Landwind X7 gets Evoque grille and badges in China

In a move that will probably infuriate Jaguar Land Rover even more, Landwind dealers in China are apparently now offering a range of aftermarket enhancements to make the X7 look even more like its not-so-distant cousin, the Range Rover Evoque.

Based on these pictures from CarNewsChina, there are a number of kits available that include a grille, which is available in silver, white or black, complete with ‘Land Rover’ badging to make this Chinese clone look nothing like a clone. These kits retail online on the infamous Chinese website, Taobao, from US$96 onwards. The site has sellers who are really open about the whole thing, and are quite ready to make a quick buck from selling these kits.

Discerning customers would definitely stay away from this vehicle, but for those who want to look the part, and not much else, the Landwind X7 would probably be their ride of choice.

Landwind X7

Range Rover Evoque

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Diesel on Aug 07, 2015 at 12:00 pm

I wonder how much when it come to our country. What I concern is the quality build of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • copycat on Aug 07, 2015 at 12:03 pm

I admired their thick-skinned faces, and also the buyer courage to drive this car and park beside the real thing in a hotel lobby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • sudonano (Member) on Aug 07, 2015 at 12:15 pm

The real Evoque never had green Land Rover badges, they only had the black with the silver lettering. Same goes for the wheel caps, they only had either Range Rover or black with silver Land Rover lettering.

Sorry Uncle Ho, your Kopier technology needs improvement.

• It has no dignity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • this is pretty much what most Inspira owners do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 26
    • chaud on Aug 07, 2015 at 12:54 pm

There are more ori Inspira than converted ones

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Are your retarded? That was built under license. They can very well do as they please. The crap above is a sad attempt and looking like something you are not. (no i dont own an inspira btw..your comment is just retarded)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
  • Scums on Aug 07, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Chinese have no dignity. Smh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 42
    • not Chinese mate, is China ppl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Scums on Aug 08, 2015 at 10:59 am

China and Chinese all the same, want to make problem only..people get big donation also want to kacau….no dinigty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
        • Real Scums on Aug 09, 2015 at 1:57 pm

That’s better than Malays that steal from their own people. Steal money but still want to call it ‘donation’. That is really no dignity

• ermm China people are not Chinese then?

• Melayu on Aug 08, 2015 at 3:33 pm

You do know do China has Malay, right?

• Ignorance on Aug 11, 2015 at 12:45 pm

China has about 1.6%-2% of Muslims mostly in Xinjiang. They are not Malays. If you think ‘Malay’ is equivalent to the term ‘Muslim’, you are an absolute imbecile.

And most probably racist.

• Aiyo, memang marah oh land rover nampak ni

• Chiss on Aug 07, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Really tak malu.

• intermilan on Aug 07, 2015 at 2:22 pm

I quite sure if this come to our shore, it will get good sales and good laugh too!

But then, not many will give two shite about dignity when u can get and drive a ‘Range Rover Evoque’ for let say, slightly cheaper than Kia Sportage.

Thats at least RM 280,000 ‘saving’ from the cheapest ‘real deal’. RM280k is still a lot of money to a lot of malaysians.

• urzu3 on Aug 07, 2015 at 7:26 pm

someone in malaysia can buy nearly 1,000 unit of it with his donation money..

• Johnny on Aug 07, 2015 at 3:49 pm

China, the land in which copyright laws doesn’t exist.
    Would it be okay if I created a brand called CHINA? Main business is creating after market stuff for EVERYTHING.

• wow!

• stupidcar on Aug 07, 2015 at 4:12 pm

God damn China. GOD DAMN IT

• jinggo on Aug 07, 2015 at 5:42 pm

haramjadah asyik meniru je keje.. puihh!

• albag on Aug 07, 2015 at 6:14 pm

nice… wouldnt mind to buy one and modify it like the Evoque and just park inside my garage for display purpose

• superbird #43 on Aug 10, 2015 at 1:12 pm

even reverse-engineering a car requires efforts.
    japanese have done it in the past, but they match it with their high reliability and quality level. they are careful as well as not to directly cause friction with other oems.
    china-men, with their thickened skins, basically rips other apart and then call it a day.

• Black_Dagger on Nov 06, 2015 at 8:41 pm

dah dasar cap ayam. will find out how good this suv on crash test. kah..kah..like a aluminium cans