those comments.
      And to just conclude it’s other people’s mindset problem? Oh now I see how u’re so much better than us.

Let me try to break it down what I understood fr those comments, just to be on your level:

1. People are dissatisfied because of the unreasonable cost a) to buy the card; b) to top-up; c) 10% charge on each retail transactions; d) RM5 service fee to redeem etc. Tell me oh genius-john, does a credit card has any of these issues? If u’re ok with it, then let me charge u RM10 fee if u buy RM100 using your c.card. Even online IBG now is RM0.10/transfer (regardless of amount).

2. Inefficient service (at toll booths), insufficient topup locations. All the hassle and money to get, top up and use the card, but how smooth is the transaction at toll booths?
      Tell me oh genius-john, does using a credit card got hang like this?
      About the old folks/OKU difficulties, shouldn’t this system be designed to cater for all?

3. It’s a monopoly. So no competition for a better service, easy to make one-side policies etc. Get it? How many years now TnGo is operating?

4. Is it too much to ask TnGo and highway concessionaires to beef up their system before this is made MANDATORY? After all, with all the reduced cost of labor and security and handling hard cash (now essentially just numbers in a system), is this request unreasonable?

5. Biggest clue: from the many insightful comments, they must come from existing users of TnGo, meaning we actually support using e-payment cause we realize its benefits. Maybe in ur mind, u’re one of the few who understands e-payment.

Usually I try to be civil in my comments but John, u’re just inviting it brother. Jangan ambik hati eh?
      Granted, some comments are baseless and TnGo is not all bad but does it in need of major improvements? The answer is YES.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Since you took the effort to write such a long karangan, made into point form, and keep it civil, I will reply in goodwill.

1. This is about usage of TnG at tolls, and AFAIK they dun have charge like u said. In fact, I think for TnG users theres discount at the tolls that I used, compared to when I used cash on and off. If U din notice, U actually have to pay Rm8 for ur CC annual fee unless u get a waiver, doesnt matter which card u use. Why not complain about that.

2. Humans are adaptable unless they’re lazy. Do look around the ATM machines, news kiosks, Petronas, LRTs & MRTs (future). U will notice that TnG reload facility are everywhere.
        I had the same problem too when I switched from using LRTs to driving on highways. I learned to be observant and find more places to reload, especially those that dun charge 50sen transaction.
        As for geriatrics/OKU, I dont know how to make the system even easier compared to just touching the card on the reader. Perhaps embed the chip into their hands so they can wave it at the reader, would be painful though.

3. Its a monopoly granted, unless u suggesting the Gov to buy over the system, which will lead to more protests, AGAIN. I guess ur too young to remember the various E-payment systems every highway had, before streamline to TnG. It was a nightmare to have so many cards in the car, and u cant use it on the LRT. Is this the kind of fair system that u wanted? Perhaps the LRT stations should have 1 entry for TnG, 1 for ABC, 1 for XYZ, 1 for ETC, and left only 1 for OKU. Yes, I can see how efficient THAT can be.

4. I agree with ur point in this. The system should be improved, as with all others. Oh, except for SMRT. Their one time use green cards were so good that I took no less that 5 times to touch for the reader to sense. Great system there. OTOH, Smart Tag should be wired to the cars like SG ERP, so that u wont notice the charges as u go around. Better than getting ur windshield broken and ST stolen, eh?

5. Do you even read the demands to continue to have cash lanes? If everybody uses E-payment, then that booth & toll collector is redundant and wasted just because some Luddite wants to have it available for old folks who might/might not use it. Most tolls still havent converted to E-payment yet, so by logic these haters have sworn of using TnG and now line up at cash booth. Well better for me, keeps the TnG line short when I use. Thank you blind hatred.

As a TLDR, technology marches forward and we should embrace it instead of putting our heads in the ground. TnG system can and must be improved for easier usage. This comes from wider usage, and to do that sometimes being a sole provider is a necessity for this to happen.
        As for old folks, build it into tools they would use, like phone NFC, IC, credit cards, etc. Charges could be deducted from bank acct, EPF, pensions, anything their comfortable with. Otherwise we still be using pen-and-paper just cuz the previous gen dunno how to use computers.

Peace out.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:48 am

Its corruption la. the crony company makes hundreds of millions. Then they send their cybertroopers here to bluff their way. Actually we Malaysians know how much Touch and Go is ripping us big time.

• Shuddup and go back to ur RV tered. Just becoz u want ur toyota to live in dinosar age, doesnt mean Malaysia should as well.

• LNick on Jun 14, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Is very saddening to me to see some Malaysians view on this.
        ETC is a way forwars if done properly.
        1. The card just cost RM 10. One time purchase, will last 7 years before expiry I think. Occasionally there are promotions where it is free. If not as John mentioned elsewhere your Mykad has TnG functionallity and not having it with you is no excuse.

2. I have been using smarttag for yeara. Occasional problems with smart tag not getting detected due to syatem issues on the toll side but it wasnt much of a bother. Still faster then queing up. Did not experience and issues with Tng.

3. Yes it is a monopoly. However my opinion is TnG being run fine. They could remove the extra charges for parking but that is clearly up to you whether you want to pay parking using TnG or not. For Tolls and public transport here is no extra charges.

4. Their system is adequate. They just revamped their online portal and statement system this year for the better.

I feel that our TnG prepaid system is on par if not better than most prepaid payment systems. The universal transport card when compared to multiple different system. I don’t understand at all why people complain of a MONOPOLY when in this case it is good. Imagine carrying around 2 or 3 different prepaid cards because everyone has their own different system s.

• Michael on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:44 am

Always the Tocuh and Go card rosak. then got to spend another RM10 to get another card. This money coming from your arse is it?

• Anti-Pati on Jun 14, 2015 at 3:08 pm

1) Don’t want to buy the card – use your IC. So technically EVERYONE has a Touch n’Go card already. As for charges, do note that credit cards do apply charges on transactions but it’s borne by the merchant. That’s why some shops don’t accept credit card payment for purchases below a certain amount, and some others would charge an extra 3% on top of the amount charged to cover that payment. Touch n’Go usage for payment is not widespread enough for merchants to absorb that fee, hence they will transfer it to the user.

2) Inefficient service at toll booth – toll operator issue, not Touch n’ Go. Insufficient topup location – bullshit. I’ve been using Touch n’ Go for over a decade now and I have ZERO trouble topping up. If the kiosk at the petrol station is not available, go to the ATM machine. If the ATM machine is not available, go to 7-Eleven. The only reason why people think that there are insufficient topup locations is because they’re lazy that they can’t even browse the Touch n’Go website for locations when it is right there. As for the transaction smoothness, too many factors are in play. Like for example SmartTag users – it may be an issue with your car tint which doesn’t allow the RF from the transmitter to reach the system, or how you position the SmartTag unit itself blocking the RF from reaching the receiver. And lets not forget idiots who can’t even take the time to check their balance or check that their SmartTag battery is functioning, idiots who drive on the SmartTag lane and cuts into the Touch n’Go lane at the last minute, idiots who only takes out their Touch n’Go card at the reader instead of metres before. These people do contribute to the stuttering Touch n’Go/SmartTag operations so is it fair to blame Touch n’Go alone?

3) By monopoly, do you mean that you want others to sell Touch n’Go cards as well, or do you want every highway to offer their own cashless payment service? If it’s the former then you may have a point, but then again you have to consider – who’s going to maintain the system at the tollbooths, the cashless payment service, or the toll operator? And if its’ the cashless payment service which has to foot the bill, which one – the one that’s used the most, the one that’s preferred by the toll operator, or split between all payment services? It adds a layer of complexity that would definitely add costs which will most definitely be transferred to the user.

However, if you’re talking about the latter then that’s stupid. Having one system is immensely convenient as you can use the same card at many points as opposed to having many cards for specific areas. Take for example a trip from Puchong to Shah Alam. Before toll operators were forced to use Touch n’Go system, you will need one system for LDP and either the Touch n’Go system for Federal Highway or one system for KESAS. Now, one card takes you any way you want, which is great if you want to escape jams. Even more so, you can use the same card for tolls, to park your car, AND to take the public transport. ONE card.

Oh and just so you know, the UK’s Oyster Card & HK’s Octopus Card is also operated by one operator too you know.

• Anti-Pati on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:24 am

I have to admit, I am working for the company. Boss ask me to write this to rebut all the negative comments here. In truth, we are making so much of money from people. Even in 7Eleven, the 50 sen charge you get charged also, we get a cut from it

• Zaki ipoh on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:49 am

Confirmed he is my colleague. Thanks Anti Pati

• Anthony on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:06 pm

I have been wondering for years why people dont buy T&G, instead queue it for 10 mins everytime?

Unlikely you all will reload RM1,000 or more into it, how much interest bank pay you if you only have few hundred in bank account?

• Fidot on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:42 pm

It it a must? Not all people using tng or smart tag, some people not very often using the highway. What will happen if this people suddenly have emergency that need to use this road.

• Ur Mykad has TnG function built in. Just go to any reload facility and top up like Rm10 for emergency use.
      Any higher, u should have a spare card in ur wallet/purse. Its not much thicker than ur numerous credit cards, bonus cards, membership cards.
      Now u know, use them.

• Do you know when you reload it got GST charge on service fee?
    So Government Say Thank You for using TnG.

• Reloaded my card last week in NSE Petronas station just before Serdang exit, NO GST OR SERVICE CHARGED.
      Some places (ie MyNews, ATMs, etc) might charge 50sen for processing fee. None goes to Gov.
      Now u know, So stop posting wrong info.

• andrekua on Jun 14, 2015 at 12:26 pm

He is not totally wrong. Some does charge service charge 50c and have gst imposed on the 50c. They don’t charge gst on reload amount though.

For me it’s minimal.

• Anti-Pati on Jun 14, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Find the top up places that doesn’t have the reload, like some Petronas & ATM machines. Touch n’Go even provides a list of these places, if you’re not too lazy to go looking for it.

http://www.touchngo.com.my/CMS/Personal/TNG-Reload/No-Reload-Fee/

• Distract people attention from 1MDB. Reverse soon.

• We need a new prime minister.
    messing things up further is not the method.

• das auto on Jun 14, 2015 at 10:59 am

Stupid crony company this greedy touch and go. They charge you a fee to collect your money upfront and then charge you extra 10%+6% when you use tng for parking.

For once I have to agree with Same Lorr. Cashless system makes it easier to implement toll hike. Ppl just don’t feel the pinch.

How about giving ppl extra 6% credit when they reload tng instead of charging a fee?

• I’m a Thai that sometimes drive into Malaysia for holidays i hope there’s a lane for foreign cars paying by cash

• Once in a while a foreign car comes along reserving one lane with an officer maning around the clock just make it Free!!

• Do you think SG would be so lenient with their ERP when you need to go downtown to their CBD?
      Please get a TnG card, its valid for 10 years, though I think you need to use in max 6 months intervals otherwise it’ll deactivate and you need to pay reactivation fees.

• andrekua on Jun 14, 2015 at 12:35 pm

I think I support going cashless but it has to be on using improved technology. Right now, we still had to slowdown in order to use Smart Tag.

Why not implement ERP, licenced it from Singapore? It’s proven thus no question about the implementation. Second, since Malaysian and Singapore went back and forth between two quite alot,it make sense to streamline it to minimise the number of devices needed for those who are affected. Yeah, it does mean that there will be tonnes of useless smart tag if this goes through.

• ERP system is one of the way to go forward, that or those that uses cameras to capture number plates, GPS monitoring types, etc.
      As for licensing from SG, its ideal and most straight-forward, but do remember that we would have to pay royalty for use. And what happens if MY-SG politics becomes strained? SG would raise the royalty charges as they like, unlike EU or US companies. A different system but interoperable with SG ERP would be the best option if possible.

• Good implementation. Every Malaysian citizen had a TnG with them all the time, our IC are chipped for TnG usage. Saves que and travel time.

For foreigners coming into Malaysia they just have to purchase a TnG at the immigration/customs. Just like when we drive into SG, we have to purchase Cash card, or else you will be fined. So it is a good system, where we get influx from foreign cars too.

• andrekua on Jun 14, 2015 at 7:53 pm

There’s a big difference between ERP vs TnG. Personally I been through TnG booth a few times. You see quite a number of drivers struggling to reach the scanning terminal. That is eliminated with ERP.

I don’t understand why we can’t move forward and implement something better. The queue is annoying to say at least.

Yes, if you take ldp for example, it would make little difference since it’s jammed up before and after toll. However for others like NKVE or Federal Highway, I think queue is quite horrible before the toll. If you allow reload there, it’s only going to make it even slower.

• Abolish the penang bridge and free for all Rakyat .

• karpal sinking on Jun 15, 2015 at 8:31 am

Yeah rite abolish penang bridge, all naik feri then haha

• How would you like to abolish the bridge? Dynamite it, or use a JDAM bomb? Or perhaps arm all the Penangites with a shovel each and get them to hack away at the bridge?

• smartaguser on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:33 am

the idea is good…but the implementation is not very good…rural people rarely keep a TnG card..and if they have one via their IC…I don’t think they bother to reload it…this will create more mess..especially at DUKE ..they shall at least allocate one booth for CASH..

frequent users usually opt for cashless transaction..

and one more thing…I think the toll conssesionaire should redesign the toll exit…make it layered to delay the traffic from silmultenous exit from all booth.

• intermilan on Jun 15, 2015 at 9:37 pm

Many had commented in solving this already.

Use your MyKad. Its have TnG function built-in. A FREE, ready to use TnG card already in your possession. Just top it up. Minimum RM10 for emergency use is adequate.

The best thing is, MyKad TnG WILL NOT EXPIRE / NOT DORMANT… FOREVER.

It will not dormant (if not used for 1 or 2 years) like most other TnG cards.

Therefore, balance in MyKad TnG will be valid FOREVER.

Think that is good enough.
      If not, then just use non-toll road.

• Pengguna di sini mintak at least one cash booth… kalaulah mereka sudi mendengarnya…