Housewife receives traffic summonses for offences she did not commit, due to cloned cars

Mitsubishi-Grandis

In Johor Bahru, a housewife is claiming to have received traffic summonses for offences she did not commit as well as being barred entry into Singapore, due to two cloned cars of the same model and with the same registration numbers, according to The Star.

The victim, 43-year-old Lim Poh Poh, said she bought a green Mitsubishi Grandis in 2005, and did not receive any summonses for the first eight years of ownership. That changed two years ago when she began to receive summonses for offences she purportedly committed.

“I was surprised to receive my first ticket for speeding along the PLUS North-South Expressway on October 28, 2013,” she said. “I received two additional traffic summonses, also for speeding along the Kesas Highway and the PLUS Expressway on November 15, 2013, and May 7 last year.”

used-cars

Lim added that she first found out that her car had been cloned when she informed the police and the Road Transport Department (JPJ) upon receiving the summonses that she was not the driver in those instances. “The authorities showed me the pictures of the car and I was surprised to see the two cars of the same model with the same number plates,” she said.

In addition, she was denied entry into Singapore on December 9 – the island nation’s immigration department claimed another person used her registration details to enter the state. Lim has since reported the incident to the police.

Chairman of Johor MCA’s bureau of coordinating government affairs Michael Tay Chee Boon said that he hoped the authorities would conduct an investigation into a matter that has caused so much trouble. “What happened to the victim could also happen to others and I hope that the public will be careful to avoid such problems,” he said, adding that the two cloned car owners should come forward to put the issue to rest.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Malaysia Style on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:25 am

The Government might get angry if she complains. Might ask her to minum air kencing sendiri!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 46
    • Same L0rrrr on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:21 pm

In bolehland, if Proton could be claimed same good as BMW, why not cloning others number plates?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • donkey J on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:50 pm

For god sake, literally kind of joke news cocome from malaysia. Our G efficiency good at humour.

• Malaysia Style on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:31 am

Malaysian Polis and JPJ lazy. Only catch cars that they can make their pocket money of. they should be checking road tax randomly and not simply saman for things like safety belt etc ONLY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
  • Victim #2 on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:34 am

These case always happen to me as well. I just go and pay only because I know in malaysia you cant do anything, govt department will just ignore you and you just have to admit the thing that’s not done by you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Aiseh, 20 Year Problem on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:44 am

This has been going on for over 20 years. My car, a wira also kena 4 saman in 1995.

But our polis got no time to srt all this. But they got time to send hundreds of officers to escort ministers, government officials and give them personal outriders also.

Important things like this, PDRM got no time to sort out. Trust me, this is not new. 20 years already going on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Sure Kena Sarong on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:47 am

I worried for this lady. she goes to JPJ to complain, sure they give her a sarong to wear instead of solving her problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 21
  • MCA so stupid!! on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:54 am

How can people be careful MCA? This is obviously an illegal clone?

Also, how stupid can you be to ask both parties to come forward? You think the robber with the clone will come forward?

Can’t believe MCA is so stupid. This is the BN we voted in???

Btw, people who clone normally commit crime like rape, murder and robbery so that the original person will be framed or blamed.

Come on MCA, how stupid can you be?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • komarad on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:58 am

not first time happened…

• gerardc on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:16 pm

it happened to me as well, i received a registered mail saying that i have a speed trap summon in Rawang, i went to request for the photo of proof, it showed same plate registration but different car make. I have lodged a police report, the police officer told me to ignore the summon.

6 months have passed, until now my registration on the summon is not removed in the system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Perhaps you should go MCA also…only the issue can solve..

• VW owner JB on Jun 26, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Sohai, LJMCA only do $VALUE$ ADDED JOB.
        They will spend more time to 1MDB.
        Po LANPA, train more Ms.Tow truck, filming more Vegetable CD, a paid runner to get licensing / Approval….

• That being said, never ever post pictures of your vehicles/bikes with plate number revealed. This makes it easier for them to make a duplicate.

• sepul on Jun 24, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Cloned cars are identified by identical cars with the same number plate? Don’t you think this actually a sign that JPJ has a dangerously HUGE loop hole in vehicle registration system?

How about chassis number and engine serial number? They are recorded in the vehicle’s grant as well when registered. Are these duplicable as well?

This is serious.

• clone genysis on Jun 24, 2015 at 2:32 pm

everything can b cloned, not just plate numbers including BN, RM, AM, JPJ, Poohlice, your credit card, GST and what not.

• LittleMin on Jun 24, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Actually PDRM is aware of this thing, was being stopped by their patrol car once at JB, while driving my Toyota Wish with Terengganu plate (TANxxxx). Was asked regarding the details of the car, and owner’s detail. Chatted with one of the officer while the others are checking my car only come to know that they are suspecting my car is the cloned car due to the Terengganu plate in JB. And once they checked the chassis number of my car is same with their system one they let me go, with keep ampun maaf coz of frightening me and the rest in my car.

But I do also agree that they couldn’t sort it all out. Cz this clone story is since Nissan Sunny era until now…

• In 2015, an auntie in Mitsubishi Grandis was sent a summon by the JPJ for a crime she didn’t commit. She was promptly denied entry to the Singapore underground. Today, still having a cloned car, she survives as soldier of fortune. If you have a problem… if no one else can help… and if you can find her… maybe you can hire… The Auntie.

• Steve Kok on Jun 24, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Our Transport Minister is sleep and not doing his job.
    Malaysian vehicle number plate is the main problem.
    Easily obtained thru any car accs shop.

Please learn from Thailand, Only the Department of Land Transport (DLT) can issue a vehicle number plate.
    Be it Rolls Royce, Falali, GTR .. all must use the govt issued number plate.

• joker on Jun 24, 2015 at 6:33 pm

The gomen did propose the e-plate but backfired by mp due to “kedai no plate kenot cari makan”. Haha now how?

• IGP mom on Jun 24, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Just as a devil advocate … if the photo is showing similar car with identical color etc, it can be other things. Recall there was a case in which the wife found out his husband has been straying after receiving the photo of the summon. In this case, it can also be her husband speeding to and from mistress place at KL.

• Minions on Jun 24, 2015 at 5:39 pm

“In addition, she was denied entry into Singapore on December 9 – the island nation’s immigration department claimed another person used her registration details to enter the state. ”

Fr the above statement. PDRM should get SINGAPORE IMMIGRATION DEPARTMENT to help up this since they claim this car been registered by other owner.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 25, 2015 at 11:25 am

That is what I was thinking.

What about passport details (which is probably forged as well)?

• GomenInvolved on Jun 25, 2015 at 7:26 am

This is happening with Gomen involvement la..Very simple…And now JPJ and Polis nak wayang2 untuk apa. In bolehland anything can happen…nasi lemak management owns!

• ben yap on Jun 25, 2015 at 11:49 am

aunty refuse to pay summon la… make a big fuss.