Keeping your pet safe with the Skoda Dog Safety Belt

skoda dog belt

Children shouldn’t be the only tykes to be secured safely in a car whilst on the move – pets should be as well. Pet carriers are the best means to keep your four-legged pal safe and sound, though they can be cumbersome if said animal is on the larger side.

Skoda has come up with an alternative in the form of the Dog Safety Belt. Unstrapped in, a dog can be thrown forward in the event of a collision, making it dangerous for both the animal and those sitting in the front, the automaker says.

The Dog Safety Belt not only keeps Fido safe if an accident were to occur, but also prevents the pooch from moving around in the back, which could be distracting for the driver.

The dog seatbelt angle isn’t new, and aftermarket solutions have been available for some time now, but Skoda says its device, available in four sizes from S to XL, has an additional practical feature – it can also be used in combination with a lead for dog training or walking.

The seatbelt restraint is part of a series of practical accessories for dog owners who love to take them along on trips and drives. There’s a clip-on backseat protector (also not new, with plenty of aftermarket offerings) to ensure that the upholstery stays clean as well as a vertical guard. The latter, positioned directly behind the rear headrests, prevents the dog from climbing over onto the backseat from the boot.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 21, 2015 at 2:41 pm

LOL So cute the little fella.

Quite clever I must say!

• the diff btw them and our 3rd world class mentality. here, even children/kids are not even properly using seat belts/ seats….over there, even dogs are treated properly.

• vivavi on Jul 21, 2015 at 10:12 pm

even adult don’t buckle up, my friend. i’m not against kids car seat. but no point if the kid survive but the parents both dead. when all adults care about their own safety, then the kids safety will come along automatically

• hahaha on Jul 21, 2015 at 10:29 pm

It a real reflection on our attitudes when overseas, people value their pets more than we value our children. Some more want to wait till God knows when to implement.

• unforgiven on Jul 21, 2015 at 3:27 pm

It’s going to be something like: In develop countries, the life of animals are more valuable than M’sian babies since the bb car seats are still not compulsory/mandatory.

• Nein! In Deutschland, its the public that demands the carmakers to give such safety. Not the Gov or mandatory law for pets to be strapped.

In Malaysia, the public can afford for imported Pajeros yet reluctant to buy suitable child seats. They will continue to endanger their children’s life just to wait for Gov to make it mandatory. Meanwhile if theres death occurred, just say ini semua salah Gov/ BN/ Najib/ Rosmah/ Mahathir/ UMNO.

• unforgiven on Jul 21, 2015 at 7:21 pm

There is always a reason for U to keep/maintain a bunch of 3rd World mentality kaum even thought they are being brought up in overseas / minimum International school.

• If you do value ur children’s life, you wouldnt need to be told by the Gov not to let them play near the swimming pool without supervision, right?
          The same, even w/o mandatory, you should make sure ur children would be safe in car.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 21, 2015 at 4:21 pm

i wd definetly take this dog over our politicians , sorry dog i just insulted u !

• DPCraft on Jul 21, 2015 at 4:44 pm

No point having this in Malaysia, everywhere dilarang anjing :(

• calcutta on Jul 21, 2015 at 11:27 pm

halal police coming in 1….2….3!

• Airbag4MIlotin on Jul 22, 2015 at 5:45 am

Before implement compulsory child-seat for toddlers, gov should implement child-seat for MiloTin. If we use child-seat inside Milotin, we still DIE liao.