Ferrari 488 GTB debuts in Malaysia – from RM1.07 mil

Ferrari_488GTB_04

Just three months after its premiere in Geneva, the Ferrari 488 GTB has made its Malaysian debut – Naza Italia officially introduced the replacement for the 458 Italia a while ago.

The Centro Stile Ferrari-penned Tipo F142M features heavily sculptured flanks which are the key to its character – the large signature air intake scallops are a nod to the original 308 GTB and each is divided into two sections by a splitter.

Aerodynamics have been massively improved – there’s 50% more downforce and reduced drag compared to the 458, and the automaker proudly states that the new Gran Turismo Berlinetta has the best efficiency figure ever for a production Ferrari.

The gains have come courtesy of a double front spoiler, base bleed side intakes and, at the rear, active aerodynamics coupled with a blown spoiler. The latter works in conjunction with an aggressive ramp angle for the diffuser which features active flaps. The car’s underbody incorporates vortex generators, and a new exhaust tailpipe is also to be found.

The 488 GTB is powered by a new 3,902 cc twin-turbo V8 from the F154 engine family, and the CB V8 is not the same as the 3,855 cc blown V8 as seen in the California T. Power output is 670 PS at 8,000 rpm and 760 Nm of torque at 3,000 rpm, which is a considerable hike over that seen on the 4.5 litre normally-aspirated F136 F V8 seen in the 458 Speciale (605 PS and 540 Nm).

There’s only a single transmission available, a Getrag seven-speed dual-clutch F1 gearbox that’s based on that seen in the 458 – the unit has been revised for the application here and now features what Ferrari calls Variable Torque Management.

Performance figures for the 1,475 kg offering include a 0-100 km/h time of three seconds, a 0-200 km/h time of just 8.3 seconds and a 330 km/h plus top speed. The Fiorano lap time for the car is 1 min 23 seconds.

Ferrari says that its new creation is its most responsive production model yet, with “razor-sharp response times comparable to those of a track car.” It features an evolved version of Ferrari’s side slip angle control system (Side Slip Control 2), claimed to be more precise and less invasive than the previous iteration. The system helps provide greater longitudinal acceleration out of corners. Aside from integrating with F1-Trac and E-Diff, SSC2 also now controls the active dampers.

The 488 GTB gets a new exterior colour called Rosso Corsa Metallizzato – the company says the tri-coat shade was developed to underscore the model’s supremely sporty character as well as its unique elegance and exclusivity.

At the event, Naza Italia announced that the Ferrari 488 GTB – which rides on 20-inch wheels and 245/35 front and 305/30 rear rubbers – is available at an introductory base price of RM1,068,800.

Before you get too excited by the sight of that, note that this is excluding import duty and options, so you can expect the final selling price to be considerably higher – customisation levels can go up to half a million, we hear. In any case, deliveries of the first Malaysian customer units will only effectively begin next year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• komarad on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:52 am

Naza will sells 10 of these ..

• nameless on Jun 16, 2015 at 2:43 pm

this lacks originality, this is an era where ferraris looks more like lamborghinis and you can see that from the asterion concept and this 488 gtb..
      naza would sell more than 10, only the paint job striking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Crook Naza Cheats on Jun 16, 2015 at 3:14 pm

I hope Naza can sort out their recon cars division. Many have complained that they bought luxury cars but when they sent these cars to the authorised dealership, the odometer says a different figure.

Quite shocked Naza is one of the AP holders who tamper with their odometers to show a lower mileage car.

Always thought only those lousy fellows at Jalan Genting Klang that do this.

Shocked that the official Ferari dealer tampers and sells recon cars (non Ferrari)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • GT Fan on Jun 17, 2015 at 1:38 am

Wow, launch so fast in Malaysia!

You are right, their entire stock for this year probably already booked.

Ferrari turbo….who would have imagined that happening :)

• tai van guen on Jun 14, 2018 at 12:38 am

how saya itu sada pay pagi ini hari boleh datang ke rumah serkang

• John Wick on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:55 am

the price will surely getting doubled even before options.. thanks to our gov..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • after tax and gst = 3 million. how to afford??

• sammy on Jun 16, 2015 at 12:34 pm

At first I couldnt believe my eyes with such a “low” price for a ferrari… Cukai belum masuk.. aaahhh..

Back to the i8 now….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • BigBalls on Jun 16, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Was about to pay a visit to Naza due to the stupendous low price, but then its exclusive of duties

-BigBalls-

• moorah on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:06 pm

bought 1 in langkawi with g1m plate number
    sangat berbaloi!

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:08 pm

The second hand value of the 458 in local market is still in excess of 1 mil…expect this baby to cost double of that.

• GearJunction on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Just can’t think about affording Ferrari 488 GTB. But its Ferrari after all many of who can afford this will definitely by this. Welcome Ferrarri 488 GTB to Naza.

• Koshoboooo wati on Jun 16, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Ayo ayo.. so cheap ah. no class. my bf wont buy. i also dowan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • gaviny on Jun 16, 2015 at 3:19 pm

i bet they already had pre-orders even before the official launch.

here i am just being poor

• Shut up and take my money. very nice!Although cant beat classic Italia 458.

• ben yap on Jun 16, 2015 at 4:27 pm

with that price tag, i can buy a nice landed prop.

come on, give me a thumb down!

• Choii so cheap mehh…no like…no class..my birkin more expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:52 pm

I take Iriz 1.6 manual thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • ganni on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:57 am

i hope paultan team could do the comparison test in btwn this 488 with its predecessor, the 458…

in term of design it does look almost identical, it just that im not a fan of the big side air vent..it give me an eyesore..however..love to know how the new turbo engine works in the 488..

• tinmilo on Jun 18, 2015 at 9:26 am

I don’t like turbo charged ferrari…
    Is like an athlete taking steroid.

• Phuc dat on Nov 30, 2015 at 4:16 am

There u go umno cronies and corrupted officials, another one to add to ur collection. U r the niche market for Ferrari Malaysia.

• Whatever** on Mar 15, 2016 at 12:16 am

I will go for unregistered 458 italia which cost like 1mil only…thanks though….dont newd this 488gtb

• sunny Lu on Aug 24, 2016 at 3:49 pm

So what will be the price ?

• sunny Lu on Aug 24, 2016 at 3:51 pm

surprise it seem no body go n find out the price

• Supercar Lover on Oct 15, 2016 at 10:37 am

Worthing if u buy it,nice car for an affordable price…

• Vishhal on Aug 28, 2017 at 6:29 pm

What is the on the road price