Stadium-style seats give you a clear view of the adventure that lies ahead, just like the launch of the All-New …
Posted by Land Rover Malaysia on Tuesday, 11 August 2015
Not long to go before the Land Rover Discovery Sport makes its official Malaysian debut – Land Rover Malaysia has teased the seven-seat (or more correctly, 5+2) SUV on its Facebook page, and August 22 is when the replacement for the Freelander 2 breaks cover. The SUV’s public launch will be at the Ground Floor Fore Court at 1 Utama.
The L550 was previewed back in May at a LRM off-road experience event in Sepang, with a Yulong White 2.2D SD4 variant being showcased.
The Disco Sport will be available in Si4 and SD4 variant forms here, equipped with a 240 PS 2.0 litre turbocharged petrol (essentially, the Ford EcoBoost mill as seen in the fifth-gen Mondeo) unit and a 190 PS (and 420 Nm) 2.2 litre Ford/PSA turbodiesel respectively. Both engine variants will be paired with a ZF 9HP48 nine-speed automatic transmission.
Globally, four trim levels (S, SE, HSE and HSE Luxury) are available, as are 12 exterior colours, but the preview provided no indication of what level of kit and options the Malaysian-spec Disco Sports would have. Neither was there any details on the expected pricing, and there still isn’t – guess we’ll have to wait until launch day to get the lowdown.
We’ve driven the L550 Land Rover Discovery Sport – read our snow-filled adventure with the new Landie in Iceland.
Land Rover Discovery Sport SD4, Sepang preview
Better get Landwind. For Malaysians, its better to be shameless than be shamed.
Like Proton, better to shamelessly suck rakyat’s LHDN money than to close down
Yup. Many Malaysian, such as yourself, would rather be shameless (driving Landwind) than be shamed (for driving a Exora).
So it is true story!
What is shameful when other companies can build their own car with their own money? The only shameful company is when they lose money, they ask more from the G to cover their loss, refusing to close down so they can ‘jaguh kampung’, saying “we can build our own car”. The reality? Nobody wants their crap cars. You think Proton are only unwanted here? See how many Proton are sold globally. Lastly, you’re not Malaysian? Such a shameless statement made by you! Yes, you better support the shamed Proton(You said so) lol
Wouldn’t it better for Proton follow the same concept like JLR…
Design own car but use reliable engines from renowned car makers.
Proton does not the scale of economy to bought lots of engine to get it cheap. take history as Savvy, Waja 1.8X. All those are actually expensive compared to what it would really cost if using own build engine.
So elegant. Jaguar Land Rover has been so much more successful after going under Indian ownership. Maybe it’s time for Proton to do the same.
Do the same as in what? Become an indian owned company? Or make another brand better?
Well, looking at Lotus I don’t think Proton can run a company very well. At least the Indians know how to manage a company. Let them takeover Proton. At least we will still be an Asian company and India has loads of experience building small, cheap and reliable cars.
Close down Proton
Looks good. Can Land Rover Malaysia allow special order of Disco Sport on my own configuration (via web configurator) without taking the Malaysia package?
In the past, yes you can. Usually it was more of you can add on some additional stuff that isn’t standard on that trim level for the Malaysian market, but not a lower end variant.
However, usually they try to get you to buy the standard Malaysian package, mainly cause the wait times is usually doubled when you add options. Had this issue when I was considering to add keyless entry on a Land Rover, I eventually decided not to cause for the price I had to pay and the added wait time (more so cause I wanted it in a colour that already had a long wait time), it wasn’t worth it.
What colour is it?
meanwhile in other news… USD1 = RM4 (!)
prefer the pajero sport
Whats the connection with pajero sport? Different markets different price points. Brain freeze ah?
Hopefully it rides better on bumpy roads than the Evoque which makes you sick when you drive over those roads no thanks to its 20 inch rims n stiff suspension plus relatively short wheelbase.
I agree. I really wonder how the Magnetic Suspension would have helped, cause goodness gracious that suspension is hard.
The bigger bro Range Rover Sport was a very good drive thanks to its adaptive dynamics but that option cost way over RM20k after conversion so I doubt they will include it into the lower end models.
The cheapest Range Rover/Land Rover with Adaptive Dynamics was the Evoque, and in the past, that was (I think) over 10k as well.
It eventually got taken off though…
Malaysian still got $$ to buy?
I rather save for the winter man..
We got no winter here man . We got rainy days. Today 1USD = 4MYR . I wonder if it will hit an all time high of 4.5 soon.
Im sure we cn get full specced grey imports in a year or two in a variety of dazzling colours n rim combos
Highly doubt it, Range Rover parallel imports? Yeah. Land Rover? Nah. Never had that much appeal for LR in parallel imports.
Tbh, our PI market isn’t as fast as say 5 years ago. Many local dealers have dropped their prices a lot for the equipment unlike those days so a lot of people do buy from the dealers.
Unless of course it is a model that isn’t sold in Malaysia, or a model that a local dealer overprices, like the GT86, BMW X6 (at least the old one) and the likes.
…and we still need the dealers to continue lowering the price coz some inefficient federal government is directly screwing up our economy as we speak.
With the MYR being so low be prepared to see another wave of price hikes which will NEVER come down even after the MYR returns normal.
With the MYR this low, really GG.com la.
At the rate we are going, we may actually start having higher resale values since the current models will skyrocket in price eventually.
Rolling dice, looks like we should be getting a diesel in HSE and the petrol in HSE Luxury. Land Rover has always made the diesel the lower end of the two (but not by much), with the exception of the outgoing Freelander2. I would not be surprised if they price it along the Freelander pricing as well. But if they do a u turn and bring in an SE for just over 200k, it is gonna be a steal from the BMW X1 and Audi Q3. Let the games begin.
Insiders mention this baby will cost a bit more than the Evoque which is a shame considering the Freelander was under RM300k but then again its on the Discovery level now so a price hike is confirmed as you can see in the UK website.
But my bet is on the next gen Defender…the 2 door version has to be sold way under RM300k to make sense.
More than the Evoque? Nah that would be dead on arrival for this thing. The Evoque itself is too expensive now, and only survives (just) since it actually looks really good even today.
But this, well… For a start it is a Land Rover. And it is the cheaper option compared to the Evoque in other markets.
According to the Land Rover UK website, the Evoque starts from £30.2k while the new Discovery Sport starts from £30.6k, so the latter is more expensive.
It will be same price as HRV