VIDEO: WalkCar – the world’s smallest electric vehicle

Check this out – Japanese company Cocoa Motors have come out with the world’s smallest (and lightest) vehicle. It’s just about the size of a tablet and weighing just 3 kg, this is has got to be the lightest and smallest electric vehicle to date and it’s called the WalkCar, rivalling Toyota’s Winglet and the Segway.

Crowdfunding allowed Cocoa Motors, led by 26-year old Japanese engineer Kuniako Saito and his team to build this ultra-portable transportation. It’s made of aluminium and it gets its power from lithium ion batteries that can be fully charged in just three hours. It has a top-speed of 10 km/h and can run a stretch of 12 km before it runs of juice.

To steer the little gadget, one only has to lean forward to go in a straight line and to move left or right, one only needs to veer in the direction that they wish to go with their body weight.

The small wheels enable the WalkCar to handle well it would seem however, guesses are that it can only handle smooth pathways and no other terrain for that matter, regardless, it still looks plenty cool.

Another interesting thing to note is that the WalkCar seems very able when travelling uphill, pretty well in fact, even with a load in front, this points to some pretty powerful motors within the encasings that sends power to the wheels.

Pre-orders for the WalkCar is expected to open by October 2015 while shipments will only take place by 2016, as for the asking price? It’s expected to cost ¥100,000 (RM3,158) – take our money Cocoa Motors!

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Impressive !!
    So far this item is I ever most want to have it in Paultan !!
    Wondering how efficient the battery (<3kg) and powerful motor!
    High technology indeed!

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 10, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Good job! But I have one suggestion for the inventor for Malaysia market: road surface here quality is VERY DIFFERENT from Japan, please benchmark your product against Malaysian roads/lanes, then you will come out with a very RELIABLE WORLD CLASS products.ha-ha.

• Matchy on Aug 10, 2015 at 10:55 pm

I find unbelievable that it can go uphill with load. Must be dark magic or something.

• Make it cylindrical and can vacuum at the same time, i would be sold!

• So,it’s something like an electic skateboard,right?

• What are our legs for???

• joker on Aug 11, 2015 at 9:09 am

erm..our legs is to step on that thing..maybe? oh come on.. its an invention after all. can you ask why there are dishwasher, washing machine as we can do the tasks with our hands?

• drMpower on Aug 11, 2015 at 8:03 am

That battery wont last that long for a 6ft 100kilo gorilla like me
    But nonetheless a very impressive portable transportation

• tinmilo on Aug 11, 2015 at 9:16 am

JPJ and Miti will be scratching their heads when this thing comes to Malaysia… how much AP or duty to impose? how to stick a non fancy number plate on that thing, road tax berapa…

• its an electric ‘vehicle’, CBU summore, sure kena tax kaw kaw…

• Walking also lazy.. soon the Earth is going to be renamed as the Land of Obese.

• locco on Aug 11, 2015 at 10:29 am

I’m an ex-obese… don’t wanna go back there
      walk…jog…run yeah

• flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 11, 2015 at 11:07 am

Quite a fun toy to have. But on a serious side, I can see lots of potential application for this Walkcar for example

1. Workers working in large warehouse.
    2. Security personal using this to cover a bigger area.
    3. Factory floors.
    4. Commuter living to far from public transport stations.

These are a few application for this Walkcar that I can think of. Good invention that has potential to develop and evolve.

• kopiais on Aug 11, 2015 at 12:47 pm

wait for china version…hahaha copycat

• puts lexus hover board to shame :D

• The Japanese puts ‘jaguh kampung’ local car company to shame

• Proton Supporter on Aug 11, 2015 at 8:28 pm

No VSC. Our Proton is better

• no worries china will produce clone, name it XiaoCar & price it like USD9.99