Max Verstappen to sit for driving test and keep sharp with simulator racing over the summer break

Max Verstappen

In a typical example of a reality check, Max Verstappen, the Formula One rookie is now on a mission – a mission to pass his driving test. That is, after finishing fourth in Sunday’s Hungarian Grand Prix.

The 17-year-old Toro Rosso driver, who is still not old enough to drive in his homeland Belgium, will now use the one-month summer break to get up to speed for his driving test. Verstappen will turn 18 in September, and according to the driving laws in Belgium, he’ll need at least six to seven hours of driving as a requirement to pass the tests.

Apart from that, he’s also joining a Simulator Racing Team, specifically Team Redline, and it has been revealed that the Toro Rosso driver will be racing for them over the F1 summer break to stay sharp.

“I enjoy simulator racing outside of Formula One,” said Max. “I’ve been working with Atze for a while already and of course with Team Redline and Fanatec I’ll be sharing the virtual track with the fastest simulator racers in the world, which is a great test and the way I like it!” said Verstappen.

Game on ???? who wouldn't want this?! #playseat #redbull #F1

A photo posted by Max Verstappen (@maxverstappen1) on

It has been a meteoric rise for the Toro Rosso driver, and he was over the moon with the fourth place in the Hungarian Grand Prix. Verstappen, son of the former Benetton driver Jos who partnered the legendary Michael Schumacher, never expected to finish up as high as he did.

Speaking to the UK’s Guardian, he said, “when the race restarted after the safety car period there was a lot going on, with cars crashing in front of me, so with a few laps to go I was asking my engineer in what position we were in and when he said P4 I just couldn’t believe it. I’m very, very happy.”

Well, let’s just hope he passes his driving test during the break, because if he doesn’t, things could get a bit awkward in the paddock once he returns to the fold.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 5:38 pm

some boleh pipu skeptical bout jazeman venture into f1 saying he not experience n not old enough to participate..but max verstappen proof that not the case

• Nah! If you go to the local forums, its about his name, his skin colour, tongkat.
      Anymore and PT will remove this comment. Nuff said.

• Head Hunter on Aug 01, 2015 at 12:01 am

I just don’t like him as a person. Teenage angst maybe but his attitude is simply an annoyance. Jazeman is on his way onto becoming a champion. Watch this space!