No issue with PATRIOT registration plate series – JPJ

PATRIOT 1

In response to questions raised over the PATRIOT vehicle registration plate series that was announced last month, JPJ has said that there was nothing irregular with it and that special number plate programmes are not new.

According to the department’s director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad, Yayasan Patriot Negara Malaysia (YPN) was accorded the programme and went through the required application process, The Star reports.

He said that the foundation had until December to auction the number plates series – ranging from 1 to 9999 – to bidders, and that YPN would have to pay RM1 million to the government regardless of whether or not it is able to sell all the numbers. He said that YPN had already paid half of the amount, adding that the remainder would be paid six months later.

patriot plate bids

Ismail stated that JPJ will be monitoring how the collected funds will be used. “We need YPN to produce a detailed report of how proceeds from the PATRIOT vehicle registration plate programme will be channelled to patriotic or social outreach programmes,” he said.

The new number plate series – similar to G1M (Gagasan 1Malaysia) and 1M4U (1Malaysia For Youth) – is being offered by Yayasan Patriot Negara Malaysia (YPN) as part of its fund-raising drive to promote moderation.

Proceeds from the sale of PATRIOT 1 to 9999 will be used to carry out programmes and activities that build patriotism and bring together Malaysians of various race and religion, the KL-based NGO claims on its website. The foundation was set up in April 2013.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jul 06, 2015 at 11:41 am

This PATRIOT plate normal people normal businessmen won’t buy, expensive yes but more importantly, it is rubbish. Only ah longs, OKTs, gangsters will buy. Mau cuci duit ma.. Mau kawan dengan politicians ma.. And they will become the most patriotic individuals in Malaysia immediately.

Sad Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • trollmaster3000 on Jul 06, 2015 at 11:05 pm

MACAI plate number also good what.. can sell to keyboard warrriors and mat rempits.. sure laku punya maa..

• ahmed maliq on Jul 06, 2015 at 11:41 am

For sure its not an issue… More money for them to spend spend and spend!

• start a fight on Jul 06, 2015 at 11:53 am

where is the moderation of RM1mil for a plastic tag to your car?

• They should have KANGKUNG number plate also!!

Let PM have KANGKUNG 1, ask Rosmah to sell a few Hermes handbags to bid RM1 million. Use the RM1 million to buy 1 week free kangkung for every Malaysia.

Otherwise, when defug was the last time they actually performed “Rakyat Didahulukan”?

• benzs on Jul 06, 2015 at 12:09 pm

New approach to earn some money by G. Introduce special number plate and hope tycoon bid higher, so that G pocket will be fully loaded. Good job!

• Bobby (Member) on Jul 06, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Time and again, the only innovation Malaysia is capable of doing very well in the automobile industry is a new number plate, which only a fool will want to pay for it. Bird brains will always be conned by bigger bird brains and there are plentiful in Malaysia. Get a life!!

• Rangers on Jul 06, 2015 at 12:39 pm

I bet for

Patriot 167, 5354, 67, 69, 1664 for RM 1 each..

sure win..

• It’s ironic,fund raising to promote ‘moderation’ and need to pay government 1mil regardless the sales of the plate. Why we need such plate in the first place?

• bersih on Jul 06, 2015 at 1:03 pm

come next bersih rally, those who bought this plate no will be very sorry. better hide your car

• donno on Jul 06, 2015 at 1:04 pm

What about the “SAS” sultan ahmad shah numberplates some people are selling recently??

• Jimmy on Jul 06, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Whose RR Patriot 1 is that? Glamorous.

• Mann Bell on Jul 06, 2015 at 5:57 pm

currently it’s on a white alphard/vellfire… the RR is just a random pic taken from the internet..

• Crony no. 1 on Jul 06, 2015 at 2:54 pm

For an investment of only rm1 million, YPN stands to earn at least rm10 million in bids for the numbers. Who wouldn’t want this kind of easy business? Question is would they ever give this kind of business to you and me

• WaJib on Jul 06, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Why buy expensive car plate?? To show off they are rich?? Might as well donate the money to the orphanage home or those who really need to do operation but cannot afford it..

• DPCraft on Jul 06, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Perdana means legendary, Emas means gold class ?!?

• Lydia on Jul 07, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Possible scenario that everyone thinks:
    Cannot… I cannot accept bribery….. but you can buy my PATRIOT # plate at the highest bit. I assure you that you get this multimillion project after I see the highest bidder is you.

$$$$Kaching$$$$